DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 05/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the convexly rounded outward shape of the TIM along the lateral sides of the first die reduces stress proximately to a location where the TIM vertically overlaps the lateral sides of the first die”. Paragraph [0051], rows 6-7 of the written description, discloses: “The convexly rounded outward shape helps to reduce stresses around electronic component 120”. Locations around the electronic component may not be proximate to a location where the TIM vertically overlaps the lateral sides of the die. Furthermore, no other parts of the specification appear to include a written description of the location of the stresses that may be reduced by the shape of the TIM. Therefore, a person skilled in the art, at the time the application was filed, would have not recognized that the inventor was in possession of the invention as claimed, in view of the disclosure of the application as filed.
For the purpose of examination, claim 16 will be interpreted as: The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the convexly rounded outward shape of the TIM along the lateral sides of the first die reduces stress around the first die”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chi et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2021/0118767 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chi.
Regarding claim 1, Chi teaches an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (Fig.10, element #110) comprising: a substrate outer side (Fig.10, bottom side of element #110); a substrate inner side (Fig.10, top side of element #110); a dielectric structure; and a conductive structure (paragraph [0025], rows 3-6); an electronic component comprising a first die (Fig.10, element #120), the first die comprising: an upper side (Fig.10, top side of element #120); a lower side opposite to the upper side and coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.10, bottom side element #120 is coupled to the top side of element #110); a lateral side connecting the upper side to the lower side, wherein the lateral side defines a perimeter for the first die (Fig.10, outer lateral side of element #120 couples the top and bottom sides and defines a perimeter); and a conductor on the upper side of the first die and confined within the perimeter, wherein the conductor is a structural element of the first die (element #126 shown in Fig.1B, paragraph [0101], rows 2-4); a cover structure comprising: sidewalls coupled to the substrate inner side; and an upper wall coupled to the sidewalls and comprising an inner side spaced apart from the conductor (Fig.10, element #220); and an underfill contacting the lower side of the first die and interposed between the lower side of the first die and the substrate inner side (Fig.10, element #140); a dam coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.10, element #160); and a thermal interface material (TIM) contacting and interposed between the conductor and the inner side of the upper wall (Fig.10, element #1010), wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from and surrounds the lateral side of the first die (Fig.10, element #160 is spaced apart from the lateral side of element #120 and forms a ring around it, paragraph [0044], rows 5-6); the underfill contacts the lateral side of the first die (Fig.10, element #140 contacts the lateral side of element #120); and the TIM extends downward from the upper side of the first die to laterally overlap the lateral side of the first die and vertically overlap the underfill that covers the lateral side of the first die, and contacts the substrate inner side between the dam and the lateral side of the first die (see Fig.10, element #1010).
Regarding claim 3, Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Chi further teaches the electronic device of claim 1 wherein: the upper wall comprises a thermally conductive material (paragraph [0067], rows 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi, in view of Lin et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2020/0126887 A1) hereinafter referenced as Lin.
Regarding claim 2, Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Chi further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: component interconnects coupling the lower side of the first die to the conductive structure (Fig.10, element #130); and the underfill surrounds the component interconnects (Fig.10, element #140 surrounds element #130).
Chi does not teach wherein: a portion of the lateral side of the first die is exposed from the underfill; the TIM contacts the portion of the lateral side of the first die exposed from the underfill. Lin teaches a portion of the lateral side of the first die is exposed from the underfill; the TIM contacts the portion of the lateral side of the first die exposed from the underfill (Fig.1, a portion of lateral side of die element #102 is exposed from underfill element #122, and TIM, element #114, contact the exposed portion). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Lin and disclose a portion of the lateral side of the first die is exposed from the underfill; the TIM contacts the portion of the lateral side of the first die exposed from the underfill. Having the TIM directly contact the lateral side of the die, increases the contact area between the TIM and the die which helps improve heat dissipation away from the die.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi, in view of Hsueh et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2023/0386964 A1) hereinafter referenced as Hsueh.
Regarding claim 5, Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Chi does not teach the electronic device of claim 1 wherein: the TIM comprises edges that extend outward from the lateral side of the first die; the edges of the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape; and the convexly rounded outward shape reduces stress around the first die. Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the TIM comprises edges that extend outward from the lateral side of the first die, the edges of the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape and the convexly rounded outward shape reduces stress around the first die (Fig.2C, element #114 located is around the top corners of the die #104, which has no molding, and since it satisfies all the claimed structural limitations, it does not differentiate it from another one that has all and the same the structural features. Therefore, it can reduce stress around the die). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hsueh and disclose the TIM directly adjoins the lateral side of the first die, the TIM comprises edges that extend outward from the lateral side of the first die, the edges of the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape and the convexly rounded outward shape reduces stress around the first die. As disclosed by Hsueh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
Regarding claim 6, Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 wherein: the TIM comprises a metallic material (paragraph [0102], rows 5-6). Chi does not teach wherein the cover structure comprises a multi-piece structure. Hsueh teaches wherein the cover structure comprises a multi-piece structure (Fig.4H, element #65 and #116). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Hsueh and disclose wherein the cover structure comprises a multi-piece structure. This allows making the pieces from different materials, where the material of the upper wall can be optimized for optimum heat transfer, while the material of the sidewalls can be optimized for optimum mechanical support.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards, (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2011/0042784 A1) hereinafter referenced as Edwards, in view of Chi.
