DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 05/05/2026 amended claims 1 and 20. Claims 1 and 3-20 are pending and rejected on new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendments of claims 1 and 20.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokote (US 20080198338 A1) in view of Li (CN 113376934 A).
Regarding claim 20, Yokote teaches control method of a projector (Fig. 1-11B), the method comprising: selecting a plurality of driving modes by a user ([0042]); driving a driving device (204, 303, 114) for moving a housing (101) based on a driving mode selected by the user among the plurality of driving modes (Fig. 4A and 4B); moving the housing (101) to a front surface of the projector (Fig. 1-11B) by the driving device (204, 303, 114); and projecting an image to a direction of a upper surface or a direction of a rear surface of the projector (Fig. 1-11B) in the front surface of the projector (Fig. 1-11B) by an optical engine (103, 105) provided on the housing (101; Fig. 4A and 4B) through a projection surface, wherein the plurality of driving modes comprises: a first mode (Fig. 2A, 2B, 4A, 7A, 7B) in which a lens of the optical engine (103, 105) is exposed to an outside of a main body (200) and the housing (101) of the projector (Fig. 1-11B) is moved to a direction of the front surface of the main body (200) by a first distance; and a second mode (Fig. 3A, 3B, 4B, 8A, 8B) in which the housing (101) of the projector (Fig. 1-11B) is moved to the direction of the front surface of the main body (200) by a second distance that is longer than the first distance.
Yokote does not explicitly teach the method further comprises: driving the driving device to move the housing completely inside of the main body of the projector and seal an inside of the main body with the optical engine and the projection surface inside of the main body of the projector.
Li teaches the method further comprises: driving the driving device (2) to move the housing (9) completely inside of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100) of the projector (Fig. 2 and 8) and seal an inside of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100) with the optical engine (3) and the projection surface (52) inside of the main body of the projector (Fig. 2-8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yokote with Li; because it improves the portability of the projection system when the system is not in operation.
Claims 1, 3-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokote in view of Perkins (US 20060072080 A1) and in further view of Li.
Regarding claim 1, Yokote teaches a projector (Fig. 1-11B) comprising: a main body (200); an optical engine (103, 105) configured to project an image; a housing (101) on which the optical engine (103, 105) is provided, the housing (101) being movable to an inside area of the main body (200) or to a front surface of the main body (200); a driving device (204, 303, 114) configured to move the housing (101; [0041], [0042], [0055]), wherein the optical engine (103, 105) further configured to project the image to at least one direction in the front surface of the main body (200) through a projection surface (106; Fig. 4A-4B).
Yokote does not explicitly teach a processor configured to control the driving device (204, 303, 114) based on an operation mode of the projector (Fig. 1-11B).
Perkins teaches processor (62, 64) configured to control the driving device (50) based on an operation mode of the projector ([0034]-[0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yokote with Perkins; because it allows automating the movement of the drive mechanism as suggested by Yokote ([0041], [0042]).
Neither Yokote nor Perkins specifically teaches the housing configured to be moved completely into the inside area of the main body and seal the inside area of the main body of the projector with the optical engine and the projection surface sealed inside of the main body of the projector.
Li teaches the housing (9) configured to be moved completely into the inside area of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100) of the projector (Fig. 2 and 8) and seal the inside area of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100) with the optical engine (3) and the projection surface (52) sealed inside of the main body of the projector (Fig. 2-8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yokote and Perkins with Li; because it improves the portability of the projection system when the system is not in operation.
Regarding claim 3, Yokote further teaches the at least one direction corresponds to a direction of an upper surface of the main body (200) or to a direction of a rear surface of the main body (200; Fig. 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 4, Yokote further teaches the operation mode comprises: a first mode in which a lens of the optical engine (103, 105) is exposed to an outside of the main body (200) and the housing (101) protrudes to a direction of the front surface of the main body (200) by a first distance (Fig. 4A, 7A and 7B); and a second mode in which the housing (101) protrudes to the direction of the front surface of the main body (200) by a second distance, the second distance being longer than the first distance (Fig. 4B, 8A and 8B).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yokote, Perkins, and Li consequently results in the processor (62, 64 of Perkins) further configured to adjust a layout of the image based on a location of the optical engine (103, 105 of Yokote), the location of the optical engine (103, 105; [0060]-[0061] of Yokote) being controlled by the processor (62, 64 of Perkins).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yokote, Perkins, and Li consequently results in the processor (62, 64 of Perkins) further configured to control the driving device (204, 303, 114 of Yokote) to locate the optical engine (103, 105 of Yokote) in a location corresponding to a screen ratio of the image ([0030], [0041], [0042] of Yokote).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yokote, Perkins, and Li consequently results in the processor (62, 64 of Perkins) further configured to control the driving device (204, 303, 114 of Yokote) to located the optical engine (103, 105 of Yokote) in a location designated by a user ([0030], [0041], [0042] of Yokote).
Regarding claim 8, Yokote further teaches the main body (200) further comprises a main groove (203) configured to guide the housing (101) being movable to the front surface of the main body (200), wherein a horizontal width of the front surface of the housing (101) is substantially identical or identical to a horizontal width of the main groove (203; Fig. 1A-3B).
