This communication is in response to application No. 18/210,550 Vehicle Steering System and Vehicle Having Same; filed on 06/15/2023 and amended on 01/20/2026. Claims 1 - 20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1 - 20 have been rejected as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 211336155 U) in view of Krzesicki (US 20050155809).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses;
A vehicle steering system, comprising:
a housing (steering column pipe 105; fig. 1);
a clutch module, wherein the clutch module comprises a first steering shaft (shaft section 103), a steering assembly (sliding sleeve 106, shaft segment 102), at least a part of the first steering shaft and at least a part of the steering assembly are disposed in the housing; (fig. 1 and paragraph 63, illustrate the end of shaft segments 103 and 102 meeting under the sliding sleeve 106, inside housing 105.)
the steering assembly is configured to move between a coupling position and a decoupling position; the steering assembly is coupled with the first steering shaft at the coupling position (engaged state) and transmits a torque; and the steering assembly is decoupled from the first steering shaft at the decoupling position (disengaged state) and stops the transmission of the torque; and (Paragraph 8 of Zhang describes an engaged and disengaged state based on the operation of the clutch mechanism.)
Zhang, paragraph 71 describes the movement of the sliding sleeve to be accomplished by a motor, but does not disclose the mechanism by which a motor may cause the sleeve to move. However, Krzesicki teaches;
and a drive mechanism (actuator 106; fig. 3, Krzesicki);
a transmission unloading mechanism (clutch lever 108; fig. 3), wherein the transmission unloading mechanism is configured to be connected with the drive mechanism and the housing; (Paragraph 32 of Krzesicki describes the end of the clutch lever, opposite the actuator as pivotally attached to a fixed point on the vehicle. With the combination of Zhang and Krzesicki, the lever attachment would be at the housing of Zhang.)
the drive mechanism is connected with the steering assembly through the transmission unloading mechanism; (fig. 3 illustrates the connection between the actuator, through the clutch lever and clutch collar (126) to the steering shaft 102.)
the drive mechanism drives the steering assembly to move between the coupling position and the decoupling position through the transmission unloading mechanism; and (Paragraphs 35-36 describe the operation of the clutch lever to disengage and engage the clutch mechanism, thereby coupling and decoupling the steering shaft from the steering wheel.)
the transmission unloading mechanism unloads a limiting force of the drive mechanism on a position of the steering assembly when the steering assembly is driven by the drive mechanism to be at the coupling position. (Paragraph 35 and fig. 3 describes the activation of the drive mechanism (106) causing the transmission unloading mechanism (108) to move the clutch collar (126) to the disengaged position.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Zhang to include a drive mechanism and a transmission unloading mechanism to move the steering assembly between a coupled and decoupled position as taught by Krzesicki, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to steer-by-wire steering column systems. As disclosed by Krzesicki, it is well known for a drive mechanism and a transmission unloading mechanism to move the steering assembly between a coupled and decoupled position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include a drive mechanism and a transmission unloading mechanism to move the steering assembly between a coupled and decoupled position as taught by Krzesicki, as such a modification would provide the ability to switch a steering column between a coupled and decoupled
condition in order to switch between manual and automated steering.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Krzesicki discloses;
wherein the transmission unloading mechanism comprises: a first adjusting connecting rod, (Krzesicki utilizes a yoke (clutch lever 108) surrounding a sliding sleeve and engaging with the sleeve on opposite sides of the steering column. This forms two connecting rods extending to both sides of the steering shaft.)
wherein a first end of the first adjusting connecting rod is connected with the drive mechanism (actuator 106); and (Krzesicki, fig. 2 illustrates the yoke consisting of two connecting rods extending around either side of the steering shaft and connecting to the actuator.)
a second end of the first adjusting connecting rod is hinged to the steering assembly;(Krzesicki, figs. 2-4 illustrate the pivot end (136) of the connecting rods, opposite the actuator (106).)
a second adjusting connecting rod, (fig. 2 illustrates the yoke, consisting of two connecting rods which encompass both sides of the steering shaft.)
