DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and the corresponding arguments, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to a portion of the silicon/fourth die is overlapping with the base/first die and is not overlapping with the first chip/second die and is not overlapping with the second chip/third die along a vertical axis, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shen et al. (US 2015/0327367).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 2015/0171006) in view of Brothers et al. (US 2013/0141442) and Joseph et al. (US 2009/0267238) and Shen et al. (US 2015/0327367).
In reference to claim 1, Hung et al. (US 2015/0171006), hereafter “Hung,” discloses a heterogeneous chip package, with reference to Figures 35A and 35B, comprising:
a base die 100 surrounded by a molding material 34, the base die comprising first interconnections, paragraphs 12, 18, and 33;
a metal post 32 in and contacting the molding material, the metal post laterally spaced apart from the base die, paragraph 16;
a first chip 200 electrically coupled to the base die;
a second chip 200 electrically coupled to the base die and laterally spaced apart from the first chip, paragraph 25; and
a dielectric material 56 between and in contact with the first chip and the second chip, paragraph 26,
and second interconnections 70, 74 below the base die, paragraphs 28 and 29.
Hung does not disclose the base die comprising through interconnections,
the second chip electrically coupled to the first chip by at least one of the first interconnections in the base die,
a silicon die vertically beneath the base die, wherein a portion of the silicon die is overlapping with the base die and is not overlapping with the first chip and is not overlapping with the second chip along a vertical axis, or
the second interconnections laterally spaced apart from the silicon die such that the second interconnections and the silicon die horizontally overlap along a horizontal axis.
Brothers et al. (US 2013/0141442), hereafter “Brothers,” discloses a chip package including teaching a second chip 50 in Figure 3, electrically coupled to a first chip 35 by interconnections 85 in the base die, paragraphs 23, 24 and 26. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second chip to be electrically coupled to the first chip by the interconnections in the base die. One would have been motivated to allow communication between chips within the chip package, paragraph 5 and 7.
Joseph et al. (US 2009/0267238), hereafter “Joseph,” discloses an analogous heterogeneous chip package including teaching a base die, 130 in Figure 1, comprising through interconnections, paragraph 47, a silicon die 115 vertically beneath the base die, paragraphs 2, 19, and 22, and second interconnections 130a, 130b of 110 connecting solder balls 130’ to substrate balls 110’, paragraphs 17 and 20, laterally spaced apart from the silicon die (bonded at 130”), such that the second interconnections and the silicon die horizontally overlap along a horizontal axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the base die to comprise through interconnections, a silicon die to be vertically beneath the base die, and the second interconnections to be laterally spaced apart from the silicon die such that the second interconnections and the silicon die horizontally overlap along a horizontal axis. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a multi-chip package with increased communication pathways between chips, paragraphs 3-5.
Joseph does not disclose wherein a portion of the silicon die is overlapping with the base die and is not overlapping with the first chip and is not overlapping with the second chip along a vertical axis.
Shen et al. (US 2015/0327367), hereafter “Shen,” discloses an analogous semiconductor chip package including teaching a base die, 120 in Figure 2B,
a first chip IC 110 electrically coupled to the base die
a second chip IC 110 electrically coupled to the base die,
a die 210 vertically beneath the base die, wherein a portion of the die 210 is overlapping with the base die 120 and is not overlapping with the first chip IC 100 and is not overlapping with the second chip IC 110 along a vertical axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a portion of the silicon die to be overlapping with the base die and not overlapping with the first chip and not overlapping with the second chip along a vertical axis. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting one die arrangement for another.
In reference to claim 2, Hung discloses the base die 100 is in contact with the molding material 34, Figure 35B and paragraph 18.
In reference to claim 3, Hung discloses the first chip 200 and the second chip 200 are entirely within a footprint of the base die 100, Figure 35A.
In reference to claim 4, Joseph disclose the silicon die 115 is only partially within a footprint of the base die 130, Figure 1C.
In reference to claim 5, Joseph discloses the silicon die 115 is electrically coupled, 115’, 130” to the base die 130, paragraph 22.
In reference to claim 6, Joseph discloses the silicon die has contacts 115’ on only a top side of the silicon die, Figure 1A and paragraphs 22 and 29.
