The rejection of claims 9-13 and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zhou (US-20190127627-A1) is withdrawn in view of amendments and arguments.
The rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zhou (US-20190127627-A1) and further in view of Zhao (CN-111963108-A) is withdrawn in view of amendments and arguments.
Response to Arguments & Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purinton (US-4254559-A).
With regard to claim 9, Purinton teaches a pipeline-drying method that sequentially introduces a treatment pig-train comprising (a) an aqueous cross-linked gelled pig (corresponding to the claimed drying agent), (b) a fluid mobility buffer composed of a non-crosslinked gelled alkanol (corresponding to the claimed drying agent and base fluid), and (c) a liquid alkanol such as methanol (corresponding to the claimed base fluid) (Abstract).
Purinton notes that eliminating residual water from natural gas pipelines involves high proportions of methane, as residual water can form hydrates with methanol under specific temperature and pressure conditions (corresponding to the hydration and removal of residual water by the base fluid) (col 1, line 57-66).
Furthermore, Purinton teaches that the gelled pig is formulated externally, with remaining components incorporated into the pumpable mass as it is being pumped into the pipeline (corresponding to the claimed preparation and introduction step) (col 3, lines 9-12). The gelled chemical pigs remove surface deposits via dissolution and by entrapping loose debris as they pass through the pipeline (corresponding to the hydration of the drying agent) (col 1, lines 30-33). Purinton specifies pig concentrations ranging from 50 to 200 pounds per thousand gallons of alkanol—equivalent to 2 to 8 pounds per barrel (ppb), 1,000 gallons = 23.81 barrels (bbl.)—which overlaps with the claimed pill limitation of 500 bbl. or less of fluid (col 3, lines 47-50).
Purinton does not explicitly teach that the drying pill is removed.
With regard to the removal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention that the drying components are removed from the pipeline to achieve a dry interior surface. Purinton would guide one having ordinary skill in the art that passing the gelled chemical pig and methanol through the pipeline for interior surface drying (Abstract). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to expect that the drying components are removed of Purinton.
With regard to claims 10 and 13, Purinton teaches that the gelled pig is formulated externally, with remaining components incorporated into the pumpable mass as it is being pumped into the pipeline (col 3, lines 9-12). This disclosure reads on the claim limitation of the system being pumped through the pipeline, as well as the components mixing as they are introduced into the pipeline.
With regard to claims 11-12, Purinton teaches that if the user wishes to maintain a pipeline in a dry, empty state typically utilizes a dry inert gas, such as nitrogen, carbon dioxide, ethane, propane, or liquefied petroleum gas (col 4, lines 15-19). Consequently, the disclosure reads on the claimed limitation since the claimed step can optionally be omitted.
With regard to claim 14, Purinton teaches that the preferred alkanols are methanol, ethanol, and isopropanol (col 3, lines 35-38 and col 3, lines 61-62), which reads on the claimed fluid.
With regard to claim 15, Purinton teaches a crosslinked thickener, such as polysaccharide and polysaccharide derivatives (col 2, lines 40-41), which reads on a crosslinkable polymer.
With regard to claim 16, Purinton teaches that the thickener or pig would be present in about 0.5 to 1.8 wt.%, which overlaps the claimed range. Purinton further teaches that the actual amount used, however, can be adjusted to convenience by the practitioner (col 2, lines 45-50). Additionally, Purinton teaches that incorporating thickeners or pigs into the alkanol at an effective concentration induces gelation, thereby reducing volatility and enabling pipeline transport as a viscous slug (col 3, lines 43-47).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
October 27, 2026