DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment received April 15, 2026.
Bolded text is new to the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONOSHIMA et al (2019/0265592) in view of YANAGISAWA et al (2015/0315153).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
KONOSHIMA et al report a positive metal containing composition comprising an organometallic compound, a photoacid, and a metal chelate and other ingredients.
On page 4, para. [0033] a metal chelate compound is reported which contains a central metal and ligands coordinated to the central metal, see below for the specific metal elements and the ligand:
Applicants are directed to para. [0054], page 6 for the disclosed photoacid generator which include the following halogen element:
The disclosure in KONOSHIMA et al meet the claimed photoresist composition of claim 1 for the first ligand bonded to the central metal and the second ligand not bonded with the central metal.
The PAG can be seen as a ligand which is not bonded to the central metal in the metal chelate compound reported as the organic tin compound above.
Claim 2 and 3 are meets the halogen element in para. [0052] of KONOSHIMA et al.
Claim 4 is met by the photoacids having no having a halogen element as seen in KONOSHIMA, para. [0054] for toluene sulfonic acid salt which is generated by exposure to UV radiation.
Claims 5 and 6 are met by the disclosure in YANAGISAWA et al on page 4, para. [0047] for a toluene sulfonate naphthalimide which is a heteroatom containing compound with a fused ring.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive metalorganic films to select known combination of the ligands and a second ligand not bonded to the central metal such as a photoacid generator having halogen elements with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for high fine conductive pattern having good appearance and high reliability.
The rejection is repeated wherein the prior art of KONOSHIMA et al disclose a thermal acid generator containing a trifluoromethanesulfonic acid which is not bonded to the central metal and a photoacid generator such as p-toluene sulfonic acid as an additional ligand KONOSHIMA et al teaches mixtures of the thermal acid generator and the photoacid generator see para. [0051] to [0056] with the compounds highlighted below:
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TALAPIN et al (2022/0011664A1) in view of ZI et al (2022/0291587).
The claimed invention recites the following for claims 17 and 20
TALAPIN et al disclose a photosensitive, inorganic ligand-capped inorganic nanocrystal particles. The reference discloses bifunctional ligands and a two-component ligand system.
The two-component ligand system contains a surface-binding anionic ligands or inorganic ligands having halogens, see para. [0039] for the CdCl3 –. These ligands bind to a nanocrystal reported in para. [0026] – [0031], with para. [0030], attached below:
The second component contains photochemically active cations and molecules reported in para. [0043] to [0048]. The ligands include PAG cations having sulfonium and iodonium cations which may be paired with anions having halogen groups, see para. [0044], below:
TALAPIN et al meets the recited first ligand, second ligand components of claims 17 having a halogen element as seen in Example 2, page 15, para. [0139] to [0145], the nanocrystal ligand and the photoacid generators are disclosed in para. [0142] and [0143], below:
Claims 7-10 are met above for the first ligand having a halogen element and claims 8 and 9 are met by the anionic ligands such as alkylamine which contains a heteroatom bonded to the nanocrystal, see in para. [0039] below:
The use of a single metallic ligands or a combination to optimize the results of the photoresist is known in the art so as to meet claim 10 for an additional first ligand.
Claims 11-15 are met wherein in para.[0039] for the heteroatom containing ligands bonded to the disclosed nanocrystals in para. [0030].
Claim 17 is met by the disclose in KONOSHIMA et al for the photoacid generator meeting the second ligand having and TALAPIN et al for the first and photochemically active cations having halogen elements, see para [0044], above.
Claims 18 and 19 are met by the disclosed bifunctional ligands in para. [0042], wherein the metal-free anion includes X as a halogen element and other such as triflate and carbamate meeting the ligands without a halogen.
Claim 20 is met by the disclose in ZI et al (2019/0103306) wherein a process for forming a pattern image is disclosed with an underlayer which is overcoated with a metallic photoresist, see claims 15-20 and para. [0046] the pre-exposure bake and para. [0058] for the post-exposure bake in the method of pattern formation and making a semiconductor device.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive metallic compositions to employ a similar method steps on the composition of TALAPIN et al for form patterned image for manufacturing a semiconductor device and select multiple anionic ligands to optimize the photosensitive, inorganic ligand-capped nanocrystals for high resolution and low cost per patterned element.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
June 25, 2026