DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is responsive to the amendment and remarks filed on 08/17/2026. Claims 1 and 7 have been amended. Claim 6 has been cancelled. Claims 1–3, 5 and 7–16 are currently pending and under examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments filed 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 incorporates the subject matter of previously presented claim 6 and adds the limitation “display a portion of the separated second AR object to indicate the location of the detected object while the remaining portion of the separated second AR object indicates the disallowed driving lane change.” The rejection below relies on the same references applied in the prior action (Park, Bostick and Ishikawa), with the same mapping for the previously presented limitations. Each argument is addressed below.
Applicant argues on page 7 of the Remarks that Ishikawa “superimposes a single guide line” and “does not include detecting an object approaching … [and] does not determine any possibility of collision,” and that “Ishikawa discloses only a single guide line.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejection is based on a combination of references. Ishikawa is not relied upon for detecting an object or determining a possibility of collision; Ishikawa is relied upon only for rendering the first AR object in the current driving lane on the front image and the separated second AR object toward the lane to be changed. Park detects the approaching object (“The surrounding situation information acquisition unit 600 detects the presence or absence of other vehicles approaching from the rear and rear of both side lanes of the driving vehicle” Park, para. [0073]). Further, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Ishikawa’s second guide line is not a single trajectory: Ishikawa “generates a polygonal and thin second guide line GL2 connecting the second front-side end point FE2, the variation point K, and the second rear-side end point BE2 to each other” (see at least Ishikawa, para. [0037]), i.e., a plurality of connected trajectory segments, including the “target lane-side guide line segment TL” (see at least Ishikawa, para. [0040]), directed toward the target lane. The rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the Remarks that Bostick’s path conditions “are not performed in response to detecting an object” but are “based on … previous path history, social media information, and GPS input (See Bostick, col. 9),” and that temporary overlay 360 is “initiated by a hand or head gesture (see at least Bostick, col. 10, lines 10–25).” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bostick is relied upon for the manner in which the displayed AR path is rendered and changed, not for the sensor that detects the object; the detection of an approaching object in the lane to be changed is taught by Park (Park, para. [0073], [0096]). The gesture is described only as “one embodiment” (see at least Bostick, col. 10, ll. 20–22); Bostick further teaches that “once the images are displayed on AR display device 120, the images are repeatedly updated without user input from decision step 450” (see at least Bostick, col. 12, ll. 35–39). The source of the information that triggers the change (social media, GPS) does not alter what Bostick teaches about the display: a path, or a section of a path, that is in “bad or dangerous condition may be depicted with a red color” (see at least Bostick, col. 6, ll. 3–10), and the program “may also adjust the representation of the lower path, such as adding a caution or danger symbol, to indicate warning” (see at least Bostick, col. 12, ll. 16–20). The rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the Remarks that “none of the cited references teach” displaying a portion of the separated second AR object to indicate the location of the detected object while the remaining portion indicates the disallowed lane change (citing FIG. 13B, 1310b-2 / 1310b-1), and that “Bostick merely colors an entire path line.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is reminded that claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation, and that limitations from the specification (e.g., FIG. 13B) are not read into the claims. Bostick does not merely color an entire path line. Bostick teaches that a “Virtual path section may be displayed in a particular color indicating information associated with the portion of the route, such as “easy”, “difficult”, “dangerous”” (see at least Bostick, col. 8, ll. 20–25), that the program “may also adjust the representation of the lower path, such as adding a caution or danger symbol, to indicate warning due to the reported bridge damage” (see at least Bostick, col. 12, ll. 16–20), i.e., marking the place of the hazard on one portion of the path, and that “a section of the route has become more difficult due to recent events” may be displayed by “a different color or different pattern” (see at least Bostick, col. 12, ll. 56–64). Thus one portion of the displayed path indicates the location of the hazard while the remaining portion continues to carry its own indication. The rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the Remarks that the prior motivation “only argues that the proposed modifications would improve the safety of vehicle navigation” and is “conclusory,” and that Park, Bostick and Ishikawa solve different problems, so that the combination reflects “impermissible hindsight.