DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendments
Entry of Amendments
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10 and 17 have been amended.
Objections to the Claims
Amendments made to claim 17 have overcome the previous objections. Claim 17 is no longer objected.
Rejections under 35 USC 112
Previous 112 rejections for Claim 12 are now withdrawn as amendments made to claim 12 have overcome the previous 112 rejections.
Rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103
Applicant’s amendments filed 03/23/2026 with respect to Claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the reference(s) and/or ground(s) being used in the current rejection.
For further details see the rejections/objections for Claim(s) 1-20 herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-10, 13-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al. (US 20160254658; hereinafter Jacobson) in view of Orchard-Webb et al. (US 5568346).
Regarding claim 1, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 a substrate (para. 18- solid-state semiconductor circuit 100; fig. 4A - commonly known to be built on a substrate) comprising:
a first input/output region (top section of 100; fig. 4A);
a first input pad (top input terminal of 102a) provided in the first input/output region;
a first output pad (bottom output terminal of 102a) provided in the first input/output region;
a first mounting region (left section of 100);
a first positive pad (Vin+ pin) provided in the first mounting region and connected to the first input pad (@102a);
a first negative pad (Vin- pin) provided in the first mounting region connected to the first output pad (@102a);
a second positive pad (Cin+ terminal) provided in the first mounting region;
a second negative pad (Cin- terminal) provided in the first mounting region;
a second mounting region (right section of 100);
a third positive pad (Co+ terminal) provided in the second mounting region and connected to the second positive pad (Cin+ terminal);
a third negative pad (Co- terminal) provided in the second mounting region and connected to the second negative pad (Cin- terminal);
a fourth positive pad (108a pin) provided in the second mounting region;
a fourth negative pad (108b pin) provided in the second mounting region;
a second input/output region (bottom section of 100);
a second input pad (106a input terminal) provided in the second input/output region and connected to the fourth positive pad (108a pin); and
a second output pad (106a output terminal) provided in the second input/output region and connected to the fourth negative pad (108b pin).
Jacobson does not teach explicitly substrate; the first positive pad is connected to the first input pad without the second positive pad being connected between the first positive pad and the first input pad.
However, Orchard-Webb teaches in figure(s) 4-6 substrate (substrate 4; fig. 4); the first positive pad (first 11 anode pad) is connected to the first input pad (first 6 i/o pad) without the second positive pad (second 11 anode pad) being connected between the first positive pad (first 11 anode pad) and the first input pad (first 6 i/o pad).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jacobson by having substrate; the first positive pad is connected to the first input pad without the second positive pad being connected between the first positive pad and the first input pad as taught by Orchard-Webb in order to provide solid-state semiconductor circuit. It is an obvious feature for the skilled man, as it is commonly known that solid-state semiconductor devices are built on a substrate having parallel ports connectivity as evidenced by "ESD protection to an integrated circuit comprising a V.sub.dd pad, a V.sub.ss pad, a plurality of input and output pads, a V.sub.dd power rail, and a V.sub.ss power rail. A large diode sufficient to carry ESD current is placed directly between the V.sub.ss pad and the V.sub.dd power rail, and the input pads are connected to the V.sub.dd power rail through respective diodes" (abstract of Orchard-Webb).
Regarding claim 2, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the substrate of claim 1, further comprising: a base substrate (solid state of 100 implied substrate of Jacobson; substrate 10 of fig. 2 of Orchard-Webb); a first interconnection pattern, a second interconnection pattern, a third interconnection pattern, a fourth interconnection pattern, a fifth interconnection pattern and a sixth interconnection pattern that are provided on the base substrate, wherein the first interconnection pattern (104a) connects the first input pad (top input terminal of 102a) to the first positive pad (Vin+ pin), wherein the second interconnection pattern (104b) connects the first output pad (bottom output terminal of 102a) to the first negative pad (Vin- pin), wherein the third interconnection pattern (Vout positive) connects the fourth positive pad (108a pin) to the second input pad (106a input terminal), wherein the fourth interconnection pattern (Vout negative) connects the fourth negative pad (108b pin) to the second output pad (106a output terminal), wherein the fifth interconnection pattern connects the second positive pad (Cin+ terminal) to the third positive pad (Co+ terminal), and wherein the sixth interconnection pattern connects the second negative pad (Cin- terminal) to the third negative pad (Co- terminal).
