DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks pages 11-15, filed 2/19/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-7 and 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive (notably, Applicant’s observation that the example described in US 20210143352 A1 (Yamazaki et al) was noted to use ITSO as its electrode material as opposed to ITO in order to achieve the intended refractive index properties). Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of prior art documents US 20150021627 A1 (Fujita et al) in view of US 20210184123 A1 (Hayano), which teaches that TAPC, a material suggested for the hole transport layer of the present application, is a known alternative hole transport material which would be obvious to use in a light emitting device. Prior art document US 20200227685 A1 (Kyoung et al) in view of Hayano likewise would teach such a configuration, and those teachings are found pertinent to the examination of claims 1-7, 9-12, 16-18, and 22-23.
Dependent claims 8, 13-15, and 19-21 are still found to have allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent publications US 20150021627 A1 (Fujita et al hereinafter Fujita) in view of US 20210184123 A1 (Hayano).
Regarding claim 1, Fujita discloses a light-emitting device (the device of FIGS. 4-5 ¶ [0054-0055]) comprising: a first reflective film (FIG. 5, reflection layer 26 has high reflectivity ¶ [0125]); a first layer (FIG. 5, dielectric multilayer film 27 ¶ [0126]); a second layer (FIG. 5, positive electrode 31 ¶ [0110]); a third layer (functional layer 32 includes a hole injection transport layer HTL ¶ [0146]); a fourth layer (FIG. 5, functional layer 32 includes light emitting layer EML ¶ [0146]); and a first electrode (FIG. 5, negative electrode 33 ¶ [0110]), wherein the first electrode overlaps with the first reflective film (FIG. 5, negative electrode 33 overlaps reflection layer 26), wherein the fourth layer is positioned between the first electrode and the first reflective film (FIG. 5, EML of layer 32 is between negative electrode 33 and reflection layer 26), wherein the fourth layer comprises a first light-emitting material (a variety of light-emitting materials are suggested for EML ¶ [0157-0168]), wherein the first light-emitting material has an emission spectrum having a peak at a first wavelength (while peak wavelengths are not stated for each material suggested for use in EML, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each material includes an emission spectrum peak), wherein the third layer is positioned between the fourth layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 6, HTL is located between EML and reflection layer 26 ¶ [0146]), wherein the third layer comprises an organic compound (HTL may comprise a variety of organic materials listed in ¶ [0149-0155]),
wherein the second layer is positioned between the third layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 5, positive electrode 31 is between functional layer 32 and reflection layer 26), wherein the second layer has a property of transmitting light with the first wavelength (positive electrode 31 is translucent, allowing the light to transmit ¶ [0129]), wherein the second layer comprises a second electrode (positive electrode 31 is a second electrode), wherein the second layer comprises an element with an atomic number of 21 to 83 at 5 atomic% or higher (positive electrode 31 may be formed of ITO, which is an oxide including Indium and Tin ¶ [0143]; present application ¶ [0199] suggested such a material as suitable for the second electrode), wherein the first layer is positioned between the second layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 5, dielectric multilayer film 27 is between positive electrode 31 and reflection layer 26), wherein the first layer has a property of transmitting light with the first wavelength (light passes through dielectric multilayer film 27 as part of an optical resonance structure ¶ [0135]), wherein the first layer comprises an element with an atomic number of 1 to 20 at 95 atomic% or higher (dielectric multilayer film 27 may be formed of alternating layers of silicon oxide and amorphous silicon, all of which have elements with atomic numbers in the range of 1-20 ¶ [0138-0140]), and wherein the first reflective film reflects light with the first wavelength (reflection layer 26 has high reflectivity to reflect light emitted by EML ¶ [0129]).
Fujita did not explicitly disclose that the organic compound has an ordinary refractive index higher than or equal to 1.45 and lower than or equal to 1.75 at a wavelength in a range of 450 nm to 650 nm inclusive, and that the second layer has a higher ordinary refractive index than the first layer and the third layer at the first wavelength, the description of such a parameter for each of their materials for their hole injection transport layer HTL not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention; Fujita does suggest certain materials for HTL, among which a “benzidine series” structure is listed (¶ [0149-0150]). In applicant’s disclosure, a number of materials meeting that claim limitation are listed in ¶ [0179-0180] of the present specification (e.g. TAPC ¶ [0180]).
