DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the application received June 22, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONOSHIMA et al (2019/0265592) and CLARK (2022/00382159) in view of YANAGISAWA et al (2015/0315153).
The claimed invention recites the following:
KONOSHIMA et al report a positive metal containing composition comprising an organometallic compound, a photoacid and other ingredients.
On page 4, para. [0033] a metal chelate compound is reported which contains a central metal and ligands coordinated to the central metal, see below for the specific metal elements and the ligand:
Applicants are directed to para. [0054], page 6 for the disclosed photoacid generator which include the following halogen element:
The disclosure in KONOSHIMA et al meet the claimed photoresist composition of claim 1 for the first ligand bonded to the central metal and the second ligand not bonded with the central metal.
CLARK discloses a metalorganic film comprising a tin compound precursors comprising ligands having halogen element as seen on page 4, para. [0037] below:
CLARK further disclose the formulation with a photoacid generator as seen on page 5, para. [0046] and [0047] to include PAG’s with halogen elements, see below:
The PAG can be seen as a ligand which is not bonded to the central metal in the metal chelate compound reported as the organic tin compound above.
Claim 2 is addressed above for the halogen element in para. [0047] of CLARK.
Claim 3 is met by the fluoro alkoxide moieties in para. [0047] of CLARK.
Claim 4 is met by the photoacids having no having a halogen element as seen in KONOSHIMA, para. [0054] for toluene sulfonic acid salt which is generated by exposure to UV radiation.
Claims 5 and 6 are met by the disclosure in YANAGISAWA et al on page 4, para. [0047] for a toluene sulfonate naphthalimide which is a heteroatom containing compound with a fused ring.
Claims 7-12 are met by the metal ligands disclosed above in CLARK and KONOSHIMA et al for the first ligand containing a halogen element, see para [0037] in CLARK. With respect claim 8, the first ligand to the halogen element, ((CH3 )2 N)3 SnMe) meets the aliphatic amine compound.
Claims 9-11 are met by the disclose metal chelate of para. [0036] seen here:
Claims 12-14 are met by the ligands in para. [0037] of CLARK such as having an aliphatic amine.
Claim 15 report the central metals in each of NONOSHIMA et al and CLARK above.
Claim 16 is met by the disclosure in KONOSHIMA et al para. [0039] for the content of the metal chelate being 0.05 to 5% by mass to the total solid content.
Claims 17 is met by CLARK above in para. [0037] and [0047] having a first ligand and a second ligand each with a halogen element.
Claims 18 is met by the disclose in para. [0037] for a ligand compound with a halogen element and a ligand without a halogen element, such a trimethyl tin chloride.
Claim 19 is met by the disclosure in KONOSHIMA et al wherein the use of the photoacids singly or in combination is a known feature of the art to optimize the properties.
Claim 20 is met by the method disclosed in CLARK on page 4, para. [0034] wherein the exposure source is found in YANAGISAWA et al page 9, para. [0063].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive metalorganic films to select known combination of the ligands and a second ligand not bonded to the central metal such as a photoacid generator having halogen elements with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for high fine conductive pattern having good appearance and high reliability.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZI et al (2019/0384171) is cited to disclose photoresist having metal oxide particles and ligands) and additional components to include photoacid generators and photobase generators.
LEE et al (2021/0166937) report photoresist comprising metal particles with ligands and additional ingredients to include photoacids, coloring agents, adhesion additives and surface leveling agents on page 10.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
January 7, 2026