DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claim 1 recites “transforming the camera set of two-dimensional coordinates into a display set of two- dimensional coordinates based on the depth information of the physical environment” which falls under the grouping of Mathematical relationship because the transformation of coordinates involves a mathematical operation. The limitations “obtaining a camera set of two-dimensional coordinates of a user input object in a physical environment and obtaining depth information of the physical environment, wherein the depth information includes a depth value for the camera set of two-dimensional coordinates that is different than a depth to the user input object” merely recite data gathering steps, which are insignificant extra-solution activity. The claim does not recite additional limitations that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor does it involve an inventive concept.
Dependent claim 2 recites “wherein the user input object includes at least a portion of a hand of a user” which merely describes the object in the data that is gathered.
Dependent claim 3 recites “wherein the user input object includes a handheld device” which merely describes the object in the data that is gathered.
Dependent claim 4 recites “wherein obtaining the camera set of two-dimensional coordinates includes obtaining a physical set of three-dimensional coordinates of the user input object and projecting the physical set of three-dimensional coordinates to a camera image plane” which is merely a data gathering step, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity.
Dependent claim 5 recites “wherein obtaining the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates includes detecting the user input object in an image of the physical environment”, where the obtaining step is merely data gathering step. The detecting step falls under the grouping of Mental Processes because a person can visually inspect an image and identify the user input object in the image.
Dependent claim 6 recites “wherein the depth information of the physical environment is a smoothed depth map” which merely describes that data that is gathered.
Dependent claim 7 recites “wherein the depth information of the physical environment is a clamped depth map” which merely describes that data that is gathered.
Dependent claim 8 recites “wherein the depth information of the physical environment is a static depth map” which merely describes that data that is gathered.
Dependent claim 9 recites “wherein the depth value for the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates represents a depth to a static object behind the user input object” which merely describes the data that is gathered.
Dependent claim 10 recites “wherein obtaining the depth information of the physical environment includes determining the depth value for the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates via interpolation using depth values of locations surrounding the camera set of two-dimensional coordinates”. The obtaining step is merely data gathering step which is an insignificant extra solution activity. The interpolation step falls under the grouping of Mathematical concepts because interpolation involves mathematical operation.
Dependent claim 11 recites “wherein obtaining the depth information of the physical environment includes determining the depth value for the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates at a time the user input object was not at the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates”. The obtaining step is merely data gathering step which is an insignificant extra solution activity. The step of determining the depth value falls under the grouping of Mental Processes because a person can visually inspect an image and estimate the depth value.
Dependent claim 12 recites “wherein obtaining the depth information of the physical environment includes determining the depth value for the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates based on a three-dimensional model of the physical environment excluding the user input object.” The obtaining step is merely data gathering step which is an insignificant extra solution activity. The step of determining the depth value falls under the grouping of Mental Processes because a person can visually inspect an image or a 3D model to estimate the depth value.
Dependent claim 13 recites “further comprising determining an input set of three- dimensional coordinates of the user input object by triangulating the display set of two- dimensional coordinates and a second display set of two-dimensional coordinates” which falls under the grouping of Mathematical concepts because the triangulation involves mathematical operations.
Dependent claim 14 recites “further comprising determining a user input according to the input set of three-dimensional coordinates” falls under the grouping of Mathematical processes because it is determined based on triangulation.
Dependent claim 15 recites “further comprising changing display of virtual content in response to the user input” which is merely a data output step which is an insignificant extra solution activity.
Dependent claim 16 recite “further comprising displaying virtual content at the display set of two-dimensional coordinates” which is merely a data output step which is an insignificant extra solution activity.
Dependent claim 17 recites “transforming an image of the environment based on the depth information of the physical environment” which falls under the grouping of Mathematical concepts because the transformation involves mathematical operations.
Claim 18 recites “transform the camera set of two-dimensional coordinates into a display set of two-dimensional coordinates based on the depth information of the physical environment excluding the user input object” which falls under the grouping of Mathematical concepts because the transforming steps involves mathematical operations. The claim further recites “determining an input set of three-dimensional coordinates of the user input object by triangulating the display set of two-dimensional coordinates and a second display set of two-dimensional coordinates” which also falls under the abstract idea grouping of Mathematical concepts because the triangulation involves mathematical operations. The claim further recites “obtain a camera set of two-dimensional coordinates of a user input object in a physical environment; obtain depth information of the physical environment” which are merely data gathering steps which are insignificant extra solution activity. The claim does not recite additional limitations that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor does it involve an inventive concept.
Dependent claim 19 recites “further comprising determining a user input according to the input set of three-dimensional coordinates” falls under the grouping of Mathematical processes because it is determined based on triangulation.