However, Hayano discloses a light emitting device wherein a hole transport layer (FIG. 2, hole transport layer HTL ¶ [0050]) may interchangeably be formed of TAPC or a benzidine series derivative NPB (¶ [0050]). TAPC would be recognized as an organic compound that has an ordinary refractive index higher than or equal to 1.45 and lower than or equal to 1.75 at a wavelength in a range of 450 nm to 650 nm inclusive, since applicant’s specification suggested TAPC as a suitable hole transport material (present application ¶ [0180]).
Fujita and Hayano both pertain to the field of light emitting devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the functional layer of Fujita in view of Hayano by using TAPC as the organic compound comprised by the third layer, whereby the organic compound has an ordinary refractive index higher than or equal to 1.45 and lower than or equal to 1.75 at a wavelength in a range of 450 nm to 650 nm inclusive, because Hayano has indicated that TAPC and a benzidine series compound are known alternative materials which may be used for a hole transport layer; using TAPC may further be found beneficial when considering materials costs and changing market conditions. Having done so, Fujita in view of Hayano further discloses that the second layer has a higher ordinary refractive index than the first layer and the third layer at the first wavelength (in the context of Fujita in view of Hayano, the first layer having dielectric films 27a is formed of silicon oxide Fujita ¶ [0139], the second layer positive electrode 31 is formed of ITO Fujita ¶ [0143], and the third layer is formed of TAPC Hayano ¶ [0050]; these materials are consistent with the disclosed materials taught in present application ¶ [0180, 0199, and 0208], and therefore have the same claimed refractive index properties).
Regarding claim 2, Fujita in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, and they further disclose that a difference in ordinary refractive index at the first wavelength between the second layer and the third layer is larger than or equal to 0.2 and smaller than or equal to 1.5 (in the context of Fujita in view of Hayano, the second layer positive electrode 31 is formed of ITO Fujita ¶ [0143], and the third layer is formed of TAPC Hayano ¶ [0050]; these materials are consistent with the disclosed materials taught in present application ¶ [0180 and 0199], and therefore have the same claimed refractive index properties).
Regarding claim 3, Fujita in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, and they further disclose that a difference in ordinary refractive index at the first wavelength between the first layer and the second layer is larger than or equal to 0.2 and smaller than or equal to 1.8 (in the context of Fujita in view of Hayano, the second layer positive electrode 31 is formed of ITO Fujita ¶ [0143], and the first layer having dielectric films 27a is formed of silicon oxide Fujita ¶ [0139]; these materials are consistent with the disclosed materials taught in present application ¶ [0199 and 0208], and therefore have the same claimed refractive index properties).
Regarding claim 4, Fujita in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, and they further disclose that the first layer has an ordinary refractive index higher than or equal to 1.20 and lower than or equal to 1.70 at the first wavelength, and wherein the first layer has an insulating property (in the context of Fujita in view of Hayano, the first layer having dielectric films 27a is formed of silicon oxide Fujita ¶ [0139]; these materials are consistent with the disclosed materials taught in present application ¶ [0208], and therefore has the same claimed refractive index properties).
