Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 2, 17 are cancelled and pending claims 1, 3-16, 18-20 are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 11, 15, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garrels (US20200362548).
Regarding claim 1, Garrels discloses a water rinsing system for a toilet, the water rinsing system comprising:
a water supply (par. 129: “The water supply conduit 104 may be a pipe, tube, or other water delivery mechanism”) configured to supply water to a fluidic module at a rim of a toilet bowl from a water source;
a fluidic module ( “fluidic oscillators 4004”; see fig. 49) configured to direct water to the toilet bowl in an oscillating pattern (par. 186: “a sweeping (e.g., oscillating, fanning, side-to-side etc.) pattern”) at a substantially downward angle (vertically downward along line 4014) toward the toilet bowl (par. 188: “In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 49, each of the fluidic oscillators 4004 is oriented approximately parallel with the vertical reference line 4014 passing through the rim area”); and
a bend connector (rim channel 109, bend from horizontal portion 4011 toward vertical portion 4013) configured to connect the fluidic module (4404) and the water supply at an angle to overhang the rim of the toilet bowl (Par. 186: “the rim channel 4009 may be an overhanding channel (e.g., a “U” shaped channel) that includes a horizontal portion 4011 that extends radially inwardly from the outer perimeter of the toilet bowl 4008 (along an upper edge of the toilet bowl 4008) and a vertical portion 4013”),
wherein the fluidic module includes at least one feedback channel (par. 186, see fig. 46 or see annotation of fig. 49 below) at the angle to overhang the rim of the toilet bowl (see par. 186-188).
Regarding claim 3, Garrels discloses the fluidic module includes a diffuser, an amplifier, and a diverter (see annotation below).
Annotated Figure (Garrels)
Regarding claim 4, Garrels discloses the fluidic module includes at least one passive passage with at least one mixing chamber (see annotated mixing chamber above).
Regarding claim 11, Garrels discloses a valve (flush valve 3308; fig. 26; par. 166) configured to supply water to the water supply in response to a flush cycle.
Regarding claim 15, Garrels discloses the water supply is connected through a rim channel (90).
Regarding claim 16, Garrels discloses the water rinsing system of claim 1, wherein the water source is a plumbing system (par. 129).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding claim 18, Garrels discloses a toilet comprising:
a water tank (3304; fig. 26, par. 166);
a toilet bowl (3302);
a water rinsing system (fig. 49) for a toilet,
the water rinsing system comprising:
a water supply (par. 129: “The water supply conduit 104 may be a pipe, tube, or other water delivery mechanism”) configured to supply water to a plurality of fluidic modules at a rim of the toilet bowl from the water tank;
a plurality of fluidic modules (4004; par. 186, fig. 49) configured to direct water to the toilet bowl at a substantially downward angle (downward parallel to line 4014; par. 188) toward the toilet bowl; and
a bend connector (rim channel 109, bend from horizontal portion 4011 toward vertical portion 4013) configured to connect the plurality of fluidic modules and the water supply at an angle to overhang the rim of the toilet bowl (Par. 186: “the rim channel 4009 may be an overhanding channel (e.g., a “U” shaped channel) that includes a horizontal portion 4011 that extends radially inwardly from the outer perimeter of the toilet bowl 4008 (along an upper edge of the toilet bowl 4008) and a vertical portion 4013”),
wherein each of the plurality of fluidic modules includes at least one feedback channel (see annotation below) at the angle to overhang the rim of the toilet bowl.
Annotated Figure (Garrels)
Claim(s) 5-8, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrels (US20200362548).
Regarding claim 5, Garrels discloses, in a different embodiment of fluidic module (fig. 54), the at least one mixing chamber is a plurality of mixing chambers connected by a feedback channel (see annotation below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garrels to incorporate the teachings of Garrels’ embodiment shown in 54 to provide the at least one mixing chamber is a plurality of mixing chambers connected by a feedback channel. Doing so would provide for a wider fluid coverage across the inner surface and an interesting visual effect compared to a single fluidic oscillator (par. 193).
Regarding claim 6, Garrels discloses, in a different embodiment of fluidic module (fig. 54), the fluidic module includes at least one passive passage that includes: a first mixing chamber; a second mixing chamber; a first feedback channel fluidly coupled to the first mixing chamber; and a second feedback channel fluidly coupled to the first mixing chamber and the second mixing chamber (see annotated figure 54 of Garrels below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garrels to incorporate the teachings of Garrels’ embodiment shown in 54 to provide the at least one passive passage includes: a first mixing chamber; a second mixing chamber; a first feedback channel fluidly coupled to the first mixing chamber; and a second feedback channel fluidly coupled to the first mixing chamber and the second mixing chamber. Doing so would provide for a wider fluid coverage across the inner surface and an interesting visual effect compared to a single fluidic oscillator (par. 193).