In reference to claim 8, Hung discloses a heterogeneous chip package, with reference to Figures 35A and 35B, comprising:
a first die 100 having a first sidewall and a second sidewall, the second sidewall laterally opposite the first sidewall, the first die comprising first interconnections, paragraphs 12, 18, and 33;
a molding material 34 laterally adjacent to the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the first die,
a metal post 32 in and contacting the molding material, the metal post laterally spaced apart from the base die, paragraph 16;
a second die 200 conductively coupled to the first die;
a third die 200 conductively coupled to the first die and laterally spaced apart from the second die, paragraph 25; and
a dielectric material 56 between and in contact with the second die and the third die, paragraph 26,
and second interconnections 70, 74 below the first die, paragraphs 28 and 29.
Hung does not disclose the first die comprising through interconnections,
the third die conductively coupled to the second die by at least one of the first interconnections in the first die, or
a fourth die vertically beneath the first die, wherein a portion of the fourth die is overlapping with the first die and is not overlapping with the second die and is not overlapping with the third die along a vertical axis, or
wherein the second interconnections are laterally spaced apart from the fourth die.
Brothers discloses a chip package including teaching a third die 50 in Figure 3, conductively coupled to a second die 35 by interconnections 85 in a first die, paragraphs 23, 24, and 26. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the third die to be conductively coupled to the second die by at least one of the first interconnections in the first die. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow communication between chips within the chip package, paragraphs 5 and 7.
Joseph discloses an analogous heterogeneous chip package including teaching a first die, 130 in figure 1, comprising through interconnections, paragraph 47, a fourth die 115 vertically beneath the first die 130, paragraphs 2, 19, and 22, and second interconnections 130a, 130b of 110 connecting solder balls 130’ to substrate balls 110’, paragraphs 17 and 20, laterally spaced apart from the silicon die (bonded at 130”), such that the second interconnections and the silicon die horizontally overlap along a horizontal axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the base die to comprise through interconnections, a fourth die to be vertically beneath the first die, and the second interconnections to be laterally spaced apart from the fourth die such that the second interconnections and the fourth die horizontally overlap along a horizontal axis. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a multi-chip package with increased communication pathways between chips, paragraphs 3-5.
Joseph does not disclose wherein a portion of the fourth die is overlapping with the first die and is not overlapping with the second die and is not overlapping with the third die along a vertical axis.
Shen discloses an analogous semiconductor chip package including teaching a first die, 120 in Figure 2B,
a second die IC 110 electrically coupled to the first die
a third die IC 110 electrically coupled to the first die,
a fourth die 210 vertically beneath the base die, wherein a portion of the fourth die 210 is overlapping with the first die 120 and is not overlapping with the second die IC 100 and is not overlapping with the third die IC 110 along a vertical axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a portion of the fourth die to be overlapping with the first die and not overlapping with the second die and not overlapping with the third die along a vertical axis. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting one die arrangement for another.
In reference to claim 9, Joseph discloses the fourth die has contacts 115’ on only a top side of the fourth die, paragraphs 22 and 23.
In reference to claim 10, Joseph disclose the fourth die 115 is only partially within a footprint of the first die 130, Figure 1C.
In reference to claim 11, Hung discloses the molding material 34 is in contact with the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the first die, Figure 35B and paragraph 18.
In reference to claim 12, Hung discloses the second die 200 and the third die 200 are entirely within a footprint of the first die 100, Figure 35A.
In reference to claim 14, Hung discloses a heterogeneous chip package, with reference to Figures 35A and 35B, comprising:
a base die 100 having a first sidewall and a second sidewall between a top side and a bottom side, the second sidewall laterally opposite the first sidewall, the base die comprising interconnections on the top side of the base die and interconnections 70, 74 on the bottom side of the base die, paragraphs 20 and 28, wherein one or more of the interconnections on the dop side of the base die are coupled to corresponding ones of the interconnections on the bottom side of the base die, paragraph 29,
a molding material 34 laterally adjacent to the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the base die, paragraphs 12, 18, and 33;
a metal post 32 laterally spaced apart from the base die, the metal post having a sidewall in contact with the molding material, paragraphs 16 and 18;
a first chip 200 vertically over and coupled to the base die;
a second chip 200 vertically over and coupled to the base die, the second chip laterally spaced apart from the first chip, paragraph 25; and
a dielectric material 56 between a sidewall of the first chip and a sidewall of the second chip, the dielectric material in contact with the sidewall of the first chip and the sidewall of the second chip, paragraph 26,
and second interconnections 70, 74 below the base die, paragraphs 28 and 29.
Hung does not disclose the second chip coupled to the first chip by an interconnection of the top side of the base die,
a silicon die vertically beneath the base die, the silicon die having contacts on only a top side of the silicon die, wherein a portion of the silicon die is overlapping with the base die and is not overlapping with the first chip and is not overlapping with the second chip along a vertical axis, or
the second interconnections laterally spaced apart from the silicon die.
