DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 11, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-22 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2018/0189642 by Boesch et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Boesch”) in view of US Publication No. 2018/0157465 by Bittner et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Bittner”) in view of US Publication No. 2018/0218518 by Yan et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Yan”).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, taking claim 1 as representative, Boesch discloses:
an apparatus comprising: a processing element (PE) for neural network computations, the PE comprising (Boesch discloses, at Figure 6A, an accelerator, i.e., a processing element, for neural network computations.):
a first input register configured to store a first Xin element, wherein the first Xin element is part of an input data set … (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0237], a feature buffer for storing multiple input values. As disclosed at a ¶ [0233], the buffer can be implemented as registers.);
a second input register configured to store a second Xin element… (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0237], a feature buffer for storing multiple input values. As disclosed at a ¶ [0233], the buffer can be implemented as registers.);
a weight register configured to store a weight value, wherein the weight register is a single register having an output coupled to …of the PE (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0236], a kernel buffer for storing kernel data, i.e., weight values. As disclosed at a ¶ [0233], the buffer can be implemented as registers, which discloses a single register.);
the first multiplier configured to receive the first Xin element from the first input register and the weight value from the output of the weight register, and to multiply the first Xin element with the weight value to generate a first multiplication result during a particular clock cycle (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0236], a plurality of multiply and accumulate units, which discloses a first and second multiplier to multiply feature and kernel data to generate a first multiplication result during a particular clock cycle.); and
the second multiplier configured to receive the second Xin element from the second input register and the weight value from the output of the weight register, and to multiply the second Xin element with the weight value to generate a second multiplication result during the particular clock cycle, such that the PE is configured to use a single weight value from the output of the single weight register … (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0236], a plurality of multiply and accumulate units, which discloses a first and second multiplier to multiply feature and kernel data. Boesch also discloses, at ¶ [0150] et seq., performing multiple operations concurrently during a particular cycle.).
Boesch does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned input data set is for a given row of a systolic array, the aforementioned second Xin element is a sequential element to the first for the given row, the aforementioned output is coupled to both a first multiplier and a second multiplier, and the aforementioned single weight value is applied simultaneously to distinct inputs of both multipliers.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., neural network processing) Bittner discloses:
sequential input to given rows of a systolic array (Bittner discloses, at Figure 3B and related description, taking sequential values as input to a particular row of systolic array.).
It would have been obvious prior to the time of invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Boesch to include systolic arrays, as disclosed by Bittner, in order to improve performance by increasing efficiency of parallel operations.
Also in the same field of endeavor (e.g., neural network processing) Yan discloses:
output coupled to both a first multiplier and a second multiplier (Yan discloses, at ¶ [0030], broadcasting weights to multiple PEs, which discloses a first and second multiplier.);
applying a single weight value simultaneously to the inputs of multiple multipliers during a single cycle (Yan discloses, at ¶ [0046], the single weight value W1 is simultaneously multiplied by several input values A1-A6. This discloses the single weight value being applied simultaneously to distinct inputs of two multipliers.).
It would have been obvious prior to the time of invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Boesch to include broadcasting a single weight and simultaneously using the single weight value in multiple computations, as disclosed by Yan, in order to improve performance by increasing efficiency with regard to data storage and movement.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, taking claim 2 as representative, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Boesch also discloses:
wherein the PE further comprises: a first adder configured to receive the first multiplication result and generate a first Yout element based on the first multiplication result (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0237], an adder tree, which discloses first and second adders, that receives products from the MACs and sums the products with incoming data from other accelerators.); and
a second adder configured to receive the second multiplication result and generate a second Yout element based on the second multiplication result (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0237], an adder tree, which discloses first and second adders, that receives products from the MACs and sums the products with incoming data from other accelerators.).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, taking claim 3 as representative, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 2, as discussed above. Boesch also discloses:
the first adder is further configured to receive a first Yin element and to generate the first Yout element by adding the first Yin element with the first multiplication result (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0237], an adder tree, which discloses first and second adders, that receives products from the MACs and sums the products with incoming data from other accelerators.); and
the second adder is further configured to receive a second Yin element and to generate the second Yout element by adding the second Yin element with the second multiplication result (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0237], an adder tree, which discloses first and second adders, that receives products from the MACs and sums the products with incoming data from other accelerators.).
Regarding claim 4, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 3, as discussed above. Boesch does not explicitly disclose the first multiplier and the first adder form a first fused multiplier adder (FMA); and the second multiplier and the second adder form a second FMA.
However, it would have been obvious to modify Boesch such that the disclosed multipliers and adders are utilized as a fused multiplier adder because doing so merely involves combining the disclosed elements in a predictable fashion. Whether to utilized FMA or not is an obvious design choice within the skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art. For example, Boesch indicates that the disclosed components can be combined in any suitable manner. See Boesch, ¶ [0329].
Regarding claims 5 and 14, taking claim 5 as representative, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 3, as discussed above. Boesch also discloses:
wherein the PE further comprises: a first input port to receive the first Yin element (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0231], an interface to receive the incoming data.).
Boesch does not explicitly disclose a second input port to receive the second Yin element. However, it would have been obvious prior to the time of invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Boesch to include a second port because doing so is merely duplicating parts. Whether to stream data through a single port or multiple ports is an obvious design choice involving well-known tradeoffs, such as size versus speed.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, taking claim 7 as representative, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Boesch also discloses:
wherein the PE further comprises: a first input port to receive the first Xin element (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0232], an interface to input kernel data.).
