DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In the reply filed February 27, 2026, election was made to Group I, claims 1-13 without traverse. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (“Huang”), US 2021/0375857 (listed in the IDS dated 8-15-2024) in view of Chang et al. (“Chang”), US 2021/0376155 (listed in the IDS dated 8-15-2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses a semiconductor device (Figs. 21A-D; ¶ 0005-0008) comprising:
a channel structure (124; Fig. 21B; ¶ 0043 “124 are referred to as channels of the semiconductor device”);
source/drain regions (230, 240; Fig. 21B; ¶ 0064 “S/D epitaxial structures (e.g., the top epitaxial structures 240 and/or the bottom epitaxial structures 230) as sources and/or drains”) connected by the channel structure (¶ 0064 “S/D epitaxial structures are electrically connected to the second semiconductor layers 124”); and
a backside contact structure (360, 362, 364, 366; Figs. 20E, 21B-21C; ¶ 0065) formed below at least one of the source/drain regions (¶ 0062 “backside via 360 is electrically connected to the etched top epitaxial structure 240”, ¶ 0064 “backside via 360 is connected to the backside of one of the S/D epitaxial structures”),
wherein, in a 1st-direction cross section view (Figs. 20A, 20B, 20E; ¶ 0063, 0065), a width (W1; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065) of an upper portion (362; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065) of the backside contact structure close to the source/drain region (Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065 “first portion 362 is closer to the top epitaxial structure 240 than the second portion 364”) is smaller than (¶ 0065 “width W1 of the first portion 362 is less than a width W2 of the second portion 364”) a width (W2; Fig. 2E; ¶ 0065) of a lower portion (364, 366; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065) of the backside contact structure distant from the source/drain region (Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065 “first portion 362 is closer to the top epitaxial structure 240 than the second portion 364”),
Huang does not disclose
wherein, in a 2nd-direction cross-section view, widths of the upper portion and the lower portion of the backside contact structure are substantially uniform along a vertical downward direction, and
wherein the 1st direction intersects the 2nd direction.
Chang discloses
wherein, in a 2nd-direction cross-section view (Fig. 27B; ¶ 0096), widths of the upper portion (Fig. 27B the upper portion of backside contact structure 130 in STI region 68) and the lower portion (Fig. 27B the lower portion of backside contact structure 130 electrically coupled to silicide region 129 of source/drain region 92; ¶ 0096) of the backside contact structure are substantially uniform along a vertical downward direction (Fig. 27B; ¶ 0096), and
wherein the 1st direction intersects the 2nd direction (Fig. 1; ¶ 0013-0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Huang to have wherein, in a 2nd-direction cross-section view, widths of the upper portion and the lower portion of the backside contact structure are substantially uniform along a vertical downward direction, and wherein the 1st direction intersects the 2nd direction, as taught by Chang, to “reduce RC time delay” and “improve device performance” (Chang ¶ 0097).
Regarding Claim 2, Huang does not disclose wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view, the width of the upper portion is substantially equal to the width of the lower portion.
Chang discloses wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view, the width of the upper portion (Fig. 27B the upper portion of backside contact structure 130 in STI region 68) is substantially equal to the width of the lower portion (Fig. 27B the lower portion of backside contact structure 130 electrically coupled to silicide region 129 of source/drain region 92; ¶ 0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Huang to have wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view, the width of the upper portion is substantially equal to the width of the lower portion, as taught by Chang, to “reduce RC time delay” and “improve device performance” (Chang ¶ 0097).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang discloses wherein, in the 1st-direction cross-section view (Fig. 20E), the width of the upper portion (362; Fig. 20E;¶ 0065) is substantially uniform along the vertical downward direction (Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065 “362 has a substantially constant width”), and the width of the lower portion increases along the vertical downward direction (Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065 “366 tapers from the second portion 364 toward the first portion 362” and “366 has tapered sidewalls 366s”).
Regarding Claim 4, Huang discloses wherein, in the 1st-direction cross-section view (Fig. 20E), the backside contact structure (360, 362, 364, 366; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065) comprises a side surface (366s; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0066) in a positive slope from a bottom surface thereof (Fig. 20E; ¶ 0066 “the angle θ2 is greater than about 140 degrees and less than about 180 degrees”).
Regarding Claim 5, Huang discloses wherein, in the 1st-direction cross-section view (Figs. 20E), the backside contact structure does not comprise a side surface (362s, 366s, 364s; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0066) in a negative slope from the bottom surface thereof (¶ 0065 “angle θ1 is greater than about 140 degrees and less than about 180 degrees” and “angle θ2 is greater than about 140 degrees and less than about 180 degrees”).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang does not disclose wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view, two opposite side surfaces of the backside contact structure are vertically plane.
Chang discloses wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view (Fig. 27B), two opposite side surfaces of the backside contact structure (the left side surface and the right side surface of the backside contact structure 130 from silicide 129 to the upper portion of STI 68) are vertically plane (Fig. 27B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Huang to have wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view, two opposite side surfaces of the backside contact structure are vertically plane, as taught by Chang, to “reduce RC time delay” and “improve device performance” (Chang ¶ 0097).