Brothers discloses a chip package including teaching a second chip 50 in Figure 3, coupled to a first chip 35 by interconnections 85 of the top side of the base die, paragraphs 23, 24, and 26. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second chip to be coupled to the first chip by the interconnections of the top side of the base die. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow communication between chips within the chip package, paragraphs 5 and 7.
Joseph discloses an analogous heterogeneous chip package including teaching a silicon die 115 vertically beneath a base die 130, paragraphs 2, 19, and 22, the silicon die having contacts on only a top side of the silicon die, Figure 1A and paragraphs 22 and 29, and second interconnections 130a, 130b of 110 connecting solder balls 130’ to substrate balls 110’, paragraphs 17 and 20, laterally spaced apart from the silicon die (bonded at 130”), such that the second interconnections and the silicon die horizontally overlap along a horizontal axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a silicon die to be vertically beneath the base die, the silicon die to have contacts on only a top side of the silicon die, and the second interconnections to be laterally spaced apart from the silicon die such that the second interconnections and the silicon die horizontally overlap along a horizontal axis. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a multi-chip package with increased communication pathways between chips, paragraphs 3-5.
Joseph does not disclose wherein a portion of the silicon die is overlapping with the base die and is not overlapping with the first chip and is not overlapping with the second chip along a vertical axis.
Shen discloses an analogous semiconductor chip package including teaching a base die, 120 in Figure 2B,
a first chip IC 110 electrically coupled to the base die
a second chip IC 110 electrically coupled to the base die,
a die 210 vertically beneath the base die, wherein a portion of the die 210 is overlapping with the base die 120 and is not overlapping with the first chip IC 100 and is not overlapping with the second chip IC 110 along a vertical axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a portion of the silicon die to be overlapping with the base die and not overlapping with the first chip and not overlapping with the second chip along a vertical axis. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting one die arrangement for another.
In reference to claim 15, Hung discloses the molding material 34 is in contact with the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the base die, Figure 35B and paragraph 18.
In reference to claim 16, Hung discloses the first chip 200 and the second chip 200 are entirely within a footprint of the base die 100, Figure 35A.
In reference to claim 17, Joseph disclose the silicon die 115 is only partially within a footprint of the base die 130, Figure 1C, and is electrically coupled, 115’, 130” to the base die 130, paragraph 22.
In reference to claim 19, Joseph discloses the silicon die 115 bridges the base die 130 to a second base die 120, paragraph 22.
Claims 7, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 2015/0171006) in view of Brothers et al. (US 2013/0141442), Joseph et al. (US 2009/0267238) and Shen et al. (US 2015/0327367) as applied above and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2017/0250139).
In reference to claims 7 and 18, Hung does not disclose the metal post is a fiducial.
Huang et al. (US 2017/0250139), hereafter “Huang,” discloses an analogous chip package including teaching a metal post, 32A in Figures 4 and 5, is a fiducial, paragraphs 18, 19, and 25. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the metal post to be a fiducial. One would have been motivated to do so in order to have an alignment mark for aligning the placement of dies in the chip package, paragraph 25.
In reference to claim 13, Hung does not disclose the metal post is a fiducial for accurately placing the first die.
Huang discloses an analogous chip package including teaching a metal post, 32A in Figures 4 and 5, is a fiducial for accurately placing a first die, paragraphs 18, 19, and 25. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the metal post to be a fiducial for placing the firs die. One would have been motivated to do so in order to have an alignment mark for aligning the placement of dies in the chip package, paragraph 25.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 2015/0171006) in view of Brothers et al. (US 2013/0141442), Joseph et al. (US 2009/0267238), and Shen et al. (US 2015/0327367) as applied above and further in view of Yeh et al. (US 2017/0125376).
In reference to claim 20, Hung does not disclose the dielectric material has an uppermost surface at a same level as an uppermost surface of the first chip and as an uppermost surface of the second chip.
Yeh et al. (US 2017/0125376) discloses a chip package including teaching a dielectric material, 120 in Figure 6, having an uppermost surface at a same level as an uppermost surface of a first chip 102B and as an uppermost surface of a second chip 102C, paragraph 35. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the dielectric material has an uppermost surface at a same level as an uppermost surface of the first chip and as an uppermost surface of the second chip. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007). In this case substituting one dielectric layer configuration for another as suggested by Yeh, paragraph 35.al. (US 2
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R JUNGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897