DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication(s) filed on 03 December 2025.
Claim(s) 4, 11, 14, 18 and 24 is/are cancelled.
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19-23 is/are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. §101 Rejections
The claims have been amended to address the objection(s)/rejection(s) presented in the prior Office Action. Accordingly, Examiner withdraws the corresponding objection(s)/rejection(s).
35 U.S.C. §103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 15 and 23 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1, 8, 15 and 23 “breaking” should be “braking”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
For the sake of compact prosecution Examiner is going to interpret the obvious typographical error noted below in the claim objections as reciting “automatic braking control” instead of the claimed “automatic breaking control” as the latter control does not make sense in the claimed context when read in light of the specification as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 15 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claims 1, 8, 15 and 23, “breaking” should be “braking”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Gibson et al. (US 2017/0234689 A1 hereinafter Gibson).
Claim 1
A computer-implemented method, carried out by a server in communication with a device of a vehicle, of reducing vehicle collisions, the method comprising: (Gibson discloses a server in communication with computing environment. See at least paragraph [0034].)
calculating, by one or more processors of the server, a collision risk index for an area over a time period, wherein the server is configured to be connected to the device via one or more radio frequency communication links; (Gibson discloses a risk score and risk values calculated for a route and road segments (area). See at least paragraph [0090]. Gibson discloses calculating route risk values over periods of time. See at least paragraph [0036]. Gibson discloses accident information relating to collision. See at least paragraph [0040]. Gibson discloses connection to devices via radio waves (i.e. radio frequency). See at least paragraph [0035].)
generating, by the one or more processors of the server, a notification to automatically engage or disengage an autonomous vehicle control feature in the vehicle based upon the collision risk index for the area, wherein the notification indicates which autonomous vehicle control feature to engage or disengage, and wherein the vehicle autonomous control feature includes: autonomous steering control, autonomous breaking control, or autonomous throttle control; (Gibson discloses generating and sending notifications to automatically engage autonomous vehicle control features using information about the route risk values (i.e. based on risk index). See at least paragraphs [0031] and [0097]-[0098]. Gibson discloses autonomous vehicle controls including acceleration (i.e. throttle control), steering, and braking. See at least paragraphs [0030].)
transmitting, via a transceiver of the server and via the one or more radio frequency communication links, the notification to the device of the vehicle; and (Gibson discloses connection to devices via radio waves (i.e. radio frequency). See at least paragraph [0035]. Gibson discloses a server in communication with computing environment. See at least paragraph [0034]. Gibson discloses communication may include transceivers. See at least paragraphs [0113]-[0114]. Gibson discloses generating and sending notifications to automatically engage autonomous vehicle control features using information about the route risk values (i.e. based on risk index). See at least paragraphs [0031] and [0097]-[0098]. Gibson discloses autonomous vehicle controls including acceleration (i.e. throttle control), steering, and braking. See at least paragraphs [0030].)
in response to the notification, automatically engaging or disengaging the autonomous vehicle control feature in the vehicle as the vehicle approaches the area, (Gibson discloses automatically engaging autonomous vehicle control features in response to the notification(s) using information about the route risk values (i.e. based on risk index). See at least paragraphs [0031] and [0097]-[0098]. Gibson discloses autonomous vehicle controls including acceleration (i.e. throttle control), steering, and braking. See at least paragraphs [0030].)
wherein the device comprises at least one of a mobile device, an on-board computer, or a navigator. (Gibson discloses device comprising specialized hardware installed in vehicles (i.e. on-board computer) and/or mobile devices. See at least paragraph [0113]. Gibson discloses device may include GPS or navigation system (i.e. navigators). See at least paragraph [0035].)
Claim 2
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the notification further comprises at least one of: (i) a virtual navigation map configured to be displayed depicting the collision risk index visually, (ii) an audible alert, (iii) a visual alert, or (iv) a haptic alert. (Gibson discloses sending an alert. See at least paragraph [0105]. Gibson discloses notifications including audio notifications (i.e. audible alert), visual cue or flashing lights (i.e. visual alert). See at least paragraph [0096]. Gibson discloses risk values may be sent for display on a screen of the device (i.e. depicting the index visually). See at least paragraph [0025].)
