DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Communication filed on 06/14/2023. In virtue of the communication:
Claims 1-30 are pending in the instant application.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The references cited in the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS(s)) filed on 06/14/2023, 07/18/2024 and 10/29/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation ‘its” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear to what “its” is intended to be.
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-18, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurita (U.S. Pub. 2015/0359067 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kurita discloses an optoelectronic device (Figs. 1-16), comprising:
a backlight panel (backlight apparatus, Fig. 1, par [0056]) illuminating a display panel (105, Fig. 1), the backlight panel comprising an array of light emitting pixels (pixels, Fig. 2);
wherein each light emitting pixel (pixel block, Fig. 3) comprises:
at least one subpixel (subpixels/units 111, Fig. 3) comprising one or more light emitting diodes (112, Fig. 3) positioned on a substrate (110, Fig. 3);
at least one photodetector positioned (113, Figs. 3, 7, 8 and 11) on the substrate (110) and arranged to detect an amount of reflected light emitted by said subpixel and reflected by the display panel (“The light 121 emitted from each light source unit 111 is reflected off the optical sheet 106 and then enters the optical sensor 113”, par [0119]); and
a control circuit (125, Fig. 6) coupled to said at least one subpixel and the at least one photodetector, said control circuit configured to control a level of light emission by said at least one subpixel as a function of the amount of reflected light detected by the at least one photodetector (controller 125 controls the light emission of light source units 111 based on the function detected by sensor 113, Fig. 6);
said control circuit (125) further configured to activate the one or more light emitting diodes by applying a first driving signal (driving control signal 127, Fig 6) based on a first offset value (in such a manner that the detection values match the target values, par. [0111]) corresponding to a first calibration point (target value) associated with said at least one subpixel and derived from said amount of reflected light (detected value) detected by the at least one photodetector, wherein said first calibration point is stored in memory circuit of the control circuit (target value stored in memory 126) (the light emission brightnesses of the light source units 111 are subjected to PWM control through adjustments of the LED driver control signals. Uneven brightness of the light emitted from the backlight apparatus can be reduced by adjusting the light emission brightness of each of the light source units 111 in such a manner that the detection values match the target values. par. [0111]).
Regarding claim 2, Kurita discloses the optoelectronic device wherein the control circuit operates to control the level of light emission of the subpixels by changing an amplitude and/or a pulse width of the driving signal (the light emission brightnesses of the light source units 111 are subjected to PWM control through adjustments of the LED driver control signals. Uneven brightness of the light emitted from the backlight apparatus can be reduced by adjusting the light emission brightness of each of the light source units 111 in such a manner that the detection values match the target values. par. [0111]).
Regarding claims 3 and 24, Kurita discloses the device wherein the light emitting pixels of the backlight panel each comprise at least first, second and third subpixels and one or more further subpixels (Fig. 2); wherein the one or more light emitting diodes of the first subpixels are configured to emit light of a first wavelength, the one or more light emitting diodes of the second subpixel are configured to emit light of a second wavelength different to the first wavelength, the one or more light emitting diodes of the third subpixel are configured to emit light of a third wavelength different to the first and second wavelength (plurality of LEDs emitting different colors of light (e.g., red LED emitting red light, green LED emitting green light, blue LED emitting blue light, etc.) can be used as the plurality of LED chips 112 of each light source unit 111, par. [0073]).
Regarding claims 4 and 25, Kurita discloses the device wherein the light emitting pixels of the backlight panel each further comprise one or more further subpixels (Fig. 2), wherein the one or more light emitting diodes of each of the further subpixels are configured to emit light of a wavelength different to each other subpixel of the light emitting pixel (par. [0073]).
Regarding claim 9, Kurita discloses the device wherein the display panel comprises: portions comprising liquid crystals (liquid crystal panel 105, Fig. 1), each portion being arranged to cover at least one of the subpixels; and a display controller arranged to control said portions to let pass or to stop light emitted by said at least one of the subpixels (the display apparatus is a transmissive liquid crystal display apparatus, par. [0055], controller 125 controls the light emitted from light sources 111, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Kurita discloses the device wherein the control circuit is further configured to activate the one or more light emitting diodes by applying a second driving signal (adjusting an LED driver control signal 127, par. [0111]) based on a second offset value corresponding to a second calibration point (difference of target values), different from the first calibration point, associated with said at least one subpixel, wherein said second calibration point is stored in memory circuit of the control circuit (memory 126) (… Uneven brightness of the light emitted from the backlight apparatus can be reduced by adjusting the light emission brightness of each of the light source units 111 in such a manner that the detection values match the target values, par. [0111]).
Regarding claims 11 and 14, Kurita discloses the device and method wherein the first and second driving signals have different current levels ( the light emission brightnesses of the light source units 111 are subjected to PWM control through adjustments of the LED driver control signals, par. [0111]).
