DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 December 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
This office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant: Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 12 May 2024 and 26 December 2025. The references cited on the PTOL 1449 forms have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0310455).
Referring to Claim 1, Huang teaches a semiconductor structure comprising: a plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors, each of the gate-all-around field effect transistors including: a first source-drain region and a second source-drain region (232S and 232D); at least one channel region (208) interconnecting the first and second source-drain regions (232S and 232D); and a gate structure (242/244) surrounding the at least one channel region (208); a direct backside contact (266) located below one of the first source-drain region and the second source-drain.
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0408247).
Referring to Claim 1, Yu teaches in Fig. 29A-29C for example, a semiconductor structure comprising: a plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors, each of the gate-all-around field effect transistors including: a first source-drain region and a second source-drain region (92 and 92’; par. 48-53 and 68); at least one channel region (54 of 55; par. 12, 19, 21 and 22) interconnecting the first and second source-drain regions (92); and a gate structure (100/102; par. 13 and 58-61) surrounding the at least one channel region (54); a direct backside contact (170; par. 46; Fig. 27B-29C) located below one of the first source-drain region (92) and the second source-drain region (92), the direct backside contact (170) having an upper portion; and a dielectric liner (166) wrapped around the upper portion of the direct backside contact (170). It is noted that the device gets flipped during manufacturing between Fig. 21C and Fig. 22A. The interpretation with respect to the relative terms, i.e. upper or below, is with respect to Fig. 29A-29C rotated 180 degrees shown below (the original orientation up through Fig. 21C).
Fig. 29A Fig. 29B
Fig. 29C
Referring to Claim 10, Yu teaches in Fig. 29A-29C and Fig. a semiconductor structure comprising: a plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors, each of the gate-all-around field effect transistors including: a first source-drain region and a second source-drain region (92 and 92’; par. 48-53 and 68); at least one channel region (54 of 55; par. 12, 19, 21 and 22) interconnecting the first source-drain region and the second source-drain region (92 and 92’); and a gate structure (100/102; par. 13 and 58-61) surrounding the at least one channel region (54); a direct backside contact (170; par. 46; Fig. 27B-29C) located below one (92’) of the first source-drain region and the second source-drain region, the direct backside contact (170) having an upper portion; a placeholder structure (162; par. 83) located below another one (92) of the first source-drain region and the second source-drain region, the placeholder structure (162) having an upper portion; and a dielectric liner (160) wrapped around the upper portion of the placeholder (162). It is noted that the device gets flipped during manufacturing between Fig. 21C and Fig. 22A. The interpretation with respect to the relative terms, i.e. upper or below, is with respect to Fig. 29A-29C rotated 180 degrees shown above (the original orientation up through Fig. 21C). "The identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the semiconductor structure further comprising: bottom dielectric isolation (BDI) below gate structures; and backside interlayer dielectric (BILD) (89) below the plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors, wherein a portion of the BILD comprises protector BILD between a corresponding one of the gate structures and the direct backside contact, wherein the dielectric liner is between the upper portion of the direct backside contact and the BDI in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 1 and 2. Claims 3-9 include the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 11, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the semiconductor structure further comprising backside interlayer dielectric (BILD) below the plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors, wherein a portion of the (BILD) comprises protector BILD between a corresponding one of the gate structures and the direct backside contact in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 10 and 11. Claims 12-17 include the limitations of claim 11.
Contact Information
/EARL N TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
EARL N. TAYLOR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896