Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0013453, filed on 01/29/2021.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections to Claims 3-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) are withdrawn in view of the amendments to Claim 3, 5, 9, 10, 12-14.
Claims 4, 9, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 recites “wherein while the second coupling protrusion is inserted in the second insertion hole, the second coupling protrusion is movable along the second direction within the second insertion hole”, the limitation in Claim 4 is not further limiting as Claim 1 already recites “the second coupling protrusion is movable along the second direction within the second insertion hole”. Examiner recommends cancelation of Claim 4 as Claim 4 appears to be not further limiting.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the first coupling protrusion is supported on the first insertion hole without a gap”, the limitation in Claim 9 is not further limiting as Claim 1 already recites “the first coupling protrusion is fixed in the first insertion hole without a gap”. Examiner recommends cancelation of Claim 9 as Claim 9 appears to be not further limiting.
Claim 13 recites “wherein the first coupling protrusion is inserted into the first insertion hole without a gap”, the limitation in Claim 13 is not further limiting as Claim 1 already recites “the first coupling protrusion is fixed in the first insertion hole without a gap”. Examiner recommends cancelation of Claim 13 as Claim 13 appears to be not further limiting.
Claim 14 recites “wherein the first coupling protrusion is fixed to the first insertion hole, and the second coupling protrusion is movable in the second direction inside the second insertion hole”, the limitation in Claim 14 is not further limiting as Claim 1 already recites “the first coupling protrusion is fixed in the first insertion hole without a gap” & “the second coupling protrusion is movable along the second direction within the second insertion hole”. Examiner recommends cancelation of Claim 14 as Claim 14 appears to be not further limiting.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KUROYANAGI et al. (US 2017/0146727 - hereinafter, "Kuroyanagi").
With respect to Claim 1, Kuroyanagi teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 below)
A display apparatus (1) comprising:
a display panel (12) on which a screen is displayable along a first direction (see annotated Figure 3 below);
a light source module (18) including a plurality of light sources (LEDs, in paragraph [0043]) configured to emit light toward the display panel (12), the plurality of light sources (LEDs) being spaced apart from each other along a second direction (see annotated Figure 3 below) perpendicular to the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 below);
a rear chassis (20), to support the light source module (18), which is arrangeable at a rear side of the display panel (12), the rear chassis (20) including a first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) and a second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) among a plurality of coupling protrusions (screws, in paragraph [0051], “In addition, when screwing a screw which is inserted into the screw insertion hole 194 to the screw hole 202, the heat spreader 19 is fixed to the fixing portion 201”) spaced apart from each other along the second direction (see annotated Figure 3 below); and
a heat dissipation member (19), coupleable to the rear chassis (20), and configured to dissipate heat (in paragraph [0044]) generated from the light source module (18), the heat dissipation member (19) including a first insertion hole (see Figure 5 below) and a second insertion hole (see Figure 14 below) among a plurality of insertion holes (194) into which the plurality of coupling protrusions (screws) of the rear chassis (20) are insertable, the plurality of insertion holes (194) being spaced apart from each other along a long axis (see annotated Figure 5 below) of the heat dissipation member (19) which extends along the second direction (see annotated Figure 3 below),
wherein the first insertion hole (see annotated Figure 5 below), is at a center of the heat dissipation member (19) along the long axis (see annotated Figure 5 below) such that the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) is fixed in the first insertion hole (see annotated Figure 5 below) without a gap (the threads of the coupling protrusion (screws) are engaged with walls of the insertion holes (194), thus there are no gaps and fixed in the first insertion hole), and the second insertion hole (see annotated Figure 14 below) is adjacent to a side end of the heat dissipation member (19) along the long axis and the second insertion hole (see annotated Figure 14 below) is in a shape elongated (see annotated Figure 14 below) along the long axis (see annotated Figure 14 below) which is different from the shape of the first insertion hole (see Figure 5 below) such that the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) is movable (in paragraph [0062], “The reason for setting the screw insertion hole 194 to a long hole is to suppress a defect caused by thermal expansion of members due to a temperature rise in the inside of the liquid crystal TV 1, or thermal contraction due to a temperature fall in the inside thereof”, thus the second coupling protrusion (screws) are movable due to thermal expansion or contraction and the second coupling protrusion (screws) may shift and move along the second direction) along the second direction (see annotated Figure 14 below) within the second insertion hole (see annotated Figure 14 below), and
