DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 20150194326).
As to claim 1, Zhou discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
A chamber for semiconductor processing (figure 1: chamber 10; abstract);
A substrate stage configured to support the substrate (figure 2: stage 107 with top surface 109 for substrate);
A platen for seating the substrate containing a resistance heater and RF electrode adjacent the seating surface (figure 2: support [platen] 108 containing RF electrode 202 and resistance heating element 204);
A shaft under the platen having a central through hole and peripheral through holes (figure 2: shaft section 144 with central through hole and peripheral [dotted line] through holes);
An RF rod through the central through hole and spaced from the inner wall of the hole (figure 2: RF rod 230 with illustrated space at opening 216);
Heater rods through the peripheral through holes (figure 2: rods 228 to resistance heater 204 extending through peripheral [dotted line] holes).
As to claim 3, Zhou discloses an RF power supply for the RF rod and a second power supply for the heater rods (figure 2: RF power 222 coupled to RF rod 230 via strap 234; power supply 226 for terminal [resistance heating] rods 228).
As to claim 6, Zhou discloses the second, peripheral through holes are adjacent in a circumferential direction adjacent an outer periphery of the shaft (figure 2: peripheral holes [dotted lines] for terminal rods 228 adjacent outside periphery of shaft sections 144/142).
As to claim 11, Zhou discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
A chamber for semiconductor processing (figure 1: chamber 10; abstract);
A substrate stage configured to support the substrate (figure 2: stage 107 with top surface 109 for substrate);
A platen for seating the substrate containing a resistance heater and RF electrode adjacent the seating surface (figure 2: support [platen] 108 containing RF electrode 202 and resistance heating element 204);
A shaft under the platen having a central through hole and peripheral through holes (figure 2: shaft section 144 with central through hole and peripheral [dotted line] through holes);
An RF rod through the central through hole and spaced from the inner wall of the hole (figure 2: RF rod 230 with illustrated space at opening 216);
A first power supply connected to the RF rod (figure 2: RF power 222 coupled to RF rod 230 via strap 234);
Heater rods through the peripheral through holes (figure 2: rods 228 to resistance heater 204 extending through peripheral [dotted line] holes);
A second power supply electrically connected to the heater rods (power supply 226 for terminal [resistance heating] rods 228).
As to claim 15, Zhou discloses the second, peripheral through holes are adjacent in a circumferential direction adjacent an outer periphery of the shaft (figure 2: peripheral holes [dotted lines] for terminal rods 228 adjacent outside periphery of shaft sections 144/142).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lubomirsky (US 20120103970).
As to claim 2 and 12, Zhou discloses temperature control of the substrate support (paragraphs 6-7) but is silent as to a temperature sensor.
Lubomirsky discloses a substrate support for a semiconductor processing apparatus (abstract; paragraph 2) in which a support platen contains an RF electrode and resistance heating element (abstract; figure 2: RF electrode 24, heater 26). Lubomirsky also discloses knowledge in the art of providing a rod shaped temperature sensor at a peripheral though hole obtain temperature data and control the heating to desired temperatures (paragraph 24; figure 3: thermocouple 52 in peripheral hole in shaft under support 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a sensor rod and sensor, as disclosed by Lubomirsky, in the system of Zhou, because this allows for temperature control of the heated element.
Claim(s) 4-5, 8, 13-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka (US 20100163188).
As to claim 4 and 13, Zhou is silent as to the hole diameters.
Tanaka discloses a semiconductor processing apparatus (abstract; paragraph 2) in which a substrate support is provided an RF electrode for electrostatic chucking (paragraph 33) and resistance heating (paragraph 4). Tanaka also discloses knowledge in the art of using feed through holes in the support shaft for a substrate support having diameters of 8-16 mm (paragraph 80 – diameters of ‘protection pipes 60’ which the power carrying rods are inserted). Tanaka also discloses knowledge in the art of adjusting chamber parameters, including the support shaft diameter, to match the diameter of the substrate being processed (paragraph 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide feedthroughs with diameters of 2-6mm and 12-20mm, as disclosed by Tanaka in the system of Zhou, because this allows to provide a sufficiently sized hole for a power feedthrough with the knowledge in the art of adjusting sizing of components, including these diameters, to match the components being processed.
