DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 12/08/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every claim objection and the 112(b) rejection of claim 2, previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 09/08/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 12, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2023/0386964 A1) hereinafter referenced as Hsueh.
Regarding claim 1, Hsueh teaches an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (Fig.4H, element #50) comprising: a substrate outer side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #50); a substrate inner side (Fig.4H, top side of element #50); a dielectric structure; and a conductive structure (Fig.4H, control and data signals are communicated to the electronic component through the substrate, paragraph [0028], rows 11-14, and therefore, the substrate must comprise a conductive structure and a dielectric structure separating the communication paths); an electronic component comprising a first die (Fig.4H, formed by elements #15, #20 and #25), the first die comprising: an upper side (Fig.4H, top side of elements #15 and #25); a lower side opposite to the upper side and coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #20 is coupled to the top side of element #50); a lateral side connecting the upper side to the lower side wherein the lateral side defines a perimeter for the first die (Fig.4H, outer lateral side of element #25 couples the top and bottom sides and defines a perimeter); and a conductor on the upper side of the first die and confined within the perimeter, wherein the conductor is a structural element of the first die (Fig.4H, element #107); a cover structure comprising: sidewalls coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, elements #65); and an upper wall coupled to the sidewalls and comprising an inner side spaced apart from the conductor (Fig.4H, formed by element #116 and #202, bottom side is spaced apart from element #107); and a thermal interface material (TIM) contacting and interposed between the conductor and the inner side of the upper wall (Fig.4H, element #114, paragraph [0017], row 21, note that layers #106A and #106B evaporate, paragraph [0015], rows 16-18, leaving the TIM, layer #114, contacting elements #107 and #202), wherein: the TIM covers the conductor (Fig.4H, element #114 covers element #107). In a different embodiment Hsueh teaches the TIM covers the lateral side of the first die (Fig.2B, TIM covers lateral sides of die element #104). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and disclose the TIM covering the lateral side of the first die. As disclosed by Hsueh, the TIM covering the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
Regarding claim 2, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: component interconnects coupling the lower side of the first die to the conductive structure (Fig.4H, element #35); and an underfill interposed between the lower side of the first die and the inner side of the substrate, wherein the underfill surrounds the component interconnects (Fig.4H, element #60).
Regarding claim 5, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. In a different embodiment Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the TIM directly adjoins the lateral side of the first die (Fig.2B and 2C), the TIM comprises edges that extend outward from the lateral side of the first die, the edges of the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape and the convexly rounded outward shape reduces stress around the first die (Fig.2C, element #114 satisfies all the claimed structural limitations, and therefore it does not differentiate it from another one that has all and the same the structural features). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and disclose the TIM directly adjoins the lateral side of the first die, the TIM comprises edges that extend outward from the lateral side of the first die, the edges of the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape and the convexly rounded outward shape reduces stress around the first die. As disclosed by Hsueh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
Regarding claim 6, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the TIM comprises a metallic material (paragraph [0014], rows 24-28); and the cover structure comprises a multi-piece structure (Fig.4H, the cover structure comprises elements #65, #116 and #202).
Regarding claim 10, Hsueh teaches an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (Fig.4H, element #50) comprising: a substrate outer side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #50); a substrate inner side (Fig.4H, top side of element #50); a dielectric structure; and a conductive structure (Fig.4H, control and data signals are communicated to the electronic component through the substrate, paragraph [0028], rows 11-14, and therefore, the substrate must comprise a conductive structure and a dielectric structure separating the communication paths); a first electronic component comprising a first die (Fig.4H, formed by elements #15), the first die comprising: a lower side coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, bottom side of elements #15 is coupled to the top side of the substrate, element #50); an upper side opposite to the lower side and distal to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, top side of element #15); lateral sides connecting the upper side to the lower side (Fig.4H, lateral sides of element #15); and a conductor over the upper side and terminating at the lateral sides of the first die, wherein the conductor is a structural element of the first die (Fig.4H, element #107); a cover structure comprising: sidewalls coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, elements #65); and an upper wall coupled to the sidewalls and comprising an inner side spaced apart from and overlying the upper side of the first electronic component (Fig.4H, formed by elements #116 and #202); and a thermal interface material (TIM) interposed between the conductor and the inner side of the upper wall (Fig.4H, element #114), wherein: the TIM covers the upper side of the first die (Fig.4H, element #114 covers the upper side of element #15) and the TIM is electrically coupled to the conductive structure (TIM is made of metal, paragraph [0014], rows 24-28); note that layer #106A evaporate, paragraph [0015], rows 16-18, leaving the TIM in direct contact with elements #107). In a different embodiment Hsueh teaches the TIM covers the lateral side of the first die (Fig.2B, TIM covers lateral sides of die element #104). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and disclose the TIM covering the lateral side of the first die. As disclosed by Hsueh, the TIM covering to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
