DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the applied reference Innocenti does not refer to elements or devices 34-37 as being a single film. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Paragraph 0042 of the reference recites: “A signaling device may comprise a (small) shaped signaling layer of material applied to a surface of the component” and paragraph 0028 recites: “According to a first embodiment only device 34 is used..”); the reference therefore discloses: “a single film” as claimed. Further para. 0039 states the material for the layer 34 is “irreversible thermochromic materials”; these materials are known in the art to be deposited as films or thin films.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11-12, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Innocenti (US 2020/0033200 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Innocenti teaches a component of an aero-propulsion apparatus, the component comprising a material and having a surface, and a thin film (34-36) on the surface (Figs. 1-3, paras. 0028-0048), wherein the thin film is configured to undergo a detectible change in properties when exposed to a temperature exceeding a threshold temperature (Para. 0048 recites: “In this case, the material of the signaling patch may be arranged to irreversibly change its material structure when exposed to temperature. Such change may be for example from the amorphous state to the crystalline state, and may cause a change in the luminescence properties of the material”), and wherein the thin film is a single film on the surface (para. 0028: “According to a first embodiment only device 34 is used..”).
Regarding claim 2, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Innocenti further teaches the component is a component of a gas turbine engine (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Innocenti further teaches the thin film is configured to undergo at least one of a change in crystalline structure when exposed to the temperature exceeding the threshold temperature (Para. 0048 recites: “In this case, the material of the signaling patch may be arranged to irreversibly change its material structure when exposed to temperature. Such change may be for example from the amorphous state to the crystalline state, and may cause a change in the luminescence properties of the material”).
Regarding claim 5, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Innocenti further teaches the thin film is a monolithic film.
Regarding claim 7, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Innocenti further teaches the material has a rated temperature, and wherein the threshold temperature is less than or equal to the rated temperature (para. 0033).
Regarding claim 9, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Innocenti further teaches the thin film comprises a first thin film having a first threshold temperature (T1) and a second thin film having a second threshold temperature (T2), whereby the thin film can sense when temperature has reached two different threshold temperatures (para. 0054).
Regarding claim 11, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Innocenti further teaches the thin film has an amorphous structure, and when exposed to temperature in excess of the threshold temperature, the amorphous structure changes to a crystalline structure (para. 0048).
Regarding claim 12, Innocenti teaches a method for making a component having a sensor of temperature exceeding a threshold temperature, the method comprising applying a thin film (34-38) to a surface of the component (Figs. 1-3, paras. 0028-0048), wherein the component comprises material having a rated temperature (para. 0033), and wherein the thin film is configured to undergo a detectible change when exposed to temperature greater than a threshold temperature (Para. 0048 recites: “In this case, the material of the signaling patch may be arranged to irreversibly change its material structure when exposed to temperature. Such change may be for example from the amorphous state to the crystalline state, and may cause a change in the luminescence properties of the material”) and wherein the threshold temperature is less than or equal to the rated temperature (para. 0033), and wherein the thin film is a single film on the surface (para. 0028: “According to a first embodiment only device 34 is used..”).
Regarding claim 16, a method for determining whether a component has been exposed to a temperature exceeding a threshold temperature, the method comprising: operating an apparatus comprising the component (Figs. 1-3, paras. 0028-0048), wherein the component comprises a material and has a surface (Figs. 1-3), and a thin film (34-38) on the surface, wherein the thin film is configured to undergo a detectible change in properties when exposed to the temperature exceeding the threshold temperature (Para. 0048 recites: “In this case, the material of the signaling patch may be arranged to irreversibly change its material structure when exposed to temperature. Such change may be for example from the amorphous state to the crystalline state, and may cause a change in the luminescence properties of the material”); and
determining whether the thin film has undergone the detectible change in properties (para. 0048), and wherein the thin film is a single film on the surface (para. 0028: “According to a first embodiment only device 34 is used..”).
Regarding claim 17, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 16. Innocenti further teaches the determining step is conducted during maintenance of the apparatus (para. 0033).
Regarding claim 18, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 16. Innocenti further teaches the thin film is configured to undergo at least one change in properties selected from the group consisting of a change in crystalline structure, and wherein the determining step comprises inspecting the thin film for the at least one change in properties (para. 0048).
Regarding claim 19, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 18. Innocenti further teaches the determining step detects the at least one change in properties, removing the component from service, and when the determining step does not detect the at least one change in properties, leaving the component in service (para. 0016).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 10, 12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Innocenti in view of Zhu (US 2023/0313993 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 1 and 12 respectively above but does not appear to explicitly state that the thin film has a thickness of less than 1 micrometer.
However, Zhu discloses a component comprising a thin film of material applied on a substrate in a gas turbine, the layer comprising a platinum or alumina, the thin film having a thickness less than 1 micrometer (paras. 0007 and 0060-0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Innocenti such that thin film has a thickness of less than 1 micrometer as taught by Zhu in for a particular configuration of the component.
Regarding claim 8, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Innocenti fails to teach the thin film is selected from the group consisting of alumina, hafnia, platinum and mixtures and laminates thereof.
However, Zhu discloses a component comprising a thin film of material applied on a substrate in a gas turbine, the layer comprising a platinum or alumina (paras. 0007 and 0060-0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Innocenti such that the thin film comprises alumina and platinum as taught by Zhu since it has been held (see MPEP 2144.07) that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)).
Regarding claim 10, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1 but fails to teach at least one of an additional film between the component and the thin film for compatibility, and a film over the thin film to protect the thin film.
However, Zhu discloses a component comprising a thin film of material applied on a substrate in a gas turbine, the layer comprising a platinum or alumina (paras. 0007 and 0060-0064). Zhu further teaches at least one of an additional film between the component and the thin film for compatibility, and a film over the thin film to protect the thin film (Fig. 2; para. 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Innocenti such that the component comprises at least one of an additional film between the component and the thin film for compatibility, and a film over the thin film to protect the thin film in order to protect the thin film.
Regarding claims 13, 15 and 20, Innocenti teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 1, 12 and 16 respectively above including the thin film is monolithic. Innocenti fails to teach the thin film is applied using atomic layer deposition or the thin film comprises an atomic layer deposition from two gases.
However, Zhu discloses a component comprising a thin film of material applied on a substrate in a gas turbine, the layer comprising a platinum or alumina (paras. 0007 and 0060-0064). Zhu further teaches at least one of an additional film between the component and the thin film for compatibility, and a film over the thin film to protect the thin film (Fig. 2; para. 0064). Zhu further teaches a thin film applied using an atomic layer deposition using two gases (para. 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the thin film by atomic layer deposition as taught by Zhu in order for the thin film to conform well to the surface (para. 0063).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745