Regarding claim 1, Edwards teaches an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (Fig.1, element #130) comprising: a substrate outer side (Fig.1, bottom side of element #130); a substrate inner side (Fig.1, top side of element #130); a dielectric structure; and a conductive structure (paragraph [0024], rows 1-3); an electronic component comprising a first die (Fig.1, element #120), the first die comprising: an upper side (Fig.1, top side of element #120); a lower side opposite to the upper side and coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.1, bottom side element #120 is coupled to the top side of element #130); a lateral side connecting the upper side to the lower side, wherein the lateral side defines a perimeter for the first die (Fig.1, outer lateral side of element #120 couples the top and bottom sides and defines a perimeter).
Edwards does not teach and a conductor on the upper side of the first die and confined within the perimeter, wherein the conductor is a structural element of the first die. Chi teaches a conductor on the upper side of the first die and confined within the perimeter, wherein the conductor is a structural element of the first die (element #126 shown in Fig.1B, paragraph [0101], rows 2-4). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Chi and disclose a conductor on the upper side of the first die and confined within the perimeter, wherein the conductor is a structural element of the first die. As disclosed by Chi, the conductor is located between the die and the TIM and is made of metal, and therefore, it helps transfer the heat away from the die to the TIM.
Edwards further teaches a cover structure comprising: sidewalls coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.1, element #116); and an upper wall coupled to the sidewalls and comprising an inner side spaced apart from the conductor (Fig.1, formed by element #112, #110 and #111); and an underfill contacting the lower side of the first die and interposed between the lower side of the first die and the substrate inner side (Fig.1, element #170); a dam coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.1, element #140); and a thermal interface material (TIM) contacting and interposed between the conductor and the inner side of the upper wall (element #440, labeled in Fig.4E), wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from and surrounds the lateral side of the first die (Fig.1, element #140 is spaced apart from the lateral side of element #120 and surrounds it as shown in Fig.2).
Edwards does not teach the underfill contacts the lateral side of the first die. Chi teaches the underfill contacts the lateral side of the first die. (Fig.10, element #140 contacts the lateral side of element #120). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Chi and disclose the underfill contacts the lateral side of the first die. Having the underfill contacting and partially encapsulating the lateral side of the die, as shown by Chi in Fig.10, increases the mechanical stability of connection between the die and the substrate.
Edwards further teaches and the TIM extends downward from the upper side of the first die to laterally overlap the lateral side of the first die and vertically overlap the underfill that covers the lateral side of the first die, and contacts the substrate inner side between the dam and the lateral side of the first die (see Fig.1).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards, in view of Chi, and in view of Hembree et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2017/0236804 A1) hereinafter referenced as Hembree.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Edwards and Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Edwards further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the dam comprises a top side (Fig.1, element #140 has a top side); the TIM extends between the lateral side of the first die and the dam (fig.1, element #440 labeled in Fig.4E extends between the lateral side of element #120 and element #140). The combination of Edwards and Chi does not teach the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam. Hembree teaches the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam (Fig.6, element #614 overlaps element #608). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Hembree and disclose the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam. The TIM overlapping the top side of the dam increases the contact area between the TIM and the dam and therefore increases the stiffness and mechanical stability of the electronic device.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh in view of Chi.
Regarding claim 1, Hsueh teaches an electronic device, comprising: a substrate comprising (Fig.4H, element #50): a substrate outer side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #50); a substrate inner side (Fig.4H, top side of element #50); a dielectric structure; and a conductive structure (Fig.4H, control and data signals are communicated to the electronic component through the substrate, paragraph [0028], rows 11-14, and therefore, the substrate must comprise a conductive structure and a dielectric structure separating the communication paths); an electronic component comprising a first die (Fig.4H, element #15), the first die comprising: an upper side (Fig.4H, top side of element #15); a lower side opposite to the upper side and coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #15), a lateral side connecting the upper side to the lower side, wherein the lateral side defines a perimeter for the first die (Fig.4H, outer lateral side of element #15 couples the top and bottom sides and defines a perimeter); and a conductor on the upper side of the first die and confined within the perimeter, wherein the conductor is a structural element of the first die (Fig.4H, element #107); a cover structure comprising: sidewalls coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, elements #65); and an upper wall coupled to the sidewalls and comprising an inner side spaced apart from the conductor (Fig.4H, formed by element #116 and #202, bottom side is spaced apart from element #107).
