DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D11 and further in view of D2.2
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach method for implementing a lightweight dense residual network to achieve super- resolution performance, comprising (see abstract): receiving an input comprising a number of frames at a lower resolution (see fig. 2: input low resolution images); generating a first output, by a network comprising two or more DenseRes blocks and an additional convolution operation, each DenseRes block comprising two or more layers, each of the two or more layers comprising a convolution operation and a rectified linear activation function (ReLU) operation, and a 1x1 convolution operation, the first output comprising a plurality of feature maps (see fig. 1, 2); and generating a second output comprising the number of frames at a higher resolution, the higher resolution relative to the lower resolution by an upscaling factor (see fig. 2: outputting high resolution image).
D1 fails to explicitly teach up-sampling the first output by a pixel shuffle layer in the network, however D2 teaches the missing feature (see §3 last ¶). One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to incorporate pixel shuffle layer as taught by D2 into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced results. The motivation would have been to improve computation efficiency by reorganizing low resolution feature channels in a high-resolution image.
D1 and D2 fail to explicitly teach inputting a plurality of low-resolution frames and outputting plurality of high-resolution frames. However, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to process plurality of low-resolution images using the network of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced results. The motivation would have been to implement the super resolution network on video images, for example, where a plurality of images needs to be up-sampled to higher resolution images.
With regard to claim 5, D1 teach method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the network is configured to process ten or more frames concurrently. However, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to implement the network of D1 on video images and be further motivated to process plurality of frames concurrently by utilizing plurality of denseres blocks in order to process plurality of frames of video, providing seamless high resolutions images for video viewing.
With regard to claim 6, D1 fails to explicitly teach wherein the ten or more frames comprises every sixth frame in 60FPS video. However, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to process only every nth frame because this would result in reduced processing load and faster video effects.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein a residual connection from a previous layer of the two or more layers in the network propagates a feature map from the previous layer to one or more upcoming layers (see fig. 1, 2).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the 1x1 convolution operation is configured to extract a compressed feature map from two or more feature maps within a DenseRes block (see fig. 1, 2).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 and further in view of D3.3
With regard to claim 2, D1 and D2 teach method of claim 1, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the network comprises an additional ReLU operation clipped to have a maximum value of 1, the additional ReLU operation implemented before the pixel shuffle layer. However, D3 teach the missing feature (see abstract, fig. 3, § 3.2 last 3 paragraphs: ReLU clipped at a maximum value of 1).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to incorporate known teachings of clipped ReLU as taught by D3 into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhance results. The motivation would have been to improve reconstruction quality and runtime.
With regard to claim 3, D3 teach wherein the network is configured to run in real-time on a mobile device (see abstract, § 2 ¶ 1: mobile devices). The motivation for combining the references would have been the same as stated above. In addition, D1 teaches that the network improves performance, suggesting that it can be used on lower performance devices, such as mobile devices.
With regard to claim 4, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the second output provides for video super-resolution see fig. 1, 2: super resolution images). D3 teach specifically teaches mobile devices as noted above. In addition, D1 teaches that the network improves performance, suggesting that it can be used on lower performance devices, such as mobile devices.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 Zhang, Yulun, et al. "Residual dense network for image super-resolution." Proceedings of the IEEE conference on computer vision and pattern recognition. 2018.
2 Purohit, Kuldeep, Srimanta Mandal, and A. N. Rajagopalan. "Scale-recurrent multi-residual dense network for image super-resolution." Proceedings of the European Conference on Computer Vision (ECCV) Workshops. 2018.
3 Ayazoglu, Mustafa. "Extremely lightweight quantization robust real-time single-image super resolution for mobile devices." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF conference on computer vision and pattern recognition. 2021.