DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the inter-process signaling within inter-accelerator communication (i.e. inter-process signaling between different accelerators) claimed or implied in claims 4-6, 11 and 15-17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) (Note: Inter-accelerator communication was described in Fig. 3 and inter-process signaling was separately described in Fig. 4, but the combination was not shown in any of the submitted figures). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant’s specification failed to disclose a “second process…associated with a second accelerator ” receiving a signal originating from a first process in which the signal is “associated with a first accelerator”. More specifically, applicant’s specification at most disclosed the inter-process signaling between processes of the same accelerator via a HW Signal Monitor allowing direct communication between processes that was otherwise perform by threads of a CPU that instantiated the processes such that direct communication via signal is not possible [see Fig. 4 and corresponding text].
As to claims 4-6 and 15-17, these claims are rejected for similar reason pertaining to inter-process signaling within or in conjunction with inter-accelerator communication as claim 11 above.
The following lack antecedent basis:
Claim 11– "the processor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub. 2012/0191920 to Aho et al. (hereafter Aho).
Aho was cited in Applicant’s IDS filed on 8/20/24.
As to claim 1, Aho teaches the invention as claimed including a method comprising:
based on a signal issued by a first accelerator, asynchronously notifying, by a hardware signal monitor, a first process of the signal [SLMPM monitoring communication between host computer and accelerator via shared memory, paragraph 77, lines 1-6; data/packet written by accelerator to the shared memory in the host computer, paragraphs 24-25; accelerator written to shared memory as a mean of communicating to a host computer, paragraph 32, lines 1-11; paragraph 68; data or value used by application programs of accelerator and/or host, paragraph 56].
As to claim 2, Aho teaches the invention as claimed including wherein asynchronously notifying comprises: executing, at the hardware signal monitor, a set of operations based on the signal [monitoring data communications between accelerator and host, paragraph 42; data or value used by application programs of accelerator and/or host, paragraph 56; collectively carrying out operations, paragraphs 54-55].
As to claim 3, Aho teaches the invention as claimed including wherein the set of operations includes one or more of a memory transfer of one or more bytes of data, an atomic memory operation, an enqueuing of a first packet, a dequeuing of a second packet, a task dispatch operation, a set of signal operations, and an instruction to be executed by a processor [shared memory access and operations carried out, paragraphs 24-25 and 54].
As to claim 4, Aho teaches the invention as claimed including wherein the set of operations includes the hardware signal monitor sending a task to a second accelerator [paragraph 54].
As to claim 5, Aho teaches the invention as claimed including wherein sending the task comprises the hardware signal monitor sending the task based on a value generated by one of a plurality of accelerators [shared memory access and operations carried out, paragraphs 24-25, 42-43 and 54].
As to claim 6, Aho teaches the invention as claimed including wherein sending the task comprises enqueuing the task at a work queue of the second accelerator [shared memory access and operations carried out, paragraphs 24-25, 42-43 and 54].
As to claim 7, Aho teaches the invention as claimed including wherein the set of operations is programmable [communication according to a protocol and invocation of performance of operations that are carried out automatically or “programmed”, paragraphs 46 and 54; paragraphs 39-42].
As to claim 8, Aho teaches the invention as claimed including wherein the signal is issued by a second process executing at the first accelerator, the second process independent of the first process [transmission of data between shared memory of host computer and accelerator(s) via respective/associated application programs, paragraph 45].
As to claim 9, Aho teaches the invention as claimed including wherein the signal is issued by the first accelerator in response to a write operation to a specified memory address [paragraphs 25 and 36].
As to claims 10-11, these claims are rejected for the same reason as claims 1, 4 and 8 above.
As to claims 12-20, Aho teaches the asynchronous notifying of a signal as claimed in claims 1-9, therefore Aho teaches the system for implementing the method.
/QING YUAN WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199