Hsueh further teaches an underfill interposed between the lower side of the first die and the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, element #60) and a thermal interface material (TIM) contacting and interposed between the conductor and the inner side of the upper wall
(Fig.4H, element #114, paragraph [0017], row 21, note that layers #106A and #106B evaporate, paragraph [0015], rows 16-18, leaving the TIM, layer #114, contacting elements #107 and #202).
Hsueh does not teach an underfill contacting the lower side of the first die; a dam coupled to the substrate inner side; and wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from and surrounds the lateral side of the first die; the underfill contacts the lateral side of the first die.
Chi teaches an underfill contacting the lower side of the first die, the underfill contacts the lateral side of the first die (Fig.10, element #140 contact the lower side and the lateral side of the die #120. Note the element #120 can be an SoC, paragraph [0039], row 3, same as element #15 of Hsueh, but in Chi the die has no molding and it contacts directly to the substrate and underfill); a dam coupled to the substrate inner side; and wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from and surrounds the lateral side of the first die (Fig.10, element #160 is spaced apart from the lateral side of element #120 and forms a ring around it, paragraph [0044], rows 5-6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Chi and disclose an underfill contacting the lower side of the first die; a dam coupled to the substrate inner side; and wherein: the dam is laterally spaced apart from and surrounds the lateral side of the first die; the underfill contacts the lateral side of the first die. As disclosed by Chi, the underfill electrically isolates the electrical connections between the die and the substrate, while the dam can act as a heat dissipation element.
In a different embodiment Hsueh teaches the TIM extends downward from the upper side of the first die to laterally overlap the lateral side of the first die (Fig.2B and #2C, element #114 extends downward from the upper side of the die, element #104 and partially overlaps the lateral side of die #104, which has no molding). One of ordinary skilled in the art would understand that the electronic device of Fig.4H, formed by elements #15, #20 and #25 could be substituted by die #104 of Fig.2B, which has no molding. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would be able to perform the substitution. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and disclose the TIM extends downward from the upper side of the first die to laterally overlap the lateral side of the first die. As disclosed by Hsueh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the manufacturing process of the electronic device, which involves exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
Hsueh does not teach the TIM vertically overlap the underfill that covers the lateral side of the first die, and contacts the substrate inner side between the dam and the lateral side of the first die. Chi teaches the TIM vertically overlap the underfill that covers the lateral side of the first die, and contacts the substrate inner side between the dam and the lateral side of the first die (Fig.10, TIM element #1010, vertically overlaps the underfill that covers the lateral side of die, element #120, which can be an SoC, paragraph [0039], row 3, as is element #15 of Hsueh, but without molding). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Chi and disclose the TIM vertically overlap the underfill that covers the lateral side of the first die, and contacts the substrate inner side between the dam and the lateral side of the first die. This increases the contact area between the TIM, the die and the dam which helps improve heat dissipation away from the die.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Chi, and in view of Hsieh et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2023/0048302 A1) hereinafter referenced as Hsieh.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hsueh and Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh teaches the electronic device of claim 1 wherein: the TIM comprises a convexly rounded outward shape (Fig.2B and #2C). The combination of Hsueh and Chi does not teach the TIM comprises a convexly rounded outward shape along the lateral side of the first die and a thickness along the lateral side of the first die that reaches a maximum below the upper side of the first die. Hsieh teaches the TIM comprises a convexly rounded outward shape along the lateral side of the first die and a thickness along the lateral side of the first die that reaches a maximum below the upper side of the first die (Fig.1F, element #610. We note that, a person ordinarily killed in the art, understands that the package disclosed by Hsieh can have a single die #110, similarly to the one disclosed by Hsueh, and, as disclosed by Chi, that die does not require a molding, Fig.10. Furthermore, Hsueh discloses the TIM applied on dies without molding, Fig.2C. Note also that the claim does not require the TIM to be in contact with the lateral side of the die). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hsieh and disclose a thickness along the lateral side of the first die that reaches a maximum below the upper side of the first die. As disclosed by Hsieh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the deposition process of the TIM (paragraph [0055]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Chi and in view of Hembree.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hsueh and Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Chi further teaches the dam comprises a top side and the TIM extends between the lateral side of the first die and the dam (fig.10, element #1010). The combination of Hsueh and Chi does not teach the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam. Hembree teaches the dam comprises a top side, the TIM extends between the lateral side of the first die and the dam and the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam (Fig.6, TIM, element #614, overlaps the top side of the dam, element #608, and extends between the lateral side of the die, element #606, and the dam). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Hembree and disclose the dam comprises a top side, and the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam. The TIM overlapping the top side of the dam increases the contact area between the TIM and the cover structure therefore increases the heat dissipation away from the die.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Chi, Hembree, in view of Hung et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2019/0122999 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hung, and in view of Negoro et al., (United States Patent Number, US 8,558,372 B2), hereinafter referenced as Negoro.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hsueh and Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, and the combination of Hsueh, Chi and Hembree teaches the electronic device of claim 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 7, wherein: the electronic component comprises a second die coupled to the inner side of the substrate and the second die is devoid of the conductor (Fig.4I, the die on the right side of the figure is coupled to the top side of the substrate, element #50 and devoid of the conductor, element #107), and the TIM comprises a first electrically conductive material (paragraph [0014], rows 24-28).
