Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is not clear what the structural relationship is between “a pad” as recited in line 7 of claim 7 and “the first pad” as recited in line 7 of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “the screen” is unclear how it is related the rest of claim 20. Furthermore, there is nothing in the drawing or the specification to allow one to decipher what the screen is. For the rejection the limitation “screen” will not be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al., US 20220157785.
Regarding claim 1, as best the examiner is able to ascertain the claimed invention, Yu discloses (fig. 7 and related text) a semiconductor assembly (170) comprising: a component (102); a semiconductor die (150, [0011]) having a semiconductor die pad (156’); and a hybrid bond (108, [0017]) connecting the semiconductor die (150) to a substrate (102), wherein the hybrid bond comprises: a via (160) that comprises a metal (164); a pad (114) that comprises a metal [0022] at a first end of the via (bottom of 160), the pad (114) bonded to the semiconductor die pad (156’); a dielectric layer (154) surrounding the pad (156’), the dielectric layer (154) bonded to the semiconductor die (150) around the semiconductor die pad (156’, fig. 7); and a second pad (106’) that comprises a metal [0016] at a second end of the via (fig. 7), the second pad (106’) bonded to the component (102/104).
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses a dielectric material (158) surrounding the via (portion of the via where 114 is).
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses the via (162/164), the pad (114), and the second pad (106’) comprise copper ([0014], [0021] and [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Yu discloses the dielectric layer comprises silicon oxide [0014].
Regarding claim 5, Yu discloses the component (102) comprises a substrate [0013].
Regarding claim 6, Yu discloses the component (102/104) comprises an interconnect ([0014]).
Regarding claim 20, as best the examiner is able to the ascertain the claimed invention, Yu discloses (fig. 7 and related text) a device (170) comprising: a component (104); a semiconductor die (150, [0011]) having a semiconductor die pad (156’); and a hybrid bond (108, [0017]) connecting the semiconductor die (150) to a substrate (102), wherein the hybrid bond (108) comprises: a via (110/160) that comprises a metal (164); a first pad (114) that comprises a metal [0022] at a first end of the via (bottom of 160), the first pad (114) bonded to the semiconductor die pad (156’); a dielectric layer (154) surrounding the first metal pad (114), the dielectric layer (154) bonded to the semiconductor die (150) around the semiconductor die pad (156’); and second pad (106’) that comprises a metal [0017] at a second end of the via (fig. 7), the second pad (106’) bonded to the component (104).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811