Regarding claim 12, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 10 wherein: the conductor comprises lateral edges substantially co-planar with the lateral sides of the first die (Fig.4H, lateral edges of element #107 are co-planar with the lateral sides of element #15); the conductor comprises gold (paragraph [0014], row 7). In a different embodiment Hsueh teaches the TIM overlaps the lateral edges of the conductor (Fig.2B, TIM overlaps the lateral edge of element #107. Note that the TIM, element #114, will overlap the lateral sides of element #25, and so overlap the lateral sides of the conductor of Fig.4H is a similar way as in Fig.2B). As disclosed by Hsueh, the TIM layer overlapping the lateral edges of the conductor is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
Regarding claim 16, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. In a different embodiment, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 10, wherein: the TIM adjoins the lateral sides of the first die (Fig.2B and 2C); the TIM comprises edges that extend outward from the lateral sides of the first die in a cross-sectional view, the edges of the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape in the cross-sectional view; and the convexly rounded outward shape reduces stress around the first die (Fig.2C, element #114 satisfies all the claimed structural limitations, and therefore it does not differentiate it from another one that has all and the same the structural features). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and disclose the TIM adjoins the lateral sides of the first die; the TIM comprises edges that extend outward from the lateral sides of the first die in a cross-sectional view, the edges of the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape in the cross-sectional view; and the convexly rounded outward shape reduces stress around the first die. As disclosed by Hsueh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
Regarding claim 18, Hsueh teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device, comprising: providing a substrate (Fig.4H, element #50) comprising: a substrate outer side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #50); a substrate inner side (Fig.4H, top side of element #50); a dielectric structure; and a conductive structure (Fig.4H, control and data signals are communicated to the electronic component through the substrate, paragraph [0028], rows 11-14, and therefore, the substrate must comprise a conductive structure and a dielectric structure separating the control and data communication paths); providing an electronic component configured as a first die, (Fig.4H, formed by element #15), the first die comprising: an upper side (Fig.4H, top side of element #15); a; a lower side opposite to the upper side and coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #15 is coupled to the top side of substrate #50); a lateral side connecting the upper side to the lower side, wherein the lateral side of defines a perimeter for the first die (Fig.4H, outer lateral side of element #15 couples the top and bottom sides and defines a perimeter); and a conductor on the upper side of the first die wherein the conductor terminates at the perimeter of the first die, and wherein the conductor is provided as a structural element of the first die (Fig.4H, element #107); coupling the lower side of the first die to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #15 is coupled to the top side of the substrate); providing a cover structure comprising: sidewalls (Fig.4H, elements #65); and an upper wall coupled to the sidewalls and comprising an inner side spaced apart from the conductor (Fig.4H, formed by elements #116 and #202, bottom side is spaced apart from element #107); coupling the sidewalls to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, elements #65 are coupled to the top surface of element #50); and providing a thermal interface material (TIM) on the conductor and interposed between the conductor and the inner side of the upper wall and covering the conductor (Fig.4H, element #114); wherein: providing the TIM comprises providing the TIM with edges that extend outward from the lateral side of the first die (Fig.4H, edges of elements #114 extend outward from the lateral side of the die). In a different embodiment Hsueh teaches the TIM covering the lateral side of the first die and the edges of the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape; and the convexly rounded outward shape reduces stress around the first die (Fig.2C, element #114 satisfies all the claimed structural limitations, and therefore it does not differentiate it from another one that has all and the same the structural features. Note that the TIM, element #114, will extend over the lateral sides of element #25 and so the lateral sides of the first die of Fig.4H is a similar way as in Fig.2C). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and disclose the TIM covering the lateral side of the first die and the edges of the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape; and the convexly rounded outward shape reduces stress around the first die. As disclosed by Hsueh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
Regarding claim 20, Hsueh teaches the method of claim 18 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: providing an underfill interposed between the lower side of the first die and the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, element #60); wherein: coupling the lower side of the first die comprises coupling the lower side to the conductive structure with component interconnects (Fig.4H, the two sides are coupled through interconnects elements #35); and providing the underfill comprises surrounding the component interconnects (Fig.4H, elements #60 surrounds elements #35).