The combination of Hsueh, Chi and Hembree does not teach the second die is laterally spaced apart from the dam; the top side of the dam is below the upper side of the electronic component; and the dam comprises a second electrically conductive material. Hung teaches the second die is laterally spaced apart from the dam (Fig.5, the second die, element #110, labelled in Fig.1, located on the right side of the electronic device, is laterally spaced apart from the dam, element #120); the top side of the dam is below the upper side of the electronic component (Fig.5, top side of element #120 is below the top side of element #110); and the dam comprises a second electrically conductive material (paragraph [0028], rows 1-3). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hung and disclose the second die is laterally spaced apart from the dam; the top side of the dam is below the upper side of the electronic component; and the dam comprises a second electrically conductive material. As disclosed by Hung, the second die being laterally spaced apart from the dam allows the underfill to flow in the region between the dam and the die and attach to both, having the top side of the dam below the upper side of the electronic component allows the dam to be completely covered by the underfill and both making the die and the dam attached more securely to the substrate. Having the dam comprise of a second conductive material allows the independent optimization of the dam CTE so that it is close to that of the material of the semiconductor device, in order to reduce warpage that results in delamination and cracks (paragraph [0032], rows 9-14).
The combination of Hsueh, Chi, Hembree and Hung does not teach the second die is devoid of the TIM. Negoro teaches a second die is devoid of the TIM (Fig.1, second die, element #22 is devoid of TIM). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Negoro and disclose a second die is devoid of the TIM. As disclosed by Negoro, the second die may be vulnerable to the surrounding heat, and not having a TIM (which conducts heat) contacting the die, allows the formation of a space around the second die which acts as a thermal insulator (column 5, rows 5-10).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Chi, Hembree, Hung, Negoro and in view of Han et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number US 2021/0327782 A1) hereinafter referenced as Han.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hsueh and Chi teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, the combination of Hsueh, Chi and Hembree teaches the electronic device of claim 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Hembree Hung and Negoro teaches the electronic device of claim 8 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Hsueh, Chi, Hembree Hung and Negoro does not teach the electronic device of claim 8, wherein: the TIM contacts the conductive structure of the substrate at the substrate inner side and is electrically coupled by the dam to a ground of the conductive structure. Han teaches wherein: the TIM contacts the conductive structure of the substrate at the substrate inner side (paragraph [0034], rows 13-22)
and is electrically coupled by the dam to a ground of the conductive structure (Fig.5, TIM, element #108 is coupled by the dam, element #104, to a ground plane in the conductive structure, element #202, paragraph [0033], rows 12-17). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Han and disclose the TIM contacts the conductive structure of the substrate at the substrate inner side and is electrically coupled by the dam to a ground of the conductive structure. As disclosed by Han, this allows the TIM to form a Faraday cage around the electronic component, which help reduce electromagnetic interference (paragraph [0033], rows 12-17).
Claims 10-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Chi, Han, and in view of Hsieh.
Regarding claim 10, Hsueh teaches an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (Fig.4H, element #50) comprising: a substrate outer side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #50); a substrate inner side (Fig.4H, top side of element #50); a dielectric structure; and a conductive structure (Fig.4H, control and data signals are communicated to the electronic component through the substrate, paragraph [0028], rows 11-14, and therefore, the substrate must comprise a conductive structure and a dielectric structure separating the communication paths); a first electronic component comprising a first die, (Fig.4H, element #15) the first die comprising: a lower side coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #15); an upper side opposite to the lower side and distal to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, top side of element #15); lateral side connecting the upper side to the lower side (Fig.4H, outer element #15 has lateral side connecting the top and bottom side); and a conductor over the upper side and terminating at the lateral side of the first die, wherein the conductor is a structural element of the first die (Fig.4H, element #107); a cover structure comprising: sidewalls coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, elements #65); and an upper wall coupled to the sidewalls and comprising an inner side spaced apart from and overlying the upper side of the first electronic component (Fig.4H, formed by element #116 and #202, bottom side is spaced apart from element #15); and a thermal interface material (TIM) interposed between the conductor and the inner side of the upper wall (Fig.4H, element #114, paragraph [0017], row 21, note that layers #106A and #106B evaporate, paragraph [0015], rows 16-18, leaving the TIM, layer #114, contacting elements #107 and #202), wherein: the TIM covers the upper side of the first die (Fig.4H, element #114 covers upper side of element #15).
