DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 02/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/13/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-25 remain pending in the application, with claims 1-16 being examined and claims 17-25 being withdrawn pursuant to the election filed 02/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mescher (US-2016/0220997-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mescher teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a non-contact dispenser (pump assembly 1600), comprising ([0134], Figure 16):
a body defining an inlet, an outlet, and a flow path (fluid passage 1624) fluidly coupling the inlet and the outlet ([0136], see Figure 16 where the pump assembly 1600 has a body, where the fluid passage 1624 on the left will define an inlet and the fluid passage 1624 on the right will define an outlet);
a first valve (first valve assembly 1602 (1)) to control flow into a portion of the flow path (1624) ([0134], Figure 16);
a second valve (second valve assembly 1602 (2)) to control flow out of the outlet ([0134], Figure 16); and
a pump (fluid displacement assembly 1630) positioned between the first valve (1602 (1)) and the second valve (1602 (2)) ([0134], Figure 16).
Regarding claim 2, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Mescher further teaches wherein the body comprises a nozzle that includes the outlet (see annotated Figure 16 below).
Regarding claim 3, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Mescher further teaches wherein the first valve (1602 (1)) and the second valve (1602 (2)) each comprise diaphragm valves having a diaphragm (valve membrane 1620) ([0135] see where each valve assembly 1602 includes a valve seat 1623 configured for operative engagement with the valve membrane 1620 to block the fluid flow, Figure 16).
Regarding claim 4, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Mescher further teaches wherein the first valve (1602 (1)) has a valve seat (valve seat 1623) defined by the body and the second valve (1602 (2)) has a valve seat (valve seat 1623) defined by the body ([0135], Figure 13).
Regarding claim 6, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Mescher further teaches wherein the body defines a first aperture to allow a pressure to be applied to the diaphragm (1620) of the first valve (1602 (1)) to actuate the first valve (1602 (1)) and the body defines a second aperture to allow a pressure to be applied to the diaphragm (1620) of the second valve (1602 (2)) to actuate the second valve (1602 (2)) (Figure 16 see where there are two apertures that allows the respective valve heads 1618 to interact with the diaphragm 1620 to push it towards valve seats 1623).
Regarding claim 13, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Mescher further teaches further comprising a film and wherein the body includes a first portion and a second portion, the film positioned between the first portion and the second portion ([0119] see Figures 12A and B show valve assembly 1200, [0120] see layer stack 1222 that includes a plurality of bonded or laminated layers that form a microfluidic structure defining a path for fluid flow, [0126] see layer stack 1222 seen in Figure 13A includes a load distribution layer 1316, support layer 1318, and valve seat layer 1320, [0134]-[0135] describe Figure 16 where in particular [0135] describes that similar to valve assembly 1200 described in relation to Figure 12A, each valve assembly includes a layer stack 1622. Therefore, the layer stack 1622 seen in Figure 16 will also have a load distribution layer, support layer, and valve seat layer similar to how it is seen in Figure 13A. Please see annotated Figure 16 below for which components are being considered the first portion, second portion, and film).
Regarding claim 14, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 13. Mescher further teaches wherein the film defines apertures and the flow path (1624) passes through the apertures of the film (see annotated Figure 16 above that has the arrow pointing to what is considered the film, where this layer is seen to have apertures that the fluid passage 1624 passes through).
Regarding claim 15, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 13. Mescher further teaches further comprising a second film (elastomer layer 1621) and an interposer layer, the film is positioned on a first side of the body, the second film (1621) is positioned on a second side of the body, and the interposer layer is positioned between the film and the second film (1621) (see annotated Figure 16 below which has added an annotation regarding the interposer layer, which is the layer above the annotated film layer).
Regarding claim 16, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 15. Mescher further teaches wherein the interposer layer defines the flow path (see annotated Figure 16 supra with the interposer layer annotated, where this layer is seen to define the fluid passage 1624).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mescher (US-2016/0220997-A1) in view of MacMillan (US-2004/0200909-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 4. Meshcer does not teach wherein the body has first internal curved surfaces that define a first space between the valve seat of the first valve and the first internal curved surfaces to allow movement of a diaphragm of the first valve and the body has second internal curved surfaces that define a second space between the valve seat of the second valve and the second internal curved surfaces to allow movement of a diaphragm of the second valve.
In the same problem solving area of sealing valve seats and membranes to prevent flow, MacMillan teaches curved surfaces (MacMillan; [0110], [0111]).
Specifically, MacMillan teaches where a cavity 161 is defined by a first curved surface 162A and a second curved surface 162B that provide two valve seats that are the primary contact area for membrane 63 to seal off flow between channel 158 and 159 (MacMillan; [0111]). Additionally, as better seen in Figure 16B there is a third surface 163 recessed from first and second surfaces 162A and 162B (MacMillan; [0113]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the valve seats of Mescher such that they are curved with a gap as taught by MacMillan because MacMillan teaches that this arrangement allows the membrane to contact the valve seats rather than the entire surface of the cavity such that maximum pressure is applied to the valve seats to provide a very strong seal with minimal actuator force required (MacMillan; [0113]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mescher (US-2016/0220997-A1) in view of Schmolke (US-2018/0099280-A1).