Claims 3, 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Liao et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2024/0071847 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liao.
Regarding claim 3, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claims 1 and 2 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein: the upper wall comprises a thermally conductive material (paragraph [0015], rows 1-2). Hsueh does not teach the TIM contacts the underfill. Liao teaches the TIM contacts the underfill (Fig.19B, TIM element #104 contacts underfill element #102). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Liao and disclose the TIM contacts the underfill. As disclosed by Liao, the underfill covers the lateral side of the die and therefore is subject to heating (Fig.19B). As a result, TIM contacting the underfill improves the heat dissipation away from the die by increasing the contact area between the TIM and the parts of the electronic device that are susceptible of heating.
Regarding claim 4, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claims 1 and 2 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 2 wherein: the underfill contacts the lateral side of the first die (Fig.4H, element #60 contact the lateral side of element #25). Hsueh does not teach the TIM contacts the underfill. Liao teaches the underfill contacts the lateral side of the first die and the TIM contacts the underfill (Fig.19B, underfill, element #102 contacts the lateral side of the die, element #64’ and the TIM element #104, contacts the underfill, element #102). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Liao and disclose the TIM contacts the underfill. As disclosed by Liao, the underfill covers the lateral side of the die and therefore is subject to heating (Fig.19B). As a result, TIM contacting the underfill improves the heat dissipation away from the die by increasing the contact area between the TIM and the parts of the electronic device that are susceptible of heating.
Regarding claim 11, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: an underfill interposed between the lower side of the first die and the substrate inner side wherein: the underfill extends to overlap the lateral sides of the first die (Fig.4H, element #60). Hsueh does not teach the TIM contacts the underfill that overlaps the lateral sides of the first die. Liao teaches the TIM contacts the underfill that overlaps the lateral sides of the first die (Fig.20A, TIM element #104 contacts underfill element #102). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Liao and disclose the TIM contacts the underfill that overlaps and the lateral sides of the first die. As disclosed by Liao, the underfill covers the lateral side of the die and therefore is subject to heating (Fig.19B). As a result, TIM contacting the underfill improves the heat dissipation away from the die by increasing the contact area between the TIM and the parts of the electronic device that are susceptible of heating.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Pan et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2022/0262691 A1), hereinafter referenced as Pan.
Regarding claim 7, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a dam coupled to the substrate inner side, wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from and surrounds at least the lateral side of the first die; and the dam comprises a top side; the TIM extends between the lateral side of the first die and the dam and the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam. Pan teaches the electronic device comprising: a dam coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.18, formed by elements # 40 and #401; element #401 is coupled to substrate, element #20), wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from and surrounds at least the lateral side of the first die (Fig.19, element #401 surrounds the lateral side of the left die, element #31); and the dam comprises a top side (Fig.17 top side of element #401); the TIM extends between the lateral side of the first die and the dam (Fig.17, TIM, elements #510 extends between the lateral side of the dies and element #401), and the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam (Fig.17, TIM elements #510 overlaps with the top side of element #401). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Pam and disclose a dam coupled to the substrate inner side, wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from and surrounds at least the lateral side of the first die; and the dam comprises a top side; the TIM extends between the lateral side of the first die and the dam, and the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam. As disclosed by Pam, the dam can be used as a reinforcement rib and the TIM overlapping the top side of the dam increases the contact area between the TIM and the dam and therefore increases the stiffness and mechanical stability of the electronic device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Pan, in view of Hung et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2019/0122999 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hung, and in view of Negoro et al., (United States Patent Number, US 8558372 B2), hereinafter referenced as Negoro.
Regarding claim 8, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Hsueh and Pan teaches the electronic device of claim 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 7, wherein: the electronic component comprises a second die coupled to the inner side of the substrate and the second die is devoid of the conductor (Fig.4I, the die on the right side of the figure is coupled to the top side of the substrate, element #50 and devoid of the conductor, element #107), and the TIM comprises a first electrically conductive material (paragraph [0014], rows 24-28).