Regarding claim 8, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 a device comprising:
a substrate (para. 18- solid-state semiconductor circuit 100; fig. 4A - commonly known to be built on a substrate) comprising:
a plurality of mounting regions (left and right regions of 100; figs. 4);
a plurality of four-terminal capacitors (105, 110) that are mounted in the plurality of mounting regions;
a first input/output region (top section of 100) electrically connected to a first mounting region from among the plurality of mounting regions (left and right sections of 100);
a second input/output region (top section of 100) electrically connected to a second mounting region from among the plurality of mounting regions (left and right sections of 100); and
a controller (para. 5 - electronic circuit breaker control module is in signal communication with the positive-side resonant capacitor cell and the negative-side resonant capacitor cell. The circuit breaker control module is configured to monitor a current level of at least one of the first and second drive currents. The circuit breaker control module is further configured to initiate at least one of the positive-side and negative-side controllable inductors from the passive mode into the full inductance mode in response to a current level of the first and second drive current, respectively, exceeding a current level threshold) configured to determine whether mounting faults (SC fault currents for 105, 110) of the plurality of four-terminal capacitors occur when the plurality of four-terminal capacitors are mounted in the plurality of mounting regions, by applying an electrical signal (signal @ 104a, IDC2) to each of the first input/output region and the second input/output region.
Jacobson does not teach explicitly substrate wherein the first input/output region comprises a first input pad, wherein the first mounting region comprises a plurality of pads, and wherein a first pad from among the plurality of pads is connected to the first input pad without any other pad from among the plurality of pads provided in the first mounting region being connected between the first pad and the first input pad.
However, Orchard-Webb teaches in figure(s) 4-6 substrate (substrate 4; fig. 4) wherein the first input/output region comprises a first input pad (first 6 pad), wherein the first mounting region (left region of 4) comprises a plurality of pads (11), and wherein a first pad (first 11 pad) from among the plurality of pads is connected to the first input pad (first 6 pad) without any other pad from among the plurality of pads provided in the first mounting region being connected between the first pad (first 11 pad) and the first input pad.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jacobson by having substrate wherein the first input/output region comprises a first input pad, wherein the first mounting region comprises a plurality of pads, and wherein a first pad from among the plurality of pads is connected to the first input pad without any other pad from among the plurality of pads provided in the first mounting region being connected between the first pad and the first input padas taught by Orchard-Webb in order to provide solid-state semiconductor circuit. It is an obvious feature for the skilled man, as it is commonly known that solid-state semiconductor devices are built on a substrate having parallel ports connectivity as evidenced by "ESD protection to an integrated circuit comprising a V.sub.dd pad, a V.sub.ss pad, a plurality of input and output pads, a V.sub.dd power rail, and a V.sub.ss power rail. A large diode sufficient to carry ESD current is placed directly between the V.sub.ss pad and the V.sub.dd power rail, and the input pads are connected to the V.sub.dd power rail through respective diodes" (abstract of Orchard-Webb).
Regarding claim 9, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the device of claim 8, further comprising, in each of the plurality of mounting regions: a first positive pad (Vin+ pin) and a second positive pad (108a pin) that are electrically isolated from each other (capacitor 102a); and a first negative pad (Vin- pin) and a second negative pad (108b pin) that are electrically isolated (102b) from each other.
Regarding claim 10, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the device of claim 9, the first input pad (top input terminal of 102a) is connected to one from among the first positive pad (Vin+ pin) and the second positive pad in the first mounting region; and
wherein the device further comprises: a first output pad (bottom output terminal of 102a) provided in the first input/output region and connected to one from among the first negative pad (Vin- pin) and the second negative pad in the first mounting region, and a second input pad (106a input terminal) provided in the second input/output region and connected to one from among the first positive pad and the second positive pad (108a) in the second mounting region; and a second output pad (106a output terminal) provided in the second input/output region and connected to one from among the first negative pad (Vin- ) and the second negative pad in the second mounting region.
Regarding claim 13, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the device of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to determine that a short-circuit fault has occurred while at least one from among the plurality of four-terminal capacitors is mounted on the substrate, based on the electrical signal input to the first input pad being detected from the first output pad (para. 6 - detecting a short-circuit fault condition and/or an overload condition between the source voltage and the load).
Regarding claim 14, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the device of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to determine that a short-circuit fault has occurred while at least one from among the plurality of four-terminal capacitors is mounted on the substrate, based on the electrical signal input to the second input pad being detected from the second output pad (para. 6 - detecting a short-circuit fault condition and/or an overload condition between the source voltage and the load).
Regarding claim 17, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 a method comprising:
mounting capacitors (capacitors 105, 110; figs. 4) in a first mounting region (top section of 100) and a second mounting region (bottom section of 100) of a substrate (para. 18- solid-state semiconductor circuit 100 implies substrate; fig. 4A), wherein a plurality of pads are provided in each of the first mounting region and the second mounting region;
inputting an electrical signal to a first input pad (top input terminal of 102a) connected a first pad (Vin+ pin) from among the plurality of pads provided in the first mounting region;
detecting the electrical signal from a first output pad (bottom output terminal of 102a) connected to a second pad (108a pin) from among the plurality of pads provided in the first mounting region, and a second input pad (106a input terminal) connected to a third pad (Co+ terminal) from among the plurality of pads provided in the second mounting region; and
determining whether a fault has occurred in the mounting the capacitors, based on the electrical signal (SC fault currents for 105, 110) being detected from the first output pad (bottom output terminal of 102a) or the electrical signal not being detected from the second input pad.