wherein a first end of the second adjusting connecting rod is connected with the drive mechanism; and (Krzesicki, fig. 2 illustrates the connection of the connecting rods (clutch lever 108) to the actuator (106).)
a second end of the second adjusting connecting rod is hinged to the steering assembly; and (Krzesicki, fig. 2 illustrates that the second connecting rod (clutch lever 108) is hinged ant the same location (pivot end 136) as the first connecting rod.)
a longitudinal connecting rod (446; fig. 12), (Krzesicki, fig. 5 illustrate a connecting rod linking the actuator with the clutch lever. Fig. 12 illustrates a second embodiment which also utilizes a rod linking the actuator to the clutch lever)
wherein a first end of the longitudinal connecting rod is hinged to the first adjusting connecting rod and the second adjusting connecting rod; (Krzesicki, figs 3 and 5 illustrate the rod pivoting at the clutch lever in order to move the mechanism between engaged and disengaged positions. Figs. 12 and 13, which illustrate second embodiment, illustrate a pivot pin at the location of the connection between the rod (446) and the clutch lever (440).)
Zhang in view Krzesicki of does not disclose a second end of the longitudinal connecting rod includes a kidney-shaped hole and the second end of the longitudinal connecting rod is hinged to the housing through the kidney-shaped hole. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the pivot structure hole of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view Krzesicki of does not disclose wherein a distance between centers of circles at two ends of the kidney-shaped hole is greater than 2 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the distance between the centers of circles of the two ends of the kidney shaped hole to greater than 2mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Krzesicki discloses;
wherein the steering assembly comprises: a second steering shaft (shaft segment 102; Zhang, fig. 1),
wherein at least a part of the second steering shaft is disposed in the housing; (fig. 1, Zhang, illustrates the second shaft segment within housing 105.)
the second steering shaft is coupled to the first steering shaft and transmits the torque when the steering assembly is at the coupling position; and the second steering shaft is decoupled from the first steering shaft and stops the transmission of the torque when the steering assembly is at the decoupling position; and (Paragraph 46 of Zhang describes the engaged and disengaged states of the two shaft segments)
a clutch cylinder (sliding sleeve 106; fig. 1, Zhang), wherein the clutch cylinder is sleeved on the second steering shaft; and
the transmission unloading mechanism is connected with the clutch cylinder. (Zhang, paragraph 71 describes the movement of the sliding sleeve to be accomplished by a motor, but does not disclose the mechanism by which a motor may cause the sleeve to move. Krzesicki teaches a pivoting lever mechanism by which the sliding sleeve moves between the engaged and disengaged states.)
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Krzesicki discloses;
wherein a first hinge shaft (fastener 143; fig. 2) is disposed between the second end of the first adjusting connecting rod (clutch lever 108; fig. 2) and the steering assembly; (fig. 2 and paragraph 33 of Zhang describe a fastener which transmits the locating force of the clutch lever to the sliding clutch sleeve.)
a second hinge shaft is disposed between the second end of the second adjusting connecting rod and the steering assembly; and (fig. 2 does not show the far side of the steering assembly, but a second fastener must be present, opposite the first fastener 143 as the clutch lever is illustrated as pivoting from a pivot point above the steering assembly when actuated by an actuator located below the assembly.)
a line connecting a central axis of the first hinge shaft to a central axis of the second hinge shaft extends through a center of the clutch cylinder. (The two fasteners (143) are located on opposites sides of the shaft, in a straight line, such that the clutch lever can pivot on the sliding sleeve when actuated.)
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Krzesicki discloses;
wherein the clutch module further comprises: an elastic member (spring 125; fig. 2), wherein the elastic member acts on the steering assembly; and
the steering assembly moves toward the first steering shaft under a combined action of the transmission unloading mechanism and the elastic member when the steering assembly is at the coupling position. (Figs. 3 and 5 (and paragraph 36) illustrate the sliding collar in the decoupled (fig. 3) and coupled (fig. 5) positions resulting from the actions of the spring and the actuator.)