The combination of Hsueh and Pan does not teach the second die is laterally spaced apart from the dam; the top side of the dam is below the upper side of the electronic component; and the dam comprises a second electrically conductive material. Hung teaches the second die is laterally spaced apart from the dam (Fig.5, the second die, element #110, labelled in Fig.1, located on the right side of the electronic device, is laterally spaced apart from the dam, element #120); the top side of the dam is below the upper side of the electronic component (Fig.5, top side of element #120 is below the top side of element #110); and the dam comprises a second electrically conductive material (paragraph [0028], rows 1-3). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hung and disclose the second die is laterally spaced apart from the dam; the top side of the dam is below the upper side of the electronic component; and the dam comprises a second electrically conductive material. As disclosed by Hung, the second die being laterally spaced apart from the dam allows the underfill to flow in the region between the dam and the die and attach to both, having the top side of the dam below the upper side of the electronic component allows the dam to be completely covered by the underfill and both making the die and the dam attached more securely to the substrate. Having the dam comprise of a second conductive material allows the independent optimization of the dam CTE so that it is close to that of the material of the semiconductor device, in order to reduce warpage that results in delamination and cracks (paragraph [0032], rows 9-14).
The combination of Hsueh, Pan, Hung does not teach the second die is devoid of the TIM. Negoro teaches a second die is devoid of the TIM (Fig.1, second die, element #22 is devoid of TIM). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Negoro and disclose a second die is devoid of the TIM. As disclosed by Negoro, the second die may be vulnerable to the surrounding heat, and not having a TIM (which conducts heat) contacting the die, allows the formation of a space around the second die which acts as a thermal insulator (column 5, rows 5-10).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Pan, Hung, Negoro and in view of Han et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number US 2021/0327782 A1) hereinafter referenced as Han.
Regarding claim 9, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Hsueh and Pan teaches the electronic device of claim 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Hsueh, Pan, Hung and Negoro teaches the electronic device of claim 8 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Hsueh, Pan, Hung, and Negoro does not teach the electronic device of claim 8, wherein: the TIM is electrically coupled by the dam to a ground of the conductive structure. Han teaches wherein: the TIM is electrically coupled by the dam to a ground of the conductive structure (Fig.5, TIM, element #108 is coupled by the dam, element #104, to a ground plane in the conductive structure, element #202, paragraph [0033], rows 12-17). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Han and disclose the TIM is coupled by the dam to a ground of the conductive structure. As disclosed by Han, this allows the TIM to form a Faraday cage around the electronic component, which help reduce electromagnetic interference (paragraph [0033], rows 12-17).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Hung and Pan.
Regarding claim 13, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh does not each the electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: a dam coupled to the substrate inner side and laterally spaced apart from the first die, so a portion of the substrate inner side is between the dam and the first die wherein: the dam comprises a top side that is below the upper side of the first die; and the TIM contacts and overlaps onto the top side of the dam.
Hung teaches the electronic device comprising: a dam coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.16, element #120 is coupled to substrate, element #102), wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from the first die so a portion of the substrate inner side is between the dam and the first die (Fig.15, element #120 is spaced apart from the left die, element #110, which is labeled in Fig.1) wherein: the dam comprises a top side that is below the upper side of the first die (Fig.16, top side of element #120 is below the upper side of element #110, element #110 are labeled in Fig.1). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hung and disclose a dam coupled to the substrate inner side, wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from and surrounds at least the lateral side of the first die; and the dam comprises a top side; the TIM extends between the lateral side of the first die and the dam. As disclosed by Hung, the dam can be made of a material having a coefficient of thermal expansion close to or substantially the same as that of the material of the semiconductor device, which help release stress (paragraph [0026], rows 1-2 and paragraph [0027], rows 1-4),
The combination of Hsueh and Hung does not teach the TIM contacts and overlaps onto the top side of the dam. Pan teaches the TIM contacts and overlaps onto the top side of the dam (Fig.17, TIM, element #510, contacts and overlaps onto the top side of the dam, element #401). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Pam and disclose the TIM contacts and overlaps onto the top side of the dam. As disclosed by Pam, the TIM contacting and overlapping the top side of the dam increases the contact area between the TIM and the dam and therefore increases the stiffness and mechanical stability of the electronic device.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Hung, Pan and in view of Han.
Regarding claim 14, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Hsueh, Hung and Pan teaches the electronic device of claim 13 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein: the TIM comprises a first conductive material (paragraph [0014], rows 24-28) and Hung teaches the dam is made of metal (paragraph [0028], rows 1-3).