In a different embodiment Hsueh teaches the TIM covers the lateral side of a die (Fig.2B, TIM partially covers the lateral side of die element #104, which has no molding). One of ordinary skilled in the art would understand that the electronic device of Fig.4H, formed by elements #15, #20 and #25 could be substituted by die #104 of Fig.2B, which has no molding. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would be able to perform the substitution. Moreover, Chi disclosed the TIM completely covers the lateral side and vertically overlaps the lateral side of a first die, and contacts the substrate inner side (Fig.10, TIM element #1010, completely covers and overlaps the lateral side of die, element #120, which can be an SoC, paragraph [0039], row 3, as is element #15 of Hsueh, but without molding). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and Chi and disclose the TIM covering the lateral side of the first die. As disclosed by Hsueh, the TIM partially covering the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15). Furthermore, having the TIM completely covering the lateral side of the die, as disclosed by Chi, increases the contact area between the die and the TIM, which improves heat dissipation away from the die.
The combination of Hsueh and Chi does not teach the TIM is electrically coupled to the conductive structure. Han teaches wherein the TIM is electrically coupled to the conductive structure (Fig.2, element #108 is electrically coupled to element #118). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Han and disclose the TIM is wherein the TIM is electrically coupled to the conductive structure. As disclosed by Han, this allows the TIM to be connected to a ground plane and form a Faraday cage around the electronic component, which help reduce electromagnetic interference (paragraph [0033], rows 12-17).
In a different embodiment, Hsueh further teaches the TIM comprises a convexly rounded outward shape in across-sectional view (Fig.2C, element #114). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and disclose the TIM comprise a convexly rounded outward shape in across-sectional view. As disclosed by Hsueh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
The combination of Hsueh, Chi and Han does not teach the TIM comprises a convexly rounded outward shape in across-sectional view such that the TIM has non-uniform thickness along the lateral side of the first die; and the non-uniform thickness comprises a maximum thickness located below the upper side of the first die and tapering as the TIM extends downward toward and contacts the substrate inner side. Hsieh teaches, in across-sectional view, the TIM has non-uniform thickness along the lateral side of the first die; and the non-uniform thickness comprises a maximum thickness located below the upper side of the first die and tapering as the TIM extends downward toward the substrate inner side (Fig.1F, element #610. We note that, a person ordinarily killed in the art, understands that the package disclosed by Hsieh can have a single die #110, similarly to the one disclosed by Hsueh, and, as disclosed by Chi, that die does not require a molding, Fig.10. Furthermore, Hsueh discloses the TIM applied on dies without molding, Fig.2C. Note also that the claim does not require the TIM to be in contact with the lateral side of the die). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Hsieh and disclose, in across-sectional view, the TIM has non-uniform thickness along the lateral side of the first die; and the non-uniform thickness comprises a maximum thickness located below the upper side of the first die and tapering as the TIM extends downward toward the substrate inner side. As disclosed by Hsieh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the deposition process of the TIM (paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: an underfill interposed between the lower side of the first die and the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, element #60). Hsueh does not teach an underfill contacting the lower side of the first die and interposed between the TIM and the lateral side of the first die. Chi teaches the underfill contacting the lower side of the first die and interposed between the TIM and the lateral side of the first die (Fig.10, element #140 contacts the lower side of the die #120 and is interposed between elements #1010 and lateral side of the die. Note the element #120 can be an SoC, paragraph [0039], row 3, same as element #15 of Hsueh, but in Chi the die has no molding and it contacts directly to the underfill). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Chi and disclose an underfill contacting the lower side of the first die and interposed between the TIM and the lateral side of the first die. As disclosed by Chi, the underfill electrically isolates the electrical connections between the die and the substrate, and increases the mechanical stability of connection between the die and the substrate by partially encapsulating the lateral side of the die.