With regard to claim 20, see discussion of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D11.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach at a device having one or more processors and non-transitory memory (see abstract: processor and memory inherent); obtaining a camera set of two-dimensional coordinates of a user input object in a physical environment (see fig. 3, p. 3720 last ¶: system tracks the user’s fingers using a worn glove and the OptiTrack system); obtaining depth information of the physical environment, wherein the depth information includes a depth value for the camera set of two-dimensional coordinates that is different than a depth to the user input object (see fig. 3, p. 3720 last ¶: depth camera is used at a calibration stage to measure the physical proxy location); and transforming the camera set of two-dimensional coordinates into a display set of two- dimensional coordinates based on the depth information of the physical environment (see fig. 4; p. 3 7 21: fig 4 illustrates how Haptic Retargeting redirects the user's hand to a physical location different than the virtual target location. The virtual hand (skin color) and the physical hand (blue color) are initially at the same position. As the users' hand moves towards to the virtual target, the virtual hand position is gradually deviating in a direction away from the haptic proxy, causing the user to correct the trajectory toward the virtual target. Thus, the physical hand is gradually moved toward the haptic proxy. The virtual hand (skin color) shifts from its true physical location (semi-transparent blue color), inducing the user to correct the hand movement to touch the physical prop).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the user input object includes at least a portion of a hand of a user (see fig. 4).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the user input object includes a handheld device (see p. 3725 col 2 ¶ 2: hand held controllers).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the camera set of two-dimensional coordinates includes obtaining a physical set of three-dimensional coordinates of the user input object and projecting the physical set of three-dimensional coordinates to a camera image plane (see p. 3720 last ¶: system tracks the user’s fingers using a worn glove and the OptiTrack system).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates includes detecting the user input object in an image of the physical environment (see fig. 3; p. 3720 last ¶: depth camera is used at a calibration stage to measure the physical proxy location).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the depth information of the physical environment is a static depth map (see fig. 3, p. 3720 last ¶: depth camera is used at a calibration stage to measure the physical proxy location – implicit that the depth map is static).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the depth value for the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates represents a depth to a static object behind the user input object (see fig. 4).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the depth information of the physical environment includes determining the depth value for the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates at a time the user input object was not at the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates (see fig. 3, p. 3720 last ¶: depth camera is used at a calibration stage to measure the physical proxy location – implicit at the time of calibration stage).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teach method of claim 13, further comprising determining a user input according to the input set of three-dimensional coordinates (see fig. 1).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teach method of claim 14, further comprising changing display of virtual content in response to the user input (see fig. 2, p. 3724 ¶ 8: operations can simulate dials, sliders, touch screen etc., such as the dial on the safe in our room scene in figure 2).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teach method of claim 1, further comprising displaying virtual content at the display set of two-dimensional coordinates (see fig. 4).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teach method of claim 1, further comprising: transforming an image of the environment based on the depth information of the physical environment; and displaying the transformed image (see fig. 4).
With regard to claim 18, see discussion of claim 1.
With regard to claim 19, see discussion of claim 14.
With regard to claim 20, see discussion of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regard to claim 6, D1 teach method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the depth information of the physical environment is a smoothed depth map. However, Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that generating smoothed depth map is well known in the art before the effective filing date and that one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced results by reducing artifacts.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teach method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the depth information of the physical environment is a clamped depth map. However, Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that generating clamped depth map is well known in the art before the effective filing date and that one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced results by reducing artifacts.
With regard to claim 10, D1 teach method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein obtaining the depth information of the physical environment includes determining the depth value for the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates via interpolation using depth values of locations surrounding the camera set of two-dimensional coordinates. However, Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that interpolation of depth values is extremely well known in the art before the effective filing date and that one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced depth values by using interpolation for missing depth values.
With regard to claim 12, D1 teach method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein obtaining the depth information of the physical environment includes determining the depth value for the camera set of two- dimensional coordinates based on a three-dimensional model of the physical environment excluding the user input object. However, Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that it is well known in the art to use 3D model of the environment to determine depth or other values and one skilled in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced depth results.
With regard to claim 13, D1 teach method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising determining an input set of three- dimensional coordinates of the user input object by triangulating the display set of two- dimensional coordinates and a second display set of two-dimensional coordinates, however Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that it is well known in the art to triangulate 3D coordinates of an object based on left and right images such as from a stereoscopic sensor. One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced 3D estimation based on left and right images.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 Cheng, Lung-Pan, et al. "Sparse haptic proxy: Touch feedback in virtual environments using a general passive prop." Proceedings of the 2017 CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems. 2017.