DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 11, 12, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shintani (US 2013/0048938).
Regarding claim 1, Shintani discloses, in FIG. 2 and in related text, a variable resistance memory device comprising:
a pillar (22);
a resistance change layer (23) provided at a side surface of the pillar;
a semiconductor layer (25) provided at a side surface of the resistance change layer;
a gate insulating layer (26 between gate electrodes 27 and semiconductor layer 25, or 16 in FIG. 1) provided at a side surface of the semiconductor layer;
a plurality of isolating layers (26 between gate electrodes 27, or 18 in FIG. 1) and a plurality of gate electrodes (27) alternately arranged along a surface of the gate insulating layer; and
an internal resistance layer (24) between the resistance change layer and the semiconductor layer (see Shintani, [0012], [0014]),
wherein a resistance of the internal resistance layer (24) is greater than a resistance of the semiconductor layer (25) when the semiconductor layer comprises conductor characteristics (current passes through semiconductor layer 25 instead of internal resistance layer 24), and
wherein the resistance of the internal resistance layer (24) is less than the resistance of the semiconductor layer (25) when the semiconductor layer comprises insulator characteristics (current passes through internal resistance layer 24 instead of semiconductor layer 25) (see Shintani, [0016]).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Shintani discloses the device of claim 1.
Shintani discloses wherein the internal resistance layer (24, SiSb) comprises a first element (Sb) at a first content (50% atomic percentage), and
wherein the resistance change layer (23, Ge2Sb2Te5) comprises the first element (Sb) at a second content (22% atomic percentage) different from the first content, wherein the first content of the first element in the internal resistance layer is greater than the second content of the first element in the resistance change layer (see Shintani, [0021]).
Regarding claim 12, Shintani discloses the device of claim 1.
Shintani discloses wherein the internal resistance layer (24, SiSb) further comprises a second element (Sb) at a third content (50% atomic percentage), and
wherein the resistance change layer (23, Ge2Sb2Te5) comprises the second element (Sb) at a fourth content (22% atomic percentage) different from the third content (see Shintani, [0021]).
Regarding claim 15, Shintani discloses the device of claim 1.
Shintani discloses wherein an operation voltage with an absolute value of 6 V or less is applied to the semiconductor layer (see Shintani, [0100]-[0101]).
Regarding claim 19, Shintani discloses the device of claim 1.
Shintani discloses wherein the pillar (22) comprises an insulating material (SiO2) (see Shintani, [0021])
Claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (US 2022/0140234).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses, in FIGS. 9-11 and in related text, a variable resistance memory device comprising:
a pillar (280);
a resistance change layer (260) provided at a side surface of the pillar;
a semiconductor layer (240) provided at a side surface of the resistance change layer;
a gate insulating layer (230) provided at a side surface of the semiconductor layer;
a plurality of isolating layers (223a, b, …) and a plurality of gate electrodes (222a, b, …) alternately arranged along a surface of the gate insulating layer; and
an internal resistance layer (250) between the resistance change layer (260) and the semiconductor layer (240) (see Han, [0046], [0104], [0108], [0112]),
wherein a resistance of the internal resistance layer is greater than a resistance of the semiconductor layer when the semiconductor layer comprises conductor characteristics (when transistor TR4 is turned on, current passed through channel of TR4), and
wherein the resistance of the internal resistance layer is less than the resistance of the semiconductor layer when the semiconductor layer comprises insulator characteristics (when transistor TR3 is turned off, current does not pass through channel of TR3) (see Han, FIG. 12, [0112]-[0126]).
Regarding claim 3, Han discloses the device of claim 1.
Han discloses wherein an oxygen deficient (oxygen vacancies) ratio of the internal resistance layer (250) is less than an oxygen deficient ratio of the resistance change layer (260) (see Han, [0114], [0118]: internal resistance layer 250 has no oxygen vacancies; resistance change layer 260 has oxygen vacancies).
Regarding claim 4, Han discloses the device of claim 1.
Han discloses wherein an oxygen deficient (oxygen vacancies) ratio of the internal resistance layer (250) is less than 10% (see Han, [0114]: internal resistance layer 250 has no oxygen vacancies).
Regarding claim 6, Han discloses the device of claim 1.