The combination of Hsueh and Chi does not teach the TIM contacts the conductive structure of the substrate at the substrate inner side. Han teaches wherein the TIM contacts the conductive structure of the substrate at the substrate inner side (Fig.2, element #108 is electrically coupled to element #118). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Han and disclose the TIM is wherein the TIM is electrically coupled to the conductive structure. As disclosed by Han, this allows the TIM to be connected to a ground plane and form a Faraday cage around the electronic component, which help reduce electromagnetic interference (paragraph [0033], rows 12-17).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 10 wherein: the conductor comprises lateral edges substantially co-planar with the lateral side of the first die (Fig.4H, lateral edges of element #107 are co-planar with the lateral side of element #15); the conductor comprises gold (paragraph [0014], row 7). In a different embodiment, Hsueh teaches the TIM overlaps the lateral edges of the conductor (Fig.2B, TIM, element #114 overlaps the lateral edge of element #107. Note that the TIM, element #114, partially overlap the lateral side of die #104. As explained in the rejection of claim 10, one skilled in the art would understand that the electronic device of Fig.4H, formed by elements #15, #20 and #25 could be substituted by die #104 of Fig.2B, which has no molding). As disclosed by Hsueh, the TIM layer overlapping the lateral edges of the conductor is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. As noted in the rejection of claim 10, Hsieh teaches the TIM comprises a convexly rounded outward shape such that the TIM has non-uniform thickness along the lateral sides of the first die; and the non-uniform thickness comprises a maximum thickness located below the upper side of the first die and tapering as the TIM extends downward toward the substrate inner side (Fig.1F, element #610. We note that, a person ordinarily killed in the art, understands that the package disclosed by Hsieh can have a single die #110, similarly to the one disclosed by Hsueh, and, as disclosed by Chi, that die does not require a molding, Fig.10. Furthermore, Hsueh discloses the TIM applied on dies without molding, Fig.2C. Note also that the claim does not require the TIM to be in contact with the lateral side of the die). Element #610 satisfies the claimed structural limitations of the TIM, and therefore it cannot be differentiated from another one that has the same structural features. As a result, Hsieh teaches wherein the convexly rounded outward shape of the TIM along the lateral sides of the first die reduces stress around the first die. As disclosed by Hsieh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the deposition process of the TIM (paragraph [0055]).
Claims 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Chi, Han, Hsieh, and in view of Hembree.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh does not teach the electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: a dam coupled to the substrate inner side and laterally spaced apart from the first die so a portion of the substrate inner side is between the dam and the first die; wherein: the dam comprises a top side that is below the upper side of the first die; and the TIM contacts and overlaps onto the top side of the dam.
Chi teaches a dam coupled to the substrate inner side and laterally spaced apart from the first die so a portion of the substrate inner side is between the dam and the first die (Fig.10, element #160 is spaced apart from die, element #120, and a portion of the upper surface of element #110 is between elements #160 and #120). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Chi and disclose a dam coupled to the substrate inner side and laterally spaced apart from the first die so a portion of the substrate inner side is between the dam and the first die. As disclosed by Chi, the dam can act as a heat dissipation element.
The combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh does not teach wherein: the dam comprises a top side that is below the upper side of the first die; and the TIM contacts and overlaps onto the top side of the dam. Hembree teaches the dam comprises a top side that is below the upper side of the first die and the TIM overlaps onto the top side of the dam (Fig.6, TIM, element #614, overlaps the top side of the dam, element #608, which is below the upper side of the die, element #606). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Hembree and disclose the dam comprises a top side that is below the upper side of the first die; and the TIM contacts and overlaps onto the top side of the dam. The TIM overlapping the top side of the dam increases the contact area between the TIM and the cover structure therefore increases the heat dissipation away from the die.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, and the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han, Hsieh and Hembree teaches the electronic device of claim 13 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: an underfill interposed between the lower side of the first die and the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, element #60). Hsueh does not teach an underfill contacting the lower side of the first die and interposed between the TIM and the lateral sides of the first die. Chi teaches the underfill contacting the lower side of the first die and interposed between the TIM and the lateral sides of the first die (Fig.10, element #140 contacts the lower side of the die #120 and is interposed between elements #1010 and lateral sides of the die. Note the element #120 can be an SoC, paragraph [0039], row 3, same as element #15 of Hsueh, but in Chi the die has no molding and it contacts directly to the underfill). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings if Chi and disclose an underfill contacting the lower side of the first die and interposed between the TIM and the lateral sides of the first die. As disclosed by Chi, the underfill electrically isolates the electrical connections between the die and the substrate, and increases the mechanical stability of connection between the die and the substrate by partially encapsulating the lateral sides of the die.
Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein: the TIM comprises a first conductive material (paragraph [0014], rows 24-28). Chi further teaches wherein: the TIM contacts the substrate inner side between the dam and the lateral sides of the first die (Fig.10, element #1010); the dam comprises a second conductive material (paragraph [0044], row 1-3). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Chi and disclose the TIM contacts the substrate inner side between the dam and the lateral sides of the first die. As disclose by Chi, the dam can also act as a heat dissipating structure. As the TIM contacts the substrate inner side between the dam and the lateral sides of the first die, it fills up the entire space between the dam and the lateral sides of the die. This eliminates the presence of air pockets which have poor thermal conductivity and can therefore reduce the cooling efficiency.
The combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh does not teach the dam is electrically coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate. Han teaches wherein the TIM contacts the conductive structure of the substrate at the substrate inner side (Fig.5, element #104 is electrically coupled to element #118). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Han and disclose the TIM is the dam is electrically coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate. As disclosed by Han, this allows the dam to be connected to a ground plane and form a Faraday cage around the electronic component, which help reduce electromagnetic interference (paragraph [0033], rows 12-17).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, and the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han, Hsieh and Hembree teaches the electronic device of claims 13 and 14 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Han further teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein: the TIM is electrically coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate through the dam (Fig.5, TIM, element #108 is coupled through the dam, element #104, to a ground plane in the conductive structure, element #202, paragraph [0033], rows 12-17). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Han and disclose the TIM is electrically coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate through the dam. As disclosed by Han, this allows the TIM to be connected to a ground plane through the dam, thus forming a Faraday cage around the electronic component (paragraph [0033], rows 12-17).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh in view of Chi, Han and Hsieh, and in view of Negoro.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the electronic device of claim 10, further comprising: a second electronic component configured as a second die coupled to the substrate inner side; wherein: the second die is devoid the conductor (Fig.4I, the die on the right side of the figure is coupled to the top side of the substrate, element #50 and devoid of the conductor, element #107). The combination of Hsueh, Chi, Han and Hsieh does not teach the second die is devoid of the TIM. Negoro teaches a second die is devoid of the TIM (Fig.9, element #22 is devoid of the TIM, element #25). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Negoro and disclose a second die devoid of the TIM. As disclosed by Negoro, the second die may be vulnerable to the surrounding heat and not having a TIM which conducts heat contacting the die, allows the formation of a space around the second die which acts as a thermal insulator (column 5, rows 5-10).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh, in view of Chi and in view of Hsieh.
Regarding claim 18, Hsueh teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device, comprising: providing a substrate (Fig.4H, element #50) comprising: a substrate outer side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #50); a substrate inner side (Fig.4H, top side of element #50); a dielectric structure; and a conductive structure (Fig.4H, control and data signals are communicated to the electronic component through the substrate, paragraph [0028], rows 11-14, and therefore, the substrate must comprise a conductive structure and a dielectric structure separating the communication paths); providing an electronic component configured as a first die (Fig.4H, element #15), the first die comprising: an upper side (Fig.4H, top side of element #15); a lower side opposite to the upper side and coupled to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #15); a lateral side connecting the upper side to the lower side, wherein the lateral side of defines a perimeter for the first die (Fig.4H, outer element #15 has lateral sides connecting the top and bottom side); and a conductor on the upper side of the first die, wherein the conductor terminates at the perimeter of the first die, and wherein the conductor is provided as a structural element of the first die (Fig.4H, element #107); coupling the lower side of the first die to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, bottom side of element #15 is coupled to the top side of the substrate); providing a cover structure comprising: sidewalls (Fig.4H, elements #65); and an upper wall coupled to the sidewalls and comprising an inner side spaced apart from the conductor (Fig.4H, formed by element #116 and #202, bottom side is spaced apart from element #15); coupling the sidewalls to the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, elements #65 are coupled to the top side of the substrate); and providing a thermal interface material (TIM) on the conductor and interposed between the conductor and the inner side of the upper wall and covering the conductor (Fig.4H, element #114, paragraph [0017], row 21, note that layers #106A and #106B evaporate, paragraph [0015], rows 16-18, leaving the TIM, layer #114, contacting elements #107 and #202).
In a different embodiment Hsueh teaches wherein providing the TIM comprises: providing the TIM such that it vertically overlaps the lateral side of the first die (Fig.2B, TIM vertically overlaps the lateral sides of die element #104, which has no molding). One of ordinary skilled in the art would understand that the electronic device of Fig.4H, formed by elements #15, #20 and #25 could be substituted by die #104 of Fig.2B, which has no molding. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would be able to perform the substitution. Moreover, Chi disclosed wherein providing the TIM comprises: providing the TIM such that it vertically overlaps the lateral side of the first die, and providing the TIM such that it contacts the substrate inner side (Fig.10, TIM element #1010, vertically overlaps the lateral side of die, element #120, which can be an SoC, paragraph [0039] row 3, as is element #15 of Hsueh, but without molding, and contact the top side of the substrate).It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and Chi and disclose wherein providing the TIM comprises: providing the TIM such that it vertically overlaps the lateral side of the first die and contacts the substrate inner side. As disclosed by Hsueh, providing the TIM such that it vertically overlaps the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15). Furthermore, providing the TIM such that it vertically overlaps the lateral side of the first die, as disclosed by Chi, increases the contact area between the die and the TIM, which improves heat dissipation away from the die.
In a different embodiment, Hsueh further teaches providing the TIM with a convexly rounded outward shape in across-sectional view (Fig.2C, element #114). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hsueh and disclose providing the TIM with a convexly rounded outward shape in across-sectional view. As disclosed by Hsueh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the process of making the electronic device by exerting pressure and heat on the cover structure to facilitate the bonding of the TIM to the cover structure and the die (paragraph [0020], rows 10-15).
