DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments filed on Feb. 11, 2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Wang) (2019/0094697).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for retrofitting an existing high energy edge exposure unit (102, Fig. 1 and 8), comprising: removing an existing high energy light source (mercury-xenon lamp, para 0050) from the existing high energy edge exposure unit; and arranging a low energy light source (LED 114) in the existing high energy edge exposure unit (para 0050), wherein the low energy light source comprises an emulator (122l, Fig. 8, para 0050-0053) configured to receive mechanical commands (para 0051, “a shutter open command, a shutter close command”) from a host controller (122e, Fig. 8, para 0050-0053) intended for a mercury vapor lamp (para 0050), the mechanical commands including shutter command (para 0051, 0052), and convert the mechanical commands into non-mechanical software emulation commands for the low energy light source (para 0052, “LED controller 122l represents a virtual shutter (i.e., simulates a shutter), and translates commands for the virtual shutter to commands for the LED”). Although Wang does not disclose that the mechanical commands include filter and diaphragm commands, Wang discloses controllers 122l and 122e including processors to execute instructions or commands (para 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include mechanical filter and diaphragm commands in the executable instructions for commands that can be executed virtually by software emulation since the examiner takes an official notice that such commands are common and necessary for an exposure unit.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the high energy light source comprises a mercury vapor light source (para 0050).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the low energy source comprises a light emitting diode (LED) light source (para 0050).
Regarding claims 4-6, Wang discloses wherein the LED light source is configured to emit energy having a wavelength in a range from about 255 nm to about 400 nm range, wherein the wavelength is in a range from about 340 nm to about 380 nm range and wherein the wavelength is in a range from about 360 nm to about 370 nm range (para 0058).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses a method of operating a retrofit high energy edge exposure unit (Fig. 1, 8) for edge exposure (para 0021), comprising: proving a low energy retrofit edge exposure unit (para 0050); receiving a workpiece (110) covered by a photosensitive layer (112, para 0022); and exposing an edge portion of the photosensitive layer to radiation generated by the low energy retrofit edge exposure unit (para 0050, 0058), wherein the low energy retrofit edge exposure unit comprises an emulator (122l, Fig. 8, para 0050-0053) configured to receive mechanical commands (para 0051, “a shutter open command, a shutter close command”) from a host controller (122e, Fig. 8, para 0050-0053) intended for a mercury vapor lamp (para 0050), the mechanical commands including shutter command (para 0051, 0052), and convert the mechanical commands into non-mechanical software emulation commands for the low energy retrofit edge exposure unit (para 0052, “LED controller 112l represents a virtual shutter (i.e., simulates a shutter), and translates commands for the virtual shutter to commands for the LED”). Although Wang does not disclose that the mechanical commands include filter and diaphragm commands, Wang discloses controllers 122l and 122e including processors to execute instructions or commands (para 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include mechanical filter and diaphragm commands in the executable instructions for commands that can be executed virtually by software emulation since the examiner takes an official notice that such commands are common and necessary for an exposure unit.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses wherein the radiation generated by the low energy retrofit edge exposure unit is emitted from a light emitting diode (LED) (para 0050).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses an edge-exposure tool (Fig. 1, 8), comprising: a workpiece table (106) configured to support a workpiece (110) covered by a photosensitive layer (112), and a retrofit edge exposure light source configured to radiate the photosensitive layer (para 0050, 0058), and an emulator (122l, Fig. 8, para 0050-0053) configured to receive mechanical commands (para 0051, “a shutter open command, a shutter close command”) from a host controller (122e, Fig. 8, para 0050-0053) intended for a mercury vapor lamp (para 0050), the mechanical commands including shutter command (para 0051, 0052), and convert the mechanical commands into non-mechanical software emulation commands for the retrofit edge exposure light source (para 0052, “LED controller 122l represents a virtual shutter (i.e., simulates a shutter), and translates commands for the virtual shutter to commands for the LED”). Although Wang does not disclose that the mechanical commands include filter and diaphragm commands, Wang discloses controllers 122l and 122e including processors to execute instructions or commands (para 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include mechanical filter and diaphragm commands in the executable instructions for commands that can be executed virtually by software emulation since the examiner takes an official notice that such commands are common and necessary for an exposure unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Wang does not actually disclose “retrofitting” as recited by claims 1 and 7. Applicant argues that Wang does not teach the physical steps of “removing an existing high energy light source from the existing high energy edge exposure unit” and “arranging a low energy light source in the existing high energy edge exposure unit” and “arranging a low energy light source in the existing high energy exposure unit”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang discloses in para 0050, “the embodiments of FIG. 8 illustrate how to retrofit an edge-exposure tool to use the LED 114 in place of a lamp, such as, for example, a mercury-xenon lamp or some other suitable lamp”.
Applicant further argues Wang’s LED controller translates electronic commands to other electronic commands. However, para 0051 and 0052 of Wang teaches the exposure controller 112e (corresponds to claimed host controller) is not “modified” to accommodate the LED controller and that the command to open and close the shutter is a mechanical command, which the LED controller 112I converts to non-mechanical software emulation (para 0052, a virtual shutter).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER B KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 February 24, 2026