Regarding Claim 7, Huang discloses further comprising a backside isolation structure (330, Figs. 20B-20E; ¶ 0056) surrounding the backside contact structure (Figs. 20B-20E; ¶ 0056).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang discloses a semiconductor device (Figs. 21A-D; ¶ 0005-0008) comprising:
a channel structure (124; Fig. 21B; ¶ 0043 “124 are referred to as channels of the semiconductor device”);
source/drain regions (230, 240; Fig. 21B; ¶ 0064 “S/D epitaxial structures (e.g., the top epitaxial structures 240 and/or the bottom epitaxial structures 230) as sources and/or drains”) connected by the channel structure (¶ 0064 “S/D epitaxial structures are electrically connected to the second semiconductor layers 124”); and
a backside contact structure (360, 362, 364, 366; Figs. 20E, 21B-21C; ¶ 0065) formed below at least one of the source/drain regions (¶ 0062 “backside via 360 is electrically connected to the etched top epitaxial structure 240”, ¶ 0064 “backside via 360 is connected to the backside of one of the S/D epitaxial structures”),
wherein, in a 1st-direction cross-section view (Figs. 20A, 20B, 20E; ¶ 0063, 0065-0066), the backside contact structure (360, 362, 364, 366; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065) comprises a side surface (366s; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0066) in a positive slope from a bottom surface thereof (Fig. 20E; ¶ 0066 “the angle θ2 is greater than about 140 degrees and less than about 180 degrees”).
Huang does not disclose
wherein, in a 2nd-direction cross-section view, widths of the upper portion and the lower portion of the backside contact structure are substantially uniform along a vertical downward direction, and
wherein the 1st direction intersects the 2nd direction.
Chang discloses
wherein, in a 2nd-direction cross-section view (Fig. 27B; ¶ 0096), widths of the upper portion (Fig. 27B the upper portion of backside contact structure 130 in STI region 68) and the lower portion (Fig. 27B the lower portion of backside contact structure 130 electrically coupled to silicide region 129 of source/drain region 92; ¶ 0096) of the backside contact structure are substantially uniform along a vertical downward direction (Fig. 27B; ¶ 0096), and
wherein the 1st direction intersects the 2nd direction (Fig. 1; ¶ 0013-0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Huang to have wherein, in a 2nd-direction cross-section view, widths of the upper portion and the lower portion of the backside contact structure are substantially uniform along a vertical downward direction, and wherein the 1st direction intersects the 2nd direction, as taught by Chang, to “reduce RC time delay” and “improve device performance” (Chang ¶ 0097).
Regarding Claim 9, Huang discloses wherein, in the 1st-direction cross-section view (Fig. 20E), a width (W1; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065) of the upper portion (362; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0065) of the backside contact structure is smaller than (Fig. 2E; ¶ 0065 “width W1 of the first portion 362 is less than a width W2 of the second portion 364”) a width (W2; Fig. 2E; ¶ 0065) of the lower portion (364; Fig. 2E; ¶ 0065) of the backside contact structure.
Regarding Claim 10; Huang does not disclose wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view, the width of the upper portion of the backside contact structure is substantially equal to the width of the lower portion of the backside contact structure.
Chang discloses wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view (Fig. 27B), the width of the upper portion (Fig. 27B the upper portion of backside contact structure 130 in STI region 68) of the backside contact structure is substantially equal to the width of the lower portion (Fig. 27B the lower portion of backside contact structure 130 electrically coupled to silicide region 129 of source/drain region 92; ¶ 0096) of the backside contact structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Huang to have wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view, the width of the upper portion of the backside contact structure is substantially equal to the width of the lower portion of the backside contact structure, as taught by Chang, to “reduce RC time delay” and “improve device performance” (Chang ¶ 0097).
Regarding Claim 11, Huang discloses wherein, in the 1st-direction cross-section view (Figs. 20E), the backside contact structure does not comprise a side surface (362s, 366s, 364s; Fig. 20E; ¶ 0066) in a negative slope from the bottom surface thereof (¶ 0065 “angle θ1 is greater than about 140 degrees and less than about 180 degrees” and “angle θ2 is greater than about 140 degrees and less than about 180 degrees”).
Regarding Claim 12, Huang does not disclose wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view, two opposite side surfaces of the backside contact structure are vertically plane.
Chang discloses wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view (Fig. 27B), two opposite side surfaces of the backside contact structure (the left side surface and the right side surface of the backside contact structure 130 from silicide 129 to the upper portion of STI 68) are vertically plane (Fig. 27B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Huang to have wherein, in the 2nd-direction cross-section view, two opposite side surfaces of the backside contact structure are vertically plane, as taught by Chang, to “reduce RC time delay” and “improve device performance” (Chang ¶ 0097).
Regarding Claim 13, Huang discloses further comprising a backside isolation structure (330, Figs. 20B-20E; ¶ 0056) surrounding the backside contact structure (Figs. 20B-20E; ¶ 0056).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al, US 2022/0157956, discloses a nanosheet field effect transistor having a backside contact arranged below and coupled to a source/drain region, the backside contact having a bottommost surface that is wider than a topmost surface. Lilak et al., US 11,437,283, discloses a nanosheet field effect transistor having a backside contact arranged below and coupled to a source/drain region, the backside contact being substantially uniform along a vertical downward direction. Chen et al., US 2022/0359689, discloses a nanosheet field effect transistor having a backside contact arranged below and coupled to a source/drain region, the backside contact having a bottommost surface that is wider than a topmost surface.
/R.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818