DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 8-10, 16, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 2, lines 1-2, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 2, line 2, “a carrier” should be changed to --the carrier-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 2, line 3, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 8, line 5, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 8, line 8, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 8, line 10, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 8, line 13, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 9, line 2, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 10, lines1-2, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 16, lines 1-2, “a lithographic photomask” should be changed to --the lithographic photomask-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 20, line 3, “a calculated amount” should be changed to --the calculated amount-- to correct antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/3/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Although English translation of JP2001-284217 and JP2004-311746 have been provided, copies of the foreign patent documents do not appear to have been provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furutoku (JP2001-284217; English translation included with 7/3/224 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Furutoku discloses an assembly (Figs. 1-6, abstract, exposure system) comprising:
a sensor (Fig. 1, pages 3-4 and 7 of English translation, an ion concentration measuring device or electrostatic measuring device not shown), wherein the sensor is capable of measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask (Fig. 1, pages 3-4 and 7 of English translation, an ion concentration measuring device or electrostatic measuring device is provided capable of measuring charge on the reticle);
a charge injector (Fig. 1, page 3, para. [0015], page 5, third paragraph, pages 6-7, ionizers 12a to 12f), wherein the charge injector is capable of modifying the electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask (Fig. 1, abstract, page 3, para. [0015], page 5, third paragraph, pages 6-7, ionizers 12a to 12f ionize the atmosphere near the reticle to change the static charge of the reticle);
a housing wherein the sensor and the charge injector are in the housing (Fig. 1, page 5, para. [0031], pages 6-7, exposure apparatus 1 is covered by a chamber, and the ionizers 12a to 12f and measuring device are inside the chamber); and
a control unit (pages 4 and 7, control device is not shown) wherein the control unit is capable of causing the sensor to measure the electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask, is capable of storing, outputting, or storing and outputting a value for the charge on the lithographic photomask, and is capable of causing the charge injector to modify the charge on a lithographic photomask a specified amount (Figs. 1-6, page 4, 6-7, the control device controls ionizers 12a to 12f based on the measurement result from the measuring device and therefore is necessarily capable of storing and outputting the measured charge value of the reticle to control the ionizers to adjust the electrostatic charges to eliminate static).
Regarding claim 5, Furutoku discloses wherein the assembly comprises a plurality of charge injectors (Fig. 1, page 3, para. [0015], page 5, third paragraph, pages 6-7, ionizers 12a to 12f).
Regarding claim 7, Furutoku discloses wherein the control unit is additionally capable of determining the specified amount from a measurement of electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask and a selected value for electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask (Figs. 1-6, page 4, 6-7, the control device eliminates static electricity by controlling the ionizers based on measurement of the charge on the reticle from the measuring device).
Regarding claim 14, Furutoku discloses a method for modifying electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask (Figs. 1-6, abstract, static is removed from a reticle) comprising:
measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask (Fig. 1, pages 3-4 and 7 of English translation, an ion concentration measuring device or electrostatic measuring device measures charge on the reticle);
calculating an amount that the measured electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask is to be changed based on a selected electrostatic charge amount and the measured electrostatic charge amount (Figs. 1-6, page 4, 6-7, the control device controls ionizers 12a to 12f based on the measurement result from the measuring device to eliminate static, and therefore necessarily calculates the amount the measured charged is to be changed based on the elimination of static and the measured charged); and
modifying the amount of electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask based on the calculated amount (Figs. 1-6, page 4, 6-7, the control device controls ionizers 12a to 12f based on the measurement result from the measuring device).
Regarding claim 17, Furutoku discloses wherein the amount of electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask is decreased (Figs. 1-6, page 4, 6-7, the control device controls ionizers 12a to 12f based on the measurement result from the measuring device to eliminate static).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furutoku as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Tsunoda et al. (US PGPub 2009/0224749, Tsunoda hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe additionally comprising at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask, wherein the housing is attached to the at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask.
