DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Im et al. (20140217576).
Regarding Claim 1, in Fig. 1, Im et al discloses semiconductor assembly comprising: a package substrate 100; a first semiconductor die 200 on the package substrate; and a first heat spreader 400 attached to the first semiconductor die opposite the package substrate, the heat spreader comprising a metal mesh (i.e. hexahedron shaped metal, see paragraph 0067) 412 (i.e. bulk metal, i.e. copper, see paragraphs 0014, 0068), infused with a material 421 primarily comprising carbon by weight. (i.e. paraffin, see paragraphs 0015, 0078)
Regarding Claim 2, the metal mesh 412 comprises copper (see paragraphs 0014, 0068).
Regarding Claim 3, the material 421 comprises paraffin (see paragraphs 0015, 0078).
Regarding Claim 4, in Fig. 1, the heat spreader 420 further comprises a framework attached to the metal mesh.
Regarding Claim 5, heat spreader 400 further comprises solder 110/210 attaching the framework to the metal mesh.
Regarding Claim 6, the first semiconductor die 200 comprises a computer processing unit or a graphics processing unit.
Regarding Claim 7, in paragraph 0089, a second semiconductor die attached to the package substrate opposite the first semiconductor die.
Regarding Claim 8, in paragraph 0089, a second heat spreader attached to the second semiconductor die opposite the package substrate, wherein the heat spreader comprises a metal mesh infused with the material.
Regarding Claim 9, in paragraph 0089, the second semiconductor die comprises a continuous capacitive voltage regulator chip.
Regarding Claim 10, in paragraph 0061, further comprising a memory package attached between the substrate package and the first heat spreader.
Regarding Claim 11, in paragraph 0051, further comprising a motherboard 100 attached to the package substrate.
Regarding Claim 12, in Fig. 1, Im et al. discloses a semiconductor assembly comprising: a semiconductor die 200; and a heat spreader 400 comprising a mesh (i.e. hexahedron shaped metal, see paragraph 0067) 412 (i.e. bulk metal, i.e. copper, see paragraphs 0014, 0068), infused with phase change material 421 (i.e. paraffin, see paragraphs 0015, 0078) the heat spreader attached to the semiconductor die and configured to dissipate heat from the semiconductor die.
Regarding Claim 13, the mesh 412 comprises copper mesh.
Regarding Claim 14, the mesh has a thermal conductivity of about 390 to about 410 W/mK (the materials of the instant application and the prior art i.e. copper mesh and paraffin phase change material match).
Regarding Claim 15, the mesh 412 is folded within the heat spreader 400.
Regarding Claim 16 the mesh 412 comprises a porous sheet of metallic material i.e. copper.
Regarding Claim 17, the phase change material comprises paraffin.
Regarding Claim 18, the phase change material 421 has a thermal conductivity of 0.5 W/mK or less (i.e. paraffin, matching the instant application)
Regarding Claim 19, in Figs 1 and 4-6, Im et al discloses a method of making a heat spreader for a semiconductor assembly comprising: inserting a mesh 412 inside a heat spreader 400 framework cavity (see Figs 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); infusing the mesh with a phase change material 421; and sealing the heat spreader framework with the phase change material 421 infused mesh therein.
Regarding Claim,20, folding the mesh prior to inserting the mesh into the heat spreader framework (i.e. hexahedron shape, see paragraph 0067)
Examiner is including Deeney 5783862 as a pertinent prior art that is NOT relied upon on this rejection but that discloses copper mesh with paraffin for heat dissipation in semiconductor package structure. Further, pertinent art that is not relied upon, Refai, 20230207422, paragraph 0017 discloses mesh/phase change material as a heat spreader.
Conclusion
/FAZLI ERDEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 7/15/2026