Jacobson does not teach explicitly substrate wherein the first pad is connected to the first input pad without any other pad from among the plurality of pads provided in the first mounting region being connected between the first pad and the first input pad.
However, Orchard-Webb teaches in figure(s) 4-6 substrate (substrate 10; fig. 2) wherein the first pad (first 11 pad) is connected to the first input pad (first 6 pad) without any other pad from among the plurality of pads provided in the first mounting region being connected between the first pad (first 11 pad) and the first input pad.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jacobson by having substrate wherein the first pad is connected to the first input pad without any other pad from among the plurality of pads provided in the first mounting region being connected between the first pad and the first input pad as taught by Orchard-Webb in order to provide solid-state semiconductor circuit. It is an obvious feature for the skilled man, as it is commonly known that solid-state semiconductor devices are built on a substrate having parallel ports connectivity as evidenced by "ESD protection to an integrated circuit comprising a V.sub.dd pad, a V.sub.ss pad, a plurality of input and output pads, a V.sub.dd power rail, and a V.sub.ss power rail. A large diode sufficient to carry ESD current is placed directly between the V.sub.ss pad and the V.sub.dd power rail, and the input pads are connected to the V.sub.dd power rail through respective diodes" (abstract of Orchard-Webb).
Regarding claim 18, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the method of claim 17, wherein the determining whether the fault has occurred in the mounting the capacitors comprises determining that a short-circuit fault (para. 6 - detecting a short-circuit fault condition and/or an overload condition between the source voltage and the load) has occurred in the mounting the capacitors, based on the electrical signal being detected from the first output pad (para. 29 - first and second resonant capacitor cells 102a-102b appear as virtual open circuits during a portion of the load current cycle).
Regarding claim 19, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the method of claim 17, wherein the determining whether the fault has occurred in the mounting the capacitors comprises determining that an open-circuit fault (para. 29 - first and second resonant capacitor cells 102a-102b appear as virtual open circuits during a portion of the load current cycle) has occurred in the mounting the capacitors, based on the electrical signal not being detected from the second input pad (106a input terminal).
Regarding claim 20, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the method of claim 17, wherein the electrical signal has a predetermined level of voltage, and wherein the determining whether the fault has occurred in the mounting the capacitors comprises determining whether the fault has occurred in the mounting the capacitors by detecting a voltage of each of the first output pad and the second input pad (para. 37 - Based on the monitored conditions and threshold voltages, the circuit breaker control module 202 (i.e., the microcontroller) is configured to output one or more control signals for controlling various components of the ZCS circuit breaker 100).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson in view of Orchard-Webb, and further in view of Khazhinsky et al. (US 7593202).
Regarding claim 4, Jacobson teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the substrate of claim 1,
Jacobson does not teach wherein the first positive pad is electronically isolated from the second positive pad, wherein the first negative pad is electronically isolated from the second negative pad, wherein the third positive pad is electronically isolated from the fourth positive pad, and wherein the third negative pad is electronically isolated from the fourth negative pad.
However, Khazhinsky teaches in figure(s) 3-5 explicitly wherein the first positive pad (OVDD2; fig. 3) is electronically isolated from the second positive pad (OVDD1), wherein the first negative pad (OVSS2) is electronically isolated from the second negative pad (OVSS1), wherein the third positive pad (OVDD1) is electronically isolated from the fourth positive pad (OVDD2), and wherein the third negative pad (OVSS1) is electronically isolated from the fourth negative pad (OVSS2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jacobson by having wherein the first positive pad is electronically isolated from the second positive pad, wherein the first negative pad is electronically isolated from the second negative pad, wherein the third positive pad is electronically isolated from the fourth positive pad, and wherein the third negative pad is electronically isolated from the fourth negative pad as taught by Khazhinsky in order to provide some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention as evidenced by "each of the plurality of input/output cells has a bonding pad for receiving an output signal referenced to a respective first power domain, and at least one ESD protection element for a respective second power domain" (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 5-7, 11-12 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior arts of record do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein the first input/output region, the second input/output region, the first mounting region, and the second mounting region are provided on a surface of the base substrate, and wherein the base substrate comprises a redistribution layer, and wherein the redistribution layer comprises the first interconnection pattern, the second interconnection pattern, the third interconnection pattern, the fourth interconnection pattern, the fifth interconnection pattern, and the sixth interconnection pattern” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim(s) 5 and 15, the prior arts of record do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein the first positive pad and the second positive pad are arranged in a first direction, and wherein the first negative pad and the second negative pad are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 6-7, 16 are objected for dependent upon the objected base claim(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858