Claim 3
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the one or more processors, that the collision risk index for the area exceeds a predetermined threshold; and (Gibson discloses the travel route may include a determination for each road segment as to whether an autonomous or manual driving mode provides less risk (i.e. risk score compared to a threshold) of an accident over each of the route segments along a travel route (i.e. area). See at least paragraph [0105].)
wherein the generating of the notification is based upon the collision risk index exceeding the predetermined threshold. (Gibson discloses generation of alert and change in mode based on said risk. See at least paragraphs [0104]-[0105].)
Claim 5
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the notification to automatically engage or disengage the autonomous vehicle control feature is further based upon:
determining, by the one or more processors, whether the autonomous vehicle control feature was engaged or disengaged in the vehicle or other vehicles in the area based upon historical traffic data. (Gibson discloses “An analysis of historical accident information is performed for the travel route. The analysis includes identifying accident information for vehicles engaged in autonomous driving over the travel route and accident information for vehicles engaged in manual driving over the travel route.” See at least paragraphs [0093] and [0050].)
Claim 6
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, an indication that the vehicle engaged or disengaged the autonomous vehicle control feature as the vehicle approached the area. (Gibson discloses vehicle information including whether the vehicle is engaged in manual or autonomous driving. See at least paragraph [0045].)
Claim 7
The computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising:
adjusting, by the one or more processors, an insurance premium in response to the indication. (Gibson discloses adjustment to policy premiums based on compliance with a change of control recommendation. See at least paragraph [0023].)
Claim 8
A server in communication with a device of a vehicle, the server configured to reduce vehicle collisions, the server comprising: (Gibson discloses a server in communication with computing environment. See at least paragraph [0034].)
a memory configured to store non-transitory computer-executable instructions; (Gibson discloses embodiment with a processor executing instructions stored on non-transitory memory. See at least paragraph [0054].)
a processor configured to interface with the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the non-transitory computer-executable instructions to cause the processor to: (Gibson discloses embodiment with a processor executing instructions stored on non-transitory memory. See at least paragraph [0054].)
…
a transceiver configured to interface with the processor and communicate via a wireless network connection, wherein: (Gibson discloses communication may include transceivers communicating via wireless network. See at least paragraphs [0113]-[0114].)
…
The remainder of Claim 8 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 9
Claim 9 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claim 2 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 10
Claim 10 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claim 3 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 12
Claim 12 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claim 5 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 13
Claim 13 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claims 6 and 7 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 15
A tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium 4 containing a set of computer-readable instructions for reducing vehicle collisions that, when executed by a server in communication with a device of a vehicle, configure the server to: (Gibson discloses embodiment with a processor executing instructions stored on non-transitory memory. See at least paragraph [0054].)
…
The remainder of Claim 15 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 16
Claim 16 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claim 2 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 17
Claim 17 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claim 3 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 19
Claim 19 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claim 5 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 20
Claim 20 is substantially similar to the corresponding elements in Claims 6 and 7 and is therefore rejected using similar reasoning.
Claim 21
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the notification includes transmitting the notification to the device to facilitate automatically engaging the autonomous vehicle control feature. (Gibson discloses generating and sending notifications to automatically engage autonomous vehicle control features using information about the route risk values (i.e. based on risk index). See at least paragraphs [0031] and [0097]-[0098].)
Claim 22
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the vehicle control feature includes the autonomous steering control. Gibson discloses autonomous vehicle controls including acceleration (i.e. throttle control), steering, and braking. See at least paragraphs [0030].)
Claim 23
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the vehicle control feature includes the autonomous breaking control. (Gibson discloses autonomous vehicle controls including acceleration (i.e. throttle control), steering, and braking. See at least paragraphs [0030].)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Slusar (US 2016/0167652 A1) discloses adjustments to driving actions planned for an autonomous vehicle over a travel route based on risk.
Nordin et al. (SE 1950882 A1) discloses control of an automatic vehicle and determination of future collision risk.
Sarker et al. (“A Review of Sensing and Communication, Human Factors, and Controller Aspects for Information-Aware Connected and Automated Vehicles”) discloses collection of information for autonomous vehicles.
/ADAM HILMANTEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3691