Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 9/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Prior Art of Record
The applicant's attention is directed to additional pertinent prior art cited in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited, which, however, may not be currently applied as a basis for the following rejections. While these references were considered during the examination of this application and are deemed relevant to the claimed subject matter, they are not presently being applied as a basis for rejection in this Office action. The pertinence of these documents, however, may be revisited, and they may be applied in subsequent Office actions, particularly in light of any amendments or further clarification of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 20220359375 A1).
CLAIM 1. Huang teaches the integrated circuit structure, comprising:
a front side structure 120-136 comprising:
a device layer 107; and
a plurality of metallization layers 136 and/or 120/122/124 above the device layer (“above” “below” are relative. Huang teaches metallization layers above both sides for the device layer.);
a backside structure layers 136 and/or 120/122/124 below the device layer(“above” “below” are relative. Huang teaches metallization layers above both sides for the device layer.); and
a carrier wafer 150 or substrate bonded directly to and in contact with the front side structure (Huang fig. 29C).
CLAIM 2. Huang teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the carrier wafer or substrate is a wafer or substrate selected from the group consisting of an amorphous silicon carrier wafer or substrate, a glass carrier wafer or substrate (such as silica glass), a Si(110) carrier wafer or substrate, and a Si(111) carrier wafer or substrate (Huang fig. 29C & ¶74).
CLAIM 3. Huang teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the device layer comprises a plurality of nanowire-based transistors (Huang fig. 29C & ¶12).
CLAIM 4. Huang teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the device layer comprises a plurality of fin-based transistors (Huang fig. 29C & ¶12). .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 20220359375 A1) in view of Yuh et al. (US 20230067715 A1).
CLAIM 5. Huang teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, however may be silent upon wherein the backside structure includes a plurality of dynamic random access memory (DRAM) devices.
Yuh et al. teaches integrated circuit devices featuring memory structures integrated directly into a backside structure (Yuh Fig. 45, abstract). Specifically, Yuh discloses that a memory stack (MS') forming dynamic random access memory (DRAM) storage cells can be disposed within a backside structure to optimize proximity to logic components (Yuh, ¶161, disclosing that a "backside trench or MIM capacitance can be used for embedded DRAM with very close proximity to logic area").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to modify the integrated circuit structure of Huang et al. by incorporating the backside DRAM storage cells as taught by Yuh into the backside structure of Huang. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to make this modification to provide local, high-speed embedded memory capacity directly adjacent to the active device layer without consuming valuable front-side layout area, thereby maximizing functional density, reducing interconnect parasitics, and improving overall device performance.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to modify the integrated circuit structure of Huang with the backside DRAM storage cells of Yuh. Applying a known technique (backside memory integration) to a known device ready for improvement (Huang’s integrated circuit structure) to yield predictable results (increased functional density and reduced latency) is a standard practice that falls squarely within the scope of ordinary skill (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Conclusion
JARRETT J. STARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2822
10/1/2026
/JARRETT J STARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898