DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 10/15/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 12 and 19-21 are withdrawn from prosecution.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/14/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 5, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2018/034035 A1) to Weimer et al. (hereinafter Weimer).
Weimer is directed toward methods of providing coatings of silicon oxycarbonitride to a substrate. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0005] that a method of providing a silicon carbide film on a substrate that includes forming either a film of silicon oxycarbide (SiOC) and/or silicon carbonitride (SiCN). Weimer discloses at paragraph [0007] that a first and second organosilicon precursors are used, which are different silicon precursors. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0022] that one or more layers of film are deposited on a substrate that includes silicon oxycarbide and silicon carbonitride. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0023] that a silicon precursor is deposited on the substrate. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0041] that the reactants include options that contain neither an oxygen or a nitrogen atom, which form activated species that reacts with the silicon precursor. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0042] that a first co-reactant of He or H2 gas is introduced into the chamber that reacts with the silicon precursor, which does not comprise nitrogen nor oxygen. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0117] that a bilayer of SiCO/SiNC (this is identical to the claimed SiOC/SiCN layer claimed by the Applicants), which is done to act as a diffusion barrier preventing voltage leaks on coated substrates and would motivate one to select that method of coating a substrate. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0032] that different silicon precursors may be used alone or in combination. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0005] that the silicon precursors may be an alkylcarbosilane, a siloxane or a silazane. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0014] that Fig 2 illustrates structures of siloxane precursors having three or more Si-O bonds and reads on the structure of claim 10. One skilled in the art would be motivated to select from the available combinations Applicants method of coating a substrate that would act as a diffusion barrier, which forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1, 5, 7 and 10.
7. Claims 2-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2018/034035 A1) to Weimer et al. (hereinafter Weimer) in view of the teachings of (US 2017/0323782 A1) to Suzuki et al. (hereinafter Suzuki).
Weimer is directed toward methods of providing coatings of silicon oxycarbonitride to a substrate. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0005] that a method of providing a silicon carbide film on a substrate that includes forming either a film of silicon oxycarbide (SiOC) and/or silicon carbonitride (SiCN). Weimer discloses at paragraph [0007] that a first and second organosilicon precursors are used, which are different silicon precursors. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0022] that one or more layers of film are deposited on a substrate that includes silicon oxycarbide and silicon carbonitride. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0023] that a silicon precursor is deposited on the substrate. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0041] that the first and second reactants include options that contain neither an oxygen or a nitrogen atom, which form activated species that reacts with the silicon precursor. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0042] that a first co-reactant of He or H2 gas is introduced into the chamber that reacts with the silicon precursor, which does not comprise nitrogen nor oxygen. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0117] that a bilayer of SiCO/SiNC (this is identical to the claimed SiOC/SICN layer claimed by the Applicants), which is done to act as a diffusion barrier preventing voltage leaks on coated substrates. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0032] that different silicon precursors may be used alone or in combination. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0005] that the silicon precursors may be an alkylcarbosilane, a siloxane or a silazane. Weimer discloses at paragraph [0014] that Fig 2 illustrates structures of siloxane precursors having three or more Si-O bonds and reads on the structure of claim 10.
Suzuki is directed toward coating substrates with SiOC and SiCN films. Weimer and Suzuki are both directed toward coating substrates with SiOC and SiCN films and therefore are analogous art. Suzuki teaches at paragraph [0002] that nitrogen may cause photoresist poisoning. Suzuki teaches at paragraph [0003] that nitrogen is not present in the reactants in forming the SIOC films. Suzuki teaches at paragraph [0003] that nitrogen and the second reactant is hydrogen and does not comprise oxygen. Suzuki teaches at paragraph [0024] that the first and second reactants do not contain either oxygen or nitrogen. Suzuki teaches at paragraph [0022] that the first and second reactants are hydrogen, He or Ar. Suzuki teaches at paragraph [0008] that the silicon precursors may have a Si-O, Si-C bonds. Suzuki teaches at paragraph [0161] that the precursor may comprise Si-N, Si-O, Si-C or combinations of the bonds. Suzuki teaches in the Abstract that the methods and materials selections of reactant have an improved acid-based wet etch resistance, which would motivate one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of the references that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 2-11 and 13-18.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766