DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/29/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim appears to have a typographical error, " extend from the routing structure to a second side of the glass ". For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the above limitation as "extend from the routing structure to the second side of the glass ". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. US 2012/0038379.
Re claim 1, Ma teaches an apparatus (fig3), comprising:
a substrate (100/200/310, fig1 and 3, [17]) comprising glass ([17]);
a plurality of holes (110, 120, fig1 and 3, [19]) extending through the glass;
a via metallization (270/320, fig2D and 3, [23]) within the holes; and
a buffer (240-250, fig2C and 3, [21, 22) within the holes, wherein:
the buffer is between the via metallization and the glass (240-250 between 200 and 270, fig2D); and
the buffer comprises an inorganic material having an elastic modulus of less than 110 GPa (240 as TiAl3 with elastic modulus about 70-100Gpa, Al with elastic modulus about 70Gpa, Ti with elastic modulus about 110 Gpa).
Re claim 5, Ma teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inorganic material comprises at least one of a metal (240 as TiAl3, fig2D and 3, [22]), silicon, nitrogen, or carbon.
Re claim 7, Ma teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the inorganic material comprises an alloy of two or more metals (240 as TiAl3, fig2D and 3, [22]).
Re claim 8, Ma teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the two or more metals comprises at least two of Al, Sn, Sc, In, or Ti (240 as TiAl3, fig2D and 3, [22]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US 2024/0421095 and Deng US 2017/0294315.
Re claim 1, Cheng teaches an apparatus (fig1L), comprising:
a substrate (110, fig1L, [8]) comprising glass ([8]);
a plurality of holes (holes holding 120, fig1L, [9]) extending through the glass;
a via metallization (120, fig1L, [9]) within the holes; and
a buffer (barrier/liner layer of TiAlC between 120 and 110, fig1L, [9]) within the holes, wherein:
the buffer (barrier/liner layer of TiAlC between 120 and 110, fig1L, [9]) is between the via metallization and the glass; and
Cheng does not explicitly show the buffer comprises an inorganic material having an elastic modulus of less than 110 GPa.
Deng teaches adding an aluminum seed layer (440 as Al with elastic modulus about 70Gpa, fig5, [34]) to promote connection between metal material and liner structure ([34]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng and Deng to add an adhesive Al layer to the buffer layer between 120 and the liner layer. The motivation to do so is to promote connection between metal material and liner structure (Deng, [34]).
Re claim 2, Cheng modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the elastic modulus is less than 100 GPa (Cheng, Al with elastic modulus about 70Gpa added between barrier/liner and 120, fig1L).
Re claim 3, Cheng modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inorganic material has a thermal expansion coefficient (CTE) of less than 25 ppm/K (Cheng, Al with CTE of 21-24ppm/K added between barrier/liner and 120, fig1L).
Re claim 4, Cheng modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the elastic modulus is less than 90 GPa and the CTE is at least 9 ppm/K (Cheng, Al with elastic modulus about 70Gpa and CTE of 21-24ppm/K added between barrier/liner and 120, fig1L).
Re claim 5, Cheng modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inorganic material comprises at least one of a metal (Cheng, Al added between barrier/liner and 120, fig1L), silicon, nitrogen, or carbon.
Re claim 6, Cheng modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the inorganic material comprises predominantly one of Al (Cheng, Al added between barrier/liner and 120, fig1L), Sn, or Sc.
Re claim 13, Cheng teaches a system comprising:
a plurality of integrated circuit (IC) die (800, 600, 200 and 300, fig1G, [39]) electrically coupled to first metallization features (134, 136, fig1L, [11]) on a first side of a substrate comprising glass (top side of 110, fig1L, [8]);
a plurality of holes (holes holding 120, fig1L, [9]) extending through the glass;
a metallization (120, fig1L, [9]) within the holes, the metallization (120, fig1L, [9]) electrically coupling the first metallization features (134, 136, fig1L, [11]) to second metallization features (1300, fig1L, [48]) on a second side of the glass (bottom side of 110, fig1L, [8]); and
Cheng does not explicitly show an inorganic material within the holes and between the metallization and the glass, wherein the inorganic material comprises at least one of Al, Sn, or Sc.
Deng teaches adding an aluminum seed layer (440 as Al with elastic modulus about 70Gpa, fig5, [34]) to promote connection between metal material and liner structure ([34]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng and Deng to add an adhesive Al layer between 120 and the liner layer. The motivation to do so is to promote connection between metal material and liner structure (Deng, [34]).
