Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogihara et al. (US 2018/0076421).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 9, Ogihara teaches a battery packaging material (Ogihara para 16) comprising a base material layer (substrate layer) (Ogihara para 50), a sealant layer forming an inner layer (Ogihara para 162) and a barrier layer therebetween (Ogihara para 69). The sealant layer may further comprise one or more layers (Ogihara para 160). Finally, Ogihara teaches that the B resin may be a propylene-butene (propylene-1-butene) random copolymer (Applicant’s A resin) with a melting point of 75 °C and the A resin may be propylene-ethylene random copolymer (Applicant’s B resin) with a melting point of 140 °C (Ogihara para 162, 166, 171, 172, 372, 374). Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity, see MPEP 2131.03. Further, because these are the same materials as claimed, they may be considered to be ‘compatible’ with each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogihara et al. (US 2018/0076421), as for claims 1 and 2, above.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 10, Ogihara teaches a battery packaging material as above for claims 1 and 2. Ogihara teaches that the sealant layer may be one or more layers (Ogihara para 160), which would overlap with the claimed three layers, and further teaches that a second sealant layer may be made with a polyolefin with a melting point of 140 °C (Ogihara para 372, 383, Table 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the number of layers taught by Ogihara overlaps with the instantly claimed number of layers and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 11, and 12, Ogihara teaches a battery packaging material as above for claims 1 and 2. Ogihara further teaches that the sealant layer is no more than 10 mass% of additives other than the polyolefin resins (Ogihara para 181). Ogihara teaches that polyolefin A (Applicant’s B) may be present in the layer in an amount 60-95 mass% (Ogihara para 170) and polyolefin B (Applicant’s A) is present in an amount of 5-40 mass% (Ogihara para 178). One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Ogihara overlaps with the instantly claimed compositional proportions and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogihara as applied to claim 7 above, as evidenced by Naiki et al. (US 2019/0284373).
Regarding claim 8, Ogihara teaches a battery packaging material as above for claim 7. Ogihara further teaches that the random polypropylene may be “Prime Polypro” from Prime Polymer Co. Ltd. (Ogihara para 372). Naiki shows that “Prime Polypro” is a known metallocene-catalyzed polypropylene (Naiki para 39). It therefore follows that the polypropylene utilized by Ogihara is a metallocene-catalyzed polypropylene.
Conclusion
/LAURA B FIGG/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 3/10/26