DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 10 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shen (CN105576301A, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on February 19th, 2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Shen discloses a potting structure (horizontal battery creates a potting structure, [002]), comprising:
A box in which an accommodation cavity is provided, wherein an accommodation opening that communicated with the accommodation cavity is made on an end face of the box in a first direction (battery box body, [0015], Fig. 1, [0016]);
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, “at least one potting channel including a potting inlet formed on the end face of a sidewall having interior communication with a potting outlet formed on the sidewall” can be any structure with a potting groove that has an inlet and outlet formed in the same sidewall.
Shen further discloses at least one potting channel including a potting inlet formed on the end face of a sidewall having interior communication with a potting outlet formed on the sidewall (potting grooves act as potting channel, [0011], inner potting glue groove-32 and side potting glue groove-33, where side potting groove has inlet and outlet formed on the side wall, Fig. 4), the accommodation cavity comprise a bottom wall opposite to the accommodation opening and the sidewall connected to the bottom wall (case main body-1 has bottom plate and four side plates, Fig. 1, [0017]).
Regarding Claim 2, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein there at least two potting channels, and all the potting channels are arranged at intervals on a periphery of the accommodation cavity (two potting groove-33, Fig. 4, positioned on the periphery of accommodation cavity).
Regarding Claim 3, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein the potting channels are arranged at equal intervals on the periphery of the accommodation cavity (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, “arranged at equal intervals” can be interpreted to include a symmetrical placement when only two potting channels are used, therefore since Shen discloses potting grooves-33 in symmetrical positioning on the periphery of the accommodation cavity, Fig. 4, Shen discloses the limitations of claim 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein the potting outlet is provided on the sidewall at an end connected to the bottom wall (side potting glue groove is provided on the sidewall and connected to the bottom wall, [0034], Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen discloses wherein the potting channel is circular (the examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, “circular” can be interpreted to be any shape that is not square and is instead curved in some manner, therefore since the potting channel of Shen is curved, Fig. 4, that Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above).
Regarding Claim 7, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein the potting structure furth comprises a glue retaining stipe, and the glue retaining strip is disposed on the sidewall of the accommodation cavity (partition sealing bar-31 acts as glue retaining strip, [0043], Fig. 4-6).
Regarding Claim 8, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein in a circumferential direction around the accommodation opening, the glue retaining strip is disposed on all surrounding sidewalls, and all the glue retaining stirps are at equal distanced from the bottom wall (Fig. 4 shows that partition sealing bar is disposed circumferentially around the side walls around the accommodation cavity).
Regarding Claim 10, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein a surface of the glue retaining strip, away from the bottom wall, is at a present distance from the end face (partition sealing bar is set at preset distances and is fixed to inner bottom surface of the battery with a fixing part, [0046], end plate is battery box cover-2).
Regarding Claim 11, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein the box is of a hollow cuboidal structure opened at one end, a cross-sectionally shape of the accommodation cavity sectioned along a line perpendicular to the first direction is rectangular, and an opening end of the cuboidal structure forms the accommodation opening (box body is cuboidal in shape, Fig. 1, [0037]).
Regarding Claim 13, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses a battery module ([007]), comprising a cell assembly ([009]), cover plate ([0034]), and a potting structure, the potting structure including:
A box in which an accommodation cavity is provided, wherein an accommodation opening that communicated with the accommodation cavity is made on an end face of the box in a first direction (battery box body, [0015], Fig. 1, [0016]);
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, “at least one potting channel including a potting inlet formed on the end face of a sidewall having interior communication with a potting outlet formed on the sidewall” can be any structure with a potting groove that has an inlet and outlet formed in the same sidewall.
Shen further discloses at least one potting channel including a potting inlet formed on the end face of a sidewall having interior communication with a potting outlet formed on the sidewall (potting grooves act as potting channel, [0011], inner potting glue groove-32 and side potting glue groove-33, where side potting groove has inlet and outlet formed on the side wall, Fig. 4), the accommodation cavity comprise a bottom wall opposite to the accommodation opening and the sidewall connected to the bottom wall (case main body-1 has bottom plate and four side plates, Fig. 1, [0017]), wherein:
the cell assembly abuts on a part of the bottom wall; the cell assembly, a remaining part of the bottom wall, and the sidewall define and form a glue holding space; glue enters an accommodation space through the at least one potting channel to bond the cell assembly and the box; and the cover plate covers and fits the box (individual electrodes in side battery box body, [0055], Fig. 7, box cover-2, side plates-1a-d, [0034], glue enters through glue groove acting as potting channel, [0053]).