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Krzesicki discloses;
wherein the clutch module further comprises: a third steering shaft (upper shaft 101; Zhang, fig. 1), wherein the steering assembly is connected with the third steering shaft;
the steering assembly is coupled with the third steering shaft to transmit a steering torque; and
the steering assembly is configured to move with respect to the third steering shaft between the coupling position and the decoupling position. (Fig. 1 and paragraph 49 describes the steering wheel as attached to the upper shaft 101 and configured to move with the steering assembly between coupled and decoupled positions.)
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Krzesicki discloses;
wherein the third steering shaft (shaft 101) comprises a cavity; the steering assembly extends into the cavity; (fig. 1 of Zhang illustrates an internal cavity as part of shaft 101.)
an inner circumferential surface of the third steering shaft comprises a plurality of first splines; each of the first splines extends in an axial direction of the third steering shaft; (fig. 1 and paragraph 49 illustrate internal splines in the axial direction along the internal cavity of shaft 101.)
the first splines are disposed along a circumferential direction of the third steering shaft;
an outer peripheral surface of the steering assembly comprises a plurality of second splines; each of the second splines extends in an axial direction of the steering assembly; (fig. 1 illustrates axial splines along the outer circumference of shaft 102.)
the second splines are disposed along a circumferential direction of the steering assembly; and the first splines are meshed with the second splines. (fig. 1 illustrates the internal splines of shaft 101 meshing with the external splines of shaft 102. Paragraph 49 describes this splined connection as allowing an axial movement between the two shafts.)
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Krzesicki discloses;
further comprising: a steering gear, connected with one of the first steering shaft and the steering assembly; and
a steering wheel, connected with the other of the first steering shaft and the steering assembly. (Paragraph 4 describes the steering column as connecting a steering wheel to steering gear.)
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Krzesicki discloses;
A vehicle (Zhang, paragraph 4, discloses a steering assembly for use in a vehicle), comprising a vehicle steering system, wherein the vehicle steering system comprises: a housing; (steering column pipe 105; fig. 1);
a clutch module, wherein the clutch module comprises a first steering shaft (shaft section 103), a steering assembly (sliding sleeve 106, shaft segment 102; Zhang), at least a part of the first steering shaft and at least a part of the steering assembly are disposed in the housing; (Zhang, fig. 1 and paragraph 63, illustrate the end of shaft segments 103 and 102 meeting under the sliding sleeve 106, inside housing 105.)
and a drive mechanism (actuator 106; fig. 3, Krzesicki);
the steering assembly is configured to move between a coupling position and a decoupling position; the steering assembly is coupled with the first steering shaft at the coupling position (engaged state) and transmits a torque; and the steering assembly is decoupled from the first steering shaft at the decoupling position (disengaged state) and stops the transmission of the torque; and (Paragraph 8 of Zhang describes an engaged and disengaged state based on the operation of the clutch mechanism.)
a transmission unloading mechanism (clutch lever 108; Krzesicki, fig. 3), wherein the transmission unloading mechanism is configured to be connected with the drive mechanism and the housing; (Paragraph 32 of Krzesicki describes the end of the clutch lever, opposite the actuator as pivotally attached to a fixed point on the vehicle. With the combination of Zhang and Krzesicki, the lever attachment would be at the housing of Zhang.)
the drive mechanism is connected with the steering assembly through the transmission unloading mechanism; (Krzesicki, fig. 3 illustrates the connection between the actuator, through the clutch lever and clutch collar (126) to the steering shaft 102.)
the drive mechanism drives the steering assembly to move between the coupling position and the decoupling position through the transmission unloading mechanism; and (Krzesicki, paragraphs 35-36 describe the operation of the clutch lever to disengage and engage the clutch mechanism, thereby coupling and decoupling the steering shaft from the steering wheel.)