Regarding claim 7, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 6. Mescher does not teach wherein the first aperture and the second aperture are defined on a first side of the body and the pump is positioned on a second side of the body.
In the same problem solving area of cartridges with valves, Schmolke teaches where a first group of valves and a second group of valves are actuated from different sides of the cartridge and/or in different or at least substantially opposing actuation directions (Schmolke; [0016]).
Specifically, Schmolke describes that a cartridge 100 comprises a first group 153 having one or more valves 115 and a second group 154 having one or more valves 115, where the first group 153 and second group 154 are actuated from different sides 100A, 100B of the cartridge seen in Figure 3 (Schmolke; [0110], [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the first valve assembly and second valve assembly such that they are actuated from the opposite side in comparison to the side the fluid displacement assembly is actuated because it is taught by Schmolke that the load and/or pressure on the cartridge is distributed between the two sides of the cartridge as a result of valves being actuated opposingly and therefore optimized and/or better distribution of forces acting on the cartridge is made possible and the risk of damage to the cartridge and/or the requirements for the mechanical strength of the cartridge is/are reduced (Schmolke; [0016]).
Even though the fluid displacement assembly is not a valve, one skilled in the art would still recognize the benefits of actuating components from opposite sides such as those described by Schmolke because the fluid displacement assembly is similarly actuated by applying force on the valve membrane 1620 seen in Figure 16 of Mescher.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mescher (US-2016/0220997-A1) in view of Maaskant (US-2017/0080422-A1).
Regarding claim 8, Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Mescher does teach where the fluid displacement assembly 1630 has a pump head 1619 that is driven to generate a relative positive or negative pressure in pump chamber 1632 to move fluid (Mescher; [0136], [0137], [0138]). The fluid displacement assembly is understood to not be a syringe pump.
In the same problem solving area of transferring liquid from chamber to chamber, Maaskant teaches an air displacement device that may be a syringe pump, peristaltic pump, bellows pump, or any other pump or air displacement device which can controllably deliver or remove air from a cartridge via a connected port (Maaskant; [0114]).
Examiner finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., valve assembly) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., the fluid displacement assembly) with other component(s) (i.e., syringe pump), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., fluid displacement assembly for a syringe pump), and the results of the substitution (i.e., applying positive or negative pressure to cause fluid movement) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to substitute the fluid displacement assembly of reference Mescher with the syringe pump of reference Maaskant, since the result would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 9-10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mescher (US-2016/0220997-A1) and Maaskant (US-2017/0080422-A1), and as evidenced by Tyrell (US-2006/0207316-A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 8. Mescher has been modified by Maaskant such that the fluid displacement assembly 1630 seen in Figure 16 is now a syringe pump, where the location is understood to be an aperture in the pump assembly’s body.
Maaskant does not describe the components that make up the syringe pump, however it is evidenced by Tyrell that a syringe pump includes a plunger and a barrel (Tyrell; [0013], Figure 3).
Therefore, it is understood that the barrel of the syringe pump will be received in the aperture of the pump assembly’s body.
Regarding claim 10, modified Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 9. As described above it is evidenced by Tyrell that a syringe pump includes a plunger and a barrel, where the plunger is an actuator to actuate the barrel.
Regarding claim 12, modified Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 9. The syringe pump of Maaskant is in the aperture of the pump assembly’s body as seen in Figure 16 of Mescher. One skilled in the art would find it obvious that for the syringe pump to similarly create pressure by interacting with the valve membrane 1620, the barrel would need to be substantially coplanar with a surface of the body defining the flow path.
The layer that holds the valve assemblies and fluid displacement assembly seen in Figure 16 of Mescher is part of the body of the pump assembly that defines the fluid passage 1624.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mescher (US-2016/0220997-A1) and Maaskant (US-2017/0080422-A1), in further view of Lauks (US-2004/0222091-A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Mescher teaches the apparatus of claim 9. Mescher in view of Maaskant do not teach further comprising adhesive between the barrel and a surface of the body defining the aperture.
In the same problem solving area of engaging a syringe with an entry port, Lauks teaches where the syringe tip forms a seal with an adhesive element surrounding the entry port (Lauks; [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the aperture that will hold the syringe pump of Mescher to include an adhesive element as taught by Lauks because Lauks teaches that the adhesive gasket permits a reliable fluid-tight seal between the syringe and card (Lauks; [0018]).
One skilled in the art would find it obvious that the adhesive gasket would allow a seal such that no pressure is lost when actuating the syringe pump to interact with the valve membrane.
Other References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Putnam (US-2014/0377146-A1) teaches a device that has two valves and a piston in between that are operated to constitute a pneumatically-actuated membrane-pump (Putnam; [0113], Figure 53G).
Zhou (US-2017/0151560-A1) see Figure 23A which shows diaphragms 1916b, 1918b, 1920b being actuated by respective drive chambers 1916a, 1918a, and 1920a, where the drive chambers alternate sides of the pump structure 1900 (Zhou; [0100], [0101]).
Conclusion
/S.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MELVIN C. MAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1759