The combination of Yokote, Perkins, and Li consequently results in, based on the housing (9 of Li) being placed in the inside area of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100 of Li), a front surface of the housing (9 of Li) is formed in an identical shape to the front surface of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100 of Li), and the front surface of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100 of Li) and the front surface of the housing (9 of Li) are connected so as to seal the inside area of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100 of Li; Fig. 2-8).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yokote, Perkins and Li consequently results in based on the housing (9 of Li) being sealed in the inside area of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100 of Li) and a vertical length of the front surface of the housing (9 of Li) is substantially identical or identical to a vertical length of the front surface of the main body (1, 10, 11, 12, 100; Fig. 2 and 8 of Li).
Regarding claim 17, Yokote further teaches the main body (200) comprises a groove (203) configured to guide the housing (101) to move linearly, wherein the housing (101) further comprises a guide rail (107) formed along a longitudinal direction of the housing (101) on a lower surface of the housing (101).
Yokote does not teach explicitly the main body (200) comprises a guide rail and the housing (101) further comprises a groove.
Having the main body (200) comprising a guide rail and the housing (101) further comprising a groove amounts to rearrangement of parts that does not change the principle of operation in any way.
Rearrangement of parts without changing the operation of the reference device is prima facie. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 18, Yokote further teaches main body (200) further comprises a first groove (203) formed on a side surface of main body (200), and wherein the driving device (204, 303, 114) comprises: a first motor (204) placed in the first groove (203) and configured to drive the housing (101; [0041], [0042], [0055]); a first gear (301) connected to a driving axis of the first motor (204); and a first rack gear (108) engaged with the first gear (301), the first rack gear (108) being formed along a moving direction of the housing (101).
Yokote does not teach the housing (101) further comprising the first groove (203) formed on a side surface of the housing (101), and the driving device (204, 303, 114) comprising the first motor placed in the first groove and configured to drive the housing (101; [0041], [0042], [0055]).
Having the first groove formed on a side surface of the housing (101) and the first motor placed in the first groove amounts to rearrangement of parts that does not change the principle of operation in any way.
Rearrangement of parts without changing the operation of the reference device is prima facie. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 19, Yokote further teaches the main body (200) further comprises a second groove (the other 203) connected with the driving device (204, 303, 114) on a rear surface of main body (200) further, and wherein the driving device (204, 303, 114) comprises: a second motor (204; [0041], [0042], [0055]) configured to drive the housing (101); and a rotation axis of which one end is coupled with the second groove and the other end is connected with the second motor (204), and wherein the rotation axis is configured to convert a rotation movement of the second motor (204) into a linear movement of the housing (101).
Yokote does not teach the housing (101) further comprises the second groove (the other 203) connected with the driving device (204, 303, 114) on a rear surface of the housing (101).
Having the housing (101) further comprises the second groove (the other 203) connected with the driving device (204, 303, 114) on a rear surface of the housing (101) amounts to rearrangement of parts that does not change the principle of operation in any way.
Rearrangement of parts without changing the operation of the reference device is prima facie. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokote in view of Perkins and Li and in further view of Okura (US 20140132847 A1).
Regarding claim 10, neither Yokote, Perkins, nor Li teaches a first guide member (50) coupled with a rear surface of the main body (200), the first guide member (50) having a length protruding by a first predetermined distance.
Okura teaches a first guide member (16) coupled with a rear surface of the main body (6C), the first guide member (16) having a length protruding by a first predetermined distance, wherein the first guide member (16) comprises: a pair of first connection members (20, 21) coupled with the rear surface of the main body (6C); and a first supporting member (16a; Fig. 16-22).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yokote, Perkins, and Li with Okura; because it allows mounting a screen to the projector.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yokote, Perkins, Li and Okura consequently results in one end and the other end of the first support member (16a of Okura) are respectively connected with the pair of first connection members (20, 21 of Okura).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yokote, Perkins, Li and Okura consequently results in the first supporting member (16a of Okura) comprises a plane that is perpendicular to a horizontal surface on which the main body (6C) is provided (Fig. 16-22 of Okura).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yokota, Perkins, Li and Okura consequently results in a second guide member (17, 18, 19 and 23, 24, 25 of Okura) coupled with a lower surface of the main body (6C of Okura), the second guide member (17/18/19 and 23, 24, 25 of Okura) having a length protruding to a rear surface of the main body (6C of Okura) by a second predetermined distance (Fig. 16-22 of Okura), wherein the second guide member (17, 18, 19 and 23, 24, 25 of Okura) comprises: a pair of second connection members (17, 18, 19 of Okura) coupled with the lower surface of the main body (6C of Okura); and a second supporting member (23, 24, 25 of Okura).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yokote, Perkins, Li and Okura consequently results in one end and the other end of the second supporting member (23, 24, 25 of Okura) are respectively connected with the pair of second connection members (17, 18, 19 of Okura).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yokote, Perkins, Li and Okura consequently results in the second supporting member (23, 24, 25 of Okura) adjoins a wall on the rear surface of the main body (6C; Fig. 22 of Okura).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yokote, Perkins, Li and Okura consequently results in the second supporting member (23, 24, 25 of Okura) comprises a plane that is perpendicular to a horizontal surface on which the main body (6C of Okura) is provided (Fig. 22 of Okura).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amendment/s of claims 1 and 20.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882