DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s remarks/amendments of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on February 23rd, 2026, are acknowledged. Claims 1-2 have been amended. Claims 6-10 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-5 as follows.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 2007/0080456, hereinafter as Chang ‘456) in view of Zhao (US 2001/0015497, hereinafter as Zhao ‘497) and further in view of Kim (US 6,268,568, hereinafter as Kim ‘568).
Regarding Claim 1, Chang ‘456 teaches a ball grid array, formed on a printed circuit board (420; [0033]), comprising:
an inner row region (Fig. 4, (Z3); [0033]) including a plurality of first solder balls (405; [0028] and [0033]) that are arranged by a first ball pitch (S3; [0034]), and an outer row region (Fig. 4, (Z2); [0033]) being disposed to surround the inner row region, wherein the outer row region includes a plurality of second solder balls that are arranged by a second ball pitch (S2), and wherein the second ball pitch (S2) is smaller than the first ball pitch (S3) (see para. [0034]).
Chang ‘456 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the plurality of first solder balls respectively correspond to a plurality of vias”.
Zhao ‘497 teaches the plurality of first solder balls (Fig. 1, (40); [0026]) respectively correspond to a plurality of vias (Fig. 1, (32); [0024]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chang ‘456 by having the plurality of first solder balls respectively correspond to a plurality of vias for the purpose of providing appropriate electrical connections intermediate integrated circuitry and external circuitry (see para. [0024]) as suggested by Zhao ‘497.
Chang ‘456 and Zhao ‘497 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the first ball pitch is within a range from 187.5% to 200% of an outer diameter of any one of the plurality of vias”.
Kim ‘568 teaches the first ball pitch is within a range of 1.27/0.8=158.72% to 1.27/0.632=200.94% which overlaps the claim range of 187.5% to 200% of an outer diameter of any one of the plurality of vias (see Figs. 5A and 5B; col. 9, lines 60-65).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chang ‘456 and Zhao ‘497 by having the first ball pitch is within a range from 187.5% to 200% of an outer diameter of any one of the plurality of vias for the purpose of providing a higher operational reliability and having higher density assembled packages (see col. 10, lines 1-6) as suggested by Kim ‘568.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the first ball pitch is within a range from 187.5% to 200% of an outer diameter of any one of the plurality of vias on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the first ball pitch is within a range from 187.5% to 200% of an outer diameter of any one of the plurality of vias when this improves the performance of the ball-grid array integrated circuit package.
Fig. 4a (Chang ‘456)
Regarding Claim 2, Chang ‘456 teaches the distance between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first solder balls (S3) is defined as a trace width.
Regarding Claim 3, Zhao ‘497 teaches the first ball pitch is 1 mm or less (see para. [0005]) which overlaps the claim range of 0.8 mm or 0.75 mm.
Regarding Claim 4, Chang ‘456 teaches the second ball pitch (S2) is smaller than the first ball pitch (S3) (see para. [0034]).
Zhao ‘497 teaches the ball pitch is 1 mm or less (see para. [0005]) which overlaps the claim range of 0.65 mm.
Regarding Claim 5, Chang ‘456 teaches the inner row region (Z3) is one region of the ball grid array (405) adjacent to a center of the printed circuit board (420; [0033]), and the outer row region is another region of the ball grid array (405) adjacent to edges of the printed circuit board (420; [0033]).
Zhao ‘497 teaches a printed circuit board (PCB) (see para. [0021]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, filed on February 23rd, 2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Interviews After Final
Applicants note that an interview after a final rejection is permitted in order to place the application in condition for allowance or to resolve issues prior to appeal. However, prior to the interview, the intended purpose and content of the interview should be presented briefly, preferably in writing. Upon review of the agenda, the Examiner may grant the interview if the examiner is convinced that disposal or clarification for appeal may be accomplished with only nominal further consideration. Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations will be denied. See MPEP § 714.13
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893