the transmission unloading mechanism unloads a limiting force of the drive mechanism on a position of the steering assembly when the steering assembly is driven by the drive mechanism to be at the coupling position. (Krzesicki, paragraph 35 and fig. 3 describes the activation of the drive mechanism (106) causing the transmission unloading mechanism (108) to move the clutch collar (126) to the disengaged position.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Zhang to include a drive mechanism and a transmission unloading mechanism to move the steering assembly between a coupled and decoupled position as taught by Krzesicki, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to steer-by-wire steering column systems. As disclosed by Krzesicki, it is well known for a drive mechanism and a transmission unloading mechanism to move the steering assembly between a coupled and decoupled position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include a drive mechanism and a transmission unloading mechanism to move the steering assembly between a coupled and decoupled position as taught by Krzesicki, as such a modification would provide the ability to switch a steering column between a coupled and decoupled condition in order to switch between manual and automated steering.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Krzesicki discloses;
wherein the transmission unloading mechanism comprises: a first adjusting connecting rod, (Krzesicki utilizes a yoke (clutch lever 108) surrounding a sliding sleeve and engaging with the sleeve on opposite sides of the steering column. This forms two connecting rods extending to both sides of the steering shaft.)
wherein a first end of the first adjusting connecting rod is connected with the drive mechanism (actuator 106); and (Krzesicki, fig. 2 illustrates the yoke consisting of two connecting rods extending around either side of the steering shaft and connecting to the actuator.)
a second end of the first adjusting connecting rod is hinged to the steering assembly;( Krzesicki, figs. 2-4 illustrate the pivot end (136) of the connecting rods, opposite the actuator (106).)
a second adjusting connecting rod, (Krzesicki, fig. 2 illustrates the yoke, consisting of two connecting rods which encompass both sides of the steering shaft.)
wherein a first end of the second adjusting connecting rod is connected with the drive mechanism; and (Krzesicki, fig. 2 illustrates the connection of the connecting rods (clutch lever 108) to the actuator (106).)
a second end of the second adjusting connecting rod is hinged to the steering assembly; and (Krzesicki, fig. 2 illustrates that the second connecting rod (clutch lever 108) is hinged ant the same location (pivot end 136) as the first connecting rod.)
a longitudinal connecting rod (446; fig. 12), (Krzesicki, fig. 5 illustrate a connecting rod linking the actuator with the clutch lever. Fig. 12 illustrates a second embodiment which also utilizes a rod linking the actuator to the clutch lever)
wherein a first end of the longitudinal connecting rod is hinged to the first adjusting connecting rod and the second adjusting connecting rod; (Krzesicki, figs 3 and 5 illustrate the rod pivoting at the clutch lever in order to move the mechanism between engaged and disengaged positions. Figs. 12 and 13, which illustrate second embodiment, illustrate a pivot pin at the location of the connection between the rod (446) and the clutch lever (440).)
Zhang in view Krzesicki of does not discloses a second end of the longitudinal connecting rod includes a kidney-shaped hole and the second end of the longitudinal connecting rod is hinged to the housing through the kidney-shaped hole. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the pivot structure hole of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Krzesicki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Derocher (DE 10 2019 132279 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Krzesicki does not disclose the drive mechanism is hinged to the housing, however Derocher teaches;
wherein the drive mechanism (actuator 32; Derocher, figs. 1 and 2) is hinged to the housing. (Derocher, figs. 1 and 2, illustrates a steering column tilt actuator which is hinged at both ends, the housing mount and the tilt bracket mount. As the tilt column bracket mount must pivot in an arc, the actuator must be mounted by hinged to the base so that the actuator can swing upwards (and not bind) as the column tilts.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Zhang in view of Krzesicki to include a drive mechanism which is hinged to the housing as taught by Derocher, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to steering columns with autonomous vehicle operations. As disclosed by Derocher, it is well known for a steering column with autonomous vehicle operations to include a drive mechanism which is hinged to the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Krzesicki to include a drive mechanism which is hinged to the housing as taught by Derocher, as such a modification would provide the ability to actuate a hinged bracket moving in an arc with a linear actuator.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Krzesicki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boos (DE 10 2018 217506 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Boos teaches;
further comprising: a rotation angle limiting device, wherein the rotation angle limiting device is connected with the steering assembly; (Paragraph 6 describes a disk which, is connected to the steering spindle, with a spiral groove which houses guide pins to form steering stops for the steering assembly.)
