DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al (CN106654450).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches a battery comprising a plurality of battery cells 2, wherein a liquid-cooling heat exchange sheet 4 is arranged upright between two battery cell columns. The liquid-cooling heat exchange sheet 4 is provided with a water intake connector 41 and a water output connector 42. Each water intake connector 41 is connected to a main water intake connector 51 by means of a connecting pipe 53. A liquid flow channel is provided in a liquid-cooling heat exchange sheet 4 body. The liquid flow channel comprises a vertical flow channel 46 which is in communication with the water intake connector, and a plurality of horizontal flow channels 48 are arranged at intervals, wherein the vertical flow channel 46 and the horizontal flow channels 48 are in communication with each other. The battery is use in a vehicle (abstract, paragraphs 0005-0039, figures 1-4).
Tang does not explicitly teach the cooling pipe having a plurality of outlets.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of outlets in the cooling pipe to supply water to the liquid-cooling heat exchange sheet as such would be obvious to try and an ordinarily skilled artisan would consider this a known means of configuring a cooling pipe without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Tang teaches the liquid flow channel comprises a vertical flow channel 46 which is in communication with the water intake connector, and a plurality of horizontal flow channels 48 are arranged at intervals, wherein the vertical flow channel 46 and the horizontal flow channels 48 are in communication with each other (abstract, paragraphs 0005-0039, figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Tang teaches a plurality of horizontal flow channels 48 are arranged at intervals, wherein the vertical flow channel 46 and the horizontal flow channels 48 are in communication with each other (abstract, paragraphs 0005-0039, figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Tang teaches the battery as discussed above.
Tang does not explicitly teach the exhaust channel being between two adjacent second flow channels.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the exhaust channel anywhere within the system depending upon design choice and an ordinarily skilled artisan would consider this obvious to try without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, Tang teaches the liquid flow channel comprises a vertical flow channel 46 which is in communication with the water intake connector, and a plurality of horizontal flow channels 48 are arranged at intervals, wherein the vertical flow channel 46 and the horizontal flow channels 48 are in communication with each other (abstract, paragraphs 0005-0039, figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Tang teaches the battery as discussed above.
Tang does not explicitly teach the flow channel configuration, including a third flow channel, as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a third flow channel as an ordinarily skilled artisan would consider this obvious to try insofar as multiple flow channels are taught and a third would be reasonably obvious without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Tang teaches the battery as discussed above.
Tang does not explicitly teach through holes, as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include through holes in the heat exchange pad as an ordinarily skilled artisan would consider this obvious to try without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Tang teaches the battery as discussed above.
In the event any differences can be shown for the product of the product-by-process claim 8, as opposed to the product taught by the reference Tang, such differences would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a routine modification of the product in the absence of a showing of unexpected results; see also In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC 1985).
When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or 103 of the statute is appropriate. As a practical matter, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their particular nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972); In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 9, Tang teaches a battery comprising a plurality of battery cells 2, wherein a liquid-cooling heat exchange sheet 4 is arranged upright between two battery cell columns. The liquid-cooling heat exchange sheet 4 is provided with a water intake connector 41 and a water output connector 42, as discussed above (abstract, paragraphs 0005-0039, figures 1-4).
Tang does not explicitly teach a flexible connector.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a flexible connector as such is extremely well known in the art and an ordinarily skilled artisan would consider this obvious to try without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Tang teaches the battery as discussed above.
Tang does not explicitly teach the use of thermal sensitive seals, as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize thermal sensitive seals, as such is extremely well known in the art and an ordinarily skilled artisan would consider this obvious to try without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Tang teaches the battery as discussed above.
Tang does not explicitly teach an explosion proof valve, as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an explosion proof valve, configured as claimed, as such is extremely well known in the art and an ordinarily skilled artisan would consider this obvious to try without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, Tang teaches the battery to be used to power a vehicle (abstract, and 0005).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al (CN112448066) teaches a liquid-flow circulation cooling system located in a battery box. The liquid-flow circulation cooling system comprises a liquid cooling plate which has a hollow structure and is located in a top face of the battery box, wherein a flow discharge port is provided in the bottom of the liquid cooling plate, and the flow discharge port is blocked by a thermosensitive component, such that a cooling liquid enters the battery box after the thermosensitive component is melted at a high temperature (0005-0036 and figures 1-2).
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 February 13, 2026