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The motivations set forth below are drawn from the references themselves. Park identifies the specific problem that “if the driver changes lanes without checking the side mirrors by trusting only the route guidance information provided, there is a risk of collision with other vehicles approaching from the rear and rear” (see at least Park, para. [0111]) and that the driver “may not be able to confirm and prevent collisions with other vehicles approaching from the target lane to be changed” (see at least Park, para. [0098]); Park’s solution is to change the AR route guidance itself so that “the driver intuitively avoids the risk of collision” (see at least Park, para. [0098]). Bostick addresses the same need of showing a user, on the AR path itself, “higher risk portions of the path or trail, and danger warnings” (see at least Bostick, col. 4, ll. 40–45) and “statistical analysis on the difficulty or risk of a path” (see at least Bostick, col. 3, ll. 15–35). Ishikawa superimposes its guide on the forward image so that “the lane change guide line allows the driver to recognize that a lane change to the recommended lane should be made” and “to recognize the degree of progress of the lane change” (see at least Ishikawa, para. [0046]). All three references are directed to augmented reality route guidance overlaid on the user’s view of the path ahead and to showing the user where to go and where it is not safe to go. A reason to combine may come from any need or problem known in the field; the references need not address the same problem as the applicant. So long as the reconstruction takes into account only knowledge within the level of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention and does not include knowledge gleaned only from Applicant’s disclosure, it is proper. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1–3, 5 and 7–16 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 5 and 7–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 10-2007009 B1) in view of Bostick et al. (US 9,852,547 B2) and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (EP 2739939 B1), hereinafter referred to as Park, Bostick and Ishikawa respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses
An augmented reality, AR, display device for a vehicle (“The present invention relates to an augmented reality head-up display navigation” para. [0001]) comprising:
a communication module configured to receive image data including a front image of the vehicle (“The driver state information acquisition unit of the present invention includes a camera, a sensor, and the like, and determines whether the driver's current driving state is a normal state or an abnormal state.” para. [0085]), location data including a current location of the vehicle (“The positioning unit may be a high-precision GPS having an error range of 10 cm or less, and may be a GPS in which an error is corrected by receiving an error correction value from a reference station as a DMB frequency.” para. [0021]), map data relating to the current location of the vehicle (“The driving lane check unit compares the vehicle location and the map data information to determine the current driving lane.” para. [0022]), and sensing data of the vehicle (“In step S200, the vehicle's driving lane is identified by comparing the latitude and longitude values of the vehicle with the latitude and longitude information included in the road point, and the surrounding situation information is detected through the rear and rear detection sensors.” para. [0108]);
a processor (“The augmented reality navigation system according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a memory, a positioning unit, a driving lane checking unit, a surrounding situation information obtaining unit, a route guide unit, and a head up display.” para. [0018]) configured to activate a preset application to render an AR graphic interface overlapping the front image, the AR graphic interface including a first AR object indicating a current driving state of the vehicle and a second AR object indicating a guide for driving based on the current location of the vehicle and the map data (“In addition, when the U-turn is required to display the route guidance information, if the vehicle is determined to be traveling in one lane, the route guidance information is displayed as the U-turn, and if the vehicle is determined to be in two or n lanes, the vehicle is 1 The route guidance information is changed to one lane so that the route guidance information is changed to a lane, and the route guidance information is displayed as a U-turn, so that the road and the route guidance information of the vehicle crossing the windshield can be matched.” para. [0016]); and
a display (“a route guide unit, and a head up display.” para. [0018]) configured to display a navigation screen including the front image overlapped by the AR graphic interface according to the rendering,
wherein the processor is further configured to: update the AR graphic interface, in response to determination of a change of a driving lane of the vehicle as a notification event related to a driving lane recognized based on the sensing data and a current location of the vehicle (“In addition, by varying the color of the route guidance information according to the traffic conditions ahead information, the driver recognizes not only the route guidance information to the destination, but also the traffic situation ahead of them, for example, to prepare for this before reaching the congestion section (slowing). There is a possible effect.” para. [0034]; “If there is a driving intention corresponding to the lane change as a result of the recognition of the recognition unit, the route guide unit 700 changes the route guide information in consideration of the possibility of collision according to the information acquired by the surrounding situation information acquirer 600, and changes the head up. Transmit to display 800.” para. [0104]);
Park does not explicitly disclose
initially display the first AR object and the second AR object in a joined state as a guide image, and separate the second AR object from the first AR object upon the notification event, while maintaining the first AR object to continue indicating the current driving state of the vehicle,
wherein, the processor is further configured to: change the plurality of trajectories images to indicate that the driving lane change is not allowed, when an object with a possibility of collision is detected in the driving lane to be changed, update some of the changed trajectories images to indicate a location of the detected object, and
display a portion of the separated second AR object to indicate the location of the detected object while the remaining portion of the separated second AR object indicates the disallowed driving lane change.
