DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on June 29, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2016/0274300 A1) in view of Hiroishi et al. (US 2005/0213907 A1) in view of Bickham et al. (US 2018/0003890 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 17 and 20, Li discloses a few mode optical fiber (100 in Fig. 3; see abstract), comprising: a core (120); and a cladding (150) surrounding the core, the cladding comprising stress members (151) comprising at least two first stress members and at least two second stress members such that at least one first stress member and one second stress member are positioned on a first radial side of the core and at least one first stress member and one second stress member are positioned on a second radial side of the core (paragraph 0039 discloses optical fiber 100 including “multiple stress rods on each side of the core 120”; the multiple stress rods on each side can read on any of the “first stress members” and “second stress members” since Applicant has not distinguished between them), wherein: the core and the cladding support the propagation and transmission of at least LP01, LP11a, and LP11b modes at one or more wavelengths (paragraph 0022), and an effective index difference between the LP11a and LP11b modes is about 3.0x10-5 or greater (paragraphs 0031, 0041).
Still regarding claims 1, 16, 17 and 20, Li teaches the claimed invention except for the effective index difference at 1310 nm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the effective index difference at 1310 nm in order to reduce mode coupling within a wide wavelength range, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Still regarding claims 1, 16, 17 and 20, Li teaches the claimed invention except for the refractive index of the at least one stress member. Hiroishi discloses an optical fiber (Fig. 8) comprising stress members (85) having a maximum relative refractive index of -0.1% with respect to the cladding in paragraphs 0249-0252. Since both inventions relate to optical fibers, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to utilize the refractive index of the stress member as disclosed by Hiroishi in the optical fiber of Li for the purpose of imparting stress while maintaining polarization. Further, since Li discloses the cladding to be pure silica glass (see paragraph 0030, Fig. 2), in the proposed combination the relative refractive index of the stress member would be from about 0.0% to about -0.5% relative to pure silica glass.
Still regarding claims 1, 16, 17 and 20, the proposed combination of Li and Hiroishi teaches the claimed invention except for the spacing of the stress members. Hiroishi also discloses stress members spaced apart by a distance of about 15 microns to about 40 microns in paragraph 0263. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have such a spacing between any of the stress members and arrive at the claimed center point of the first stress member and center point of the second stress member on the first radial side of the core spaced apart by a distance of about 15 microns to 40 microns in order to reduce cross talk and beat length, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Still regarding claims 1, 16, 17 and 20, the proposed combination of Li and Hiroishi teaches the claimed invention except for each of the LP01, LP11a, and LP11b modes have a birefringence of about 5.7x10-6 or less at 1310 nm. Bickham discloses an optical fiber supporting the propagation of the LP01 mode as well as at least one higher-order LP mode, wherein the birefringence of the LP01 mode is sufficiently low in order for the two polarized components to propagate with the same phase velocity in paragraph 0116. Since all of the inventions relate to optical fibers, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to have a low birefringence for the LP01 mode as disclosed by Bickham in the optical fiber of the proposed combination of Li and Hiroishi for the purpose of aiding the two polarized components to propagate with the same phase velocity, leading to improved signal quality. Further, it would be obvious to have a low birefringence for the LP11a and LP11b modes in order to improve the signal quality for those modes. Finally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed birefringence, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses at least one of the first stress members and the second stress members is comprised of B203 in paragraph 0037.
Regarding claim 3, the proposed combination of Li, Hiroishi and Bickham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the mole % of B203. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed mole %, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses at least one of the first stress members and the second stress members is comprised of fluorine in paragraph 0037.
Regarding claim 5, the proposed combination of Li, Hiroishi and Bickham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the mole % of fluorine. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed mole %, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the cladding is disposed between the first stress member and the second stress member in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the first stress member comprises fluorine and the second stress member comprises B203 in paragraph 0037, which discloses the stress members may be co-doped with both B203 and fluorine.
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses a first plane intersects the core, the first stress member, and the second stress member in Fig. 3. As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to also have the first plane intersecting the core, first stress members and second stress members.
Regarding claim 10, Li further discloses the core is elliptical in cross-sectional shape in paragraph 0036. The proposed combination of Li, Hiroishi and Bickham teaches the claimed invention except for first plane extends along a minor axis of the elliptical shape of the core. However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to orient the elliptical shape in any direction including wherein the first plane extends along a minor axis of the elliptical shape of the core as a matter of obvious design choice depending on the application and desired properties. Further, it would be “obvious to try”, since Li does not limit the orientation of the elliptical core and merely rotating it by 90 degrees would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses the first plane intersects a center point of the core, a center point of the first stress member, and a center point of the second stress member in Fig. 3. As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to also have the first plane intersecting a center point of the core, a center point of each of the first stress members, and a center point of each of the second stress members.
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses a second plane intersects the core but does not intersect the first stress member and the second stress member, the first plane being perpendicular to the second plane in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses the first stress member has a radius of about 6 microns to about 16 microns in paragraph 0039.
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the core is elliptical in cross-sectional shape in paragraph 0036.
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses the core is circular in cross-sectional shape in Fig. 3 and paragraph 0036.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Li discloses the effective index difference between the LP11a and LP11b modes is about 3.4x10-5 or greater in paragraph 0031.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed June 29, 2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. However, in order to expedite the prosecution of the Application, the relevant portions of Applicant’s remarks will be addressed.
On pages 7-9, Applicant states the objective of Li is to minimize mode coupling by having high birefringence, which is contrary to Bickham’s teaching of low birefringence. However, tradeoffs are commonly encountered in the art of designing optical fibers. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make a particular modification to achieve one benefit while mitigating any undesirable side effects to another benefit. Thus, the alleged contradiction of Li and Bickham is simply a tradeoff between two desirable properties. This is specifically addressed in US 2019/0243061 A1 to Ahmad et al., included in the Notice of References Cited on October 10, 2025 and therefore on the record. Ahmad at paragraph 0038 states “[b]y understanding the trade-offs between the diameter of the stress rods and the displacement between the stress rods and the center of the core, it is been found possible to position the stress rods at a specific location where sufficient birefringence is achieved without unduly distorting the spatial electric field distribution of the various propagating optical modes.” In light of the teachings of Bickham, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to arrive at a birefringence which strikes a balance of the two polarized components propagating with the same phase velocity, while minimizing mode coupling.
Further, the proposed combination teaches the claimed structure of the present application. It has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). The proposed combination of Li and Hiroishi discloses all of the claimed structural elements of a core, a cladding and first and second stress members positioned on both sides of the core, with the stress members having the claimed relative refractive index and the claimed spacing. Thus, the optical fiber of the proposed combination would be presumed to exhibit the same properties. When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Applicant has not claimed any particular structural elements that serve to differentiate the optical fiber of the present invention from that of the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 August 28, 2026