Regarding claim 5, Fujita discloses a light-emitting device (the device of FIGS. 4-5 ¶ [0054-0055]) comprising: a first reflective film (FIG. 5, reflection layer 26 has high reflectivity ¶ [0125]); a first layer (FIG. 5, dielectric multilayer film 27 ¶ [0126]); a second layer (FIG. 5, positive electrode 31 ¶ [0110]); a third layer (functional layer 32 includes a hole injection transport layer HTL ¶ [0146]); a fourth layer (FIG. 5, functional layer 32 includes light emitting layer EML ¶ [0146]); and a first electrode (FIG. 5, negative electrode 33 ¶ [0110]), wherein the first electrode overlaps with the first reflective film (FIG. 5, negative electrode 33 overlaps reflection layer 26), wherein the fourth layer is positioned between the first electrode and the first reflective film (FIG. 5, EML of layer 32 is between negative electrode 33 and reflection layer 26), wherein the fourth layer comprises a first light-emitting material (a variety of light-emitting materials are suggested for EML ¶ [0157-0168]), wherein the first light-emitting material has an emission spectrum having a peak at a first wavelength (while peak wavelengths are not stated for each material suggested for use in EML, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each material includes an emission spectrum peak), wherein the third layer is positioned between the fourth layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 6, HTL is located between EML and reflection layer 26 ¶ [0146]), wherein the third layer comprises an organic compound (HTL may comprise a variety of organic materials listed in ¶ [0149-0155]),
wherein the second layer is positioned between the third layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 5, positive electrode 31 is between functional layer 32 and reflection layer 26), wherein the second layer has a property of transmitting light with the first wavelength (positive electrode 31 is translucent, allowing the light to transmit ¶ [0129]), wherein the second layer comprises a second electrode (positive electrode 31 is a second electrode), wherein the second layer comprises an element with an atomic number of 21 to 83 at 5 atomic% or higher (positive electrode 31 may be formed of ITO, which is an oxide including Indium and Tin ¶ [0143]; present application ¶ [0199] suggested such a material as suitable for the second electrode), wherein the first layer is positioned between the second layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 5, dielectric multilayer film 27 is between positive electrode 31 and reflection layer 26), wherein the first layer has a property of transmitting light with the first wavelength (light passes through dielectric multilayer film 27 as part of an optical resonance structure ¶ [0135]), wherein the first layer comprises an element with an atomic number of 1 to 20 at 95 atomic% or higher (dielectric multilayer film 27 may be formed of alternating layers of silicon oxide and amorphous silicon, all of which have elements with atomic numbers in the range of 1-20 ¶ [0138-0140]), and wherein the first reflective film reflects light with the first wavelength (reflection layer 26 has high reflectivity to reflect light emitted by EML ¶ [0129]).
Fujita did not explicitly disclose that the organic compound comprises carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals at higher than or equal to 23 % and lower than or equal to 55 % of the total carbon atoms in a molecule, such details regarding sp3 hybrid orbitals not being discussed in particular detail in the disclosure of Fujita, and that the second layer has a higher ordinary refractive index than the first layer and the third layer at the first wavelength; Fujita does suggest certain materials for HTL, among which a “benzidine series” structure is listed (¶ [0149-0150]). In applicant’s disclosure, a number of materials meeting the claim limitations are listed in ¶ [0179-0180] of the present specification (e.g. TAPC ¶ [0180]).
However, Hayano discloses a light emitting device wherein a hole transport layer (FIG. 2, hole transport layer HTL ¶ [0050]) may interchangeably be formed of TAPC or a benzidine series derivative NPB (¶ [0050]). TAPC would be recognized as an organic compound that has carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals at higher than or equal to 23 % and lower than or equal to 55 % of the total carbon atoms in a molecule, since applicant’s specification suggested TAPC as a suitable hole transport material (present application ¶ [0180]).
Fujita and Hayano both pertain to the field of light emitting devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the functional layer of Fujita in view of Hayano by using TAPC as the organic compound comprised by the third layer, whereby the organic compound has carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals at higher than or equal to 23 % and lower than or equal to 55 % of the total carbon atoms in a molecule, because Hayano has indicated that TAPC and a benzidine series compound are known alternative materials which may be used for a hole transport layer; using TAPC may further be found beneficial when considering materials costs and changing market conditions. Having done so, Fujita in view of Hayano further discloses that the second layer has a higher ordinary refractive index than the first layer and the third layer at the first wavelength (in the context of Fujita in view of Hayano, the first layer having dielectric films 27a is formed of silicon oxide Fujita ¶ [0139], the second layer positive electrode 31 is formed of ITO Fujita ¶ [0143], and the third layer is formed of TAPC Hayano ¶ [0050]; these materials are consistent with the disclosed materials taught in present application ¶ [0180, 0199, and 0208], and therefore have the same claimed refractive index properties).
Regarding claim 6, Fujita in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above, and further discloses that the second layer comprises a metal oxide, and wherein the metal oxide comprises indium, tin, zinc, gallium, or titanium (positive electrode 31 may be formed of ITO, which is a metal oxide including Indium and Tin, Fujita ¶ [0143]).