However, Bostick does teach initially display the first AR object and the second AR object in a joined state as a guide image, and separate the second AR object from the first AR object upon the notification event, while maintaining the first AR object to continue indicating the current driving state of the vehicle (“FIG. 3B depicts an example of virtual overlay image 350, removing the obscuring objects in the visible field of augmented reality display device 120, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Virtual overlay image 350 includes temporary overlay 360 and non-obscured path 370. Temporary overlay 360 is a virtual removal of some or all of the real-world view through AR display device 120. Temporary overlay 360 creates a background that removes obstructing terrain or objects and plots path sections that indicate the route to be traversed. In one embodiment of the present invention, temporary overlay 360 is initiated by camera 123 detecting a particular hand or arm gesture. In other embodiments, camera 123, which is located on AR display device 120, detects head movements or a particular type or sequence to initiate temporary overlay 360.” col. 10, ll. 10–25)..
wherein, the processor is further configured to: change the plurality of trajectories images to indicate that the driving lane change is not allowed, when an object with a possibility of collision is detected in the driving lane to be changed, update some of the changed trajectories images to indicate a location of the detected object, and (“In some embodiments of the present invention, the information from the analysis of social media source 160 is used to indicate trails and paths that are in good condition, such as by a designated color of the path lines, for example, green overlaid on AR display device 120. Trails or paths in bad or dangerous condition may be depicted with a red color, for example” col. 6, ll. 3–10; “Virtual overlay program 400 may also adjust the representation of the lower path, such as adding a caution or danger symbol, to indicate warning due to the reported bridge damage” col. 12, ll. 16–20)..
display a portion of the separated second AR object to indicate the location of the detected object while the remaining portion of the separated second AR object indicates the disallowed driving lane change (“Virtual path section may be displayed in a particular color indicating information associated with the portion of the route, such as “easy”, “difficult”, “dangerous”, “rocky”, “muddy”, “water-crossing”, or other informative designation.” col. 8, ll. 20–25; “Virtual overlay program 400 may also adjust the representation of the lower path, such as adding a caution or danger symbol, to indicate warning due to the reported bridge damage” col. 12, ll. 16–20; “virtual overlay program 400 may alter the display of a path or route to indicate attributes determined from data analysis. The attributes may be, for example, difficulty level or warning, and the attribute of the path or route may be presented by a different color or different pattern, such as a mixture of dashes and/or dots. For example, social media content directed to the particular route being traversed may describe a section of the route has become more difficult due to recent events” col. 12, ll. 54–64)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation device of Park to also include recoloring the guide trajectories to show that the lane change should not be made when a hazard is present and marking the hazard location on the changed guide, initially displaying the guidance objects joined as one guide image and separately plotting the next guide section while the current guidance remains displayed and showing the hazard location on one portion of the displayed guide while the rest of the guide keeps its own indication, as taught by Bostick, with a reasonable expectation of success. Bostick marks the specific place of a hazard on one portion of the displayed route while other portions keep their own indications, so the user learns both where the danger is and what the rest of the route means; applied to Park, whose guidance is already changed to warn against the lane change because of the approaching vehicle, this lets the driver see where the approaching vehicle is while the rest of the guidance continues to show that the change is not allowed. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Bostick, col. 3, ll. 15–35; col. 6, ll. 3–10; col. 12, ll. 16–20, col. 4, ll. 40–45; col. 8, ll. 20–30; col. 12, ll. 16–20; Park, para. [0078], [0098].)