Han discloses wherein the internal resistance layer (250) comprises an oxide comprising at least one of hafnium (Hf), aluminum (AI), silicon (Si), niobium (Nb), lanthanum (La), zirconium (Zr), scandium (Sc), tungsten (W), vanadium (V), and molybdenum (Mo) (see Han, [0048], [0114]).
Regarding claim 19, Han discloses the device of claim 1.
Han discloses wherein the pillar (280) comprises an insulating material (oxide, nitride, or oxynitride) (see Han, [0120]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han.
Regarding claim 5, Han discloses the device of claim 1.
Han discloses wherein an oxygen deficient (oxygen vacancies) ratio of the resistance change layer (260) is greater than 0% (see Han, [0118])
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein an oxygen deficient ratio of the resistance change layer is 10 % or more.
However, Han discloses that the oxygen deficient ratio determines resistance of the resistance change layer (see Han, [0064]-[0665]). In other words, the oxygen deficient ratio is a result effective variable for varying.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have the claimed range/value through routine experimentation and optimization. Also, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or otherwise critical. See MPEP § 2144.05
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Lin (US 2016/0336066).
Han discloses the device of claim 1.
Han discloses wherein the resistance change layer (260) comprises a metal oxide (see Han, [0117]).
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the resistance change layer comprises an oxide comprising at least one of tantalum (Ta), titanium (Ti), stannum (Sn), chromium (Cr), and manganese (Mn).
Lin teaches wherein the resistance change layer comprises an oxide comprising at least one of tantalum (Ta), titanium (Ti), stannum (Sn), chromium (Cr), and manganese (Mn) (see Lin, [0062]).
Han and Lin are analogous art because they both are directed to memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Han with the features of Lin because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Han to include wherein the resistance change layer comprises an oxide comprising at least one of tantalum (Ta), titanium (Ti), stannum (Sn), chromium (Cr), and manganese (Mn), as taught by Lin, because it is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (as resistive memory materials). See also, MPEP § 2143.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Lin (US 2016/0336066).
Regarding claim 8, Han discloses the device of claim 1.
Han discloses wherein the internal resistance layer (250) and the resistance change layer (260) comprise a metal oxide (see Han, [0117]).
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the internal resistance layer and the resistance change layer comprise a ternary metal oxide.
Lin teaches that a resistance change layer comprises a metal oxide including a ternary metal oxide (see Lin, [0062]). Thus Lin teaches wherein the internal resistance layer and the resistance change layer comprise a ternary metal oxide.
Han and Lin are analogous art because they both are directed to memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Han with the features of Lin because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Han to include wherein the internal resistance layer and the resistance change layer comprise a ternary metal oxide, as taught by Lin, because it is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (as resistive memory materials). See also, MPEP § 2143.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han.
Regarding claim 16, Han discloses the device of claim 1.
Han discloses wherein a thickness of the internal resistance layer (250) is 1 nm to 5 nm (see Han, [0114]).
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the internal resistance layer is less than a thickness of the resistance change layer. Han does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the resistance change layer is greater than 5 nm.
However, it is well known a thickness of the resistance change layer determines set and reset voltages of the memory device. See, for example, Kumar (US 2009/0272962), FIGS. 3A-3B and paragraph [0037]. In other words, the thickness of the resistance change layer is a result effective variable for varying.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have the claimed range/value through routine experimentation and optimization. Also, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or otherwise critical. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding claim 17, Han teaches the device of claim 16.
Han discloses wherein the thickness of the internal resistance layer is 1 nm to 10 nm (see discussion on claim 16 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10, 13-14, 18 and 20 are each objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the resistance of the internal resistance layer is 0.35 MΩ to 600 MΩ” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 2.
The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the first element comprises any one of hafnium (Hf), aluminum (AI), silicon (Si), niobium (Nb), lanthanum (La), zirconium (Zr), scandium (Sc), tungsten (W), vanadium (V), or molybdenum (Mo).” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 10.
The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the second element comprises any one of tantalum (Ta), titanium (Ti), stannum (Sn), chromium (Cr), or manganese (Mn)” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 13.
The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the third content of the second element in the internal resistance layer is less than the fourth content of the second element in the resistance change layer” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 14.
The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein a pitch between the plurality of gate electrodes is 20 nm or less” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 18.
The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the pillar comprises a conductive material.” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 20.
Conclusion
/SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811