DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-11, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US6153967, hereinafter Kobayashi).
Regarding claims 1, 18 and 19, Kobayashi discloses an ultrasound probe (Figs. 1 and 5)comprising: an ultrasound transducer that includes a piezoelectric element (1) configured to transmit and receive ultrasound waves to and from a subject; and an adjustment layer that is laminated on the piezoelectric element, the adjustment layer being provided with a cut surface that is cut by a blade configured to cut the piezoelectric element, the adjustment layer including an adjustment material configured to improve cutting performance of the blade. Kobayashi discloses in Column 4:15-20, that the second metal layer (2’) with predetermined hardness and thickness works against cutting blade loading, by scraping off the backing material adhered to the cutting blade. These factors serve to prevent cuttability from degrading during the dicing process as well as preventing cracking and chipping as is conventionally encountered.
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the matching layers (4).
Regarding claim 3, since the adjustment layer is the metal layer (2), the limitation of the adjustment layer is laminated on the piezoelectric element in the direction in which the piezoelectric element transmits and receives the ultrasound waves is anticipated.
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 1 shows the second metal layers (2’) laminated in contact with the acoustic matching layer (4).
Regarding claim 6, the ultrasound transducer includes a substrate layer including a flexible board (7) electrically connected to the piezoelectric element.
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi discloses the backing layer (3).
Regarding claims 9-11, Kobayashi discloses the second metal layer (2b, 2b’), one in a direction in which the piezoelectric applies the ultrasound wave, and one in a direction opposite to a direction in which the piezoelectric element transmits and receives ultrasound waves, performing as the adjustment layer. See column 4:6-35.
Regarding claim 13, the piezoelectric element includes a piezoelectric single crystal (Col. 3:16-17 and Example 1).
Regarding claim 14, the adjustment material is a material configured to perform at least one of dressing and pre-cutting on the blade.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Kobayashi discloses the metal layer comprising a predetermined hardness and thickness to scrape off the backing material adhered to the cutting blade. Therefore, the adjustment material comprising an abrasive grain that being finer than an abrasive grain used in the blade or a material being harder than an adhesive used in the blade is anticipated. (See Col. 4: 15-35)
Regarding claim 17, Kobayashi discloses that the same principle can be applied to a different ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, transmitting or receiving devices
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Kobayashi discloses the invention as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose the matching layer or the backing layer as the adjustment layer of the ultrasound probe. Kobayashi discloses a layer comprising a predetermined hardness and thickness to scrape off the backing material adhered to the cutting blade. Furthermore, Kobayashi discloses that such factors serve to prevent cuttability from degrading during the dicing process, which is exactly the purpose of the instant application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the teachings of Kobayashi to determine specific hardness and thicknesses in different layers to suppress the degradation of the dicing process.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Wakabayashi (US20190117188, hereinafter Wakabayashi).
Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi discloses the invention as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose a dematching layer laminated on the piezoelectric element in a direction opposite to a direction in which the piezoelectric element transmits and receives the ultrasound waves and the dematching layer having higher acoustic impedance than the piezoelectric element. Wakabayashi discloses an ultrasonic transducer comprising a piezoelectric layer (71) and a ground electrode (72a) formed of a conductive material having higher conductivity than the acoustic impedance of the piezoelectric element and functioning as a dematching layer to reflect sound waves toward the backing layer and improve sensitivity of the transducer (paragraph [0037]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a dematching layer to reduce insertion loss, improve the frequency bandwidth and improve sensitivity of the ultrasonic transducer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837