DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 15, 16, 18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/23/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "160" and "161" have both been used to designate the features mirrored across press head 130, see figure 3. The same features being either blocking bars or blocking assemblies however the difference in unascertainable from the figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "160" and "161" have both been used to designate the same blocking components as shown in figure 3. The specifications providing block bars as 161 and blocking assemblies as 160. However arrows of figure 3 point to multiple instances of bar features as 160 and on the mirroring side of the press head 130 multiple lines point to multiple bar features (mirrored to the right) as 161, it is unclear what constitutes the difference between a blocking assembly and a block bar. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “blocking assemblies being arranged spaced apart in a radial direction of the welding channel” (lines 13-14), However the welding channel (170) is central to the press head (130) while none of the blocking assemblies (160a/b) are inline to a central axis (radial) thereof the welding channel. It appears the blocking assemblies run perpendicularly offset to the axis of the welding channel as may be applied to the claim portion reciting “overlapping portions in a circumferential direction of the welding channel” (lines 14-15), as best understood looking at figure 5 the blocking assembly (160a) turns into orifice edge (151) and is at/forms a circumference of the welding channel (170), however it is unclear what portions of the blocking assemblies are overlapping what or where/how the blocking assemblies overlap.
Similarly see claims 7 and 11 similarly reciting “radial direction” with regards to welding channel without support for a central axis relation as claimed and reciting “overlapping portions in the circumferential direction” where it is unclear to what portions of the blocking assemblies are overlapping what or where/how the blocking assemblies overlap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 113,130,964 A) in view of Vorwerk (US 2021/0354970) and Wang (CN 216,938,956 U).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a welding press head tool, comprising at least one press head assembly (generally 26/27), each press head assembly comprising:
a press plate (27) provided with a first through hole (where channel 4 extends through press plate) penetrating the press plate in a first direction (as shown in figures 6/7/8);
a press head (26) movably connected to one side of the press plate in the first direction (“the ram body 26 can relatively slide within the range of the sliding section,” (page 5, starting 15 lines from bottom)) and capable of having a first gap (distance between 26/27 “the telescopic spring 29 is always in a compressed state between the ram body 26 and the guide body 27, the guide bolt 28 plays a role in pre-tightening and length fixing during the tightening process to ensure that the distance between the fixed ram body 26 and the guide body 27 is kept larger than 2mm,” (page 5 starting 19 lines from bottom)) with the press plate when the press head moves relative to the press plate (as disclosed above (page 5, starting 15 lines from bottom)), the press head having a second through hole (where channel 4 extends through press head, see figure 6/7) penetrating the press head in the first direction (as shown in figure 6/7), and the first through hole and the second through hole being in communication to jointly define a welding channel (welding channel 4, see figures 6/7) for providing a welding space (nature of welding channel); and
at least two groups of blocking assemblies (where 26/27 overlap mutually by extensions, see figure 9) arranged between the press plate and the press head (see figure 9), each of the blocking assemblies being used for blocking a channel (area confined by blocking assemblies) formed by the first gap in a second direction (generally direction of 6 being perpendicular to 4, see figure 7) perpendicular to the first direction (as shown in figure 7), and at least two groups of the blocking assemblies (blocking assemblies on both sides left/right and top/bottom of 26/27, see figure 9) in all the blocking assemblies being arranged spaced apart in a radial direction of the welding channel (unclear what spaced apart in a radial direction is intended to mean, as best understood from figures the blocking channels of the present application run perpendicular and offset to the axis of the welding channel 171, similarly see figures 6/7/9 of Liu providing the same relative orientation of blocking features to welding channel 4 extending through 26/27) and having overlapping portions in a circumferential direction of the welding channel (gas is guided/blocked in through channels of 26/27 that extend past a circumference of welding channel 4 “the first flow guide channel 5 is communicated with the laser flow guide channel 4 and is used for introducing inert gas; the second flow guide channel 6 is communicated with the laser flow guide channel 4 and is used for discharging inert gas and welding slag;” (page 3, starting at line 26));
wherein each of the blocking assemblies comprises a blocking bar (bar as overlapping portion between 26/27 as shown in figure 9), and the blocking bar is arranged on one of the press plate and the press head and extends out toward the other (extension of overlapping features from 27 and 26 as shown in figure 9)
wherein among the blocking assemblies arranged spaced apart in the radial direction of the welding channel (see figure 6, where blocking assemblies run past welding channel retaining fluid flow therein), at least one group of the blocking assemblies is located at an outer contour edge of the press head (edge located blocking, as shown in figure 9), and
wherein the blocking assembly further comprise an insert groove arranged corresponding to the blocking bar (where bars are received in opposing surface 26/27, see figure 9) and used for inserting the blocking bar (as shown in figure 8/9):
if the blocking bar is arranged on the press plate, the insert groove is formed in the press head (both features of bar and grove are present where opposing features interact at depths past opposition features (grooves) to block/limit fluid flow, see figure 9): and
if the blocking bar is arranged on the press head, the insert groove is formed in the press plate (both features of bar and grove are present where opposing features interact to block as disclosed above, see figure 9).