Regarding claim 7, Fujita in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above, and further discloses that the first layer comprises silicon oxide or aluminum oxide (Fujita FIG. 6, the first layer having dielectric films 27a is formed of silicon oxide, ¶ [0139]).
Regarding claim 9, Fujita in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above, and further discloses that the first reflective film comprises silver or aluminum (Fujita FIG. 5, reflection layer 26 includes aluminum ¶ [0125]).
Regrading claim 10, Fujita in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above, and further discloses that the first electrode has a property of transmitting light with the first wavelength (Fujita FIG. 5, negative electrode 33 transmits light emitted from the functional layer ¶ [0129]).
Regarding claim 11, Fujita in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above, and further discloses that the first electrode comprises silver, magnesium, aluminum, indium, tin, zinc, gallium, or titanium (Fujita FIG. 5, negative electrode 33 comprises silver and magnesium ¶ [0132]).
Claims 1, 5, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent publications US 20200227685 A1 (Kyoung et al hereinafter Kyoung) in view of Hayano.
Regarding claim 1, Kyoung discloses a light-emitting device (FIG. 1, blue pixel 100B) comprising: a first reflective film (FIG. 1, reflection layer 120 in blue pixel 100B ¶ [0052]); a first layer (FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 ¶ [0046]); a second layer (FIG. 1, first electrode 140 in blue pixel 100B ¶ [0046]); a third layer (FIG. 1, hole transfer layer 152 ¶ [0047]); a fourth layer (FIG. 1, organic emissive layer 153 includes a blue emissive layer ¶ [0047]; said blue emissive layer is considered to be the fourth layer); and a first electrode (FIG. 1, second electrode 170 ¶ [0051]), wherein the first electrode overlaps with the first reflective film (FIG. 1, second electrode 170 overlaps reflection layer 120 at blue pixel 100B), wherein the fourth layer is positioned between the first electrode and the first reflective film (FIG. 1, in blue pixel 100B, organic emissive layer 153 is between electrode 170 and reflection layer 120), wherein the fourth layer comprises a first light-emitting material (organic emissive layer 153 includes the blue emissive layer ¶ [0047], which emits blue light), wherein the first light-emitting material has an emission spectrum having a peak at a first wavelength (since it emits blue light, the blue emissive layer has an emission spectrum peak in a blue wavelength), wherein the third layer is positioned between the fourth layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 1, hole transfer layer 152 is between organic emissive layer 153 and reflection layer 120),
wherein the second layer is positioned between the third layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 1, first electrode 140 in blue pixel 100B is between hole transfer layer 152 and reflection layer 120), wherein the second layer has a property of transmitting light with the first wavelength (electrode 140 in blue pixel 100B is a transparent conductive oxide, which transmits light ¶ [0051]), wherein the second layer comprises a second electrode (electrode 140 is an electrode), wherein the second layer comprises an element with an atomic number of 21 to 83 at 5 atomic% or higher (electrode 140 may be formed of ITO ¶ [0051]; present application ¶ [0199] suggested such a material as suitable for the second electrode), wherein the first layer is positioned between the second layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 is between electrode 140 and reflection layer 120), wherein the first layer has a property of transmitting light with the first wavelength (dielectric layer 130 is transparent and transmits visible light ¶ [0053]), wherein the first layer comprises an element with an atomic number of 1 to 20 at 95 atomic% or higher (dielectric layer 130 may be silicon oxide ¶ [0053] which consists of elements with atomic numbers in the range of 1-20), and wherein the first reflective film reflects light with the first wavelength (reflection layer 120 reflects visible light ¶ [0052], including the blue light of the first wavelength).
Kyoung did not explicitly disclose that the third layer comprises an organic compound, wherein the organic compound has an ordinary refractive index higher than or equal to 1.45 and lower than or equal to 1.75 at a wavelength in a range of 450 nm to 650 nm inclusive, the description of such a parameter for the materials for their hole transfer layer 152 not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention, and wherein the second layer has a higher ordinary refractive index than the first layer and the third layer at the first wavelength. In applicant’s disclosure, a number of materials for the organic compound are listed in ¶ [0179-0180] of the present specification (e.g. TAPC ¶ [0180]).
