DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed October 22, 2025 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peckham et al. (US 2020/0024176 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peckham discloses an optical fiber (Fig. 1) comprising a core region (110) comprising silica glass (paragraph 0018) doped with a first alkali dopant comprising sodium oxide and a second alkali dopant comprising potassium oxide (paragraph 0046 discloses doping Na at the center of the core and K at the core-cladding interface; paragraph 0027 discloses using alkali oxides as dopants), the first alkali dopant having a first average core concentration C1 and a first diffusivity D1, the second alkali dopant having a second average core concentration C2 and a second diffusivity D2, the second diffusivity D2 less than the first diffusivity D1 (diffusivity of K is known to be less than that of Na); and a cladding region (Fig. 1) surrounding the core region.
Still regarding claim 1, Peckham discloses the concentration of the dopant at the core-cladding interface lower than that of the dopant at the center of the core in Fig. 6. Peckham teaches the claimed invention except for the first average core concentration C1 and the second average core concentration C2 satisfy a relation 0.10 ≤ C2/C1 ≤ 1.00. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed core concentrations in order to control alkali diffusivity in order to reduce devitrification, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Peckham teaches the claimed invention except for the relation of the core concentrations. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed core concentrations in order to reduce devitrification, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Peckham teaches the claimed invention except for the core concentrations of the first and second dopants. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed core concentrations in order to reduce devitrification, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Peckham further discloses a large effective area fiber in paragraph 0023. Peckham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the effective area. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed effective area in order to control the output of the optical signal, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 12-14, Peckham further discloses reducing the attenuation in paragraphs 0003 and 0042. Peckham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the transmission loss. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed transmission loss in order to improve the transmission of the optical signal, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 15-18, Peckham further discloses reducing the scattering loss in paragraph 0042. Peckham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the Rayleigh scattering loss and small angle scattering loss. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed losses in order to improve the transmission of the optical signal, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19, Peckham teaches the claimed invention except for the core concentrations. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed core concentrations in order to reduce devitrification, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, Peckham teaches the claimed invention except for the core doped only with the first alkali dopant and the second alkali dopant. However, optical fibers comprising silica cores doped only with alkali dopants are well-known and commonly used in the art and as such, one having ordinary skill would find it obvious to dope the core only with the first alkali dopant and the second alkali dopant in order to reduce the number of components and simplify the manufacturing process thereof.
Regarding claim 21, Peckham teaches the claimed invention except for the average core concentration of the first alkali dopant. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed average core concentration of the first alkali dopant in order to reduce devitrification, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed October 22, 2025, with respect to claims have been considered but are not moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 January 29, 2026