DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim1-12 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups I-II and species (b), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 May 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, species (a), claims 13-17 and 19-20,
in the reply filed on 20 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 18 December 2023 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the text in Fig. 1 is illegible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The preamble of claim 13 requires "destroying ultra-short chain PFASs". However, the body of claim 13 does not recite destroying ultra-short chain PFASs. This limitation is interpreted as requiring “irradiating a solution containing one or more ultra-short chain PFASs with UV radiation to destroy the one or more ultra-short chain PFASs”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the PFASs destroyed" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 15-17 and 19-20 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base and fail to cure the deficiencies of the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu ("Accelerated Degradation of Perfluorosulfonates and Perfluorocarboxylates by UV/Sulfite + Iodide: Reaction Mechanisms and System Efficiencies") in view of Xiong (US 2022/0371920) as evidenced by Silva (“Nanostructured transparent solutions for UV-shielding: Recent developments and future challenges”).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu discloses a process for degradation (degradation meets the limitation of destroying) of perfluorocarboxylates (PFCAs, CnF2n+1COO-), where n=1-7 (Abstract). The Specification of the present application states that ultra-short chain PFAS may be any per or polyfluorinated molecule with a chain length of less than or equal to three carbons atoms [019], such that the PFCAs of Liu where n=1-3 meet the limitation of ultra-short chain PFASs.
Liu further discloses the process comprises irradiating a solution containing the PFCAs with 254 nm irradiation (pg. 3701, Table 1 caption; pg. 3700, Col. 2, par. 3).
Silva discloses UV is a form of electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength range of 100 nm-400 nm (pg. 1, Col. 1, par. 1), such that the 254 nm irradiation of Liu meets the limitation of UV radiation.
Liu further discloses the solution comprises Na2SO3 (Na2SO3 dissociates in solution such that the solution comprising Na2SO3 contains a sulfite ion; see pg. 3705, Col. 2), KI (KI meets the limitation of one or more sensitizers per [056] of the Specification of the present application, such that the KI is necessarily capable of absorbing UV radiation, absent a showing to the contrary), NaHCO3 (NaHCO3 (sodium bicarbonate) meets the limitation of one or more bases per [030] of the Specification of the present application) (pg. 3701, Table 1 caption). Liu further discloses the reaction takes place at a pH of 12.0 (pg. 3701, Table 1 caption), wherein the pH is adjusted by NaOH (NaOH meets the limitation of one or more bases; pg. 3700, Col. 2, par. 3).
Liu is silent to the pH of the solution being greater than 13.
Xiong discloses a method for degrading PFASs, comprising applying UV light to a liquid containing one or more PFAS compounds [0006]. Xiong further discloses the liquid comprises a sulfite (ion) [0006], a pH control agent such as NaOH [0054], and potassium iodide or sodium iodide (potassium iodide or sodium iodide meet the limitation of one or more sensitizers capable of absorbing UV radiation; [0059]). Xiong further discloses the pH of the liquid is adjusted to at least, at most, about, or exactly 9, 9.5, 10, 10.5, 11, 11.5, 12, 12.5, 13, 13.5, or 14, or within a range bounded by any pair of the foregoing values [0008], which overlaps the claimed range of greater than 13 such that the range taught by Xiong obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Xiong further discloses the solution pH is the most critical factor influencing the rate and extent of defluorination, and a high pH (e.g., ≥11) not only enhances the capability of the hydrated electron to cleave the very strong C—F bonds, but also alters the ratio of two competing reaction pathways toward the favorable defluorination pathway [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to incorporate the teachings of Xiong wherein the pH of the solution is greater than 13, because pH is the most critical factor influencing the rate and extent of defluorination, and a high pH (e.g., ≥11) not only enhances the capability of the hydrated electron to cleave the very strong C—F bonds, but also alters the ratio of two competing reaction pathways toward the favorable defluorination pathway, as recognized by Xiong [0044].
Regarding Claim 14, Liu discloses a process for degradation PFCAs, including TFA and PFPrA (pg. 3701, Table 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Liu discloses adjusting the pH of the solution using NaOH (NaOH meets the limitation of an alkali metal hydroxide; pg. 3700, Col. 2, par. 3).
Regarding Claim 17, Liu discloses the solution comprises Na2SO3 (Na2SO3 meets the limitation of a sodium salt of sulfite; pg. 3701, Table 1 caption).
Regarding Claim 19, Liu discloses the solution comprises KI (aka potassium iodide) (pg. 3701, Table 1 caption).
Regarding Claim 20, Liu discloses adjusting the pH of the solution using NaOH (pg. 3700, Col. 2, par. 3).
Liu is silent to the one or more bases being added in an amount sufficient to establish the pH of the solution at greater than 13.2.
Xiong discloses a method for degrading PFASs, comprising applying UV light to a liquid containing one or more PFAS compounds [0006]. Xiong further discloses the liquid comprises a sulfite (ion) [0006], a pH control agent such as NaOH [0054], and potassium iodide or sodium iodide (potassium iodide or sodium iodide meet the limitation of one or more sensitizers capable of absorbing UV radiation; [0059]). Xiong further discloses the pH of the liquid is adjusted to at least, at most, about, or exactly 9, 9.5, 10, 10.5, 11, 11.5, 12, 12.5, 13, 13.5, or 14, or within a range bounded by any pair of the foregoing values [0008], which overlaps the claimed range of greater than 13.2 such that the range taught by Xiong obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Xiong further discloses the solution pH is the most critical factor influencing the rate and extent of defluorination, and a high pH (e.g., ≥11) not only enhances the capability of the hydrated electron to cleave the very strong C—F bonds, but also alters the ratio of two competing reaction pathways toward the favorable defluorination pathway [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to incorporate the teachings of Xiong wherein one or more bases is added in an amount sufficient to establish the pH of the solution at greater than 13.2, because pH is the most critical factor influencing the rate and extent of defluorination, and a high pH (e.g., ≥11) not only enhances the capability of the hydrated electron to cleave the very strong C—F bonds, but also alters the ratio of two competing reaction pathways toward the favorable defluorination pathway, as recognized by Xiong [0044].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu ("Accelerated Degradation of Perfluorosulfonates and Perfluorocarboxylates by UV/Sulfite + Iodide: Reaction Mechanisms and System Efficiencies") in view of Xiong (US 2022/0371920) and Liu ‘586 (US 2021/0072586).
Regarding Claim 16, Liu and Xiong teach the elements as described above with regards to claim 13.
Liu discloses adjusting the pH of the solution using NaOH (NaOH meets the limitation of one or more bases; pg. 3700, Col. 2, par. 3).
Liu is silent to the one or more bases being potassium hydroxide.
Liu ‘586 discloses sodium hydroxide and potassium hydroxide as pH adjusting agents [0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to incorporate the teachings of Liu ‘586 to use potassium hydroxide in place of sodium hydroxide, because potassium hydroxide is a known alternative to sodium hydroxide for adjusting pH, as recognized by Liu ‘586.
Conclusion
/S.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735