However, Hayano discloses a light emitting device wherein a hole transport layer (FIG. 2, hole transport layer HTL ¶ [0050]) may be formed of TAPC (¶ [0050]). TAPC would be recognized as an organic compound that has an ordinary refractive index higher than or equal to 1.45 and lower than or equal to 1.75 at a wavelength in a range of 450 nm to 650 nm inclusive, since applicant’s specification suggested TAPC as a suitable hole transport material (present application ¶ [0180]).
Kyoung and Hayano both pertain to the field of OLED display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the light emitting region of Kyoung in view of Hayano by using TAPC as the organic compound comprised by the third layer, whereby the organic compound has an ordinary refractive index higher than or equal to 1.45 and lower than or equal to 1.75 at a wavelength in a range of 450 nm to 650 nm inclusive, because Hayano has indicated that TAPC is a known material which may be used for a hole transport layer; using TAPC may further be found beneficial when considering materials costs and changing market conditions. Having done so, Kyoung in view of Hayano further discloses that the second layer has a higher ordinary refractive index than the first layer and the third layer at the first wavelength (in the context of Kyoung in view of Hayano, the first layer being dielectric layer 130 may be silicon oxide Kyoung ¶ [0053], the second layer being electrode 140 may be formed of ITO Kyoung ¶ [0051], and the third layer is formed of TAPC Hayano ¶ [0050]; these materials are consistent with the disclosed materials taught in present application ¶ [0180, 0199, and 0208], and therefore have the same claimed refractive index properties).
Regarding claim 5, Kyoung discloses a light-emitting device (FIG. 1, blue pixel 100B) comprising: a first reflective film (FIG. 1, reflection layer 120 in blue pixel 100B ¶ [0052]); a first layer (FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 ¶ [0046]); a second layer (FIG. 1, first electrode 140 in blue pixel 100B ¶ [0046]); a third layer (FIG. 1, hole transfer layer 152 ¶ [0047]); a fourth layer (FIG. 1, organic emissive layer 153 includes a blue emissive layer ¶ [0047]; said blue emissive layer is considered to be the fourth layer); and a first electrode (FIG. 1, second electrode 170 ¶ [0051]), wherein the first electrode overlaps with the first reflective film (FIG. 1, second electrode 170 overlaps reflection layer 120 at blue pixel 100B), wherein the fourth layer is positioned between the first electrode and the first reflective film (FIG. 1, in blue pixel 100B, organic emissive layer 153 is between electrode 170 and reflection layer 120), wherein the fourth layer comprises a first light-emitting material (organic emissive layer 153 includes the blue emissive layer ¶ [0047], which emits blue light), wherein the first light-emitting material has an emission spectrum having a peak at a first wavelength (since it emits blue light, the blue emissive layer has an emission spectrum peak in a blue wavelength), wherein the third layer is positioned between the fourth layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 1, hole transfer layer 152 is between organic emissive layer 153 and reflection layer 120),
wherein the second layer is positioned between the third layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 1, first electrode 140 in blue pixel 100B is between hole transfer layer 152 and reflection layer 120), wherein the second layer has a property of transmitting light with the first wavelength (electrode 140 in blue pixel 100B is a transparent conductive oxide, which transmits light ¶ [0051]), wherein the second layer comprises a second electrode (electrode 140 is an electrode), wherein the second layer comprises an element with an atomic number of 21 to 83 at 5 atomic% or higher (electrode 140 may be formed of ITO ¶ [0051]; present application ¶ [0199] suggested such a material as suitable for the second electrode), wherein the first layer is positioned between the second layer and the first reflective film (FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 is between electrode 140 and reflection layer 120), wherein the first layer has a property of transmitting light with the first wavelength (dielectric layer 130 is transparent and transmits visible light ¶ [0053]), wherein the first layer comprises an element with an atomic number of 1 to 20 at 95 atomic% or higher (dielectric layer 130 may be silicon oxide ¶ [0053] which consists of elements with atomic numbers in the range of 1-20), and wherein the first reflective film reflects light with the first wavelength (reflection layer 120 reflects visible light ¶ [0052], including the blue light of the first wavelength).