Regarding Claim 14, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further disclose herein the at least one potting channel is an internal conduit formed with a thickness of the sidewall to provide interior communication between the potting inlet and potting outlet (potting groove-32/33 has internal conduit formed that connects inlet and outlet, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein the box includes the sidewall among four sidewalls connected to the bottom wall (case main body-1 has bottom plate and four side plates, Fig. 1, [0017]), the four sidewalls and the bottom wall forming the accommodation cavity (case main body-1 has bottom plate and four side plates, Fig. 1, [0017]), and the at least one potting channel including three potting channels (potting grooves-32/33 form three potting channels, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein the three potting channels provided in one sidewall among the four sidewalls (case main body-1 has bottom plate and four side plates, Fig. 1, [0017], potting grooves-32/33 form three potting channels, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 17, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein the three potting channels provided in three sidewalls among the four sidewalls such that one potting channel among the three pointing channels being provided in each of the three sidewalls (case main body-1 has bottom plate and four side plates, Fig. 1, [0017], potting grooves-32/33 form three potting channels, Fig. 4, several side plates, [0034], each side plate has potting groove, [0045]).
Regarding Claim 18, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein the box includes the sidewall among four sidewalls connected to the bottom wall (case main body-1 has bottom plate and four side plates, Fig. 1, [0017]), the four sidewalls and the bottom wall forming the accommodation cavity (case main body-1 has bottom plate and four side plates, Fig. 1, [0017]), and the at least one potting channel including four potting channels (potting grooves-32/33 form three potting channels, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 19, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen further discloses wherein the at least one potting channel providing the interior communication through the sidewall for glue flowing form the potting inlet to the potting outlet formed on the sidewall for filing the accommodation cavity from a bottom of the accommodation cavity ([0022]).
Regarding Claim 20, Shen discloses a potting method (horizontal battery creates a potting structure, [002], [0021]), the method comprising:
Providing a box having an accommodation cavity, an accommodation opening made on an end face of the box opposite to a bottom wall, and at least one potting channel including a potting inlet formed on the end face of a sidewall and a potting outlet formed on the sidewall (battery box body, [0015], Fig. 1, [0016], potting grooves-32/33, Fig. 1);
Putting a cell assembly into the accommodation cavity through the accommodation opening ([0020]);
Injecting glue into the potting inlet; and flowing the glue through interior communication form the potting inlet to the potting outlet on the sidewall for forming a battery module ([0045], [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 9 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN105576301A, see Machine Translation for citations).
Regarding Claim 9, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen does not directly disclose wherein the glue retaining strip is detachably connected to the sidewall.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim “detachably connected to the sidewall” can be interpreted to be any structure of connection that is not permeant such as by welding or other methods that create permanent fixtures.
Shen discloses wherein the partition sealing strips acting as glue retaining strips are connected by a fixing part and a support part ([0046]). Shen further discloses wherein fixing part is a protrusion/accommodating cavity, and the support part is an accommodating cavity/protrusion ([0046]), which the examiner notes provide a fitting structure for the partition sealing strip that is not permeant and can be adjusted.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Shen to have wherein the glue retaining strip is detachably connected to the sidewall.
Regarding Claim 12, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen does not directly disclose a wherein the potting structure further comprises a sealing plug, and the sealing plug is configured to be pluggable into the potting channel through the potting inlet.
Shen discloses wherein the side potting glue groove is filled potting glue ([0022]). Shen further discloses wherein this forms an insulating seal ([0053]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Shen to have wherein the potting structure further comprises a sealing plug, and the sealing plug is configured to be pluggable into the potting channel through the potting inlet.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN105576301A, see Machine Translation for citations) in view of Wang (CN209526138U, Machine Translation for citations)(Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on June 20th, 2023).
Regarding Claim 6, Shen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Shen does not directly disclose wherein the at least one potting channel comprises a first channel and a second channel having interior communication with each other, the first channel extends along the first direction and comprises the potting inlet, and the second channel comprise the potting outlet; and an angle between the first channel and the second channel is greater than 90o.
Wang discloses a box frame structure (battery module-1 shows box frame structure, Fig. 1&2). Wang further discloses a potting channel that comprises a first channel and a second channel that communicate with each other, wherein an angle between the channels are greater than 90O (Fig. 9 shows first cap end that acts as potting channel, with glue filling hole-174, and glue guiding slots-1724 which act as first and second channels, [0049]). Wang teaches that this structure provides improved potting speed and efficiency ([0052]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shen with the teachings of Wang to have wherein the at least one potting channel comprises a first channel and a second channel having interior communication with each other, the first channel extends along the first direction and comprises the potting inlet, and the second channel comprise the potting outlet; and an angle between the first channel and the second channel is greater than 90o.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 30th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Shen does not disclose “at least one potting channel including a potting inlet formed on the end face of a sidewall having interior communication with a potting outlet formed on the sidewall”
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, “at least one potting channel including a potting inlet formed on the end face of a sidewall having interior communication with a potting outlet formed on the sidewall” can be any structure with a potting groove that has an inlet and outlet formed in the same sidewall.
Shen further discloses at least one potting channel including a potting inlet formed on the end face of a sidewall having interior communication with a potting outlet formed on the sidewall (potting grooves act as potting channel, [0011], inner potting glue groove-32 and side potting glue groove-33, where side potting groove has inlet and outlet formed on the side wall, Fig. 4), the accommodation cavity comprise a bottom wall opposite to the accommodation opening and the sidewall connected to the bottom wall (case main body-1 has bottom plate and four side plates, Fig. 1, [0017]).
Therefore Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728