the rotation angle limiting device defines a maximum rotation angle of the steering assembly when the steering assembly is at the decoupling position. (Paragraph 6 describes the device for use with a steer-by-wire system which indicates a decoupled system or a system without a mechanical connection to the steered wheels.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Zhang in view of Krzesicki to include a rotation angle limiting device, connected with the steering assembly and defining a maximum rotation angle of the steering assembly when the steering assembly is at a decoupling position as taught by Boos, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering systems without a mechanical connection to the steered wheels. As disclosed by Boos, it is well known for vehicle steering systems to include a rotation angle limiting device, connected with the steering assembly, and defining a maximum rotation angle of the steering assembly when the steering assembly is at a decoupling position as. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Krzesicki to include a rotation angle limiting device, connected with the steering assembly and defining a maximum rotation angle of the steering assembly when the steering assembly is at a decoupling position as taught by Boos, as such a modification would provide a steering stop of the steering spindle in both directions.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Krzesicki and Boos as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Florchinger (DE 10 2017 120669 A).
Regarding claim 11, Florchinger teaches;
further comprising: a feeling simulator (feedback actuator 30; paragraph 14), wherein the feeling simulator is connected with the steering assembly; and in response to that the steering assembly is at the decoupling position, the feeling simulator is configured to simulate a feeling as the steering assembly is at the coupling position. (Paragraph 14 describes a force feedback to simulate road influences in a steer-by-wire system. Paragraph 49 describes the method by which during autonomous driving, steering wheel movement can be simulated.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Zhang, Krzesicki and Boos to include a feeling simulator, wherein the feeling simulator is connected with the steering assembly; and in response to that the steering assembly is at the decoupling position, the feeling simulator is configured to simulate a feeling as the steering assembly is at the coupling position as taught by Florchinger, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering systems with a decoupling feature. As disclosed by Florchinger, it is well known for a vehicle steering systems with a decoupling feature to include a feeling simulator, wherein the feeling simulator is connected with the steering assembly; and in response to that the steering assembly is at the decoupling position, the feeling simulator is configured to simulate a feeling as the steering assembly is at the coupling position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Krzesicki and Boos to include a feeling simulator, wherein the feeling simulator is connected with the steering assembly; and in response to that the steering assembly is at the decoupling position, the feeling simulator is configured to simulate a feeling as the steering assembly is at the coupling position as taught by Florchinger, as such a modification would provide the ability to simulate steering wheel movement when the steering system is in a decoupled state. (Paragraph 49 of Florchinger).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Krzesicki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Florchinger (DE 10 2017 120669 A).
Regarding claim 12, Florchinger teaches;
further comprising: a steering wheel adjustment device (telescope adjusting mechanism 42; fig. 1), wherein the steering wheel adjustment device is connected with the clutch module (switchable closure element 32); and the steering wheel adjustment device is configured to adjust a height and/or a pitch angle of a steering wheel. (paragraph 46 describes the telescoping arrangement by which column sections 16 and 18 can be adjusted in a telescoping manner.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Zhang in view of Krzesicki to include a steering wheel adjustment device wherein the steering wheel adjustment device is connected with the clutch module; and the steering wheel adjustment device is configured to adjust a height and/or a pitch angle of a steering wheel as taught by Florchinger, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering systems with a decoupling feature. As disclosed by Florchinger, it is well known for vehicle steering systems with a decoupling feature to include a steering wheel adjustment device wherein the steering wheel adjustment device is connected with the clutch module; and the steering wheel adjustment device is configured to adjust a height and/or a pitch angle of a steering wheel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Krzesicki to include to include a steering wheel adjustment device wherein the steering wheel adjustment device is connected with the clutch module; and the steering wheel adjustment device is configured to adjust a height and/or a pitch angle of a steering wheel as taught by Florchinger, as such a modification would provide the ability to adjust the positioning of the steering wheel.