Regarding claim 12, Kurita discloses a calibration method of a backlight panel (backlight apparatus, Fig. 1, par [0056]) of an optoelectronic device (Figs. 1-16), comprising:
activating, by a control circuit (125, Fig. 6) of the backlight panel through application of a first driving signal (driving control signal 127, Fig 6), one or more light emitting diodes (112, Figs. 3) of a subpixel (subpixels/units 111, Figs. 3) of a light emitting pixel (Fig. 2) of the backlight panel, each light emitting pixel comprising at least one of said subpixels (Figs. 2-3), the backlight panel comprising an array of light emitting pixels (Fig. 2) for illuminating a display panel (105, Fig. 1) of the optoelectronic device;
detecting, by a photodetector (113, Figs. 3, 7, 8 and 11) of the light emitting pixel, an amount of reflected light emitted by said subpixel and reflected by the display panel (“The light 121 emitted from each light source unit 111 is reflected off the optical sheet 106 and then enters the optical sensor 113”, par [0119]), said at least one subpixel and the corresponding photodetector being coupled to the control circuit (Fig. 6);
generating by the control circuit one or more first offset values (offset values in such a manner that the detection values match the target values, par. [0111]) based on the detected amount of reflected light (detected value), said one or more first offset values indicating an offset level to be applied to the driving signal (par. [0111]); and
storing said one or more first offset values in a memory of the control circuit (stored in memory 126) (the light emission brightnesses of the light source units 111 are subjected to PWM control through adjustments of the LED driver control signals. Uneven brightness of the light emitted from the backlight apparatus can be reduced by adjusting the light emission brightness of each of the light source units 111 in such a manner that the detection values match the target values. par. [0111]).
Regarding claim 13, Kurita discloses the calibration method, wherein the first driving signal and the one or more first offset values correspond to a first calibration point, the method further comprising:
activating, by the control circuit of the backlight panel through application of a second driving signal (adjusting an LED driver control signal 127, par. [0111]), the one or more light emitting diodes of the subpixel (par. [0111]);
detecting, by the photodetector, an amount of reflected light emitted by said subpixel and reflected by one or more element of the display panel (“The light 121 emitted from each light source unit 111 is reflected off the optical sheet 106 and then enters the optical sensor 113”, par [0119]); and
generating by the control circuit based on the detected amount of reflected light, and storing in the memory of the control circuit, one or more second offset values (difference of offset values) indicating an offset level to be applied to the second driving signal (adjusting an LED driver control signal 127, par. [0111]), wherein the second driving signal and the one or more second offset values correspond to a second calibration point (difference of target values) (par. [0111]).
Regarding claim 15, Kurita discloses a method of controlling a backlight panel (backlight apparatus, Fig. 1, par [0056]) of an optoelectronic device (Figs. 1-16), comprising:
activating, by a control circuit (125, Fig. 6) of the backlight panel, one or more light emitting diodes (112, Fig. 3) of a subpixel (subpixel/unit 111, Fig. 3) of a first light emitting pixel (Fig. 2) of the backlight panel by applying a first driving signal (driving control signal 127, Fig 6), each first light emitting pixel (Figs. 2-3) comprising at least one of said subpixels (111) and at least one photodetector (113, Fig. 3) for detecting an amount of reflected light (detected value) emitted by said subpixel, the backlight panel comprising an array of light emitting pixels (Fig. 2) for illuminating a display panel (105, Fig. 1) of the optoelectronic device;
wherein activating comprises generating, by the control circuit, the first driving signal based on a first offset value (offset values in such a manner that the detection values match the target values, par. [0111]) corresponding to a first calibration point (target value) associated with said subpixel;
wherein said first offset value is stored in a memory of the control circuit (stored in memory 126) (the light emission brightnesses of the light source units 111 are subjected to PWM control through adjustments of the LED driver control signals. Uneven brightness of the light emitted from the backlight apparatus can be reduced by adjusting the light emission brightness of each of the light source units 111 in such a manner that the detection values match the target values. par. [0111]).
Regarding claim 16, Kurita discloses the method further comprising:
activating, by the control circuit, said one or more light emitting diodes of said subpixel of said first light emitting pixel of the backlight panel by applying a second driving signal (adjusting an LED driver control signal 127, par. [0111]);
wherein activating comprises generating, by the control circuit, the second driving signal based on a second offset value (difference of offset values) corresponding to a second calibration point (difference of target values) also stored in the memory of the control circuit, wherein said second offset value is associated with said subpixel, and wherein the second calibration point is different from the first calibration point (difference of target values) (… Uneven brightness of the light emitted from the backlight apparatus can be reduced by adjusting the light emission brightness of each of the light source units 111 in such a manner that the detection values match the target values, par. [0111])..
