Detailed Action
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: The term “respectively” is improperly used as it does not establish correspondence between the recited limitations within the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least two first recesses" on page 11, line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US20030129824A1; hereinafter Liu).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses a manufacturing method of a micro-electromechanical system acoustic sensor (method of fabricating micromechanical devices, [0001]), comprising:
providing a base plate (substrate 12, FIG. 1, [0017]);
forming at least one insulating layer on the base plate (isolation layer 14, FIG. 1, [0018]);
forming two first electrodes (input signal line 16, output signal line 17) on the at least one insulating layer (14), the two first electrodes being spaced apart from each other (FIG. 3, [0019]);
arranging a first sacrificial layer (22) on the insulating layer (14) and the two first electrodes (16, 17), and forming at least one first recess (26) in the first sacrificial layer (22) respectively above the two first electrodes (16, 17), the at least two first recesses respectively exposing at least a part of a top surface of the two first electrodes (FIG. 4, [0024]);
arranging a second sacrificial layer (27) on the first sacrificial layer (22) and the at least two first recesses (26), forming two second recesses (28) spaced apart in the second sacrificial layer (27), and making the two second recesses (28) respectively communicate with the corresponding at least one first recess (26) to form two recess spaces (FIG. 7 reproduced below, [0025]). Liu discloses the second sacrificial layer 27 is formed over first sacrificial layer 22 including in the recesses 26, so that recesses 28 communicate with recesses 26.
filling the two recess spaces respectively with a material to form two second electrodes (32, FIG. 6, [0029]); and
removing all the first sacrificial layer (22) and the second sacrificial layer (26), and forming an acoustic flow channel between the two first electrodes (16, 17) and the two second electrodes (32), (FIG. 11, [0035]). Liu discloses the process of removing the first and second sacrificial layers releases the cantilever structure, indicating formation of an acoustic flow channel between the first and second electrodes.
Liu: FIG. 7
Regarding Claim 2, Liu discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the base plate comprises a silicon base layer (12), and a material of the silicon base layer is silicon, silicon-germanium, silicon carbide, a glass substrate or a III-V compound semiconductor (materials such as a high resistivity silicon, gallium arsenide (GaAs), or glass may comprise substrate 12, [0017]).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the first sacrificial layer and the second sacrificial layer respectively comprise silicon nitride, silicon oxide and a thick photoresist. (polyimide, [0021], [0025]).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the insulating layer (14) is made of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, a low dielectric constant material with a dielectric constant of 2.5 to 3.9, or an ultralow dielectric constant material with a dielectric constant of less than 2.5 (silicon dioxide, [0018]).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the two first electrodes (16, 17) are made of metals such as gold, nickel, platinum, palladium, iridium, titanium, chromium, tungsten, aluminum and copper, metal compounds or ion-doped semiconductor materials (non-oxidizing metal or metal layers, such as, for example, chrome and gold (with chrome being deposited first), [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zhang (US20110075866A1; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the two second recesses are made respectively communicate with the corresponding at least one first recess by over-etching to form the two recess spaces.”
In a similar art, Zhang discloses a MEMS microphone [0003].
The combination of Liu and Zhang discloses: wherein the two second recesses (Liu: 28) are made respectively communicate with the corresponding at least one first recess (Liu: 26, FIG. 7, [0025]) by over-etching (Zhang: [0059]) to form the two recess spaces (Liu: 26, 28).
Zhang discloses that a device as taught reduces air resistance through the MEMS device and improves the signal-to-noise ratio ([0003], [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s method, in order to reduce air resistance and improve signal-to-noise ratio as taught by Zhang ([0003], [0048]).
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Liu and Zhang disclose the manufacturing method of claim 8,
Liu further discloses: wherein an etching manner for over-etching and removing all the first sacrificial layer (22) and the second sacrificial layer (27) is a dry etching process or a wet etching process (oxygen plasma dry etch, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 10, Liu discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1.
Liu does not disclose “wherein all side walls forming the two recess spaces are respectively perpendicular to the insulating layer.”
In a similar art, Zhang discloses a MEMS microphone [0003].
Zhang discloses: wherein all side walls forming the two recess spaces (through-holes 16) are respectively perpendicular to the insulating layer (SOI wafer, FIG. 8A, [0052]).
Zhang discloses that a device as taught reduces air resistance through the MEMS device and improves the signal-to-noise ratio ([0003], [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s method, in order to reduce air resistance and improve signal-to-noise ratio as taught by Zhang ([0003], [0048]).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1.
Liu does not disclose “wherein side walls forming the two recess spaces and facing the acoustic flow channel are respectively perpendicular to the insulating layer, side walls forming the two recess spaces and facing away from the acoustic flow channel respectively form a diverging first cambered surface along an acoustic flow direction of the acoustic flow channel and then continuously extend from a surface of the first cambered surface to form a converging second cambered surface, and after removing all the first sacrificial layer and the second sacrificial layer, the two second electrodes in a wing shape are formed.”
In a similar art, Zhang discloses a MEMS microphone [0003].
The combination of Liu and Zhang discloses:
wherein side walls forming the two recess spaces (Liu: 26, 28, FIG. 7, [0025]) and facing the acoustic flow channel are respectively perpendicular to the insulating layer (Zhang: FIG. 8A, [0052]), side walls (Zhang: etched boundaries of 16, FIG. 2, [0026]) forming the two recess spaces (Zhang:16, FIG. 2) and facing away from the acoustic flow channel respectively form a diverging first cambered surface (Zhang: concave portion of 22 flaring outward, FIG. 4G, [0032]) along an acoustic flow direction of the acoustic flow channel and then continuously extend from a surface of the first cambered surface to form a converging second cambered surface (Zhang: portion of 22 that bends back towards the sidewall of 16, FIG. 4G), and after removing all the first sacrificial layer (Liu: 22, FIG. 7) and the second sacrificial layer (Liu: 27, FIG. 7), the two second electrodes (Liu: 32) in a wing shape (Zhang: FIG. 4G, [0040]) are formed. Zhang discloses the cambered recess geometry of the through-holes 16, which indicates that the second electrodes formed after removal of the first and second sacrificial layers would conform to the wing-shaped geometry.
Zhang discloses that a device as taught mitigates capacitance loss and improve signal-to-noise ratio of the MEMS device ([0003], [0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s method, in order to mitigate capacitance loss and improve signal-to-noise ratio as taught by Zhang ([0003], [0040]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Kim (US20090302714A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the material for forming the two second electrodes is an electrically charged polymer or a conductive polymer.”
In an analogous art, Kim discloses a sensor wherein the material for forming the two second electrodes (40) is an electrically charged polymer or a conductive polymer [0028].
Kim discloses that a device as taught is capable of reducing process costs and improving productivity [0025]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s method, in order to achieve a method with reduced process costs and improved productivity as taught by Kim [0025].
Regarding Claim 7, Liu discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the two second electrodes are formed by electroforming, injection molding or 3D (three-dimensional) printing.”
In an analogous art, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a MEMS element wherein the two second electrodes (40, FIG. 3) are formed by electroforming, injection molding or 3D (three-dimensional) printing [0044].
Kim discloses that a device as taught is capable of reducing process costs and improving productivity [0025]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s method, in order to achieve a method with reduced process costs and improved productivity as taught by Kim [0025].
Conclusion
/KRISHNA J PALANISWAMY/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/WILLIAM A HARRISTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899