DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Election/Restriction filed on 05/28/26.
Claims 1-14 are remain pending in the application.
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Claims 7-14 are withdraw.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on June 22th, 2023 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kfoury et al. (U.S. Pat. 6049192).
As to claims 1 the prior art teaches a switched mode power supply charging device for charging a rechargeable battery of a personal care appliance, comprising:
connector pins operative for engagement with a mains outlet (see fig 15 element 1501 col. 6 lines 24-39),
a power supply cable comprising an appliance power connector (see fig 15 element 1505 col. 6 lines 27-39),
a power plug housing from which the connector pins project, the power plug housing (see fig 1 col. 2 lines 40-44) being attached to an end of the power supply cable opposite to an end on which the appliance power connector is provided (see fig 1 fig 15 col. 6 lines 40 to col. 7 lines 15),
and a circuit comprising an AC/DC switched mode converter (see fig 1 col. 2 lines 44-58) and a wireless interface circuit, wherein the power plug housing houses the circuit, wherein the circuit is operative to obtain appliance-related data for at least one personal care appliance via at least one further communication interface different from the wireless interface circuit (see see fig 15 element 1540 radio circuit coupled to antenna 129 and col. 7 lines 30-40), and wherein the wireless interface circuit is operative to transmit the appliance-related data (see fig 1, fig 15 col. 6 lines 66 to col. 7 line 54).
As to claim 2 the prior art teaches wherein the circuit is operative to obtain at least some of the appliance-related data for said personal care appliance while the personal care appliance is being engaged with the appliance power connector; and/or obtain at least some of the appliance-related data for one or several second personal care appliances while the appliance power connector is engaged with a first personal care appliance different from the one or several second personal care appliances (see fig 1-5 col. 4 lines 25-60).
As to claim 3, the prior art teaches wherein the at least one further communication interface comprises a wired communication circuit operative to obtain the appliance-related data over conductors of the power supply cable that are operative to supply power and/or a further wireless interface circuit different from the wireless interface circuit (see fig 1-3 and fig 15 col. 5 lines 45 to col. 5 lines 50).
As to claim 4, the prior art teaches wherein the power supply charging device comprises a water-tight shell from which the connector pins project, the water-tight shell having an outer surface, the circuit being mounted on the outer surface of the water-tight shell, optionally wherein the power supply charging device further comprises an enclosure attached to the water-tight shell in which the circuit is arranged, further optionally wherein the enclosure is an end cap attached to the water-tight shell (see fig 2-6 and 12-15 col. 6 lines 1-67).
As to claim 5, the prior art teaches wherein the circuit has a configuration mode in which the wireless interface circuit is configurable for a subsequent transmission of the appliance-related data (see fig 10-15 col. 6 lines 45 to col. 7 lines 40).
As to claim 6, the prior art teaches wherein the power supply charging device comprises a user interface and the circuit is operative to enter the configuration mode responsive to a user input action at the user interface, and/or wherein in the configuration mode the circuit is operative to receive configuration information required for the subsequent transmission of the appliance-related data to a remote computing device via an access point, optionally wherein the circuit is operative to receive the configuration information over the wireless interface circuit or over a second wireless interface circuit different from the wireless interface circuit (see fig 10-15 col. 7 lines 30 to col. 8 lines 20).
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851