Boesch does not explicitly disclose a second input port to receive the second Xin element. However, it would have been obvious prior to the time of invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Boesch to include a second port because doing so is merely duplicating parts. Whether to stream data through a single port or multiple ports is an obvious design choice involving well-known tradeoffs, such as size versus speed.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, taking claim 9 as representative, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Boesch also discloses:
wherein the first Xin element and the second Xin element are values having … bits (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0237], input values. It is inherent that an input value has a bit size.).
Boesch does not explicitly disclose the number of bits of the inputs is fewer than the number of bits of the first multiplication result and the second multiplication result. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of invention to modify Boesch such that the inputs of a multiplication have fewer bits than the product because it is impossible to represent the full range of possible products otherwise and imposing such size limitations would decrease the utility of the system.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, taking claim 10 as representative, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 9, as discussed above. Boesch also discloses:
wherein the first Xin element and the second Xin element are … values and the first multiplication result and the second multiplication result are … values (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0237], input values and result values. It is inherent that the values each have a bit size.).
Boesch does not explicitly disclose the input size is 8-bit and result size is16-bit. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of invention to modify Boesch such that the respective sizes are 8-bits and 16-bits because these are two of the most commonly used sizes to represent data and Boesch discloses both 8-bit and 16-bit values. See, e.g., ¶ [0287].
Regarding claim 15, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 13, as discussed above. Boesch also discloses:
outputting the first Yout element via a first output port of the PE… (Boesch discloses, at ¶ [0231], an interface to output data.).
Boesch does not explicitly disclose outputting the second Yout element via a second output port of the PE. However, it would have been obvious prior to the time of invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Boesch to include a second port because doing so is merely duplicating parts. Whether to stream data through a single port or multiple ports is an obvious design choice involving well-known tradeoffs, such as size versus speed.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, taking claim 21 as representative, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Boesch also discloses:
Boesch does not explicitly disclose wherein the first Xin element and the second Xin element are sequential elements from an input data set.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., neural network processing) Yan discloses:
multiplying sequential inputs (Yan discloses, at ¶ [0046], multiplied sequential input values A1-A6.).
It would have been obvious prior to the time of invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Boesch to include multiplying sequential inputs, as disclosed by Yan, in order to improve performance by increasing efficiency with regard to data movement.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boesch in view of Bittner in view of Yan in view of US Publication No. 2018/0032859 by Park et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Park”).
Regarding claim 17, Boesch discloses the elements of claim 11, as discussed above. Boesch does not explicitly disclose outputting the first Xin element as a first Xout element at a first output port of the PE; and outputting the second Xin element as a second Xout element at a second output port of the PE..
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., neural network processing) Park discloses:
a first output port to output the first Xin element as a first Xout element (Park discloses, at Figure 8, transferring input data to another PE.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boesch to include transferring input data to another PE, as taught by Park, in order to improve performance by increasing data reuse. See Park, ¶ [0009].
It would have been obvious prior to the time of invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Boesch and Park to include a second output port to output the second Xin element as a second Xout element because doing so is merely duplicating parts. Whether to stream data through a single port or multiple ports is an obvious design choice involving well-known tradeoffs, such as size versus speed.
Response to Arguments
On pages 10-12 of the response filed September 8, 2026 (“response”), the Applicant argues “The cited references, considered individually or combined, do not teach a single weight register whose output is coupled to, and simultaneously drives, two multipliers within a processing element. Boesch teaches the opposite architecture. Boesch provides a one-to-one ratio of kernel-buffer read ports to MAC units, 36 read ports for 36 MACs ([0151], [0279]-[0281]), as shown in Boesch's FIG. 6B,… That design exists precisely so each MAC can fetch its own kernel value each cycle, and the only reuse Boesch teaches is feature reuse ([0151]), a point the Examiner has acknowledged (Office Action at p. 10). Rewiring Boesch to share one kernel register output across multiple MACs would contradict its multi-read-port design principle and cannot support obviousness. Yan does not cure the deficiency. Yan's PE 250, shown in Yan's FIG. 2C, which is reproduced below, contains exactly one multiplier 280 fed by that PE's own weight registers 260 ([0038]). Yan therefore structurally cannot disclose one register output feeding two multipliers. To the extent Yan applies the same weight W1 across activations Al-A6 ([0046]), it does so by streaming and duplicating the weight into separate registers of separate single-multiplier PEs ([0039]), the opposite of the claimed shared single register, which is what yields the claimed storage reduction ([0073]). Yan's [0046] is, moreover, a mathematical description of convolution partial sums, not a register-to-multiplier coupling. Bittner and Park do not fill the gap. Bittner's DSP units consume two different weight elements per cycle ([0078]), and Park is cited only for inter-PE transfer of input data. Neither is relied upon for, nor discloses, the amended weight-register limitation. The proposed combination thus fails to arrive at the claimed invention absent impermissible hindsight. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant added the limitation of one register providing data to two multipliers. As described at ¶ [0077] Applicant’s specification, this can provide reduced storage requirements. At a high level, this feature reads on a number of well-known techniques, such as broadcast, fanout, and data reuse. For example, Yan discloses, e.g., at ¶ [0036], broadcasting a weight value to multiple PEs, each of which includes a multiplier. Yan thus discloses the newly added limitation.
As discussed previously, while Boesch does not explicitly discloses weight reuse, Yan does, and it would have been obvious to modify Boesch to include such teachings for the well-known benefits of doing so, i.e., efficiency in data storage and movement. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On page 12 of the response the Applicant argues the remaining claims are in condition for allowance for similar reasons as those above.
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The reasons set forth in the remarks and rejections presented above, including those regarding the independent claims, are applicable to these claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWN DOMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183