Regarding claim 17, Kurita discloses the method further comprising: detecting, by the photodetector (113) of the first light emitting pixel, an amount of reflected light emitted by said at least one subpixel and reflected by the display panel (“The light 121 emitted from each light source unit 111 is reflected off the optical sheet 106 and then enters the optical sensor 113”, par [0119]), said at least one subpixel and the corresponding photodetector being coupled to the control circuit (Fig. 6); and controlling, by the control circuit, a level of light emission of said at least one subpixel as a function of the detected amount of reflected light (the light emission brightnesses of the light source units 111 are subjected to PWM control through adjustments of the LED driver control signals. Uneven brightness of the light emitted from the backlight apparatus can be reduced by adjusting the light emission brightness of each of the light source units 111 in such a manner that the detection values match the target values. par. [0111])..
Regarding claim 18, Kurita discloses the method further comprising:
supplying by the control circuit the first driving signal (driving control signal 127, Fig 6) to said at least one subpixels;
comparing the detected amount of reflected light with the respective calibration point, associated to said at least one subpixel (the microcomputer 125 compares the target values with the detection values of the optical sensors 113 associated with the light source units 111, par [0111]), or with a tolerance range based on the respective calibration point; and
adjusting, by the control circuit, the level of light emission of each of the said at least one subpixel as function of the respective comparison by supplying the second driving signal (adjusting an LED driver control signal 127, par. [0111]) to said at least one subpixel (the microcomputer 125 compares the target values with the detection values of the optical sensors 113 associated with the light source units 111. The microcomputer 125 then adjusts the emission brightness of each light source unit 111 in response to the result of the comparison in such a manner that the detection values match the target values, par. [0111]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita, as applied above, in view of Goldstein (U.S. Pub. 2022/0115137 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 26, Kurita discloses all of the limitations as claimed except wherein the first wavelength is equal to at least 250 nm and less than 450 nm, the second wavelength is equal to at least 450 nm and less than 525 nm and the third wavelength is equal to at least 525 nm and less than 700 nm.
However, Goldstein teaches that some photodetectors may be sensitive to blue light, defined as light having a wavelength of approximately 420 nm to 480 nm, some may be sensitive to green light, defined as light having a wavelength of approximately 534 nm to 545 nm, and some may be sensitive to red light, defined as light having a wavelength of approximately 564 nm to 580 nm (par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to employ the device of Kurita with the ranges of wavelengths as taught by Goldstein in order to provide the suitable light spectrum emitting in the display device.
Regarding claims 6 and 27, Kurita discloses all of the limitations as claimed except the photodetector of each of the light emitting pixels comprises at least: one first photodiode and a first filter arranged to partially filter out and at least partially prevent the second wavelength light from reaching the first photodiode; one second photodiode and a second filter arranged to partially filter out and at least partially prevent the first wavelength light from reaching the second photodiode; and one third photodiode and a third filter arranged to partially filter out and at least partially prevent the first and second wavelengths light from reaching the third photodiode.
However, Goldstein teaches that “… individual photodetectors in optical camera may be sensitive to specific wavelengths of light, for instance by use of optical filters to exclude such wavelengths; for instance, and without limitation, some photodetectors may be sensitive to blue light, defined as light having a wavelength of approximately 420 nm to 480 nm, some may be sensitive to green light, defined as light having a wavelength of approximately 534 nm to 545 nm, and some may be sensitive to red light, defined as light having a wavelength of approximately 564 nm to 580 nm” (par [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to employ the device of Kurita with the photodetectors having optical filters to exclude the wavelengths as taught by Goldstein in order to provide the suitable light spectrum emitting in the display device.
Regarding claims 7 and 28, Kurita/Goldstein discloses the device/method wherein the control circuit is configured to control the respective level of light emission of said first, second and third subpixels as a function of the respective amount of reflected light detected by the first, second and third photodiodes (Fig. 6 of Kurita).
Claim(s) 8, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita, as applied above, in view of Li (U.S. Pub. 2006/0066266 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 29, Kurita discloses all of the limitations as claimed except wherein said one or more light emitting diodes are individually covered with a color conversion element configured to convert light emitted by said one or more light emitting diodes into light of a different wavelength from the wavelength of the light emitted by said one or more light emitting diodes.
However, Li teaches that wherein said one or more light emitting diodes are individually covered with a color conversion element configured to convert light emitted by said one or more light emitting diodes into light of a different wavelength from the wavelength of the light emitted by said one or more light emitting diodes (pars [0022]-[0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to employ the device of Kurita with the color conversion elements as taught by Li in order to provide the suitable light spectrum emitting in the display device.
Regarding claim 30, Kurita/Li discloses method further comprising controlling liquid crystals arranged covering at least one of the subpixels to let pass or to stop light emitted by said at least one of the subpixels (the display apparatus is a transmissive liquid crystal display apparatus, par. [0055], controller 125 controls the light emitted from light sources 111, Fig. 6 of Kurita).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiry
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2800.
/JIMMY T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844