the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) is in a hook shape (Merriam-Webster defines several definitions for “hook” and “shape”, Merriam-Webster provides one of the several definitions of “hook” as “a curved or bent device for catching, holding, or pulling” and “shape” as “to make fit for”, the head of the screws is “a curved device to make fit for catching, holding, or pulling” and in paragraph [0046], “The heat spreader 19 onto which the LED substrate 18 is fixed in advance, using a double-sided tape, is screwed as will be described later”, thus the head of the screws are able to catch and hold the heat dissipating member in place, thus the head of the screws can be considered hook shape) bent along a third direction (see annotated Figure 11 below, Merriam-Webster defines several definitions for “bent”, Merriam-Webster provides one of the several definitions of “bent” as “changed by bending out of an originally straight or even condition”, the head of the screws is bending and not of a straight or flat surface or form, thus a portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screws as is “bent along a third direction”) perpendicular to the first direction (see annotated Figure 2 above) and the second direction (see annotated Figure 14 above).
Figure I
Figure II
Figure III
Figure IV
With respect to Claim 2, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the heat dissipation member (19) is formed of a material (aluminum, in paragraph [0044]) having greater thermal expansion (the thermal expansion of aluminum is greater than the thermal expansion of steel) than the rear chassis (20, steel, in paragraph [0045]).
With respect to Claim 3, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein a width (a width of the shaft of the screws in the second direction) of the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) along the second direction (see annotated Figure 14 above) is smaller than a width (W1 or W2) of the second insertion hole (see annotated Figure 14 above) along the second direction (see annotated Figure 14 above).
With respect to Claim 4, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein while the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) is inserted in the second insertion hole (see annotated Figure 5 above), the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) is movable (in paragraph [0062], “The reason for setting the screw insertion hole 194 to a long hole is to suppress a defect caused by thermal expansion of members due to a temperature rise in the inside of the liquid crystal TV 1, or thermal contraction due to a temperature fall in the inside thereof”, thus the second coupling protrusion (screws) are movable due to thermal expansion or contraction and the second coupling protrusion (screws) may shift along the second direction) along the second direction (see annotated Figure 14 above) within the second insertion hole (see annotated Figure 14 above).
With respect to Claim 6, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) includes
a bent portion at which the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) extending along the first direction is bent toward the third direction (see annotated Figure 11 above, the Examiner notes a portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screws prior to an end or edge portion, as is bent along a third direction) and
an end portion extending along the third direction (see annotated Figure 11 above, an end or edge portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screws following after the bent portion along a third direction) from the bent portion, and
the end portion (the end or edge portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screws) is disposed outside the second insertion hole (see annotated Figure 14 above, the end or edge portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screws would not be within or at the second insertion hole and lie beyond the second insertion hole along the third direction) along the third direction (see annotated Figure 14 above).
With respect to Claim 7, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein an area (an area of the shaft of the coupling protrusions (screws) that is in contact with the rear chassis (20) before a distal end of the screw) between a base (the distal end of the screw, opposite of the circumferentially extending head of the screws) of the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) and the bent portion (see annotated Figure 11 above, the Examiner notes a portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screws prior to an end or edge portion, as is bent along a third direction) in the first direction (see annotated Figure 11 above) is configured not to be in contact with the heat dissipation member (19).
With respect to Claim 8, as best understood by the Examiner, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the end portion (an end or edge portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screws following after the bent portion along a third direction) of the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) is configured to be in contact with the heat dissipation member (19).
