DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the claim amendments filed12/3/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
35 USC § 103 Rejection over Liang et al., US 11,217,524
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al., US 11,217,524, in view of Li et al. US 11,682,620.
Regarding claim 1, Liang (figures 1A & 2E) teaches a single-damascene interconnect comprising:
a first conductor line BM;
a second conductor line TM;
a via V connecting the first conductor line BM and second conductor line TM, wherein the via V is filled with a low resistivity metal conductor with high corrosion resistance (figure 2E-Ru, Ir, or Rh), and wherein the metal conductor is not the same material as the first or second conductor lines (figure 2E & column 7, lines 29-46).
Liang fails to teach the via comprises an adhesion layer applied to via sidewalls.
Li (figure 2A) teaches the via 120 comprises an electrically conductive adhesion layer 122B (paragraph 0023 recites metallic adhesion layer) applied to via sidewalls, wherein the via is filled with Ru, which is a low resistivity metal conductor with high corrosion resistance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of and via is filled with Ruthe he invention to use the adhesion layer of Lee in the invention of Liang because a skilled artisan knows an adhesion layer improves adhesion of the via conductive fill material. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 2, Liang (figure 2E-Ru, Ir, or Rh) teaches the metal conductor is a noble metal.
As to claim 3, Liang (figure 2E-Ru, Ir, or Rh) teaches the noble metal is selected from a group consisting of ruthenium, iridium, platinum, and rhodium.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,066, hereafter referred to as the patent, in view of Li et al. US 11,682,620.
Regarding claim 1, the patent (claim 11) claims a single-damascene interconnect comprising:
a first conductor line (column 13, lines 16-18);
a second conductor line (column 13, lines 16-18);
a via connecting the first conductor line and second conductor line (column 13, lines 14-15), wherein the via is filled with a low resistivity metal conductor with high corrosion resistance (claim 14), and wherein the metal conductor is not the same material as the first or second conductor lines (column 13, lines 19-20).
Liang fails to teach the via comprises an adhesion layer applied to via sidewalls.
Li (figure 2A) teaches the via 120 comprises an electrically conductive adhesion layer 122B (paragraph 0023 recites metallic adhesion layer) applied to via sidewalls, wherein the via is filled with Ru, which is a low resistivity metal conductor with high corrosion resistance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the adhesion layer of Lee in the invention of Liang because a skilled artisan knows an adhesion layer improves adhesion of the via conductive fill material. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 2, the patent (claim 14) claims the metal conductor is a noble metal.
As to claim 3, the patent (claim 14) claims the noble metal is selected from a group consisting of ruthenium, iridium, platinum, and rhodium.
Conclusion
Any inquiry should be directed to DAVID A ZARNEKE at (571)272-1937. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matt Landau can be reached at 571-272-1731. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 5/12/26