Tsunoda discloses additionally comprising at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask, wherein the housing is attached to the at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0036]-[0041], mask case 10 accommodates the photomask 2, and the mask case 10 is attached to chamber 4 through transport mechanism 9 and preparation chamber 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask, wherein the housing is attached to the at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask as taught by Tsunoda in the assembly as taught by Furutoku since including additionally comprising at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask, wherein the housing is attached to the at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask is commonly used to provide the reticle to a system while reducing contamination (Tsunoda, para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 3, Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the housing is capable of attaching to a part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask
Tsunoda discloses wherein the housing is capable of attaching to a part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0036]-[0041], mask case 10 accommodates the photomask 2, and the mask case 10 is attached to chamber 4 through transport mechanism 9 and preparation chamber 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the housing is capable of attaching to a part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask as taught by Tsunoda in the assembly as taught by Furutoku since including wherein the housing is capable of attaching to a part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask is commonly used to provide the reticle to a system while reducing contamination (Tsunoda, para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 19, Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe creating a map of electrostatic charge amount for the lithographic mask where the map includes lithographic photomask surface locations and electrostatic charge amounts.
Tsunoda discloses creating a map of electrostatic charge amount for the lithographic mask where the map includes lithographic photomask surface locations and electrostatic charge amounts (Fig. 4, paras. [00554]-[0056], a map of the amount of charges adhering over the surface of the photomask 2 is created).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included creating a map of electrostatic charge amount for the lithographic mask where the map includes lithographic photomask surface locations and electrostatic charge amounts as taught by Tsunoda in the method as taught by Furutoku since including creating a map of electrostatic charge amount for the lithographic mask where the map includes lithographic photomask surface locations and electrostatic charge amounts is commonly used to assess the distribution of the amount of charges over the surface of the photomasks to enable fast and accurate adjustment accounting for the electrical potential distribution (Tsunoda, paras. [0054]-[0056]).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furutoku as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US PGPub 2015/0309401, Lin hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask.
Lin discloses wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask (Fig. 1, abstract, paras. [0002], [0013]-[0014], [0019], [0021], EUV mask 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask as taught by Lin as the lithographic photomask in the assembly as taught by Furutoku since including wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask is commonly used to produce high resolution patterns (Lin, paras. [0001]-[0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask.
Lin discloses wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask (Fig. 1, abstract, paras. [0002], [0013]-[0014], [0019], [0021], EUV mask 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask as taught by Lin as the lithographic photomask in the method as taught by Furutoku since including wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask is commonly used to produce high resolution patterns (Lin, paras. [0001]-[0002]).
Claims 6, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furutoku as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US PGPub 2020/0057367, Cheng hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, although Furutoku discloses the measuring device is arranged at various places inside the exposure apparatus (page 7, second paragraph), Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the assembly comprises a plurality of sensors.
Cheng discloses wherein the assembly comprises a plurality of sensors (Fig. 2a, paras. [0018], two sets of static charge sensors 116A are arranged in the static charge reducing device 110A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the assembly comprises a plurality of sensors as taught by Cheng in the assembly as taught by Furutoku since including wherein the assembly comprises a plurality of sensors is commonly used to evenly and symmetrically distribute the sensors to improve the ability to sense the charge distribution (Cheng, para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 16, although Furutoku discloses the measuring device is arranged at various places inside the exposure apparatus (page 7, second paragraph), Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe including measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask as second time.
Cheng discloses measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask as second time (Figs. 1, 2, 5, paras. [0042], [0044]-[0045], [0048], [0051], the static charge of the reticle is detected in operation S4, and the static charge detection is repeated in step S6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask as second time as taught by Cheng in the method as taught by Furutoku since including measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask as second time is commonly used to fine-tune the amount ionized molecules and improve prevention of electrostatic discharge (Cheng, abstract, paras. [0013], [0045], [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 20, although Furutoku discloses modifying the amount of electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask based on a calculated amount (Figs. 1-6, page 4, 6-7, the control device controls ionizers 12a to 12f based on the measurement result from the measuring device), Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask a second time.
