DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (KR Publication 100614375) in view of Badam (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0241048).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Hwang discloses a pouch-type battery comprising a flexible bottom plate 110 in which a plurality of electrode assemblies are positioned in a matrix form, and a flexible top plate 130 that covers the electrode assemblies and is adhered to the bottom plate, wherein the top plate or bottom plate has a plurality of drawing portions 133 that have a depth for fixing the electrode assemblies, and wherein a wiring pattern 142 is formed between the lower plate and upper plate such that each electrode assembly is connected in series or parallel, and such wiring pattern may be extended a predetermined length to the outside of the pouch-type battery so as to be connected to a protection circuit board, etc. (Page 4, paragraphs 2-3). Hwang also discloses that each electrode assembly has a positive electrode tab 121 and a negative electrode tab 122 formed therein, which are extended outward, and these tabs are each connected to the wiring pattern (Page 5, paragraph 2). As to claims 2, 3, 11 and 12, Hwang teaches that the wiring pattern is formed on the surface of the bottom plate and that the bottom plate can include the drawing portions (Page 4, paragraph 3), which makes it equivalent to the second enclosure. Regarding claims 4 and 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the wiring pattern would be for on a non-recessed area because Hwang shows that the wiring pattern is meant to be flat and not bent. As to claims 5-7, 9, 14-16 and 18, Hwang discloses that the surface of the bottom plate is insulating, and that the wiring pattern is formed on this (Page 4, paragraph 3), which means there is an insulating layer on the surface of the wiring pattern and between the wiring and bottom plate. Hwang also discloses that the top plate is also made of an insulating material so that the wiring does not short-circuit (Page 5, paragraph 2). Regarding claims 8 and 17, Hwang teaches that the electrode assemblies each comprise a positive plate, a separator, and a negative plate, which are wound to form a stack of the plates and separator (Page 5, paragraph 3). It would be known by one of ordinary skill in the art that wound or stacked batteries commonly have multiple tabs that are combined to form a single positive or negative terminal that extends out of the battery.
Hwang fails to disclose that a plurality of functional devices are placed in the housing with the electrode assemblies to be used in an electronic devices, and that the connecting portions of the wiring pattern protrude from the wiring pattern toward the tabs for connection.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Badam discloses a battery assembly for a computing device 102, the battery assembly comprising: a chassis 200 with an internal cavity 202 in which various internal components are attached, the internal components comprising batteries 206a, 206b, 206c, 206d, a CPU 208, a speaker 210, a microphone 212, and a memory 214, wherein the battery configuration are distributed in voids throughout the internal cavity (Paragraphs 0031-0033). As to claims 2, 8, 11 and 17, Badam teaches that the battery assembly also comprises a battery interface 118 that receives current from the batteries, combines the current, and presents the current as a single power source to the computing device (Paragraph 0037). Badam shows in Fig. 3 that the connections of the battery interface are bent and protrude toward the terminals of the batteries for connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the battery assembly of Hwang could include functional devices for an electronic device that it is placed in because Badam teaches that this arrangement combines all components into one area to form a more compact battery assembly. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the wiring pattern of Hwang could include protruding connection portions because Badam shows that an electrical connection system can be bent around components in the assembly to allow for connection of all batteries. It would also be known by one of ordinary skill in the art that wiring patterns are flexible.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/214984 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 18/214984 teaches an electronic device, comprising: an enclosure, having an accommodating space; a plurality of functional devices, mounted to the enclosure and occupying in the accommodating space; and a battery occupying in the accommodating space, comprising: a plurality of electrode cores, at least two of the electrode cores having different heights; and each of the electrode cores comprising a lead-out portion; a housing, having a plurality of outward protrusions forming a plurality of accommodating grooves inside the housing; and the accommodating grooves respectively matching dimensions of the electrode cores to accommodate the electrode cores; and a connection wiring, accommodated in the housing and disposed based on a connection relationship of the electrode cores and positions of the lead-out portions to electrically connect the electrode cores, wherein the connection relationship comprises a serial connection or a parallel connection; the connection wiring comprises an output terminal; and the output terminal extends out of the housing for leading out power (claim 10).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
BRITTANY L. RAYMOND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1722
/BRITTANY L RAYMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722