With respect to Claim 9, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) is supported on the first insertion hole (see annotated Figure 5 above) without a gap (the threads of the coupling protrusion (screws) are engaged with walls of the insertion holes (194), thus there are no gaps).
With respect to Claim 10, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) is in a tubular shape (shaft of the screws) protruding along the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 above), and
an end portion (threads of the screws) of the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) in the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 above) is bent to face toward the heat dissipation member (19).
With respect to Claim 11, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the end portion (head of the screws) of the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) is bent along a third direction (see Figure 11, the Examiner notes a portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screws as is bent along a third direction) perpendicular to the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 above) and the second direction (see annotated Figure 3 above) to be in contact with the heat dissipation member (19).
With respect to Claim 12, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) is in a tubular shape (shaft portion of the screws) protruding along the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 above), and
an end portion (threads of the screws) of the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) along the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 above) is configured to be in contact (the threads of the screws would be engaged and contacting the heat dissipation member (19)) with the heat dissipation member (19).
With respect to Claim 13, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) is inserted into the first insertion hole (see annotated Figure 5 above) without a gap (the threads of the coupling protrusion (screws) are engaged with walls of the insertion holes (194), thus there are no gaps).
With respect to Claim 14, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) is fixed to the first insertion hole (see annotated Figure 5 above), and the second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes (194)) is movable in the second direction (see annotated Figure 14 above) inside the second insertion hole (see annotated Figure 14 above).
With respect to Claim 15, Kuroyanagi further teaches (in Figure 3, 5, 14 and as shown in annotated Figure 3, 5 and 14 above)
wherein the first insertion hole (see annotated Figure 5 above) is among a plurality of first insertion holes (see annotated Figure 5 above), and the second insertion hole (see annotated Figure 5 above) is among a plurality of second insertion holes (see annotated Figure 5 above), and
a number of the plurality of first insertion holes (see annotated Figure 5 above) is greater than a number of the plurality of second insertion holes (see annotated Figure 5 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s remark to Claim 1 in view of limitations of Claim 5 recites
“Claims 1-15 stand rejected as being anticipated by US 2017/0146727 (hereinafter, "Kuroyanagi"). Claim 1 has been amended by incorporating the limitations of claim 5, and recites at least the following:
"... a display panel on which a screen is displayable along a first direction;…
and
the second coupling protrusion is in a hook shape bent along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction." (emphasis added for convenience of review).
Claim 1 as amended recites, in part, "the second coupling protrusion is in a hook shape bent along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction." Applicant respectfully submits that Kuroyanagi at least does not explicitly disclose the above-emphasized limitations.
The Office Action argues, citing annotated FIGS. 3, 5, and 14 of Kuroyanagi (page 11 of the Office Action), that a second coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the second insertion holes 194) is movable and may shift and move along the second direction. Page 13 of the Office Action. However, nowhere in Kuroyanagi, including FIGS. 3, 5, and 14, discloses or even suggests that the second coupling protrusion is in a hook shape and bent along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
In rejecting claim 5 reciting "the second coupling protrusion is in a hook shape bent along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction," the Office Action separately cites annotated FIGS. 3, 5, 11, and 14, and argues that the head of the screw in annotated FIG. 11 of Kuroyanagi, as reproduced below, describes the second coupling protrusion in a hook shape and bent along a third direction recited in claim 1. Page 17 of the Office Action. For this, the Office Action argues that the screw in annotated FIG. 11 equates with the second coupling protrusion, and the screw in FIG. 11 is in a hook shape because "the head of the screws are shaped for catching hold of, thus shaped to hook." Page 17 of the Office Action. The Office Action also argues that a portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screw in Kuroyanagi equates with a second coupling protrusion that is "bent" along a third direction. Page 17 of the Office Action.
Annotated FIG. 11 of Kuroyanagi merely shows the screws inserted in the screw insertion holes, and the screw heads are annotated as "bent portion. However, annotated FIG. 11 does not show how the head of the screws are shaped to hook, much less how the head of the screw is shaped as a hook to catch hold of (an object). Further, there is no disclosure or suggestion in Kuroyanagi that a portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screw, i.e., a rounded portion of the screw head, is shaped as a hook to catch hold of (an object).