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Krzesicki and Florchinger as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Geiselberger (WO 2020 089199 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses;
wherein the clutch module further comprises a third steering shaft (upper shaft 101; Zhang, fig. 1);
the steering assembly is connected with the third steering shaft; (Paragraphs 48-49 of Zhang describes the connection of a steering wheel to the upper shaft.)
the steering assembly is coupled with in the third steering shaft to transmit a steering torque; (Paragraphs 48-49 describes the connection of the steering wheel, for applying steering torque to the vehicle steering assembly, through the upper and lower shafts to the steering gears.)
the steering assembly is configured to move with respect to the third steering shaft between the coupling position and the decoupling position; and the steering wheel is fixed to the third steering shaft; (paragraph 49. Fig. 1)
and when the steering wheel adjustment device is configured to adjust at least a height of the steering wheel, the steering wheel adjustment device comprises a steering wheel height adjustment device (telescoping section 20);
and the steering wheel height adjustment device comprises:
a slidable cylinder, wherein the slidable cylinder is sleeved on the third steering shaft; (paragraph 49 and fig. 1 illustrates shaft 16 sliding into shaft 18 to change the length of the steering shaft and the height of the steering wheel.)
Zhang does not disclose a height adjustment drive mechanism however, Geiselberger teaches;
and a height adjustment drive mechanism (longitudinal adjustment drive 28; fig. 2, paragraph 91-92),
wherein the height adjustment drive mechanism is connected with the slidable cylinder;
and the height adjustment drive mechanism drives the third steering shaft to drive the steering wheel to move up and down through the slidable cylinder. (Paragraphs 91-92 describe the axial adjustment of the sliding column using drive 28.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Zhang, Krzesicki and Florchinger to include a height adjustment drive mechanism wherein the height adjustment drive mechanism is connected with the slidable cylinder; and the height adjustment drive mechanism drives the third steering shaft to drive the steering wheel to move up and down through the slidable cylinder as taught by Geiselberger, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering columns. As disclosed by Geiselberger, it is well known for a vehicle steering column to include a height adjustment drive mechanism wherein the height adjustment drive mechanism is connected with the slidable cylinder; and the height adjustment drive mechanism drives the third steering shaft to drive the steering wheel to move up and down through the slidable cylinder. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Krzesicki and Florchinger to include a height adjustment drive mechanism wherein the height adjustment drive mechanism is connected with the slidable cylinder; and the height adjustment drive mechanism drives the third steering shaft to drive the steering wheel to move up and down through the slidable cylinder as taught by Geiselberger, as such a modification would provide the ability to adjust the position of the steering wheel.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Geiselberger discloses;
wherein the height adjustment drive mechanism comprises: a height adjustment drive device (motor 281; fig. 2, paragraph 92), wherein the height adjustment drive device is fixed to the housing; (Fig, 2 illustrates the motor fixed to the column base.)
a height adjustment transmission member (gear unit 282; fig. 2, paragraph 93), wherein the height adjustment transmission member is connected with the height adjustment drive device; and (Fig. 2 illustrates the gear unit (282) as connected to the motor (281) and transmits the force from the drive device to the driving member.)
a height adjustment driving member (threaded rod 29; fig. 2, paragraph 91), wherein the height adjustment driving member fits in with the height adjustment transmission member; and (fig.2 illustrates the threaded rod fitting with the gear unit such that rotational force from the gear unit causes the threaded rod to extend or retract the steering column.)
the height adjustment driving member is fixed to the cylinder to drive the cylinder to move up and down. (paragraphs 92-93 describe the movement of the column along the longitudinal axis of the steering column.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Zhang to include a height adjustment drive device, fixed to the housing; a height adjustment transmission member, connected with the height adjustment drive device; and a height adjustment driving member, which fits in with the height adjustment transmission member; and drives the cylinder to move up and down as taught by Geiselberger, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering columns. As disclosed by Geiselberger, it is well known for vehicle steering columns to include a height adjustment drive device, fixed to the housing; a height adjustment transmission member, connected with the height adjustment drive device; and a height adjustment driving member, which fits in with the height adjustment transmission member; and drives the cylinder to move up and down. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include a height adjustment drive device, fixed to the housing; a height adjustment transmission member, connected with the height adjustment drive device; and a height adjustment driving member, which fits in with the height adjustment transmission member; and drives the cylinder to move up and down as taught by Geiselberger, as such a modification would provide the ability to adjust the position of the steering wheel.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Geiselberger further discloses;
wherein the clutch module comprises a third steering shaft (upper shaft 101; Zhang fig. 1); (Geiselberger, paragraph 93, also discloses a third shaft (outer shaft 4) to which the steering wheel is connected.)