The combination of Hsueh, Hung and Pan does not teach the dam comprises a second conductive material and is electrically coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate. Han teaches the dam comprises a second conductive material (Fig.5, element #104, can be silver filled epoxy, paragraph [0033], rows 18-21) and is electrically coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate (Fig.5, TIM, element #108 is coupled by the dam, element #104, to a ground plane in the conductive structure, element #202, paragraph [0033], rows 12-17). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Han and disclose the dam comprises a second conductive material, and is electrically coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate. As disclosed by Han, this allows the TIM to be connected to a ground plane through the dam, thus forming a Faraday cage around the electronic component (paragraph [0033], rows 12-17). Having the dam and the TIM comprise different conductive materials allows the optimization of the TIM material for heat dissipation and the optimization of the dam material for electrical connection with the ground plane.
Regarding claim 15, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Hsueh, Hung and Pan teaches the electronic device of claim 13 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Hsueh, Hung, Pan and Han teaches the electronic device of claim 14 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Han further teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein: the TIM is electrically coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate through the dam (Fig.5, TIM, element #108 is coupled by the dam, element #104, to a ground plane in the conductive structure, element #202, paragraph [0033], rows 12-17). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Han and disclose the TIM is electrically coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate through the dam. As disclosed by Han, this allows the TIM to be connected to a ground plane through the dam, thus forming a Faraday cage around the electronic component (paragraph [0033], rows 12-17).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Negoro.
Regarding claim 17, Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: a second electronic component configured as a second die coupled to the substrate inner side; wherein: the second die is devoid the conductor (Fig.4I, the die on the right side of the figure is coupled to the top side of the substrate, element #50 and devoid of the conductor, element #107). Hsueh does not teach the second die is devoid of the TIM. Negoro teaches a second die is devoid of the TIM (Fig.9, element #22 is devoid of the TIM, element #25). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Negoro and disclose a second die devoid of the TIM. As disclosed by Negoro, the second die may be vulnerable to the surrounding heat and not having a TIM which conducts heat contacting the die, allows the formation of a space around the second die which acts as a thermal insulator (column 5, rows 5-10).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh in view of Choudhury et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number US 2017/0186665 A1) hereinafter referenced as Choudhury.
Regarding claim 19, Hsueh teaches the method of claim 18 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches wherein: the first die comprises a first thickness and a first footprint (Fig.4H, element #15 has a thickness and an area in plan view, Fig.3) and the TIM comprises a second thickness and a second footprint (Fig.4H, element #114 has a thickness, in the region on top of element #15, and an area, in plan view).
Hsueh does not teach wherein providing the TIM comprises providing the TIM on the inner side of the upper wall before coupling the sidewalls to the substrate inner side. Choudhury teaches providing the TIM comprises providing the TIM on the inner side of the upper wall before coupling the sidewalls to the substrate inner side (Fig.5E, TIM element #211 is located on the inner side of upper wall of element #202, before element #202 sidewalls are attached to the substrate, element #201). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Choudhury and disclose providing the TIM comprises providing the TIM on the inner side of the upper wall before coupling the sidewalls to the substrate inner side. As disclosed by Choudhury, providing the TIM on the inner side of the upper wall of the cover structure, before coupling it to the die allows baking/curing the TIM to ensure adhesion of the TIM to the cover (paragraph [0033], rows 3-5), without subjecting the electronic component to the baking/curing process. This allows for separate curing processes, before and after the coupling, and optimization of the adherence of the TIM to the cover structure and the electronic component, which may have different adherence properties.
Hsueh does not teach wherein the second thickness is in a range from about 20% to about 40% of the first thickness. Choudhury teaches wherein: the electronic component comprises a first thickness and a first footprint (Fig.5E, element #203 has a z-height and an area in plan view); the TIM comprises a second thickness and a second footprint (Fig.5E, vertical thickness of element #211 near the horizontal center, has an area in plan view); the second thickness is in a range from about 20% to about 40% of the first thickness (Fig.5E, electronic component z-height can be 600um, paragraph [0038], rows 1-4, and element #211 thickness can be 200um, paragraph [0032], rows 13-16). Therefore, the claimed range overlaps or lie inside the range disclosed by Choudhury and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Hsueh teaches the TIM footprint (area of the top side of element #114 in plan view) is the same as the footprint of element #202 (paragraph [0018], rows 13-16) and the footprint of element #202 is between 10% and 20% greater than the second footprint (second footprint is area of the electronic component, element #104, in plan view, paragraph [0022], rows 12-15). Therefore, the claimed range, between 10% and 15% lies inside the range disclosed by Hsueh and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRISTIAN A TIVARUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899