In this regard, a "hook" is defined as "a curved or bent device for catching, holding, or pullin." Merriam-Webster Dictionary (on-line). MPEP 2111.01 III. Plain meaning refers to the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those ordinary skill in the art. "[T]he ordinary and customary meaning of a claim term is the meaning that the term would have to a person of ordinary skill in the art in question at the time of the invention, i.e., as of the effective filing date of the patent application."
As discussed above, Kuroyanagi does not disclose or suggest how the screw head as shown in annotated FIG. 11, i.e., a portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screw, functions as a bent hook to catch, hold, or pull (an obiect). A person of ordinary skill would not agree that a portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screw catches an object. Instead, a person of ordinary skill would agree that a portion of the circumferentially extending head of the screw is merely a rounded head of the screw, which is not able to catch hold of an object. (Present remark page 8-11) The Examiner respectfully disagrees
The Examiner notes the limitations of amended Claim 1 recites “the second coupling protrusion is in a hook shape bent along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction”, the limitation “the second coupling protrusion is in a hook shape” and as per the Applicant’s remark “a "hook" is defined as "a curved or bent device for catching, holding, or pulling." Merriam-Webster Dictionary (on-line)” and per Merriam-Webster Dictionary (on-line) defines several definitions for “shape”, Merriam-Webster provides one of the several definitions of “shape” as “to make fit for”, the head of the screws is “a curved device to make fit for catching, holding, or pulling” and in paragraph [0046], “The heat spreader 19 onto which the LED substrate 18 is fixed in advance, using a double-sided tape, is screwed as will be described later”, thus the head of the screws are able to catch and hold the heat dissipating member in place, thus the head of the screws can be considered hook shape.
The Examiner notes the limitations of amended Claim 1 recites “the second coupling protrusion is in a hook shape bent along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction”, the limitations of amended Claim 1 does not claim the second coupling protrusion is required to “functions as a bent hook to catch, hold or pull” (an object)”, the limitations claim ““the second coupling protrusion” is “hook shape” and “bent along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction”.
With respect to Applicant’s remark to Claim 10 recites
“Separately, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 10 is not anticipated by Kuroyanagi.
Claim 10 recite, in part, "the first coupling protrusion is in a tubular shape protruding along the first direction, and an end portion of the first coupling protrusion in the first direction is bent to face forward the heat dissipation member."
The Office Action argues that Kuroyanagi teaches that threads of the screws associated to the first insertion holes 194 correspond to an end portion in claim 10, and annotated FIG. 3 of Kuroyanagi shows that the threads of the screws are bent to face toward the heat dissipation member. Page 21 of the Office Action. Applicant respectfully disagrees…”(Present remark page 11-12) The Examiner respectfully disagrees
The Examiner notes the rejection for Claim 10 states
“wherein the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) is in a tubular shape (shaft of the screws) protruding along the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 above), and
an end portion (threads of the screws) of the first coupling protrusion (screws that are associated to the first insertion holes (194)) in the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 above) is bent to face toward the heat dissipation member (19).”
The Examiner would like to state referring to annotated Figure 3 is for direction and orientation and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have a general understand and knowledge of a structure of a screw and shaft of a screw is of a tubular (per Merriam-Webster Dictionary (on-line) defines a few definitions for “tubular”, Merriam-Webster provides one of the several definitions of “tubular” as “having the form of or consisting of a tube”, a tube can in the broadest reasonable interpretation be viewed a cylindrical shape) shape and “an end portion (threads of the screws)” are bent (per Merriam-Webster Dictionary (on-line) defines several definitions for “bent”, Merriam-Webster Dictionary (on-line) provides one of the several definitions of “bent” as “changed by bending out of an originally straight or even condition”) or bending along the first direction and would face toward the heat dissipation member.
Conclusion
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835