DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, 16, 17, and 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,076,649 to Gilbert in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0031244 to Windmiller.
Regarding Claim 1, Gilbert discloses apparatus (Fig. 7) for contacting one or more projections to skin of a subject for an extended period, the apparatus comprising: one or more electrodes (112;
Fig. 4), each configured to penetrate the skin (lines 22-24 in column 5); a skin contacting portion
defining a skin contacting surface (216) (lines 26-29 in column 12) and one or more spaces (space
within sidewalls 211-213 Fig. 9A) allowing the one or more electrodes to extend therethrough (Fig. 9A);
a rigid movable portion (110) configured to move the one or more electrodes from a first position
(Fig. 9A) behind the skin contacting surface (lines 4-12 in column 15) to a second position (Fig. 9B) proud
of the skin contacting surface (lines 30-44 in column 15); a housing (201) surrounding the one or more
electrodes (112) when the rigid movable portion is in the first position (Fig. 9A); and a deformable
portion (217) which is connected to and extends inwardly from the housing (Figs. 7-8) and is configured
to engage with the movable portion (110) so as to prevent movement the movable portion (110) from
the first position (Fig. 9A) toward the second position (Fig. 9B) (lines 4-12 in column 15), but upon
application of a sufficient force to the movable portion or the deformable portion the deformable
portion (217) deforms to allow movement of the movable portion (110) toward the second position
(Fig. 9B), and in moving toward the second position the movable portion disengages from the deformable portion (lines 30-44 in column 15). Gilbert does not explicitly disclose that the electrodes are sensor electrodes.
Windmiller teaches it was known in the art to have a microneedle array 140 with electrode that
include one or more electrochemical sensors (electrodes) (lines 11-15 in [0060]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert to incorporate the teachings of Windmiller to have a sensor electrode in order to measure analytes within the skin (lines 11-15 in [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the movable portion (110) is movable along a generally arcuate path from the first position to
the second position (the movable portion 110 is movable along an arcuate/curved path as seen in
Figs. 9A-B).
Regarding claim 3, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the movable portion (110) has a connected end (130) and a free end (120), and the free end
travels a greater distance than the connected end (Figs. 9A-B).
Regarding claim 4, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the movable portion (110) is associated with a mounting portion (206c and 207; Fig. 7), and
wherein, in use, the mounting portion is stationary, and the movable portion is movable relative to
the mounting portion (Figs. 9A-9B).
Regarding claim 5, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 4, and further discloses
wherein the mounting portion comprises a portion allowing the movable portion to pivot (lines 3-19 in
column 13), hinge, flex or attach.
Regarding claim 7, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the sufficient force is directed generally toward the skin contacting portion (lines 30-44 in
column 15).
Regarding claim 8, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
comprising a locking portion (211a and 212a) configured to lock the movable portion when in the
second position (lines 59-64 in column 13).
Regarding claim 9, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the one or more sensor electrodes (112) is/are mechanically connected directly or indirectly
to the moving portion (110) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the one or more sensor electrodes (112) is/are wire(s), needle(s), and/or microneedle(s) of
sufficient length so as to be contactable with the epidermis, the dermis (lines 52-56 in column 10), or
the hypodermis of the subject.
Regarding claim 12, Gilbert as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. Gilbert does not appear to disclose one or more sensor electrodes is/are each electrically conductive and the apparatus further comprises a circuit having an audio, visual or tactile indicator, the circuit configured to actuate the indicator when the one or more sensor electrodes are in contact with an electrically conductive fluid naturally present in the skin.
Windmiller teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus comprising one or more
electrically conductive sensor electrodes (microneedle array 140 includes an electrode 520 on each
microneedle 510, wherein the electrode is connected to an electrically conductive pathway; Fig. 5B,
[0087], [0092]), wherein the apparatus further comprises a circuit (circuit required for controlling
indicator lights of a user interface; Fig. 31A, [0056], [0075], [0084]) having a visual indicator (3124a-c;
Fig. 31A, [0084]), the circuit configured to actuate the indicator when the one or more sensor electrodes
are in contact with an electrically conductive fluid naturally present in the skin (indicator lights may be
actuated to indicate information representative of analyte measurement, which occurs when electrodes
520 of microneedle array 140 is in contact electrically conductive fluid present in the skin; [0084],
[0056], [0064]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simpson to incorporate the teachings of Windmiller to have a circuit having an audio, visual or tactile indicator, the circuit configured to actuate the indicator when the one or more sensor electrodes are in contact with an electrically conductive fluid naturally present in the skin in order to allow a user to receive information regarding measurements from said sensor electrodes (Windmiller [0084], an indicator light can be actuated to indicate information representative of analyte measurement).
Regarding claim 14, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the movable portion (110) is supported in the first position by the deformable portion (217)
(Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 16, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the movable portion (110) is in hinged association with the skin contacting portion (216/201)
(lines 59-60 in column 3).
Regarding claim 17, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 16, and further
discloses wherein the hinge (110 a) is disposed at or toward a peripheral region of the movable
portion (110) and the skin contacting portion (216/201) (Fig. 9A) (lines 59-60 in column 3 and lines 13-
19 in column 13).