Park does not explicitly disclose
wherein the first AR object is rendered in a current driving lane of the vehicle on the front image and the separated second AR object is rendered to include a plurality of trajectories images toward a driving lane to be changed as the guide image,
However, Ishikawa does teach wherein the first AR object is rendered in a current driving lane of the vehicle on the front image (“In the case where the travel lane is branched into a plurality of the branched lanes at a lane branch point ahead of the vehicle, a target lane specifying unit specifies a target lane to be traveled by the vehicle after traveling past the lane branch point. In the case where the travel lane is not branched into a plurality of the branched lanes at a lane branch point ahead, a display control unit causes a display section to display the forward image on which a first guide line is superimposed, the first guide line having, as an end point of the first guide line on a front side, a first front-side end point indicating a center position of the travel lane in a width direction.” para. [0006]) and the separated second AR object is rendered to include a plurality of trajectories images toward a driving lane to be changed as the guide image (“In the case where the travel lane is branched into a plurality of the branched lanes at a lane branch point ahead, on the other hand, the display control unit causes the display section to display the forward image on which a second guide line is superimposed, the second guide line having, as an end point of the second guide line on the front side, a second front-side end point indicating a position in the travel lane on a side of the target lane with respect to the center position of the travel lane in the width direction.” para. [0006]; “generates a polygonal and thin second guide line GL2 connecting the second front-side end point FE2, the variation point K, and the second rear-side end point BE2 to each other.” para. [0037]; “the lane change guide line allows the driver to recognize that a lane change to the recommended lane should be made.” para. [0046])..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation device of Park to also include a current-lane guide line together with a multi-segment guide line toward the lane to be changed, as taught by Ishikawa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Ishikawa explains that superimposing the guide on the forward image with its rear end in the travel lane and its front end toward the target lane lets the driver “recognize that a lane change to the recommended lane should be made” and “recognize the degree of progress of the lane change,” which directly serves Park’s lane-change route guidance and Park’s aim that the route guidance and the road the driver sees “can be exactly matched.” (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Ishikawa, para. [0006], [0046]; Park, para. [0032].)
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses
wherein the notification event related to the driving lane of the vehicle comprises any one of changing the driving lane, predicting departure from the driving lane, overtaking a front object (“Therefore, in operation S300, when the possibility of collision with the surrounding vehicle is predicted based on the surrounding situation information acquired in operation S200, the color of the route guide information is changed or the indicator of the route guide information is displayed.” para. [0112]), and detecting a collision-impending object within a current driving lane or a lane to be changed (“As shown in (b) of FIG. 8, the driver recognizes the direction of the route guidance (the lane changes to the left lane and enters the overpass at 350 meters ahead) while the color of the route guidance information is changed to red. In order to prevent the collision with the side rear vehicle.” para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses
wherein the sensing data of the vehicle for recognizing the notification event related to the driving lane includes a combination of ADAS sensing data of the vehicle(“The surrounding situation information acquisition unit 600 detects the presence or absence of other vehicles approaching from the rear and rear of both side lanes of the driving vehicle, and when the other vehicle approaches within a predetermined distance, the route guidance unit 700 To send).” para. [0073]) and one or more of CAN data, GPS information (“The positioning unit receives a vehicle position, and GPS is preferably received for the current position of the vehicle.” para. [0020]) and navigation information of the vehicle (“The augmented reality navigation device includes a memory 300, a location checker 400, a driving lane checker 500, a surrounding situation information acquirer 600, a path guider 700, and a head-up display 800.” para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to detect an object approaching the vehicle based on the sensing data of the vehicle and the map data relating to the current location of the vehicle (“The surrounding situation information acquisition unit 600 detects the presence or absence of other vehicles approaching from the rear and rear of both side lanes of the driving vehicle, and when the other vehicle approaches within a predetermined distance, the route guidance unit 700 To send).” para. [0073]),
Park does not explicitly disclose
and separates at least one of the plurality of trajectories images from the separated second AR object to point a location of the detected object by the separated at least one trajectory image.
However, Bostick does teach and separates at least one of the plurality of trajectories images from the separated second AR object to point a location of the detected object by the separated at least one trajectory image (“FIG. 3B depicts an example of virtual overlay image 350, removing the obscuring objects in the visible field of augmented reality display device 120, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Virtual overlay image 350 includes temporary overlay 360 and non-obscured path 370. Temporary overlay 360 is a virtual removal of some or all of the real-world view through AR display device 120. Temporary overlay 360 creates a background that removes obstructing terrain or objects and plots path sections that indicate the route to be traversed.” col. 10, ll. 10–20)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation device of Park to also include separating a part of the guide to point to the location of the detected object, as taught by Bostick, with a reasonable expectation of success. Bostick plots individual path sections apart from the rest of the displayed route so that the user can see conditions on each section, which would let Park’s driver see, on a separate trajectory segment, where the approaching vehicle Park detects is located. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Bostick, col. 3, ll. 15–35; col. 10, ll. 10–20; Park, para. [0098].)