Liu is silent regarding and at least one group of the blocking assemblies is located between the outer contour edge of the press head and an orifice edge of the second through hole.
However it would be obvious to have at least one group of the blocking assemblies is located between the outer contour edge of the press head and an orifice edge of the second through hole because additional blocking assemblies (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. Duplication of Parts) expectedly results in a predictable improvement to retaining gasses, the blocking features are placeable only within the finite area between outer wall and gas flow channel of the pressing plate system (see MPEP 2144.05 II. B. Routine Optimization), Vorwerk teaches such a plurality of blocking plates (10, figure 4) is known between moving parts (top13 / bottom 4, via rotation at RA2 see figure 4) of a pressure varied system (gas inlet 21) specifically to reduce the ability of gas to flow out therethrough (labyrinth seal 9 having blocking plates 10, see figure 4) .
The advantage of at least one group of the blocking assemblies is located between the outer contour edge of the press head and an orifice edge of the second through hole, is to enhance retention of fluid between moving parts “An annular slit 10 that forms a channel through the labyrinth seal 9. This creates a tortuous flow path for air and thus increases flow resistance between the interior 3 and the exterior. This increased flow resistance reduces flow of sterile gas outward, thus reducing the required volume of replacement sterile gas.” [0041] within the finite space of a flow system (see figure 4, rotation RA2 between blocking elements 10 at outer edge extending inward within space provided).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Liu and Vorwerk before him or her, to modify the paired blocking bars of Liu to include the multitude of paired blocking bars of Vorwerk because raising the number of flow blocking features between moving parts predictably enhances the blocking of flow therethrough.
Liu as modified is silent regarding and having the overlapping portions in the circumferential direction of the welding channel.
However Wang teaches having the overlapping portions in the circumferential direction of the welding channel (see figure 3/4/5/6, where fluid channel 5/501 appears at welding passage 701/103 circumferentially surrounded by welding passage).
The advantage of having the overlapping portions in the circumferential direction of the welding channel, is to preserve a circumferential shape of the welding passage except where necessary at fluid flow ports, for enhancing flow efficiency “In order to improve the dust absorption efficiency of the negative pressure adsorption unit, corresponding to the setting of each dust gathering point 202, in this embodiment, along the length direction of the housing 1, each laser beam channel 103.” (page 4, paragraph 6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Liu and Wang before him or her, to modify the blocked open welding channel and gas channel of Liu to include the flow enhanced circumferential features of Wang because flow formed channels enhance efficiency of fluid flow therethrough.
Regarding claim 5, Liu as modified teaches the welding press head tool according to claim 1, Liu as already modified teaches wherein in the same blocking assemblies, the blocking bar is arranged on a surface of the press head facing the press plate, and the insert groove is formed in a surface of the press plate facing the press head (as shown in figure 9, the press head 26 includes blocking bar that fits/received by a groove of press plate 27); or
in the blocking assembly located at the outer contour edge of the press head. a hooking portion is arranged at an extension end of the blocking bar, and a limiting portion is arranged at a rabbet of the insert groove corresponding to the hooking portion: and
the hooking portion extends into the insert groove, and
the hooking portion is used for being hooked on the limiting portion when the blocking bar moves away from the insert groove.
Regarding claim 7, Liu as modified teaches the welding press head tool according to claim 1, Liu as already modified teaches wherein among the blocking assemblies arranged spaced apart in the radial direction of the welding channel and having the overlapping portions in the circumferential direction of the welding channel, at least one group of the blocking assemblies is located at the orifice edge of the second through hole (as already modified to the finite space in view of Wang conforming to circumference of welding channel and Vorwerk providing a multitude of blocking bars within the finites space provided between outer wall of press and flow channel).
Regarding claim 8, Liu as modified teaches the welding press head tool according to claim 7, Liu as already modified teaches wherein in the blocking assembly located at the orifice edge of the second through hole (see flow channels of figure 7), the blocking bar is arranged on the press head and extends out to an inner side of an inner wall of the first through hole (as already modified to the finite space in view of Wang conforming to circumference of welding channel and Vorwerk providing a multitude of blocking bars within the finites space provided between outer wall of press and flow channel).
