DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, please correct “a battery occupying in the accommodating space”. Removing “in” would suffice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhardwaj et al. (“Bhardwaj”, US 9,040,187 B2) in view of Rockford (US 2016/0093861 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Bhardwaj discloses a battery pack with cells (i.e. electrode cores) of different capacities electrically coupled in parallel (title). Bhardwaj depicts in Fig. 2 cells having different thicknesses and/or sizes (4:22-33). Bhardwaj teaches conductive tabs may extend through seals in the pouch to provide terminals for battery cells, which may then be used to electrically couple a battery cell with one or more other battery cells to form a battery pack (4:54-60). In Fig. 5, Bhardwaj depicts a portable electronic device (i.e. housing) with a processor, display, and memory (i.e. plurality of functional devices).
Bhardwaj does not explicitly teach accommodating grooves.
However, Rockford discloses a power supply system for a portable electronic device (abstract) and teaches that one way to increase the structural soundness of a housing of a portable electronic devices [sic] is to add structural ribs or stiffening features to the housing ([0020]). These types of structural support features can make the portable electronic device less susceptible to damage and in some cases can include integrated features for helping to mount various internal components within the housing ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include structural ribs or stiffening features (which form the claimed accommodating grooves) in order to increase structural soundness and make the device less susceptible to damage, as taught by Rockford.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 11-12, Bhardwaj depicts in Fig. 1 the wiring connections between cells through conductive tabs and terminals (4:54-60) and shows a plurality of connection portions and a plurality of wire sections (Fig. 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that there are many ways to make the electrical connections using one or more wires and one or more tabs and terminals, including disposing on circumferences and integrally forming a terminal with a wire section.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Bhardwaj depicts gaps between cells with an electrical connection (i.e. wire portion) depicted in the gap (Fig. 1), which reads on embedded in the gap.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Bhardwaj teaches jelly rolls enclosed in a flexible pouch, which is formed by folding a flexible sheet along a fold line, followed by sealing by applying heat along a side seal and along a terrace seal (4:47-53).
Bhardwaj teaches folding a single flexible sheet instead of a first and second packaging film. However, folding a single sheet followed by sealing the edges and sealing two sheets together is considered an obvious difference. Accommodating grooves would necessarily be present to conform to the shape of the battery cell / jelly roll.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Bhardwaj does not expressly teach the lead-out portions of the electrode cores and the connection wiring are disposed closer to the first packaging film than to the second packaging film.
However, deciding which part of the sheet/film to place components closer to is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art and simply a matter of design choice.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Bhardwaj depicts a battery cell in Fig. 3, where a jelly roll is enclosed in a flexible pouch, which is formed by folding a flexible sheet along a fold line and sealed, for example, by applying heat along a side seal and along a terrace seal (4:47-53). Conductive tabs may extend through seals in the pouch (for example, formed using sealing tape) to provide terminals (4:54-60), as discussed above.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Bhardwaj depicts electrical connections (see Fig. 1) but does not expressly teach the outer side of the wire portion is covered with an insulating film.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use an insulated wire in Bhardwaj to prevent short circuit, as is well known in the art.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Bhardwaj teaches cells of different thickness and/or sizes (4:22-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2011/0183169 A1 discloses battery with multiple jelly rolls in a single pouch.
US 2016/0336562 A1 discloses packaging of bare cell stacks within device enclosures for portable electronic devices.
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746