Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 04/27/2026, in which: claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are amended; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1-6 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Okuyama et al, US 20220139788.
Regarding claim 1, Okuyama discloses : An evaluation method that evaluates a difference between a target shape and a cross-sectional shape of an electron microscopic image, comprising: a first step of measuring a characteristic dimension of the cross-sectional shape(Scanning electron microscope measures cross-sectional shape [0062]); after the first step, a second step of creating a template of the target shape in the cross- sectional shape obtained from the characteristic dimension of the cross-sectional shape(Fig. 18, template created from image of fig. 16 [0107]); and a third step of comparing a difference between the template and the cross-sectional shape using a normalized metric(pixel information from dimension measurements put through neural network to output a label number to which each pixel is normalized [0068] with #113 comparing actual value to goal value [0090]), wherein the template of the target shape in the cross-sectional shape created in the second step includes a cross-sectional box region and a cross-sectional shoulder region within the cross- sectional box region(Fig. 13, output measurements of cross-sectional image to include background, mask, and substrate of cross sectional shape [0099]).
Regarding claim 2, Okayama discloses : The evaluation method according to claim 1, wherein the characteristic dimension of the cross-sectional shape includes a maximum width of the cross-sectional shape and a maximum depth of the cross-sectional shape, and the template is a rectangle formed based on the maximum width and the maximum depth(Fig. 10, two coordinates of bounding box given to include mask upper portion and trench bottom portion [0097] Fig. 11 shows an example from </object> to </object> of x and y maximum values of bounding box).
Regarding claim 5, Okuyama discloses : A search method using machine learning to search for an etching condition that brings a processing result by a plasma etching apparatus to a target shape, comprising: a first step of measuring a characteristic dimension of a cross-sectional shape(Scanning electron microscope measures cross-sectional shape [0062]. Machine learning used as object detection model [0072]); after the first step, a second step of creating a template of the target shape in the cross- sectional shape obtained from the characteristic dimension of the cross-sectional shape(Fig. 18, template created from image of fig. 16 [0107]); and a third step of comparing a difference between the template and the cross-sectional shape using a normalized metric(pixel information from dimension measurements put through neural network to output a label number to which each pixel is normalized [0068] with #113 comparing actual value to goal value [0090]); the method using, as one of objective variables, an evaluation result of an electron microscopic image obtained by execution of the third step wherein the template of the target shape in the cross-sectional shape created in the second step includes across-sectional box region and across-sectional shoulder region within the cross- sectional box region(Fig. 13, output measurements of cross-sectional image to include background, mask, and substrate of cross sectional shape [0099]).
Regarding claim 6, Okuyama discloses : A search system using machine learning to search for an etching condition that brings a processing result by a plasma etching apparatus to a target shape, the system comprising: a control unit configured to perform a first step of measuring a characteristic dimension of a cross-sectional shape(Scanning electron microscope measures cross-sectional shape process by #111 [0062]. Machine learning used as object detection model [0072]); after the first step, a second step of creating a template of the target shape in the cross-sectional shape obtained from the characteristic dimension of the cross-sectional shape(Fig. 18, template created from image of fig. 16 [0107]); and a third step of comparing a difference between the template and the cross- sectional shape using a normalized metric, the system using, as one of objective variables, an evaluation result of a microscopic image obtained by execution of the third step(pixel information from dimension measurements put through neural network to output a label number to which each pixel is normalized [0068] with #113 comparing actual value to goal value [0090]), wherein the template of the target shape in the cross-sectional shape created in the second step includes across-sectional box region and across-sectional shoulder region within the cross-sectional box region(Fig. 13, output measurements of cross-sectional image to include background, mask, and substrate of cross sectional shape [0099]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama et al, US 20220139788 in view of Murakami et al, US 20130322737.
Regarding claim 3, Okuyama discloses : The evaluation method according to claim 2.
Okuyama does not disclose : wherein a difference in area between the rectangle and the cross-sectional shape is used as the metric, and the difference comprises an area number which is determined by subtracting a region of the cross-sectional shoulder region from the cross-sectional box region, divided by the region of the cross-sectional box region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Murakami teaches : wherein a difference in area between the rectangle and the cross-sectional shape is used as the metric(Evaluation value #F3 calculated by the difference of background and interconnection part [0100])., and the difference comprises an area number which is determined by subtracting a region of the cross-sectional shoulder region from the cross-sectional box region, divided by the region of the cross-sectional box region(Formula #f3 to include min of background and interconnection region divide by area [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Murakami to the cross-sectional image of Okuyama’s background, mask, and substrate in a bounding box by subtracting the background from the maximum dimensions of the boundary box and dividing the value by the maximum dimension of the boundary box to get an area of the substrate and mask.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama et al, US 20220139788 in view of Rucklidge et al, US 5999653.
Regarding claim 4, Okuyama discloses : The evaluation method according to claim 2.
Okuyama does not disclose : wherein a shortest distance among distances from a corner of the rectangle to the cross-sectional shape is used as the metric.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rucklidge teaches : wherein a shortest distance among distances from a corner of the rectangle to the cross-sectional shape is used as the metric(Hausdorff distance between two set used to determine if a pattern and an image matches [Col. 2, line 26-57]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Rucklidge to Okuyama to use the Hausdorff distance to provide reliable indicators of a match between pattern and image [Col. 2, line 26-57].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897