Regarding claim 7, Garrels, as modified above, discloses the water rinsing system of claim 6. Garrels discloses the at least one passive passage includes: a lateral channel spacing the first mixing chamber and the second feedback channel (see annotated figure 54 of Garrels below).
Regarding claim 8, Garrels, as modified above, discloses the water rinsing system of claim 6. Garrels discloses, in another embodiment, figure 8K shows more than three parallel fluidic oscillators (366; par. 146), in which the at least one passive passage would include: a third mixing chamber; and a third feedback channel, wherein the third feedback channel is fluidly coupled to the third mixing chamber and the second mixing chamber.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garrels to incorporate the teachings of Garrels’ figure 8K to provide the at least one passive passage includes: a third mixing chamber; and a third feedback channel, wherein the third feedback channel is fluidly coupled to the third mixing chamber and the second mixing chamber, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so would provide for wider fluid coverage across the targeted surface.
Regarding claim 19, Garrels discloses the toilet of claim 18. Garrels discloses, in a different embodiment of fluidic module (fig. 54), each of the plurality of fluidic module comprises: a chamber fluidly coupled to the at least one feedback channel (as modified in view of Garrels; see annotated figure below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garrels to incorporate the teachings of Garrels’ embodiment shown in fig. 54 to provide each of the plurality of fluidic module comprises: a chamber fluidly coupled to the at least one feedback channel. Doing so would provide for a wider fluid coverage across the inner surface and an interesting visual effect compared to a single fluidic oscillator (par. 193).
Regarding claim 20, Garrels discloses, in fig. 54, the feedback channel connects at least two of the plurality of fluidic modules (see annotation below).
Annotated Figure (Garrels)
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrels (US20200362548) in view of Bucher (US 20170030065).
Regarding claim 12, Garrels, as modified above, discloses the water rinsing system of claim 11, but is silent regarding the valve is actuated by a float.
Bucher discloses a toilet assembly having a valve configured to supply water to the water supply in response to a flush cycle (par. 217: “rim and jet flush valves”). Bucher further discloses the valve is actuated by a float (Bucher, par. 226: “float 17 may be attached thereto via a chain or other linkage…to help provide advanced performance and control of buoyancy in the particular flush valve design”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garrels to incorporate the teachings of Bucher to provide the valve is actuated by a float. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating known flow control for operation of the toilet assembly (See Paragraph 217 and 226).
Regarding claim 13, Garrels, as modified above, discloses the water rinsing system of claim 11. Bucher further discloses the valve is actuated electronically (par. 450: “The liquid supply valve is preferably a one-way valve that is electronically and automatically actuatable by the control system 24000”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garrels to incorporate the teachings of Bucher to provide the valve is actuated electronically. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating known flow control that is automatically actuatable for operation of the toilet assembly (See Paragraph 450).
Regarding claim 14, Garrels, as modified above, discloses the water rinsing system of claim 1. Bucher further discloses the water source is a water tank (60) and the water supply is connected to a bottom of the water tank (valves and piping; see figs. 8-9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garrels to incorporate the teachings of Bucher to provide the water source is a water tank and the water supply is connected to a bottom of the water tank. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating known flow control for operation of the toilet assembly (See Paragraph 213).
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrels (US20200362548), further in view of Pormentilla (US 20230140590).
Regarding claim 9, wherein an embodiment in figure 54 of Garrels shows the at least one passive passage includes the first and second mixing chambers (see Garrels’ annotated figure 54 under rejection of claim 6 above), but does not explicitly teach the first mixing chamber in a first plane; and the second mixing chamber in a second plane, wherein the first plane is at an angle to the second plane.
However, Pormentilla teaches a comparable system (figs. 1, 2) having a curved or segmented housing 117 (fig. 1C) including spray body 101, wherein the curved or segmented housing 117 is shaped according curve of the urinal (par. 13). Figure 1C further shows two outlet slots 111 and 112 on the curved spray body 101 that are on two different planes that are at angle to one another (see annotation below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garrels to incorporate the teachings of Pormentilla to provide the first mixing chamber in a first plane; and the second mixing chamber in a second plane, wherein the first plane is at an angle to the second plane. Doing so would provide for adapting to the curve of the toilet bowl.
Regarding claim 10, Garrels, as modified above, discloses the water rinsing system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a curved or segmented housing including the fluidic module, wherein the curved or segmented housing is shaped according to the rim of the toilet bowl.
Pormentilla teaches a comparable system (figs. 1, 2) having a curved or segmented housing 117 (fig. 1C) including spray body 101, wherein the curved or segmented housing 117 is shaped according curve of the urinal (par. 13).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garrels to incorporate the teachings of Pormentilla to provide a curved or segmented housing including the fluidic module, wherein the curved or segmented housing is shaped according to the rim of the toilet bowl. Doing so would allow better placement of the discharge component along the surface of the toilet bowl.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in light of the the new ground of rejection, which no longer relies on Lisook reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752