Kyoung did not explicitly disclose that the third layer comprises an organic compound, wherein the organic compound comprises carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals at higher than or equal to 23 % and lower than or equal to 55 % of the total carbon atoms in a molecule, such details regarding sp3 hybrid orbitals not being discussed in particular detail in the disclosure of Kyoung, and wherein the second layer has a higher ordinary refractive index than the first layer and the third layer at the first wavelength. In applicant’s disclosure, a number of materials for the organic compound are listed in ¶ [0179-0180] of the present specification (e.g. TAPC ¶ [0180]).
However, Hayano discloses a light emitting device wherein a hole transport layer (FIG. 2, hole transport layer HTL ¶ [0050]) may be formed of TAPC (¶ [0050]). TAPC would be recognized as an organic compound that has carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals at higher than or equal to 23 % and lower than or equal to 55 % of the total carbon atoms in a molecule, since applicant’s specification suggested TAPC as a suitable hole transport material (present application ¶ [0180]).
Kyoung and Hayano both pertain to the field of OLED display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the light emitting region of Kyoung in view of Hayano such that the light emitting region comprises the hole transport layer of Hayano which includes an organic compound, wherein the organic compound comprises carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals at higher than or equal to 23 % and lower than or equal to 55 % of the total carbon atoms in a molecule, because Hayano has indicated that TAPC is a known material which may be used for a hole transport layer; using TAPC may further be found beneficial when considering materials costs and changing market conditions. Having done so, Kyoung in view of Hayano further discloses that the second layer has a higher ordinary refractive index than the first layer and the third layer at the first wavelength (in the context of Kyoung in view of Hayano, the first layer being dielectric layer 130 may be silicon oxide Kyoung ¶ [0053], the second layer being electrode 140 may be formed of ITO Kyoung ¶ [0051], and the third layer is formed of TAPC Hayano ¶ [0050]; these materials are consistent with the disclosed materials taught in present application ¶ [0180, 0199, and 0208], and therefore have the same claimed refractive index properties).
Regarding claim 12, Kyoung in view of Hayano discloses a display apparatus comprising: a first light-emitting device (Kyoung FIG. 1, blue pixel 100B modified in view of Hayano as detailed above); and a second light-emitting device (Kyoung FIG. 1, green pixel 100G), wherein the first light-emitting device has the structure according to claim 1 (Kyoung’s blue pixel 100B was modified in view of Hayano as described regarding claim 1 above), wherein the second light-emitting device is adjacent to the first light-emitting device (Kyoung FIG. 1, green pixel 100G is to the immediate right of blue pixel 100B), wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second reflective film (FIG. 1, reflection layer 120 in green pixel 100G), a fifth layer (FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 in green pixel 100G ¶ [0046]), a sixth layer (FIG. 1, first electrode 140 in green pixel 100G ¶ [0046]), a seventh layer (FIG. 1, hole transfer layer 152 ¶ [0047]; it was modified in view of Hayano as described regarding claim 1 above), an eighth layer (FIG. 1, organic emissive layer 153 includes a green emissive layer ¶ [0047]; said green emissive layer is considered to be the eighth layer), and a third electrode (FIG. 1, second electrode 170 in green pixel 100G ¶ [0051]), wherein the third electrode overlaps with the second reflective film (FIG. 1, second electrode 170 overlaps reflection layer 120 at green pixel 100G), wherein the eighth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the second reflective film (FIG. 1, in green pixel 100G, organic emissive layer 153 is between electrode 170 and reflection layer 120), wherein the eighth layer comprises a second light-emitting material (organic emissive layer 153 includes the green emissive layer ¶ [0047], which emits green light), wherein the second light-emitting material has an emission spectrum having a peak at a second wavelength (since it emits green light, the green emissive layer has an emission spectrum peak in a green wavelength), wherein the second wavelength is longer than the first wavelength (the peak wavelength of a green light is longer than the peak wavelength of a blue light),