The combination of Hsueh, Chi and Han does not teach providing the TIM with a convexly rounded outward shape in across-sectional view along the lateral side of the first die; providing the TIM with anon-uniform thickness in the cross-sectional view along the lateral side of the first die, the non-uniform thickness comprising a maximum thickness located below the upper side of the first die and tapering along the lateral side of the first die as the TIM extends downward. Hsieh teaches, providing the TIM with a convexly rounded outward shape in across-sectional view along the lateral side of the first die; providing the TIM with anon-uniform thickness in the cross-sectional view along the lateral side of the first die, the non-uniform thickness comprising a maximum thickness located below the upper side of the first die and tapering along the lateral side of the first die as the TIM extends downward (Fig.1F, element #610. We note that, a person ordinarily killed in the art, understands that the package disclosed by Hsieh can have a single die #110, similarly to the one disclosed by Hsueh, and, as disclosed by Chi, that die does not require a molding, Fig.10. Furthermore, Hsueh discloses the TIM applied on dies without molding, Fig.2C. Note also that the claim does not require the TIM to be in contact with the lateral side of the die). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Hsieh and disclose providing the TIM with a convexly rounded outward shape in across-sectional view along the lateral side of the first die; providing the TIM with anon-uniform thickness in the cross-sectional view along the lateral side of the first die, the non-uniform thickness comprising a maximum thickness located below the upper side of the first die and tapering along the lateral side of the first die as the TIM extends downward. As disclosed by Hsieh, the shape and distribution of the TIM layer relative to the lateral side of the first die is a result of the deposition process of the TIM (paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Hsueh, Chi and Hsieh teaches the method of claim 18 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: providing an underfill interposed between the lower side of the first die and the substrate inner side (Fig.4H, element #60); wherein: coupling the lower side of the first die comprises coupling the lower side to the conductive structure with component interconnects (Fig.4H, the two sides are coupled through interconnects elements #35); and providing the underfill comprises surrounding the component interconnects (Fig.4H, elements #60 surrounds elements #35).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh in view of Chi, Hsieh and in view of Choudhury et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number US 2017/0186665 A1) hereinafter referenced as Choudhury.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Hsueh, Chi and Hsieh teaches the method of claim 18 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Hsueh further teaches wherein: the first die comprises a first thickness and a first footprint (Fig.4H, element #15 has a thickness and an area in plan view, Fig.3) and the TIM comprises a second thickness and a second footprint (Fig.4H, element #114 has a thickness, in the region on top of element #15, and an area, in plan view).
The combination of Hsueh, Chi and Hsieh does not teach wherein providing the TIM comprises providing the TIM on the inner side of the upper wall before coupling the sidewalls to the substrate inner side. Choudhury teaches providing the TIM comprises providing the TIM on the inner side of the upper wall before coupling the sidewalls to the substrate inner side (Fig.5E, TIM element #211 is located on the inner side of upper wall of element #202, before element #202 sidewalls are attached to the substrate, element #201). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Choudhury and disclose providing the TIM comprises providing the TIM on the inner side of the upper wall before coupling the sidewalls to the substrate inner side. As disclosed by Choudhury, providing the TIM on the inner side of the upper wall of the cover structure, before coupling it to the die allows baking/curing the TIM to ensure adhesion of the TIM to the cover (paragraph [0033], rows 3-5), without subjecting the electronic component to the baking/curing process. This allows for separate curing processes, before and after the coupling, and optimization of the adherence of the TIM to the cover structure and the electronic component, which may have different adherence properties.
The combination of Hsueh, Chi and Hsieh does not teach wherein the second thickness is in a range from about 20% to about 40% of the first thickness. Choudhury teaches wherein: the electronic component comprises a first thickness and a first footprint (Fig.5E, element #203 has a z-height and an area in plan view); the TIM comprises a second thickness and a second footprint (Fig.5E, vertical thickness of element #211 near the horizontal center, has an area in plan view); the second thickness is in a range from about 20% to about 40% of the first thickness (Fig.5E, electronic component z-height can be 600um, paragraph [0038], rows 1-4, and element #211 thickness can be 200um, paragraph [0032], rows 13-16). Therefore, the claimed range overlaps or lie inside the range disclosed by Choudhury and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Hsueh teaches the TIM footprint (area of the top side of element #114 in plan view) is the same as the footprint of element #202 (paragraph [0018], rows 13-16) and the footprint of element #202 is between 10% and 20% greater than the second footprint (second footprint is area of the electronic component, element #104, in plan view, paragraph [0022], rows 12-15). Therefore, the claimed range, between 10% and 15% lies inside the range disclosed by Hsueh and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CRISTIAN A TIVARUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899