the housing is sleeved on the third steering shaft; the housing (casing 9; Geiselberger, paragraph 97) is configured to be hinged to a vehicle body of the vehicle;
the steering assembly is connected with the third steering shaft; (Zhang, paragraphs 48-49, describe the connection of a steering wheel to the upper shaft.)
the steering assembly fits in with the third steering shaft to transmit a steering torque; (Zhang, paragraphs 48-49, describes the connection of the steering wheel, for applying steering torque to the vehicle steering assembly, through the upper and lower shafts to the steering gears.)
the steering assembly is configured to move between the coupling position and the decoupling position relative to the third steering shaft; the steering wheel is fixed to the third steering shaft; (Zhang, paragraph 49. Fig. 1)
when the steering wheel adjustment device is configured to adjust at least a pitch angle of the steering wheel, the steering wheel adjustment device comprises a steering wheel pitch angle adjustment device (motorized adjustment drive 101), and (Geiselberger, paragraphs 95-97 describes a motorized adjustment drive 101 which pivots the steering column in its mount to affect a pitch adjustment of the steering column.)
the steering wheel pitch angle adjustment device comprises: a pitching adjustment drive mechanism, wherein the pitching adjustment drive mechanism is connected with the housing (casing 9; Geiselberger, paragraph 95) and the vehicle body (console 100; paragraph 95); (Fig. 3 illustrates an angled, threaded drive, driven by motor (101) which pivots the steering column jacket (9) in its hanging (housing) bracket (100).)
and the pitching adjustment drive mechanism drives, through the housing, the third steering shaft to drive the steering wheel to perform pitching movement.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Geiselberger further discloses;
wherein the pitching adjustment drive mechanism comprises: a pitching adjustment drive device (811), wherein the pitching adjustment drive device is hinged to the housing;
a pitching adjustment transmission mechanism (812), wherein the pitching adjustment transmission mechanism is connected with the pitching adjustment drive device; and
a pitching adjustment connecting rod mechanism (813), wherein the pitching adjustment connecting rod mechanism is hinged to the pitching adjustment transmission mechanism, the housing, and the vehicle body. (Fig. 3 illustrates an angled, threaded drive, driven by motor (101) which pivots the steering column jacket (9) in its hanging (housing) bracket (100). Paragraphs 95-97 describe an electric motor which pivots the steering column relative to its mounting in the vehicle).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Geiselberger further discloses;
wherein the pitching adjustment drive mechanism further comprises: a fixed (console 100; paragraph 95-97) seat, wherein the fixed seat is configured to be fixed to the vehicle body; and the housing and the pitching adjustment connecting rod mechanism are hinged to the fixed seat. (paragraphs 95-97 describe the steering column as being affixed to the vehicle by the console (100) and to pivot at jacket (9) to cause a pitch adjustment.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s explanation, beginning on page 10, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 19 under USC 35 112(a) has been considered and is persuasive. The rejection of 10/22/2025 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1- 19 under 35 USC 103, applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has clarified the limitation, described in independent claims 1 and 19 as the transmission unloading mechanism unloads a limiting force of the drive mechanism on a position of the steering assembly when the steering assembly is driven by the drive mechanism to be at the coupling position. The limitation is understood to describe the transmission unloading mechanism as exerting a force, supplied by the drive mechanism, onto the steering mechanism when the steering mechanism is moved to the coupling position from the decoupling position. However, references Zhang and Krzesicki both describe mechanisms which perform this function. A combination of theses references also describes all the limitations of the independent claims, including a clutch module, steering shaft, steering assembly, drive mechanism and a transmission unloading mechanism.
Regarding claim 7 which describes a spring that along with the transmission unloading mechanism both urge the steering assembly into a coupling position. Reference Krzesicki illustrates in fig. 5 a spring, which along with lever 134, urges the steering system into a coupled configuration.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
March 23, 2026