DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims as amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication 2012/0270400 to Takegoshi et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Takegoshi et al. teaches a polishing composition, comprising: at least one abrasive (Paragraphs 58); at least one organic photocatalyst (Paragraph 33), wherein the organic photocatalyst is selected from the group consisting of a porphyrin compound, a thiaporphyrin compound, a phthalocyanine compound, a subphthalocyanine compound, a helical carbenium ion containing compound, and mixtures thereof; and water (Paragraph 30).
Regarding Claim 2, Takegoshi et al. teaches (Paragraph 58) the at least one abrasive is selected from the group consisting of alumina, silica, titania, ceria, zirconia, co- formed products of alumina, silica, titania, ceria, or zirconia, coated abrasives, surface modified abrasives, and mixtures thereof.
Regarding Claim 3, Takegoshi et al. teaches (Paragraph 59) the at least one abrasive is in an amount of from about 0.01% to about 50% by weight of the composition.
Regarding Claim 4, Takegoshi et al. teaches (implicit) the organic photocatalyst has an absorption max (Amax) of from about 350 nm to about 850 nm
Regarding Claim 5, Takegoshi et al. teaches (implicit) the organic photocatalyst does not contain a transition metal
Regarding Claim 6, Takegoshi et al. teaches (Paragraph 41) the organic photocatalyst is in an amount of from about 0.0001% to about 10% by weight of the composition.
Regarding Claim 8, Takegoshi et al. teaches (Paragraph 68) a polishing composition that does not include hydrogen peroxide, orthoperiodic acid, metaperiodic acid, dimesoperiodic acid, diorthoperiodic acid, ammonium periodate, potassium periodate, sodium periodate, ammonium persulfate, iodic acid, an iodate salt, perchloric acid, a perchloroate salt, hydroxylamine, or a hydroxylamine salt.
Regarding Claim 9, Takegoshi et al. teaches (Paragraphs 44 and 53) at least one
compound selected from the group consisting of pH adjusting agents, corrosion inhibitors, surfactants, chelating agents, water-soluble polymers, organic acids, organic solvents, or mixtures thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTS P CULBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716