DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koyama et al. (US 20160104635).
As to claim 1, Koyama discloses a method for temporarily bonding laminates in semiconductor devices (Abstract). Koyama discloses that the method comprises of: treating the adhesive bonding two bonded substrates with a debonding agent; the debonding agent comprising acetone at a temperature of 25ºC (¶32).
As to claim 2, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Koyama discloses that the debonding agent may comprise of a surfactant (¶99).
As to claim 3, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Koyama discloses that the debonding agent may comprise of
As to claim 6, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Koyama discloses that the treating temperature occurs within the recited temperature range (¶32).
As to claim 7, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Koyama discloses that the adhesive may comprise of epoxy resins (¶117).
As to claim 8, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Koyama discloses that the substrates may comprise of metal and/or glass substrates (¶227).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama et al. (US 20160104635) in view of Durniak (US 20190016108).
As to claim 5, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Koyama fails to specifically teach or disclose that the surfaces may be cleaned after separation. Durniak discloses a method for separating components (Abstract). Durniak discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to perform a cleaning step after separation to remove residual adhesive left upon a previously bonded surface (¶14; 36). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform a cleaning step after the separation step in the method of Koyama and would have been motivated to do so because Durniak teaches that such a step removes residual adhesive left upon the previously bonded surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 recites that the debonding agent comprises at least 95% of acetone based on the weight of the debonding agent. The closest prior art of Koyama et al. (US 20160104635) fails to teach or disclose that the debonding agent may comprise of 95% acetone.
Claim 4 recites that the debonding agent comprises oleic acid, water, an alkanolamine, and a non-ionic surfactant. None of the prior art teaches or discloses a method using a debonding agent comprising of the recited materials as in claim 4.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745