wherein the seventh layer is positioned between the eighth layer and the second reflective film (FIG. 1, hole transfer layer 152 is between organic emissive layer 153 and reflection layer 120), wherein the seventh layer comprises the organic compound (in view of the modification to Kyoung in view of Hayano, the hole transfer layer 152 in green pixel 100G includes the TAPC hole transport material), wherein the sixth layer comprises the same material as the second layer (in view of the modification to Kyoung in view of Hayano, the hole transfer layer 152 in green pixel 100G includes the same TAPC hole transport material as hole transfer layer 152 in blue pixel 100B), wherein the sixth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the second reflective film (FIG. 1, first electrode 140 in green pixel 100G is between hole transfer layer 152 and reflection layer 120), wherein the sixth layer has a property of transmitting light with the second wavelength (electrode 140 in green pixel 100G is a transparent conductive oxide, which transmits light ¶ [0051]), wherein the sixth layer comprises a fourth electrode (electrode 140 in green pixel 100G is an electrode), wherein the fifth layer comprises the same material as the first layer (Kyoung FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 is formed of a same material in both pixels blue 100B and green 100G ¶ [0046]), wherein the fifth layer is positioned between the sixth layer and the second reflective film (FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 in green pixel 100G is between electrode 140 and reflection layer 120), wherein the fifth layer has a property of transmitting light with the second wavelength (dielectric layer 130 in green pixel 100G is transparent and transmits visible light ¶ [0053]), wherein the second reflective film is adjacent to the first reflective film (FIG. 1, reflection layer 120 in green pixel 100G is to the immediate right of reflection layer 120 in blue pixel 100B), and wherein the second reflective film reflects light with the second wavelength (reflection layer 120 reflects visible light ¶ [0052], including the green light of the second wavelength).
Regarding claim 18, Kyoung in view of Hayano discloses a display apparatus comprising: a first light-emitting device (Kyoung FIG. 1, blue pixel 100B modified in view of Hayano as detailed above); and a second light-emitting device (Kyoung FIG. 1, green pixel 100G), wherein the first light-emitting device has the structure according to claim 5 (Kyoung’s blue pixel 100B was modified in view of Hayano as described regarding claim 5 above), wherein the second light-emitting device is adjacent to the first light-emitting device (Kyoung FIG. 1, green pixel 100G is to the immediate right of blue pixel 100B), wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second reflective film (FIG. 1, reflection layer 120 in green pixel 100G), a fifth layer (FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 in green pixel 100G ¶ [0046]), a sixth layer (FIG. 1, first electrode 140 in green pixel 100G ¶ [0046]), a seventh layer (FIG. 1, hole transfer layer 152 ¶ [0047]; it was modified in view of Hayano as described regarding claim 5 above), an eighth layer (FIG. 1, organic emissive layer 153 includes a green emissive layer ¶ [0047]; said green emissive layer is considered to be the eighth layer), and a third electrode (FIG. 1, second electrode 170 in green pixel 100G ¶ [0051]), wherein the third electrode overlaps with the second reflective film (FIG. 1, second electrode 170 overlaps reflection layer 120 at green pixel 100G), wherein the eighth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the second reflective film (FIG. 1, in green pixel 100G, organic emissive layer 153 is between electrode 170 and reflection layer 120), wherein the eighth layer comprises a second light-emitting material (organic emissive layer 153 includes the green emissive layer ¶ [0047], which emits green light), wherein the second light-emitting material has an emission spectrum having a peak at a second wavelength (since it emits green light, the green emissive layer has an emission spectrum peak in a green wavelength), wherein the second wavelength is longer than the first wavelength (the peak wavelength of a green light is longer than the peak wavelength of a blue light),
wherein the seventh layer is positioned between the eighth layer and the second reflective film (FIG. 1, hole transfer layer 152 is between organic emissive layer 153 and reflection layer 120), wherein the seventh layer comprises the organic compound (in view of the modification to Kyoung in view of Hayano, the hole transfer layer 152 in green pixel 100G includes the TAPC hole transport material), wherein the sixth layer comprises the same material as the second layer (in view of the modification to Kyoung in view of Hayano, the hole transfer layer 152 in green pixel 100G includes the same TAPC hole transport material as hole transfer layer 152 in blue pixel 100B), wherein the sixth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the second reflective film (FIG. 1, first electrode 140 in green pixel 100G is between hole transfer layer 152 and reflection layer 120), wherein the sixth layer has a property of transmitting light with the second wavelength (electrode 140 in green pixel 100G is a transparent conductive oxide, which transmits light ¶ [0051]), wherein the sixth layer comprises a fourth electrode (electrode 140 in green pixel 100G is an electrode), wherein the fifth layer comprises the same material as the first layer (Kyoung FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 is formed of a same material in both pixels blue 100B and green 100G ¶ [0046]), wherein the fifth layer is positioned between the sixth layer and the second reflective film (FIG. 1, dielectric layer 130 in green pixel 100G is between electrode 140 and reflection layer 120), wherein the fifth layer has a property of transmitting light with the second wavelength (dielectric layer 130 in green pixel 100G is transparent and transmits visible light ¶ [0053]), wherein the second reflective film is adjacent to the first reflective film (FIG. 1, reflection layer 120 in green pixel 100G is to the immediate right of reflection layer 120 in blue pixel 100B), and wherein the second reflective film reflects light with the second wavelength (reflection layer 120 reflects visible light ¶ [0052], including the green light of the second wavelength).