As to claim 5, 8, 14 and 17, Zhou (discussed above) and Tanaka (figure 3) disclose spaced apart holes for power feedthroughs, both are silent as to specific spacings. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sufficiently, and possibly evenly spaced components within the support shaft as Tanaka explicitly discloses sizing components, including the overall support short diameter, to match the worked upon wafer sizing (paragraph 6) and therefore selection of related variables, including the spacing of components within the shaft, would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Timmons (US 3927247).
As to claims 7 and 16, Zhou is silent as to details of the RF rod structure including multiple layers.
Timmons discloses knowledge in the art of an RF cable in which the structure is shielded by containing a central conductor, surrounding insulator, and surrounding metal layer (claim 1) to transmit the signal without losses or interference (col 1 lines 10-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a shielded RF cable, as disclosed by Timmons, in the system of Zhou, because this prevents losses and interference with the RF power.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Burrows (US 20220254634).
As to claims 9 and 18, Zhou discloses the shaft comprises AlN (paragraph 21), but is silent as to a graphite heater rod.
Burrows discloses a semiconductor wafer support structure containing resistive heaters in which a rod is provided to power the heating elements (abstract). Burrows discloses knowledge in the art of providing graphite rods to power the heating elements to obtain a desired resistance value (paragraph 58) and to prevent contamination of the substrate from generated gases (paragraph 66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a graphite rod, as disclosed by Burrows, in the system of Zhou, because this allows use of a material with desired resistance values and prevents contamination.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Isozaki (US 20070044916).
As to claims 10 and 19, Zhou discloses a through hole for power conduction, but is silent as to a metal covering on the inside of the through hole.
Isozaki discloses a semiconductor processing apparatus in which RF and heating electrodes are provided in a substrate support (figure 1). Isozaki also discloses providing a metal covering the inside of an insulating power through hole to provide conduction at the desired endpoint of the feed through (figure 3: plug 24 for power conduction wire/rod covering portion of inside wall of feed through insulation 35; paragraph 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a metal covering the inside of the feed through hole, as disclosed by Isozaki, in the system of Zhou because this allows for protected power feedthrough to the desired endpoint.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Lubomirsky.
As to claim 20, Zhou discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
A chamber for semiconductor processing (figure 1: chamber 10; abstract);
A substrate stage configured to support the substrate (figure 2: stage 107 with top surface 109 for substrate);
A platen for seating the substrate containing a resistance heater and RF electrode adjacent the seating surface (figure 2: support [platen] 108 containing RF electrode 202 and resistance heating element 204);
A shaft under the platen having a central through hole and peripheral through holes (figure 2: shaft section 144 with central through hole and peripheral [dotted line] through holes);
An RF rod through the central through hole and spaced from the inner wall of the hole (figure 2: RF rod 230 with illustrated space at opening 216);
A first power supply connected to the RF rod (figure 2: RF power 222 coupled to RF rod 230 via strap 234);
Heater rods through the peripheral through holes (figure 2: rods 228 to resistance heater 204 extending through peripheral [dotted line] holes);
A second power supply electrically connected to the heater rods (power supply 226 for terminal [resistance heating] rods 228).
Zhou discloses temperature control of the substrate support (paragraphs 6-7) but is silent as to a temperature sensor.
Lubomirsky discloses a substrate support for a semiconductor processing apparatus (abstract; paragraph 2) in which a support platen contains an RF electrode and resistance heating element (abstract; figure 2: RF electrode 24, heater 26). Lubomirsky also discloses knowledge in the art of providing a rod shaped temperature sensor at a peripheral though hole to obtain temperature data and control the heating to desired temperatures (paragraph 24; figure 3: thermocouple 52 in peripheral hole in shaft under support 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a sensor rod and sensor, as disclosed by Lubomirsky, in the system of Zhou, because this allows for temperature control of the heated element.
Correspondence Information
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794