Regarding claim 9, Liu as modified the welding press head tool according to claim 8, Liu as already modified teaches wherein a first recess and a second recess are respectively formed in surfaces of the press plate and the press head opposite to each other (see figure 9, where blocking bars slide past each other into recesses), the first recess is in communication with the first through hole (as already modified to the finite space in view of Wang conforming to circumference of welding channel and Vorwerk providing a multitude of blocking bars within the finites space provided between outer wall of press and flow channel), the second recess is in communication with the second through hole, the first recess and the second recess correspond to each other in position and jointly define a dust removal channel (central channel in view of fluid flow therethrough, see fluid inlet 5 of figure 6, where central channel 6 is in fluid communication thereto with welding channel 4 intersecting perpendicularly, external dust removal pipe 9 in physical working relation/proximity to central channel, see figure 1 and 2) in communication with the outside of the press head assembly (as disclosed above regarding removal pipe 9 shown in figures 1/2), and in the blocking assembly located at the orifice edge of the second through hole (as already modified to the finite space in view of Wang conforming to circumference of welding channel and Vorwerk providing a multitude of blocking bars within the finites space provided between outer wall of press and flow channel), part of a structure of the blocking bar extends into an inner side of an inner wall of the first recess and extends in an axial direction of the dust removal channel (dust removal channel formed by blocking assemblies running along length of press plate/ press head 26/27, see figure 6).
Regarding claim 10, Liu as modified teaches the welding press head tool according to claim 9, Liu as already modified teaches wherein a third recess and a fourth recess are respectively formed in surfaces of the press plate and the press head opposite to each other (recesses as provided in figure 9, the duplication of parts as already modified by Vorwerk), the third recess is in communication with the first through hole, the fourth recess is in communication with the second through hole, the third recess and the fourth recess correspond to each other in position and jointly define a gas intake channel (gas channel defined centrally between 26/27, see figure 6, overlapping of blocking plates with recesses as shown in figure 9, the alternating of direction and plurality of blocking plates of Vorwerk as already modifying provide relation of recesses to first and second through holes where welding occurs through 26/27, see figure 7) in communication with the outside of the press head assembly (where 5 delivers gas, see figure 7 “the first flow guide channel 5 and the second flow guide channel 6 are oppositely arranged, so that after the inert gas enters the laser flow guide channel 4 from the first flow guide channel 5 on one side, the inert gas in the original laser flow guide channel 4 can be discharged from the second flow guide channel 6 on the other side, the gas flow is in a direct flow state when flowing through the first flow guide channel 5, the laser flow guide channel 4 and the second flow guide channel 6, the flow direction is not changed, the flow speed of the inert gas is ensured, and the gas flow can take out welding slag generated by welding as much as possible.” (page 5, starting at line 19)), and in the blocking assembly at the orifice edge of the second through hole, the blocking bar extends into an inner side of an inner wall of the third recess and extends in an axial direction of the gas intake channel (duplication of parts regarding blocking plate / recesses in relation to central flow channel as disclosed above).
Regarding claim 11, Liu as modified teaches the welding press head tool according to claim 1, Liu as already modified teaches wherein six groups of the blocking assemblies are provided (as already modified by Vorwerk anticipating an increase of blocking assemblies predictably increasing fluid retention, see Duplication of Parts MPEP 2144.05 II. B. as already applied), wherein three groups of the blocking assemblies are located on a first side of the welding channel (see figure 6/9 of Liu having blocking assemblies at first side of welding channel in view of the above Duplication of Parts), are arranged spaced apart in the radial direction of the welding channel (see spacing to welding channel figure 6, unclear what applicant means in regards to “radial direction”), and have overlapping portions in the circumferential direction of the welding channel (as already modified to the finite space in view of Wang conforming to circumference of welding channel and Vorwerk providing a multitude of blocking bars within the finites space provided between outer wall of press and flow channel):
the other three groups of the blocking assemblies are located on a second side of the welding channel (see figure 6/9 of Liu having blocking assemblies at second side of welding channel in view of the above Duplication of Parts), are arranged spaced apart in the radial direction of the welding channel (see spacing to welding channel figure 6, unclear what applicant means in regards to “radial direction”), and have overlapping portions in the circumferential direction of the welding channel (as already modified to the finite space in view of Wang conforming to circumference of welding channel and Vorwerk providing a multitude of blocking bars within the finites space provided between outer wall of press and flow channel):
wherein the first side and the second side are opposite sides of the welding channel in the radial direction thereof (as shown in figures 6/9).
Regarding claim 12, Liu as modified teaches the welding press head tool according to claim 11, Liu as already modified teaches wherein the blocking bar in each of the blocking assemblies extends in a second direction (see figure 6 providing blocking bars additionally extending along length of press head / press plate 26/27 and having and extension in width perpendicular to said length):
wherein the second direction is perpendicular to a direction from the first side to the second side and perpendicular to the first direction (as disclosed above).
Regarding claim 13, Liu as modified teaches the welding press head tool according to claim 1, Liu as already modified teaches wherein at least two groups of the press head assemblies are provided (see two instances of press head 26 in figure 6), and the press plates in the at least two groups of press head assemblies are interconnected or integrally formed (as shown in figure 6); and
the press heads in the at least two groups of the press head assemblies are located on the same side of the corresponding press plate (as shown in figure 6) and are spaced apart from each other (as shown in figure 6);
Or,
the press head assembly further includes a connecting rod, and the connecting rod is movably connected to the press plate in the first direction, and an end portion of the connecting rod facing the press head is detachably connected to the press head.
Conclusion
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761