Regarding claim 27, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses configured such that the movable portion (110) is prevented from:(i) moving upwardly from the first position (Fig. 9A) and away from the skin contacting surface (via engagement between ledge 217 b and the carrier head 120) (lines 7-12 in column 15), (ii) travelling outside a shortest or a most direct path between the first position (Fig. 9A) and the second position (Fig. 9B) (path between upper 202 and lower 201 housing portions), and (iii) once in the second position (Fig. 9B) moving in a direction toward the first position (Fig. 9A) (via ridge portions 211a and 212 a) (lines 59-64 in column 13).
Regarding claim 28, Gilbert discloses apparatus (Fig.7) for contacting one or more projections
to skin of a subject for an extended period, the apparatus comprising: one or more electrodes
(112; Fig. 4), each configured to penetrate the skin (lines 22-24 in column 5); a skin contacting portion
defining a skin contacting surface (216) (lines 26-29 in column 12) and one or more spaces (space
within sidewalls 211-213 Fig. 9A) allowing the one or more electrodes to extend therethrough (Fig. 9A);
a movable portion (110 and 230) having first (130) and second ends (120) with a deformable region
(230) therebetween (Figs. 9A-B) (since the bight portion 238 is engaged with carrier head 120) (lines 39-
41 in column 13), the movable portion (110) being configured to move the one or more electrodes
(112) from a first position (Fig. 9A) behind the skin contacting surface (lines 4-12 in column 15) to a
second position (Fig. 9B) proud of the skin contacting surface (lines 30-44 in column 15); a housing
(201) surrounding the one or more electrodes (112) when the movable portion is in the first
position (Fig. 9A); and a support member (217) connected to and extending inwardly from an inner
surface of the housing (Figs. 7-8); wherein the support member (217) is configured to engage with the
movable portion (110) so as to prevent movement of the movable portion (110) from the first position
(Fig. 9A) toward the second position (Fig. 9B) (lines 4-12 in column 15), but upon application of a
sufficient force to the deformable region (230) the movable portion deforms
(displacing/releasing/actuating deformable region/spring 230) allowing the movable portion (110) to
move toward the second position (Fig. 9B), and in moving toward the second position the movable
portion (110) disengages from the support element (217) (lines 20-44 in column 15). Gilbert does not explicitly disclose that the electrodes are sensor electrodes.
Windmiller teaches it was known in the art to have a microneedle array 140 with electrode that
include one or more electrochemical sensors (electrodes) (lines 11-15 in [0060]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert to incorporate the teachings of Windmiller to have a sensor electrode in order to measure analytes within the skin (lines 11-15 in [0060]).
Regarding claim 29, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the movable portion (110) is movable along a generally arcuate path from the first
position to the second position (the movable portion 110 is movable along an arcuate/curved path as
seen in Figs. 9A-B).
Regarding claim 30, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 28, and further
discloses wherein the movable portion (110) comprises a connected end (130) and a free end (120),
and the free end travels a greater distance than the connected end (Figs. 9A-B).
Regarding claim 31, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 28, and further
discloses wherein the movable portion (110) is associated with a mounting portion (206 c and 207;
Fig. 7, and wherein, in use, the mounting portion is stationary, and the movable portion is movable
relative to the mounting portion (Figs. 9A-9B).
Regarding claim 32, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 28, and further
discloses wherein the sufficient force is directed generally toward the skin contacting portion (lines 30-
44 in column 15).
Regarding claim 33, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and
further discloses wherein the housing (201) is stationary relative to the skin contacting portion (the
skin contacting portion/surface 216 is part of housing 201 wherein housing 201 is stationary as seen in
Figs. 9A-B).
Regarding claim 34, Gilbert as modified discloses the apparatus according to claim 28, and
further discloses wherein the housing (201) is stationary relative to the skin contacting portion (the
skin contacting portion/surface 216 is part of housing 201 wherein housing 201 is stationary as seen in
Figs. 9A-B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejections, Applicant argues that the combination of Gilbert and Windmiller is improper because the proposed modification of Gilbert by Windmiller would render the delivery system of Gilbert unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant reproduced a section of Gilbert to establish the centrality and essentialness of the use of hollow microneedles to first puncture the skin and then to act as a conduit to deliver fluid into the dermal tissues. Applicant argues that the proposed modification of Gilbert to replace the hollow microneedles of with the solid microneedles of Windmiller would require a substantial revision in construction and design to become operable and that it would change the basic principle of operation since no fluid could be delivered to the patient’s dermal tissues.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in the Advisory Action issued 06/16/2026, paragraph [0087] of Windmiller teaches that the microneedles are not limited to a solid embodiment but may include variations having lumens for drug delivery. Therefore, the modification of Gilbert by the hollow microneedle variant of Windmiller would not require a substantial revision in construction and would not change the basic principle of operation since the both Gilbert and Windmiller use hollow microneedles. The rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /THEODORE J STIGELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783