DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of group 1 in the reply filed on 8/13/26 is acknowledged.
The restriction requirement made 7/30/26 is withdrawn in response to the applicant’s amendment filed 8/13/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 2021/0202465 A1 (“Wang”).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses an integrated circuit structure, comprising:
a plurality of first cells, each first cell having a corresponding height along a first direction that is within 1 nanometer (nm) of a first height, wherein each first cell has corresponding two or more transistor devices (Figure 1A and 1D or Paragraph 33 – e.g., cells 120 of a particular height Dl, with transistors, e.g., 132 and 134); and
a plurality of second cells, each second cell having a corresponding height along the first direction that is within 1 nm of a second height, the second height at least 3 nm smaller than the first height, wherein each second cell has corresponding two or more transistor devices (Figure 1A or 15 or Paragraph 27 or 52 – e.g., cells 122 of another height Ds, with a Dl/Ds ratio greater than 1.5);
wherein the first direction is parallel to a length of a gate structure of a first cell or a second cell (Figure 1A);
wherein the plurality of first cells are arranged in one or more first rows and the plurality of second cells are arranged in one or more second rows such that the one or more first rows each has the first height and the one or more second rows each has the second height (Figure 15 or Paragraph 52 – e.g., cells of different sizes stitched together); and
wherein the corresponding two or more transistor devices of at least one first cell includes a first transistor device having a first semiconductor body with a first width along the first direction and the corresponding two or more transistor devices of at least one second cell includes a second transistor device having a semiconductor body with a second width along the first direction that is shorter than the first width by at least 5 nm (Figure 1A or Paragraph 28 – e.g., W1 and W2).
As to claim 2, Wang discloses the structure of claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein the first semiconductor body comprises one or more first semiconductor nanoribbons and the second semiconductor body comprises one or more second semiconductor nanoribbons (Figure 1C – e.g., elements 130).
As to claim 3, Wang discloses the structure of claim 1, Wang further discloses a gate cut extending lengthwise along a second direction different from the first direction and along a boundary between adjacent rows of first cells and/or second cells (Figure 15 – e.g., necessary in separate gates 120 and 122).
As to claim 4, Wang discloses the structure of claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein a third transistor device of the two or more transistor devices of the at least one first cell has a third semiconductor body with the second width ().
As to claim 5, Wang discloses the structure of claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein each of the two or more transistor devices of the at least one first cell has a corresponding semiconductor body with substantially the same first width, and each of the two or more transistor devices of the at least one second cell has a corresponding semiconductor body with substantially the same second width (Figure 5 or Paragraph 42 – e.g., a taller cell with transistors of a same width as shorter cell transistors).
Claims 9-12, 14, 15, 17, and 18 recite elements similar to claims 1-5, and are rejected for the same reasons.
As to claim 16, Wang discloses the structure of claim 15, Wang further discloses wherein the first direction is orthogonal to the second direction (Figure 15 – e.g., the spacing between separate gates 120 and 122 is orthogonal to the first direction).
As to claim 19, Wang discloses the structure of claim 15, Wang further discloses a plurality of third cells, each third cell having substantially the same first height along the first direction, wherein each third cell has corresponding two or more transistor devices, wherein the plurality of third cells are arranged in one or more third rows, and wherein at least one of the two or more transistor devices of at least one third cell has a corresponding semiconductor body with substantially the same first width and at least one of the two or more transistor devices of the at least one third cell has a corresponding semiconductor body with substantially the same second width (Figures 9-10 – e.g., multiple rows of both larger and smaller cell heights).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
As to claim 8, Wang discloses the structure of claim 1, Wang further discloses a printed circuit board comprising the integrated circuit structure of claim 1 (obvious in a layered circuit design, e.g., Paragraphs 1, 15, or 18).
Claim 20 recites elements similar to claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, and 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest an integrated circuit structure or system having the combination of steps/elements of the claims including, among other elements, layer relationship details of the claims, in combination with the other structural elements of the clams.
Conclusion
/BRYCE M AISAKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851