Cheng discloses measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask a second time and modifying the amount of electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask based on a calculated amount (Figs. 1, 2, 5, paras. [0042], [0044]-[0045], [0048], [0051], the static charge of the reticle is detected in operation S4, the static charge detection is repeated in step S6, and the amount of static charge is fine-tuned if the detected static charge value is out of the predetermined range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask a second time and modifying the amount of electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask based on a calculated amount as taught by Cheng in the method as taught by Furutoku since including measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask a second time and modifying the amount of electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask based on a calculated amount is commonly used to fine-tune the amount ionized molecules and improve prevention of electrostatic discharge (Cheng, abstract, paras. [0013], [0045], [0051]-[0052]).
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furutoku in view of Beaulieu et al. (US Patent No. 6,993,405, Beaulieu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Furutoku discloses a system (Figs. 1-6, abstract, exposure system) comprising:
a sensor (Fig. 1, pages 3-4 and 7 of English translation, an ion concentration measuring device or electrostatic measuring device not shown), wherein the sensor is capable of measuring electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask (Fig. 1, pages 3-4 and 7 of English translation, an ion concentration measuring device or electrostatic measuring device is provided capable of measuring charge on the reticle);
a charge injector (Fig. 1, page 3, para. [0015], page 5, third paragraph, pages 6-7, ionizers 12a to 12f), wherein the charge injector is capable of modifying the electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask (Fig. 1, abstract, page 3, para. [0015], page 5, third paragraph, pages 6-7, ionizers 12a to 12f ionize the atmosphere near the reticle to change the static charge of the reticle);
a housing wherein the sensor and the charge injector are in the housing (Fig. 1, page 5, para. [0031], pages 6-7, exposure apparatus 1 is covered by a chamber, and the ionizers 12a to 12f and measuring device are inside the chamber);
a control unit (page 4, 7, control device is not shown) wherein the control unit is capable of causing the sensor to measure the charge on a lithographic mask, is capable of outputting, or storing and outputting a value for the charge on the lithographic photomask, and is capable of causing the charge injector to modify the charge on a lithographic photomask a specified amount (Figs. 1-6, page 4, 6-7, the control device controls ionizers 12a to 12f based on the measurement result from the measuring device and therefore is necessarily capable of storing and outputting the measured charge value of the reticle to control the ionizers to adjust the electrostatic charges to eliminate static); and
determining an amount for modifying the electrostatic charge on a lithographic photomask based on a selected value for electrostatic charge and an output value from the control unit (Figs. 1-6, page 4, 6-7, the control device eliminates static electricity by controlling the ionizers based on measurement of the charge on the reticle from the measuring device). Although Furutoku discloses a computing system (Figs. 1-6, pages 4, 7, 9, a computer), Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe a computing system computing based on an output value from the control unit, and wherein the computing system is communicatively coupled to the control unit.
Beaulieu discloses a computing system, wherein the computing system is capable of determining an amount of a parameter based on a selected value and an output value from a control unit, and wherein the computing system is communicatively coupled to the control unit (Figs. 1, 5-9, col. 3, lines 16-32, col. 4, lines 36-59, col. 5, lines 1-10, 20-51, col. 6, lines 6-52, col. 7, lines 1-58, col. 8, lines 25-67, col. 9, lines 1-8, the micro-sensor includes a processor 205 connected to a transceiver 250 to transmit sensor readings to receiving station 330 that transmits data to SPC system 325 and control system 320 installed on different or shared computers. The SPC system 325 analyzes data from the micro-sensor and compares the readings to limits and performs trend analysis to provide feedback to production control system 320).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a computing system computing based on an output value from the control unit, and wherein the computing system is communicatively coupled to the control unit as taught by Beaulieu in the system with the control unit and determining the amount for modifying the electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask based on the selected value for electrostatic charge as taught by Furutoku since including a computing system computing based on an output value from the control unit, and wherein the computing system is communicatively coupled to the control unit is commonly used to provide monitoring the environment and events around a product during manufacturing of the product (Beaulieu, col. 1, lines 8-13, lines 36-40, col. 9, lines 9-13).