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to update the plurality of trajectories images indicating that the driving lane change is not allowed to be located in the current driving lane or a lane to which the driving lane change is not allowed(“At this time, in the surrounding situation information monitored by the surrounding situation acquisition unit 600, when there is a side rear vehicle approaching from the left foot lane on the basis of the current driving lane, the color of the previously guided route guidance information (for example, blue) After changing to change the route guidance information to a color (for example, red) after the change and transmits to the head-up display unit (800).” para. [0077]; “the route guide unit 700 is the route guide information previously guided. The “change lane to the left lane” in (a) is changed to the “going straight” in Fig. 9B.” para. [0096]).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to update, in response to a prediction of a departure of the driving lane as the notification event associated with the driving lane of the vehicle (“Therefore, in operation S300, when the possibility of collision with the surrounding vehicle is predicted based on the surrounding situation information acquired in operation S200, the color of the route guide information is changed or the indicator of the route guide information is displayed.” para. [0112]),
Park does not explicitly disclose
the AR graphic interface such that the first AR object is rendered to indicate a driving pose of the vehicle in the current driving lane and the separated second AR object is rendered to include at least one of a first guide for guiding a change in the driving pose of the vehicle and a second guide for alerting a lane departure so as for the vehicle to keep the lane.
However, Bostick does teach the AR graphic interface such that the first AR object is rendered to indicate a driving pose of the vehicle in the current driving lane and the separated second AR object is rendered to include at least one of a first guide for guiding a change in the driving pose of the vehicle and a second guide for alerting a lane departure so as for the vehicle to keep the lane (“Some embodiments of the present invention include receiving data from sensors and devices, which determines the location and orientation of the AR display device view, enabling an accurate overlay of a virtual path on the real-world environment as viewed through the AR display device. …. Some embodiments provide hands-free navigational information, and may illuminate or virtually display a path or trail in the AR display of all the possible paths from the viewer's visual perspective based on GPS coordinates, angle of the user's vision, and imported maps. Some embodiments of the present invention provide statistical analysis on the difficulty or risk of a path, as well as possible distances from flowing water, camp sites, or dangerous areas.” col. 3, ll. 15–35)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation device of Park to also include guides that show the vehicle’s pose in its lane and alert the driver to departure from the safe path, as taught by Bostick, with a reasonable expectation of success. Bostick determines “the location and orientation of the AR display device view” so that the overlaid path is accurately aligned with the user’s actual position and heading, which would let Park show the vehicle’s own orientation relative to its lane together with guidance back onto the displayed path. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Bostick, col. 3, ll. 15–35.)
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to determine a time point for warning departure from the driving lane based on a driving speed of the vehicle, and update the separated second AR object to be changed into the second guide at a location corresponding to an predicted lane departure direction at the determined time point (“driver operation information such as longitudinal / lateral control of the vehicle, vehicle speed, lane position, acceleration information, etc. Based on the driving performance and reaction information and the driver's condition such as distraction of the driver, when the driver load increases above the preset level, the driver changes his / her own color by changing the color of the route information displayed on the head-up display unit 800. Allows you to check the warning alerts for each situation for safe driving.” para. [0092]).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to update the displayed driving pose indicated by the first AR object and update the separated second AR object to display the first guide at a center of the driving lane, when deviation within the driving lane is determined to exceed a threshold range (“At this time, in step S300, in consideration of the driving load in addition to the driver's state information, the color of the route guide information is changed when the driving load increases above a predetermined level, and the color of the route guide information expressed through the HUD. In addition to being variable, it is also possible to display a warning notification text or generate a warning sound.” para. [0122]).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to updates the separated second AR object to display a plurality of trajectories images indicating an avoidance route and an overtaking point of a target object, in response to recognition of the overtaking as the notification event related to the driving lane (“If the driver is driving with confidence in only the route guidance information displayed on the head-up display 800, the driver may not be able to confirm and prevent collisions with other vehicles approaching from the target lane to be changed. By changing the route guidance in consideration and providing augmented reality, the driver intuitively avoids the risk of collision.” para. [0098]; “That is, a driver who trusts the route guidance information shown in FIGS. 8A and 9A attempts to change to the left lane, or shows a driving intention to overtake a vehicle ahead of the current driving lane. It is recognized whether the driving intention corresponds to a lane change or overtaking.” para. [0103]).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to render the separated second AR object to be joined with the first AR object when the driving lane change of the vehicle is completed while the vehicle travels along the avoidance route, and separate the second AR object from the first AR object to display the plurality of trajectories images indicating a location of a lane to return when a current location of the vehicle approaches the overtaking point of the target object within a predetermined distance(“The surrounding situation information acquisition unit 600 detects the presence or absence of other vehicles approaching from the rear and rear of both side lanes of the driving vehicle, and when the other vehicle approaches within a predetermined distance, the route guidance unit 700 To send).” para. [0073]).