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyoung in view of Hayano as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20210143352 A1 (Yamazaki et al hereinafter Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 16, Kyoung in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above, and they further disclose a display module comprising: the display apparatus according to claim 12 (Kyoung in view of Hayano disclose the display apparatus of claim 12 as detailed above); they did not explicitly show at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit.
However, Yamazaki discloses an OLED emission stack (the OLED structure of FIG. 2A ¶ [0053]), and Yamazaki further discloses at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit (Yamazaki ¶ [0048], both a connector and integrated circuit are suggested as options for forming a display module).
Kyoung, Hayano, and Yamazaki all pertain to the field of OLED display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kyoung in view of Hayano further in view of Yamazaki, to include at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit, in order to provide a display module for the device which has connectivity to additional devices for increased versatility in the display device’s functionality and operability.
Regarding claim 17, Kyoung in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above, but they did not further disclose that a display apparatus further includes at least one of a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone.
However, Yamazaki discloses an OLED emission stack (the OLED structure of FIG. 2A ¶ [0053]), and Yamazaki further discloses that a display apparatus may further include at least one of a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone (Yamazaki FIG. 11A, the cleaning robot having display 5101 and cameras 5102 ¶ [0336-0340]).
Kyoung, Hayano, and Yamazaki all pertain to the field of OLED display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kyoung in view of Hayano further in view of Yamazaki such that a display apparatus further includes at least one of a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone, in order to apply their light emitting device to a cleaning robot with cameras, in order to manufacture a robot with display utility to allow for user-interaction as well as cameras to allow it to perform its cleaning functions effectively.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyoung in view of Hayano as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 22, Kyoung in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above, and they further disclose a display module comprising: the display apparatus according to claim 18 (Kyoung in view of Hayano disclose the display apparatus of claim 18 as detailed above); they did not explicitly show at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit.
However, Yamazaki discloses an OLED emission stack (the OLED structure of FIG. 2A ¶ [0053]), and Yamazaki further discloses at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit (Yamazaki ¶ [0048], both a connector and integrated circuit are suggested as options for forming a display module).
Kyoung, Hayano, and Yamazaki all pertain to the field of OLED display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kyoung in view of Hayano further in view of Yamazaki, to include at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit, in order to provide a display module for the device which has connectivity to additional devices for increased versatility in the display device’s functionality and operability.
Regarding claim 23, Kyoung in view of Hayano discloses the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above, but they did not further disclose that a display apparatus further includes at least one of a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone.
However, Yamazaki discloses an OLED emission stack (the OLED structure of FIG. 2A ¶ [0053]), and Yamazaki further discloses that a display apparatus may further include at least one of a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone (Yamazaki FIG. 11A, the cleaning robot having display 5101 and cameras 5102 ¶ [0336-0340]).
Kyoung, Hayano, and Yamazaki all pertain to the field of OLED display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kyoung in view of Hayano further in view of Yamazaki such that a display apparatus further includes at least one of a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone, in order to apply their light emitting device to a cleaning robot with cameras, in order to manufacture a robot with display utility to allow for user-interaction as well as cameras to allow it to perform its cleaning functions effectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 13-15, and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US patent publication US 20210163683 A1.
Conclusion
/E.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813