Regarding claim 12, Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu discloses wherein the system comprises a plurality of charge injectors in the housing (Furutoku, Fig. 1, page 3, para. [0015], page 5, third paragraph, pages 6-7, ionizers 12a to 12f are in the exposure apparatus).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Tsunoda et al. (US PGPub 2009/0224749, Tsunoda hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the computing system is additionally capable of creating a map of charge amount for the lithographic mask surface where the map includes lithographic photomask surface locations and charge amounts
Tsunoda discloses wherein the computing system is additionally capable of creating a map of charge amount for the lithographic mask surface where the map includes lithographic photomask surface locations and charge amounts (Fig. 4, paras. [00554]-[0056], a map of the amount of charges adhering over the surface of the photomask 2 is created).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the computing system is additionally capable of creating a map of charge amount for the lithographic mask surface where the map includes lithographic photomask surface locations and charge amounts as taught by Tsunoda in the computing system in the system as taught by Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu since including wherein the computing system is additionally capable of creating a map of charge amount for the lithographic mask surface where the map includes lithographic photomask surface locations and charge amounts is commonly used to assess the distribution of the amount of charges over the surface of the photomasks to enable fast and accurate adjustment accounting for the electrical potential distribution (Tsunoda, paras. [0054]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu does not appear to explicitly describe additionally comprising at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask, wherein the housing is attached to the at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask.
Tsunoda discloses additionally comprising at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask, wherein the housing is attached to the at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0036]-[0041], mask case 10 accommodates the photomask 2, and the mask case 10 is attached to chamber 4 through transport mechanism 9 and preparation chamber 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask, wherein the housing is attached to the at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask as taught by Tsunoda in the system as taught by Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu since including additionally comprising at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask, wherein the housing is attached to the at least part of a carrier for a lithographic photomask is commonly used to provide the reticle to a system while reducing contamination (Tsunoda, para. [0041]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lin.
Regarding claim 11, Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask.
Lin discloses wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask (Fig. 1, abstract, paras. [0002], [0013]-[0014], [0019], [0021], EUV mask 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask as taught by Lin as the lithographic photomask in the system as taught by Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu since including wherein the lithographic photomask is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic photomask is commonly used to produce high resolution patterns (Lin, paras. [0001]-[0002]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US PGPub 2020/0057367, Cheng hereinafter).
Regarding claim 13, although Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu discloses the measuring device is arranged at various places inside the exposure apparatus (Furutoku, page 7, second paragraph), Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the system comprises a plurality of sensors in the housing
Cheng discloses wherein the assembly comprises a plurality of sensors (Figs. 1 and 2a, paras. [0014], [0018], [0034], two sets of static charge sensors 116A are arranged in the static charge reducing device 110A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the assembly comprises a plurality of sensors as taught by Cheng in the system as taught by Furutoku as modified by Beaulieu since including wherein the assembly comprises a plurality of sensors is commonly used to evenly and symmetrically distribute the sensors to improve the ability to sense the charge distribution (Cheng, para. [0018]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furutoku as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Yonekawa (US PGPub 2020/0176275).
Regarding claim 18, Furutoku does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the amount of electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask is increased.
Yonekawa discloses wherein the amount of electrostatic charge on the plate is increased (Figs. 3, 7-8, abstract, paras. [0050]-[0054], [0058]-[0060], the charging unit 62 supplies electric charges to the plate P and therefore increases electric charge on the plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the amount of electrostatic charge on the plate is increased as taught by Yonekawa for the lithographic photomask in the method as taught by Furutoku since including wherein the amount of electrostatic charge on the lithographic photomask is increased is commonly used to effectively remove particles (Yonekawa, paras. [0005], [0056]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Singh et al. (US Patent No. 6,507,474) discloses reducing electrostatic charges using an ionizer.
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882