DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the embodiment of figure 4, including related figures 7 and 8, in the reply filed on 10/21/25 and the supplemental response filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (2013/0075766). Regarding claims 1 and 17, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text a display device comprising:
a substrate 12;
a first capacitor electrode 22 on the substrate;
a first buffer layer 24 on the first capacitor electrode;
a second capacitor electrode 14 on the first buffer layer, the second capacitor electrode overlapping at least a portion of the first capacitor electrode;
a second buffer layer 18 on the second capacitor electrode;
an active layer 16 on the second buffer layer;
a gate insulating film 18 on (on a bottom surface) the active layer; and
a source electrode 20S on the gate insulating film, the source electrode overlapping at least a portion of the active layer 16,
wherein the active layer 16 overlaps at least a portion of an overlapping region between the first capacitor electrode 22 and the second capacitor electrode 14.
Regarding claims 17 and 7, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text substantially the entire claimed structure, as applied to claim 1 above, including an overcoat layer 54 on the source electrode 20S; and a pixel electrode 52 electrically connected to the source electrode through a first contact hole in the overcoat layer, the first contact hole overlapping the active layer.
Regarding claim 2, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text that the active layer includes a first region, a second region, and a third region between the first region and the second region, and the second capacitor electrode is below the third region and overlaps the third region.
Regarding claim 19, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text that the active layer overlaps at least a portion of an overlapping region between the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode.
Regarding claim 3. Chang et al. teach in figure 5 and related text that an image data signal DL is applied to the second capacitor electrode.
Regarding claim 4 Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text that the source electrode overlaps at least a portion of the overlapping region between the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode.
Regarding claim 5, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text that the source electrode overlaps a channel region of the active layer.
Regarding claim 6, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text that the source electrode 20S is electrically connected to the first capacitor electrode 22.
Regarding claim 9, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text that the active layer includes a first region, a second region, and a third region between the first region and the second region, and the display device further comprises: a first auxiliary layer 20S on the first region; and a second auxiliary layer 20D on the second region.
Regarding claim 11, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text that the active layer includes a first semiconductor material, and each of the first auxiliary layer and the second auxiliary layer includes a metal.
Regarding claim 12, Chang et al. teach in figure 6 and related text that a sub-pixel including a driving transistor and a storage capacitor, wherein the storage capacitor is configured by an overlap between the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode, the driving transistor includes the active layer, the source electrode, and the second capacitor electrode, and the second capacitor electrode corresponds to a gate electrode of the driving transistor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (2013/0075766).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text substantially the entire claimed structure, as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, except a first contact hole overlaps a channel region of the active layer.
Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text a first contact hole overlaps the active layer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the first contact hole overlapping the active layer in Chang et al.’s device in order to provide better connections between the source/drain electrode and the source/drain regions.
Regarding claim 10, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text substantially the entire claimed structure, as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, including that the active layer includes a first semiconductor material, and each of the first auxiliary layer and the second auxiliary layer includes a second material different from the first semiconductor material, but except that each of the first auxiliary layer and the second auxiliary layer includes a second semiconductor material different from the first semiconductor material, and a mobility of the first semiconductor material is greater than a mobility of the second semiconductor material.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form each of the first auxiliary layer and the second auxiliary layer includes a second semiconductor material different from the first semiconductor material, and a mobility of the first semiconductor material is greater than a mobility of the second semiconductor material in Chang et al.’s device in order to adjust the conductivity of the device according to the requirements of the application in hand.
Regarding the claimed limitations of using specific materials, it is noted that substitution of materials is not patentable even when the substitution is new and useful. Safetran Systems Corp. v. Federal Sign & Signal Corp. (DC NIII, 1981) 215 USPQ 979.
It is further held that it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, Chang et al. teach in figure 4 and related text substantially the entire claimed structure, as applied to claim 1 above, except that the sub-pixel further comprises a scanning transistor, wherein an active layer of the scanning transistor is on a same layer as the active layer of the driving transistor, and a gate electrode of the scanning transistor or a scanning gate line corresponding to the gate electrode of the scanning transistor is on the active layer of the scanning transistor and is on a same layer as the source electrode of the driving transistor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form a scanning transistor, wherein an active layer of the scanning transistor is on a same layer as the active layer of the driving transistor, and a gate electrode of the scanning transistor or a scanning gate line corresponding to the gate electrode of the scanning transistor is on the active layer of the scanning transistor in Chang et al.’s device in order to operate the device in its intended use.
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
2/6/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800