Regarding claim 13,
Park does not explicitly disclose
wherein during the overtaking, the processor is further configured to update the separated second AR object to keep displaying the plurality of trajectories images to be driven by the vehicle in the separated state until the vehicle completes the overtaking.
However, Bostick does teach wherein during the overtaking, the processor is further configured to update the separated second AR object to keep displaying the plurality of trajectories images to be driven by the vehicle in the separated state until the vehicle completes the overtaking (“Obstruction 230 is a grouping of trees that obscures a portion of the route, preventing display of an entire overview of the route to the selected destination. Obstruction 230 may prevent viewing of route conditions that deserve consideration by the user, such as duration, elevation changes, difficulty, equipment needed, and potentially other considerations. In some embodiments of the present invention, virtual overlay program 400, in response to receiving a corresponding selection, for example, an uncommon hand or arm gesture viewed by camera 123, produces a temporary background display, overlaying obstruction 230, and displays the additional path sections on the background display (not shown), such that the entire route path sections are visible to the user of AR display device 120. Displaying the entire path route sections provides a more complete set of information to the user of AR display device 120.” col. 8, ll. 36–51)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation device of Park to also include keeping the separated guide trajectories displayed until the maneuver is completed, as taught by Bostick, with a reasonable expectation of success. Bostick keeps the entire set of path sections visible so that the user has “a more complete set of information” about the route being traversed, and continuously updates the displayed path images as the user moves, which would keep Park’s driver informed of the path to be driven throughout the maneuver. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Bostick, col. 3, ll. 15–35; col. 8, ll. 36–51; col. 12, ll. 35–39.)
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to update the separated second AR object to include a crossing point of a lane corresponding to the overtaking point of the target object and driving speed information for passing the crossing point between the plurality of trajectories images to be driven by the vehicle, on the basis of the current location of the vehicle and driving state of the vehicle (“That is, a driver who trusts the route guidance information shown in FIGS. 8A and 9A attempts to change to the left lane, or shows a driving intention to overtake a vehicle ahead of the current driving lane. It is recognized whether the driving intention corresponds to a lane change or overtaking.” para. [0103]).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to determine an avoidance driving lane based on the current location of the vehicle and ADAS sensing data of the vehicle, and update the separated second AR object to display the plurality of trajectories images for the vehicle to travel according to the determination, in response to a detection of a front object with a possibility of collision as the notification event related to the driving lane based on the ADAS sensing data of the vehicle (“If there is a driving intention corresponding to the lane change as a result of the recognition of the recognition unit, the route guide unit 700 changes the route guide information in consideration of the possibility of collision according to the information acquired by the surrounding situation information acquirer 600, and changes the head up. Transmit to display 800.” para. [0104]).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to calculate, in response to a detection of a front object with a possibility of collision based on ADAS sensing data of the vehicle, a location of the detected front object based on the current location of the vehicle and the ADAS sensing data of the vehicle (“In addition to the above-mentioned collision risk, the color change of the route guidance information may be changed according to the forward traffic situation information received from the external server.” para. [0081]), and render an alarm object changed depending on the calculated location overlapping the front image (“At this time, in addition to changing the path guidance color of the path guide unit 700, providing an alarm through a speaker or the like, or as shown in (b) of FIG. It is desirable to provide information WARNING” para. [0079]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668