Re claim 14, Cheng modified above teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the inorganic material (Cheng, Al added between barrier/liner and 120, fig1L) is absent from the first metallization features (134, 136 as Cu, fig1L, [11]).
Re claim 15, Cheng modified above teaches the system of claim 13, further comprising an electrical routing structure (layer between 210 and 110, fig1L) on the first side of the glass (top side of 110, fig1L, [8]), the routing structure comprising the first metallization features (134, 136 as Cu, fig1L, [11]) and an organic dielectric material (132 as resin, fig1L, [10]), and wherein the plurality of through vias (120, fig1L, [9]) extend from the routing structure (layer between 210 and 110, fig1L) to [[a]] the second side of the glass (fig1L), and wherein the routing structure (layer between 210 and 110, fig1L) electrically couples the through vias (120, fig1L, [9]) to at least one of the plurality of IC die (800, 600, 200 and 300, fig1G, [39]).
Re claim 16, Cheng modified above teaches the system of claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of IC die (800, 600, 200 and 300, fig1G, [39]) is coupled to the routing structure (layer between 210 and 110, fig1L) either through a direct bond (704, fig1G, [33]) or through solder features.
Re claim 17, Cheng modified above teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the inorganic material has an elastic modulus less than 90 GPa and a coefficient of thermal expansion of at least 9 ppm/K (Cheng, Al with elastic modulus about 70Gpa and CTE of 21-24ppm/K added between barrier/liner and 120, fig1L).
Re claim 18, Cheng teaches a method comprising:
receiving a workpiece comprising glass (110, fig1L, [8]);
forming holes (holes holding 120, fig1L, [9]) through the glass;
depositing a buffer (barrier/liner layer of TiAlC between 120 and 110, fig1L, [9]) upon a sidewall of the holes and over a surface of the glass between the through holes,
Cheng does not explicitly show wherein the buffer comprises an inorganic material with an elastic modulus of less than 110 GPa; forming metallization within the holes and over the buffer; and forming conductive through vias by planarizing the metallization and the buffer with the surface of the glass.
Deng teaches adding an aluminum seed layer (440 as Al with elastic modulus about 70Gpa, fig5, [34]) to promote connection between metal material and liner structure ([34]); forming metallization (510, fig5, [37]) within the holes and over the buffer (420, fig5, [32]); and forming conductive through vias by planarizing the metallization and the buffer with the surface of the glass (fig8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng and Deng to add an adhesive Al layer between 120 and the liner layer. The motivation to do so is to promote connection between metal material and liner structure (Deng, [34]).
Re claim 19, Cheng modified above teaches the method of claim 18 further comprising: building up, over the surface of the glass, an electrical routing structure (layer between 210 and 110, fig1L) coupled to the through vias (120, fig1L, [9]); and attaching an IC die (800, 600, 200 and 300, fig1G, [39]) to the electrical routing structure.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US 2024/0421095, Deng US 2017/0294315 and ITO et al. US 2003/0116854.
Re claim 9, Cheng does not explicitly show the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the inorganic material comprises a metal carbide or a metal silicide.
Cheng teaches via formed of copper (120, fig1. [9]).
ITO teaches AlC with elastic modulus of 15GPa and Cu barrier property ([110]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng modified above and ITO to use AlC as the liner material and Cu seeding layer with Cu via 120. The motivation to do so is to prevent Cu diffuse into the glass substrate layer (ITO, [110]).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US 2024/0421095, Deng US 2017/0294315 and Lee et al. US 2007/0045103.
Re claim 10, Cheng does not explicitly show the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the buffer has a minimum thickness of 50 nm.
Lee teaches sputter Al seed layer of about 200nm in via (120, fig5, [35]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng modified above and Lee to adjust the Al seed layer thickness. The motivation to do so is to provide adequate sidewall and bottom coverage (Lee, [35]).
Re claim 11, Cheng modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the buffer is one of a plurality of material layers between the glass and the via metallization (Cheng, liner and Al seed layer added between 120 and 110, fig1).
Re claim 20, Cheng does not explicitly show the method of claim 18, wherein depositing the buffer further comprises sputter depositing an inorganic material comprising at least of a metal, silicon, nitrogen, or carbon.
Lee teaches sputter Al seed layer of about 200nm in via (120, fig5, [35]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cheng modified above and Lee to adjust the Al seed layer thickness. The motivation to do so is to provide adequate sidewall and bottom coverage (Lee, [35]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
Specifically, the limitations are material to the inventive concept of the application in hand to reduce mechanical failures and increase device yields.
Conclusion
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812